There is no single winner across every configuration. In the Edmunds comparison published by the Associated Press on September 23, 2026, the Tesla Model Y had the range and a slight charging-speed advantage, while the Rivian R2 offered more reported total cargo capacity and greater towing capacity when equipped with its Tow Package. Edmunds described the overall comparison as a tie. Which SUV fits better depends on the trim you can buy, how you use the cargo area, and whether ride comfort or off-pavement capability matters more.
Which has more range: Rivian R2 or Tesla Model Y?
In the reported lineups, the Model Y has the higher maximum range. The figures below mix manufacturer estimates and reviewer test results, so they are not direct equivalents: an estimated range is not a promise of what a particular driver will achieve.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Rivian R1T 1:20 Scale (Forest Green) | $79.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Rivian R1T 1:20 Scale (Glacier White) | $80.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Matchbox Tesla Model Y, 70 Years 89/100 [White] | $13.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Matchbox Tesla Model 3, White 53/100 | $19.39 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Hot Wheels Tesla Model y, HW Green Speed 3/10 [Black] 15/250 | $12.99 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Vehicle and configuration | Range figure | What the figure represents |
|---|---|---|
| Rivian R2 Standard | 275 miles | Rivian estimated range on its current product page. |
| Rivian R2 Standard Long Range | 345 miles | Figure specified in the September 2026 Edmunds comparison published by AP. |
| Rivian R2 Premium | 330 miles | Rivian estimated range on its current product page. |
| Rivian R2 Performance | 330 miles estimated; 304 miles in Edmunds’ test | The test result reported by AP is specific to the vehicle and conditions tested. |
| Tesla Model Y lineup | 294–357 miles | Range span reported by the September 2026 Edmunds comparison; the lower figure is for a base AWD version and the high figure for RWD Premium. |
| Tesla Model Y, tested base RWD | 337 miles | Edmunds test result reported by AP. |
| Tesla Model Y L, three-row | 358 miles | Figure reported by the Edmunds comparison; not a result for every Model Y configuration. |
For a trim-by-trim choice, compare the drivetrain as well as the badge: AWD versions are rated below RWD versions for both vehicles in the cited comparison. Rivian’s current product page lists the Standard, Premium, and Performance figures; the comparison supplies the Standard Long Range figure. See Rivian’s R2 specifications and the AP-published Edmunds comparison.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How much bigger is the R2, and which has more usable space?
The available figures do not support a complete, matched exterior-dimensions comparison with the Model Y. Rivian lists the R2 at 185.9 inches long, 84.7 inches wide including mirrors (78.1 inches with mirrors folded), 66.9 inches high, with a 115.6-inch wheelbase. That length alone is not enough to establish which vehicle has the larger overall footprint.
#1 Best Overall
- Realistic features with doors, front trunk, and gear tunnel that open and wheels that turn
- Interior details: wood grain panel and patterned stitching on the seats
- Four wheel suspension
- Panoramic glass roof
- Popular Colors: Available in Forest Green and Glacier White
For cargo, the Edmunds comparison reports 90.1 cubic feet of total storage for the R2 versus 75.5 cubic feet for the five-seat Model Y. Rivian also lists 79.4 cubic feet behind the R2’s front row with the rear seats folded. Edmunds describes passenger space as similar, with somewhat more rear headroom in the R2. These capacities are useful indicators, but the way cargo is measured and the seating configuration affect how much space is practical for a particular load.
When the Model Y’s third row matters
Model Y Premium and Model Y L versions offer a third row. It can make room for occasional extra passengers, but using it reduces cargo space; Edmunds says the row is best suited to children and small adults. If you regularly need seven seats, confirm the exact version and seating configuration rather than comparing its cargo capacity with the five-seat Model Y figure.
Rank #2
- Realistic features with doors, front trunk, and gear tunnel that open and wheels that turn
- Interior details: wood grain panel and patterned stitching on the seats
- Four wheel suspension
- Panoramic glass roof
- Popular Colors: Available in Forest Green and Glacier White
Towing and rough-road use
Rivian lists a maximum towing capacity of 4,400 pounds for an R2 equipped with the Tow Package. The comparison gives the Model Y a 3,500-pound maximum. These are configuration-dependent capacity claims, not a guarantee that every version can tow that weight; check the specific vehicle’s equipment and towing guidance before planning a load. Edmunds characterizes the R2 as more capable off-road, while its comfort and interface comments are reviewer assessments rather than measured specifications.
