The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →The Nothing Phone (4a) Pro and Motorola moto g max have clearly different strengths: Nothing lists an AMOLED 144Hz display and a 3.5× optical periscope telephoto camera, while Motorola lists a larger 7,000mAh battery. Nothing also publishes a longer software-support commitment. A current price difference cannot be stated reliably without choosing a country and checking a current Motorola price against an equivalent Nothing configuration.
Specifications at a glance
| Specification | Nothing Phone (4a) Pro | Motorola moto g max |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.83-inch AMOLED, 1.5K resolution, 144Hz refresh rate | 6.72-inch LCD, Full HD+ (2400 × 1080), 120Hz refresh rate |
| Processor | Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 | Snapdragon 6s Gen 4 |
| Memory and storage | Launch configurations include 8GB/128GB and 12GB/256GB; LPDDR5X RAM and UFS 3.1 storage | 6GB LPDDR5X RAM and 128GB UFS 3.1 storage listed |
| Rear cameras | 50MP main camera with OIS, 50MP 3.5× periscope telephoto, and Sony ultrawide | 50MP Sony LYTIA 600 main camera and 8MP ultrawide |
| Front camera | 32MP | 32MP |
| Battery and charging | 5,080mAh; 50W charging | 7,000mAh; 30W TurboPower |
| Durability | IP65; Nothing describes an immersion test up to 25cm for up to 20 minutes | IP64 water-resistant design; Gorilla Glass 7i and MIL-STD-810H listed |
| Software and published support | Android 16-based Nothing OS 4.1; three years of Android updates and six years of security patches | Android 16; two OS upgrades and three years of security maintenance releases |
| 5G details | 5G; detailed regional band compatibility is not established in the cited announcement | Sub-6 5G and network bands listed, with market variation caveat |
These are manufacturer-published specifications, not independent tests. They do not establish real-world speed, display brightness, photo quality, or battery endurance. Motorola notes that some specifications may vary by market. Sources: Nothing’s March 5, 2026 announcement and Motorola’s moto g max specifications page.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Ringke for Nothing Phone 4a Pro Case [Fusion-X Black] | $18.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Ringke for Nothing Phone 4a Pro Case [Fusion-X Camo Black] | $19.99 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Which display is better on paper?
The Nothing Phone (4a) Pro has the larger listed display at 6.83 inches, uses AMOLED, and has a 144Hz refresh rate. Motorola’s 6.72-inch panel is LCD with a 120Hz refresh rate. Nothing also specifies 1.5K resolution, while Motorola lists Full HD+ at 2400 × 1080. Those figures distinguish the panels, but they do not by themselves prove which screen looks brighter or more accurate in everyday use.
Camera comparison: optical zoom is the key difference
Nothing Phone (4a) Pro
Nothing lists a 50MP main camera with optical image stabilization, a 50MP periscope telephoto camera with 3.5× optical zoom, and a Sony ultrawide. Its announcement also advertises zoom up to 140×; that high-magnification claim should not be confused with the telephoto camera’s 3.5× optical zoom.
#1 Best Overall
- Heavy-duty bumper frame case
- Anti-slip embossed texture for a secure grip
- Non-yellowing TPU bumper and polycarbonate back
- Air Cushion Bumper design for enhanced shock protection
- Built-in strap holes to attach wrist straps and other accessories
Motorola moto g max
Motorola lists a 50MP Sony LYTIA 600 main camera and an 8MP ultrawide, with digital zoom up to 8×. The listed rear-camera hardware does not include a dedicated telephoto camera. Both phones list a 32MP front camera, but matching megapixel counts do not establish matching image quality.
Battery, charging, and durability
Motorola lists a 7,000mAh battery, compared with 5,080mAh in the Nothing phone. Nothing’s listed charging rate is higher at 50W, versus Motorola’s 30W TurboPower. Capacity and charging wattage are specifications, not guarantees of a particular runtime or charge time.
The durability claims are different rather than interchangeable. Nothing specifies IP65 and describes an immersion test up to 25cm for up to 20 minutes. Motorola lists an IP64 water-resistant design, Gorilla Glass 7i, and MIL-STD-810H. Neither rating means a phone is waterproof; follow each manufacturer’s terms for the actual protection limits.
Rank #2
- Heavy-duty bumper frame case
- Anti-slip embossed texture for a secure grip
- Non-yellowing TPU bumper and polycarbonate back
- Air Cushion Bumper design for enhanced shock protection
- Built-in strap holes to attach wrist straps and other accessories
Software and update support
Nothing lists Android 16-based Nothing OS 4.1, three years of Android updates, and six years of security patches. Motorola lists Android 16, two OS upgrades, and three years of security maintenance releases. On these published commitments, Nothing offers the longer stated support period. Regional terms and current commitments should be checked before purchase.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Price difference: what can be confirmed
There is no substantiated current price gap without a country, matching configurations, and a current Motorola retail price. Motorola’s official specifications page does not state a price or establish retail availability.
| Market and price snapshot | Nothing Phone (4a) Pro | Motorola moto g max |
|---|---|---|
| UK launch price, announced March 5, 2026 | £499 for 8GB/128GB; £549 for 12GB/256GB | Price not stated on Motorola’s specifications page |
| US launch price, announced March 5, 2026 | $499 for 8GB/128GB; $599 for 12GB/256GB | Price not stated on Motorola’s specifications page |
| European launch price, announced March 5, 2026 | €479 for 8GB/128GB; €549 for 12GB/256GB | Price not stated on Motorola’s specifications page |
| UK product-page snapshot, accessed October 7, 2026 | £519 displayed for the selected silver 8GB/128GB variant | Price not stated on Motorola’s specifications page |
The launch figures are historical prices announced by Nothing, not a guarantee of today’s price. The £519 figure is a later UK product-page snapshot for a specific selected variant; it should not be conflated with the £499 UK launch price. Nothing’s announcement said general sales outside Japan would begin March 27, 2026. Check current local listings and compare the same RAM and storage tier before deciding which costs less. Sources: Nothing UK product page, Nothing’s March 5, 2026 launch announcement, and Motorola’s specifications page.
Quick Recap
Which phone should you choose?
- Choose the Nothing Phone (4a) Pro if an AMOLED 144Hz display, a dedicated 3.5× optical telephoto camera, or the longer published update commitment matters most to you.
- Consider the Motorola moto g max if its listed 7,000mAh battery is the priority and its LCD display and camera setup suit your needs.
- Before buying either phone, confirm the exact regional configuration, current price, and carrier-band compatibility. Motorola’s listed network specifications can vary by market, and detailed regional band compatibility for Nothing is not established in the cited announcement.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools




