Budget SQL Server on Azure Local as four separate decisions: Azure Local host service, SQL Server VM licensing, Windows Server guest rights, and validated hardware. Azure Local host billing is based on physical cores—not the number of SQL Server VMs or their assigned vCores—while SQL Server licensing and hardware pricing depend on your workload, entitlements, and OEM quote. The right comparison starts by choosing a connected or disconnected deployment model and confirming the exact configuration and licensing terms.
What does SQL Server on Azure Local include?
SQL Server on Azure Local runs in Windows Server or Linux virtual machines on infrastructure at your own site. Microsoft describes both connected and disconnected deployment modes; management capabilities and prerequisites vary by mode. Decide which one you need before comparing costs or treating a feature as available.
Azure Local is the host platform and service, not a bundle that automatically covers every guest operating system, SQL Server instance, or Azure service. Microsoft’s SQL Server on Azure Local overview describes the SQL Server VM model; its Azure Local billing and payment guidance explains the host-service charge. Those are separate parts of the deployment.
Which hardware should you price?
Start with the Azure Local catalog
Use Microsoft’s Azure Local catalog and partner ecosystem to select a Premier Solution, Integrated System, or Validated Node. Microsoft recommends acquiring an integrated system or premium solution with the Azure Stack HCI operating system preinstalled, or choosing a validated system and deploying Azure Local on it. The catalog can be filtered for hardware optimized for SQL Server workloads. A server being available for sale does not, by itself, establish that it is validated or supported for Azure Local.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Size for the database and its resilience needs
Ask the OEM or solution partner to size the full workload, not just the SQL Server VM’s vCPU count. Give them:
- Current database capacity, expected growth, and consolidation plans.
- Memory pressure and compute demand, including expected peak activity.
- Storage latency and throughput needs, plus backup and recovery design.
- Network requirements, availability objectives, and expected number of workloads.
- Support, warranty, replacement lifecycle, and budget constraints.
Microsoft describes Windows Server failover clustering with SQL Server as a way to support SQL Server VMs when hardware fails. That capability is not a guarantee of a particular recovery time or availability outcome: validate the proposed configuration, support matrix, and recovery design for your objectives.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What are the separate cost and licensing decisions?
Azure Local host service
Microsoft bills Azure Local through the Azure subscription at a flat rate per physical processor core in an instance. The host-service basis is physical cores, so changing guest VM count or assigned vCores does not change that charge. Other Azure services used by the deployment can add charges. Microsoft says Azure Local does not require a traditional on-premises software license, but guest VMs may still need operating-system licensing.
SQL Server VM licensing
Model SQL Server separately. Identify the edition, vCores assigned to each SQL Server VM, number of active instances, any passive replicas, and the rights already held under your agreement. Microsoft’s Azure Arc SQL Server licensing guidance describes licensing by virtual cores assigned to SQL Server VMs. Confirm with Microsoft or a licensing partner how the current terms apply to your specific Azure Local deployment; do not assume an Azure VM pricing example automatically governs it.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Microsoft’s SQL Server Azure VM pricing guide is useful for understanding the options described for Azure VMs, but it is not a substitute for validating Azure Local terms. In that guide, Developer is for development, testing, and proof of concept, not production. Express is described for lightweight production within its limits, which may exclude required capabilities. For paid production editions, Microsoft positions Web for small websites, Standard for small to medium workloads, and Enterprise for large or mission-critical workloads. Check feature requirements and the applicable agreement before choosing an edition.
The same Azure VM guide describes pay-as-you-go licensing and Azure Hybrid Benefit for SQL Server on Azure VMs. Pay-as-you-go can suit temporary or uncertain workloads; allocating eligible existing licenses can suit a continuous workload with known scale and duration. For the Azure VM model, the guide says Azure Hybrid Benefit requires qualifying SQL Server Standard or Enterprise licenses and Software Assurance under the applicable program. It does not remove Azure VM compute, storage, backup, or applicable I/O charges. Verify whether and how those approaches apply to the Azure Local deployment before building a budget around them.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Windows Server guest rights and Azure Hybrid Benefit
Windows Server guest licensing is distinct from both SQL Server licensing and the Azure Local host charge. Microsoft says Windows Server Datacenter licenses with active Software Assurance can qualify for Azure Hybrid Benefit for Azure Local, exchanging one qualifying core license per physical Azure Local core. Under the stated conditions, the benefit waives the Azure Local host service fee and Windows Server guest subscription; Azure services remain separately billable.