Can the Rivian R2 use Tesla Superchargers?
Yes. Rivian says every R2 has a NACS charge port and can access more than 21,000 Tesla Superchargers across the United States and Canada. The Edmunds comparison says both the R2 and Model Y can use the Supercharger network. Network access does not mean every charging stop will deliver the same power or time: the station, vehicle configuration, battery state and conditions affect the result. See Rivian’s R2 charging information.
Rank #3
- Toy Vehicle Form: Car
- Theme: Car
How the advertised fast-charging figures compare
Rivian advertises up to 150 miles added in 15 minutes and a 10%–80% charge in under 30 minutes on a DC fast charger. Tesla advertises up to 162 miles added in 15 minutes for the Model Y, as reported in the Edmunds comparison, which also found Tesla slightly quicker in its testing. Neither advertised miles-added figure should be treated as a guaranteed stop time or a direct comparison of charging curves.
Tesla explains that its 15-minute estimate is based on constant-speed highway data at 65 mph and that actual results vary with the charger, configuration, battery state of charge and temperature, speed, weather, and elevation. The underlying conditions matter more than the headline number when estimating a real trip. See Tesla’s Model Y page for its charging-estimate caveat.
Rank #4
- Theme: Sport
- Toy vehicle form: Car
- Included components: Batteries
- Material: Metal
Is the R2 cheaper than the Model Y?
It depends on whether you compare current listed trim prices or the destination-inclusive starting prices in the September 2026 Edmunds comparison. Rivian’s current page lists trim prices without an explicit destination-charge statement in the extracted information; the AP comparison includes destination charges. The amounts below therefore use clearly labeled bases rather than presenting them as identical sticker-price quotes.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →| Vehicle and trim | Price | Basis and availability stated in the sources |
|---|---|---|
| Rivian R2 Standard | $44,990 | Rivian current listed price; coming in 2027. Destination treatment is not stated on the page information cited here. |
| Rivian R2 Premium | $53,990 | Rivian current listed price; coming late 2026. Destination treatment is not stated on the page information cited here. |
| Rivian R2 Performance | $57,990 | Rivian current listed price; marked available now. A limited-time Launch Package is also described on the page. |
| Rivian R2 Standard | $46,485 | Destination-inclusive starting price in the AP-published Edmunds comparison; less expensive R2 trims were described as coming later at that time. |
| Rivian R2 Performance | $59,485 | Destination-inclusive price in the AP-published Edmunds comparison. |
| Tesla Model Y base | $41,380 | Destination-inclusive starting price in the AP-published Edmunds comparison. |
| Tesla Model Y L | $63,380 | Destination-inclusive price in the AP-published Edmunds comparison. |
On the destination-inclusive figures, the base Model Y started below the R2 Standard in the September 2026 comparison. Rivian’s current listed Performance price is lower than the comparison’s destination-inclusive Performance figure, but the sources use different price presentations. Verify the live configurators for the vehicle, delivery timing, destination charges, and any limited-time package before comparing what you would actually pay. See Rivian’s current R2 pricing and availability and the September 2026 comparison.
Best Value
- Made In Malaysia
Which SUV suits which buyer?
Edmunds’ assessment, reported by AP, describes the Model Y as more comfortable over bumps and the better fit for buyers prioritizing range and comfort. It describes the R2 as more premium-feeling and more capable off-road, with a digital driver display and an interface the reviewer found more responsive and enjoyable. Those are Edmunds’ impressions from its comparison, not universal measurements. Its overall verdict was a tie.
- Consider the Model Y if the range available in your preferred trim, a smoother ride according to Edmunds, or the optional third row is most important.
- Consider the R2 if its reported cargo capacity, available towing configuration, rear headroom, or the reviewer-assessed off-road emphasis better fits how you plan to use the SUV.
Before choosing, compare the exact trims and drivetrain, the price basis and delivery date, and the number of seats you will actually use. For road trips, weigh independent test results and charging behavior alongside the advertised range and peak charging claims; for city use, check the R2’s published dimensions against your parking space, accounting for its mirrors.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors




