Recommended Free Tools
Choose Premium if you want the complete SHOWTIME catalog, downloads, or live CBS. Choose Essential if $8.99 per month is the priority and you can accept advertising plus a smaller, “select SHOWTIME” lineup.
The naming causes confusion because the current U.S. Paramount+ signup page does not present a tier called “Paramount+ With Showtime.” It lists Paramount+ Essential at $8.99/month and Paramount+ Premium at $13.99/month. Premium is the tier whose listing includes all SHOWTIME originals and movies. The comparison below uses those current labels and the U.S. direct-signup terms observed on October 13, 2026.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The current plan names: Essential and Premium
“Paramount+ With Showtime” is still a useful phrase when searching for the higher tier, but it is not the name shown for the two choices on the current U.S. signup page. Paramount+ presents the decision as Essential versus Premium. That distinction matters because older articles, saved screenshots and third-party billing pages may use the former wording while the current offer uses the newer labels.
For this article, “SHOWTIME” refers to the programming included through Paramount+, not a separate plan you must add at checkout. The key difference is completeness: Essential advertises select SHOWTIME series, while Premium advertises all SHOWTIME originals and movies.
#1 Best Overall
- HD streaming made simple: With America’s number 1 TV streaming platform,* exploring popular apps—plus tons of free movies, shows, and live TV—is as easy as it is fun. *Based on hours streamed—Hypothesis Group
- Compact without compromises: The sleek design of Roku Streaming Stick won’t block neighboring HDMI ports, and it even powers from your TV alone, plugging into the back and staying out of sight. No wall outlet, no extra cords, no clutter.
- No more juggling remotes: Power up your TV, adjust the volume, and control your Roku device with one remote. Use your voice to quickly search, play entertainment, and more.
- Shows on the go: Take your TV to-go when traveling—without needing to log into someone else’s device.
- TV, simplified: With setup that only takes minutes, a simple-to-navigate Home Screen, and an uncluttered remote control that does all you need—Roku makes it easier to watch the TV you love.
Paramount+ also markets its service as having more than 40,000 episodes and movies. That is a claim on Paramount+’s plan page, observed in 2026, rather than an independently audited catalog count. Library availability can change as licensing agreements change.
Paramount+ Essential vs. Premium at a glance
| Decision point | Paramount+ Essential | Paramount+ Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly price on the U.S. direct-signup page | $8.99/month | $13.99/month |
| Advertising | Ad supported | No ads in on-demand viewing, but live TV includes ads; Paramount+ also notes trailers, sponsorships or similar promotional material |
| SHOWTIME access | Select SHOWTIME series; the selection may not include every episode | All SHOWTIME originals and movies |
| Downloads | Not listed as a feature on the cited comparison | Movies and shows can be downloaded, subject to restrictions |
| Live CBS | Not listed as a feature | Stream CBS live |
| Picture formats | Not specified for this tier in the cited comparison | 4K UHD, Dolby Vision and HDR10 on select titles, subject to internet service and device capabilities |
| Annual price | Not stated on the cited search extract | Not stated on the cited search extract |
The $5 monthly difference is the practical dividing line. Premium costs $13.99/month versus $8.99/month for Essential on the U.S. page observed October 13, 2026. Paramount+ offers annual billing, but the available listing does not state annual prices, so you should check the checkout total rather than infer a yearly amount from the monthly figures.
SHOWTIME: select series versus the full offering
What Essential includes
Essential includes select SHOWTIME series. “Select” is important: Paramount+ cautions that the selection may not include all episodes. If you choose Essential for a particular SHOWTIME program, verify that the episodes you expect are actually available in the catalog before relying on the cheaper tier. A title page or episode list can change independently of the plan name.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallWhat Premium adds
Premium is the tier Paramount+ associates with all SHOWTIME originals and movies. For a household that follows multiple SHOWTIME franchises, wants films as well as series, or does not want to check whether a specific episode is excluded, this is the clearest reason to pay the difference.
Why the distinction affects the decision
The two plans are not simply different advertising settings. Essential can also mean incomplete SHOWTIME access. Premium combines the broader SHOWTIME catalog with downloads and live CBS, so the decision should start with the content and features you actually use rather than with the label “ad free.”
Advertising and what “no ads” really means
Essential is explicitly ad supported
Essential is the lower-cost, ad-supported option. Commercial breaks are part of the on-demand viewing experience, so its $8.99 price should be evaluated as a trade-off between money and interruption, not as a temporary discount.
Premium removes most on-demand advertising, not every promotion
Premium is listed as having no ads except for live TV. Paramount+ also notes that trailers, sponsorships or similar material may still appear. In other words, Premium is not a promise that every second of every stream is free from promotional content. The page’s wording distinguishes ordinary on-demand ads from live-TV advertising and service promotions.
Rank #2
- 4K streaming made simple:With America’s number 1 TV streaming platform,* exploring popular apps—plus tons of free movies, shows, and live TV—is as easy as it is fun. *Based on hours streamed—Hypothesis Group
- 4K picture quality: With Roku Streaming Stick Plus, watch your favorites with brilliant 4K picture and vivid HDR color.
- Compact without compromises: Our sleek design won’t block neighboring HDMI ports, and it even powers from your TV alone, plugging into the back and staying out of sight. No wall outlet, no extra cords, no clutter.
- No more juggling remotes: Power up your TV, adjust the volume, and control your Roku device with one remote. Use your voice to quickly search, play entertainment, and more.
- Shows on the go: Take your TV to-go when traveling—without needing to log into someone else’s device.
Live CBS remains an ad-supported environment
If you use Premium for live CBS, expect the normal advertising associated with a live broadcast. You cannot treat the live feed as an ad-free version of the on-demand library. This limitation is especially relevant if your main reason for upgrading is live programming rather than SHOWTIME.
Downloads and offline viewing
Premium is the plan that lists downloads
Premium allows movies and shows to be downloaded for offline viewing, subject to restrictions. The cited comparison does not list downloads as an Essential feature. If you regularly travel, have unreliable connectivity, or want to reduce mobile-data use, Premium is the safer choice because offline access is explicitly part of its feature set.
Restrictions still apply
“Downloadable” does not mean permanent ownership. Paramount+ states that restrictions apply, but the supplied plan comparison does not specify the exact device limits, expiration windows, title exclusions or download count. Check the in-app download information for the current rules on your device, and do not assume that every SHOWTIME movie or series can be stored offline.
How to make the upgrade decision
List the programs and trips that matter to you. If offline playback is merely a nice-to-have and you normally stream over a reliable connection, Essential may be sufficient. If downloading is a requirement rather than a bonus, Premium is the only tier in this comparison that advertises it.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Live CBS: a Premium-only reason to upgrade
Premium includes live CBS streaming. Essential’s cited listing does not include live CBS as a feature. This is different from watching previously recorded or on-demand CBS programming: the Premium benefit is access to the live feed, with the advertising limitations described above.
Live-channel availability can depend on the service’s current U.S. offering and your device or location. The plan comparison establishes Premium’s live-CBS inclusion, but it does not provide a local-station map or a guarantee for every market. Confirm that your local CBS stream is supported before subscribing solely for a particular station or event.
Picture quality and compatible equipment
Premium’s listed formats
Premium lists 4K UHD, Dolby Vision and HDR10 on select titles. “Select” applies to the titles, not automatically to the entire catalog. The page also says that internet service and device capabilities matter, so a compatible television, streaming player and sufficient connection are all required to see the advertised format.
Rank #3
- Stunning 4K and Dolby Vision streaming made simple: With America’s number 1 TV streaming platform,* exploring popular apps—plus tons of free movies, shows, and live TV—is as easy as it is fun. *Based on hours streamed—Hypothesis Group
- Breathtaking picture quality: Stunningly sharp 4K picture brings out rich detail in your entertainment with four times the resolution of HD. Watch as colors pop off your screen and enjoy lifelike clarity with Dolby Vision and HDR10+.
- Seamless streaming for any room: With Roku Streaming Stick 4K, watch your favorite entertainment on any TV in the house, even in rooms farther from your router thanks to the long-range Wi-Fi receiver.
- Shows on the go: Take your TV to-go when traveling—without needing to log into someone else’s device.
- Compact without compromises: Our sleek design won’t block neighboring HDMI ports, so you can switch from streaming to gaming with ease. Plus, it’s designed to stay hidden behind your TV, keeping wires neatly out of sight
What the listing does not establish
The cited comparison does not specify a resolution or HDR entitlement for Essential. It also does not provide minimum bandwidth figures, a complete device-compatibility list, or a guarantee that every Premium title supports every one of the listed formats. Treat the format information as title- and equipment-dependent rather than as a promise of universal 4K playback.
When picture quality should influence your choice
Premium’s video formats matter most if you already own a 4K/HDR setup and regularly watch titles carrying those badges. If you mostly use a basic HD television or a small mobile screen, the SHOWTIME catalog, downloads and live CBS are likely to be more meaningful differentiators than HDR support.
Price, billing and the value of the $5 gap
Monthly prices
The official U.S. direct-signup page observed October 13, 2026, lists Essential at $8.99 per month and Premium at $13.99 per month. That makes Premium $5 more each month at the listed monthly rates. Prices and features can change, and taxes or platform-specific billing terms may affect the amount shown at checkout.
Annual billing
The signup page offers annual billing, but the available listing does not state the annual prices. Do not multiply the monthly rates and present the result as an annual subscription price; the actual annual total, renewal terms and savings, if any, must be read on the checkout screen.
Evaluating value over a month
Premium is easier to justify when you will use at least one of its exclusive benefits repeatedly: the full SHOWTIME selection, offline downloads or live CBS. Essential is the rational option when those features are irrelevant and you prefer to keep the recurring bill lower, even though you will watch with ads and may encounter an incomplete SHOWTIME selection.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Who should choose Essential?
Choose Essential when price is the primary constraint
At $8.99/month, Essential is the lower-cost entry point. It suits viewers who want Paramount+’s general on-demand catalog and can tolerate advertising. The plan is particularly sensible when the household does not watch SHOWTIME regularly and does not need offline playback or live CBS.
Choose Essential when select SHOWTIME is enough
If the only SHOWTIME programs you care about are confirmed to be in the Essential selection, paying for the full Premium catalog may not add value. Recheck the episode list before subscribing because Paramount+ warns that select programming may not include all episodes.
Rank #4
- Hides behind your TV: The all-new design plugs right into your TV with a simple setup
- Super-fast startup: Start streaming channels like Disney+, Prime Video, HBO Max, Apple TV+, Netflix, Sling, and Hulu in a snap—just turn on your TV
- Long-range Wi-Fi: Enjoy fast, smooth TV streaming in any room with a strong Wi-Fi connection, now up to 2x faster
- No more juggling remotes: Power up your TV, adjust the volume, and control your Roku Streaming Stick with the Roku remote
- Voice search & control: Quickly search, play entertainment, and control your streaming device with the voice remote
Choose Essential when live viewing and travel are unimportant
Essential’s cited listing does not include live CBS or downloads. That is not a problem if you watch at home, stream on demand and have no need to save programs for flights, commutes or weak-signal locations.
Who should choose Premium?
Choose Premium for all SHOWTIME originals and movies
Premium is the straightforward choice for viewers who want the complete SHOWTIME offering advertised by Paramount+. It removes the uncertainty around whether a series is only partially available on Essential and adds SHOWTIME movies to the stated entitlement.
Choose Premium for offline viewing
If downloads are a requirement, Premium is the tier that lists them. Remember that restrictions apply, so confirm the current rules in the app after subscribing.
Choose Premium for live CBS
Premium includes live CBS, while live CBS is not listed for Essential. This can make the $5 monthly difference worthwhile for viewers who use the live feed often enough to replace another viewing method.
Choose Premium for select 4K and HDR titles
Premium lists 4K UHD, Dolby Vision and HDR10 on select titles. Select this tier for that capability only if your internet service and playback equipment support the formats and the titles you intend to watch carry the relevant format.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.A practical decision checklist
Answer these questions before you enter payment details:
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems- Do you need every SHOWTIME original and movie? If yes, choose Premium. If no, continue.
- Will you download movies or shows for offline playback? If yes, choose Premium; downloads are not listed for Essential.
- Do you need live CBS? If yes, choose Premium.
- Are ads acceptable in exchange for the lower bill? If yes, Essential remains viable. If no, Premium removes ordinary on-demand ads but still has ads on live TV and may show trailers or sponsorship material.
- Do you own compatible 4K/HDR equipment and care about supported titles? If yes, Premium offers the listed formats on select content.
- Is $5 per month more than those benefits are worth? If yes, choose Essential and accept its catalog and advertising limits.
This sequence prevents a common mistake: upgrading for the phrase “with SHOWTIME” without checking whether you actually need the full catalog, downloads or live CBS.
Best Value
- Upgrade your TV, instantly – Fire TV Stick HD is our fastest HD streaming stick ever, with a streamlined navigation that jumps straight to your movies, shows, and live TV. Take your entertainment on the go with the new ultra-portable profile. And watch it all come to life with crisp Full HD and Wi-Fi 6 support.
- The newest Fire TV experience (2026) – Our biggest update to Fire TV has a new, modern design that gets you to your entertainment fast. Browse dedicated content categories, pin more of your favorite apps, and get personalized recommendations from Alexa+. Spend less time scrolling, and more time watching.
- All your apps in one place – Prime Video, Netflix, YouTube, Disney+, Apple TV, HBO Max, Hulu, Peacock, Paramount+, and thousands more. It’s easy to find what to watch from hundreds of thousands of movies and TV episodes, including free, ad-supported content. Subscription fees may apply.
- Our most portable stick – Thin and light, without extra clutter. Connects directly to your TV's HDMI port without blocking other ports.
- Easier than ever to set up – Now with Direct Power, it's powered by your TV with the included USB-C cable and eliminates the need for a wall adapter.
How to choose on the current U.S. signup page
- Open the official Paramount+ U.S. signup flow and confirm that the page shows the current Essential and Premium labels.
- Compare the monthly price displayed at checkout with the advertised $8.99 Essential and $13.99 Premium rates. If you select annual billing, read the complete annual total because it is not established by the monthly figures above.
- Review the SHOWTIME wording. Essential is described as select series; Premium is described as all SHOWTIME originals and movies.
- Check the feature lines for downloads, live CBS and video formats if any of them are deciding factors.
- Verify the renewal amount, billing channel and cancellation terms before confirming. Paramount+ uses “cancel anytime” language on its page, but the exact cancellation path can depend on whether you subscribe directly or through another billing platform.
The page and plan features can change. A saved article or screenshot should not override the terms displayed immediately before payment.
Important U.S. and availability limits
Prices are U.S.-specific
The prices in this comparison apply to the current U.S. direct-signup listing. They should not be generalized to Canada, the United Kingdom or any other country. International catalogs, currencies, taxes and plan names may differ.
Direct signup is not every billing route
The evidence here covers Paramount+’s direct signup page. A subscription purchased through a mobile app store, television platform or another distributor may show different billing controls, taxes, promotional terms or cancellation instructions. Read the terms presented by the seller you actually use.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Catalogs and technical support change
SHOWTIME licensing, episode availability, supported devices and picture-format support can change after you subscribe. Premium’s “all SHOWTIME originals and movies” wording is the current plan-page offer, not a guarantee that a title will remain available indefinitely.
Bottom line: make the choice by feature, not by the old name
The current U.S. comparison is simple once the naming is updated. Essential costs $8.99/month and is ad supported, with only select SHOWTIME series. Premium costs $13.99/month and adds all SHOWTIME originals and movies, downloads subject to restrictions, and live CBS. Premium also lists 4K UHD, Dolby Vision and HDR10 on select titles, while live TV still contains ads and promotional material may appear.
Pick Premium when any of those additions is central to how you watch. Pick Essential when the lower monthly price matters more than a complete SHOWTIME catalog, offline playback or live CBS. Recheck the U.S. signup page at the moment you subscribe because both prices and features are subject to change.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.