The cited Azure Local guidance limits this benefit to hyperconverged deployments with cloud-connected management and no external storage (L1). It excludes L2 and L3. Confirm that the deployment model, agreement, qualifying licenses, and all other prerequisites fit the current rules; do not treat the benefit as a general waiver for every Azure Local configuration.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Preinstalled OEM license
An eligible Azure Local Premier Solution, Integrated System, or Validated Node may be offered with a preinstalled OEM license. Microsoft describes it as prepaid and tied to the original hardware, rather than an annual renewal or subscription. The FAQ says it remains valid for the hardware’s lifetime while the associated system remains functional and supported. It includes Azure Local and Windows Server Datacenter 2025 or an earlier supported version as guest licensing, subject to the FAQ’s conditions. Microsoft directs buyers to the OEM for pricing and warns against unsupported combinations of hardware, OS version, or billing scenario.
Microsoft’s OEM FAQ says the base license covers up to 16 cores, with two-core and four-core add-ons for systems with 16 cores or more. Treat those as licensing rules, not a price or savings estimate; ask the OEM to confirm coverage for the actual system and core count.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How should you compare the cost options?
There is no universal Azure Local cost per core or representative hardware price established by the cited Microsoft guidance. Request current, configuration-specific quotes and compare the same deployment assumptions. Keep recurring service charges distinct from prepaid hardware-tied licensing.
| Cost or rights item | What sets the basis | What to obtain or verify |
|---|---|---|
| Azure Local host service | Physical processor cores in each instance; billed on the Azure subscription. Per-core rate: not stated in the cited Microsoft billing guidance. | Physical cores per node, node count, billing model, and current subscription estimate. |
| Preinstalled OEM license | Eligible catalog system and licensed physical cores; prepaid and hardware-tied. Price: not stated in the cited Microsoft OEM FAQ. | OEM quote, exact coverage, core add-ons, supported hardware and OS combination, and service/support terms. |
| SQL Server | Edition, VM vCores, active and passive roles, and customer entitlements. Azure Local-specific total: not stated in the cited Microsoft pricing guidance. | Written licensing review for the customer’s agreement and intended deployment; include every SQL Server VM and role. |
| Windows Server guest rights | Guest OS licensing and any qualifying Azure Hybrid Benefit or OEM coverage. | Eligibility, license allocation, deployment model, and guest coverage confirmation. |
| Hardware and lifecycle | Selected validated configuration, capacity, storage, network, support, warranty, and replacement plan. Universal price: not stated in the cited Microsoft deployment guidance. | Configuration-specific OEM quote and support details. |
| Additional Azure usage | Azure services and usage beyond the Azure Local host service. | List required services, such as backup and monitoring, and obtain a usage estimate. |
When comparing the Azure Local subscription model with an eligible OEM preinstalled license, compare coverage and eligibility, physical-core basis, upfront versus recurring payment, hardware lifecycle, cloud-connectivity and management needs, and what happens if the system changes. For SQL Server, compare edition features, license rights, workload duration and utilization, and availability requirements. A single savings percentage is not meaningful without a buyer-specific calculation.
Quick Recap
What should you bring to Microsoft or an OEM for a quote?
- Describe the deployment: connected or disconnected mode, target Azure Local configuration, and whether it is hyperconverged with cloud-connected management and no external storage.
- Provide the hardware assumptions: catalog system or candidate configuration, physical cores per node, node count, storage and network needs, support term, and resilience objectives.
- Inventory SQL Server use: edition and required features, VM vCores, active instances, passive replicas, workload duration, and expected utilization.
- Document existing rights: SQL Server and Windows Server licenses, Software Assurance status, applicable agreement, and any Azure Hybrid Benefit or OEM coverage being considered.
- List Azure services: backup, monitoring, and any other services the design will use so they are not mistaken for included host costs.
- Request a written, itemized comparison: separate Azure Local host service, SQL Server rights, Windows Server guest rights, OEM license if applicable, hardware, support, and additional Azure usage. Ask the licensing partner to confirm applicability to this exact Azure Local configuration.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




