Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The iPhone 17 and Motorola moto g max 5G prioritize different things: Apple lists an OLED display, A19 chip and IP68 rating, while Motorola’s US specifications list a larger LCD, a 7,000mAh battery, a headphone jack and memory-card support. There is no verified, like-for-like current price comparison here, so the better choice depends on your priorities—and the price difference must be checked for your market and exact phone variant.
iPhone 17 vs moto g max 5G: specifications at a glance
The figures below come from Apple’s iPhone 17 specifications and Motorola’s US moto g max materials. They are manufacturer-listed specifications, not independent measurements. Motorola says that “Certain specifications may vary by market,” so confirm the exact regional model before buying.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Specification | Apple iPhone 17 | Motorola moto g max |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.3-inch OLED; 2622 × 1206 resolution; 460 ppi; adaptive refresh rate up to 120Hz | 6.72-inch LCD; 2400 × 1080 resolution; 391 ppi; 120Hz refresh rate |
| Chip and operating system | Apple A19; iOS | Qualcomm Snapdragon 6s Gen 4; Android 16 |
| Memory and storage | 256GB or 512GB storage listed; no microSD slot listed on Apple’s specification page | 6GB LPDDR5X RAM and 128GB built-in storage on the cited US specification; Motorola support materials indicate memory-card support |
| Rear cameras | 48MP Fusion main and 48MP Fusion ultra-wide; 2x optical-quality telephoto enabled by the main camera | 50MP main and 8MP ultra-wide |
| Battery and charging | Battery capacity in mAh not stated on the cited Apple specification page | 7,000mAh battery; 30W TurboPower charging |
| Durability rating | IP68; Apple specifies up to 6m for up to 30 minutes under IEC 60529 | IP64 water-resistant design; Motorola also lists MIL-STD-810H testing, subject to caveats in its support materials |
| Connectivity and extras | US-listed model: 5G sub-6 and mmWave, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, eSIM-only | US-listed specifications: 5G sub-6, Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac), Bluetooth 5.1, 3.5mm headset jack; NFC listed as absent |
| Current selling price | Not stated on the cited specification page | Not stated on the cited specification page |
Which display is the better fit?
The iPhone 17 pairs a smaller 6.3-inch screen with an OLED panel and 460 ppi. The moto g max has a larger 6.72-inch LCD, a 120Hz refresh rate and 391 ppi. Apple specifies adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz; Motorola lists 120Hz. Screen size alone does not determine display quality: panel type, resolution, pixel density and how you use the phone all matter.
Recommended Free Tools
Choose based on what you value more: the iPhone’s OLED specification and higher listed pixel density, or the moto g max’s larger viewing area. The figures alone do not establish how the displays compare in brightness, color accuracy or everyday viewing.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
How do the cameras compare?
Apple lists a 48MP main and 48MP ultra-wide rear camera system, with 2x optical-quality telephoto enabled by the main camera. Motorola lists a 50MP main and 8MP ultra-wide. Megapixel counts describe resolution, not overall photo quality; these specifications do not establish which phone takes better pictures. No comparative camera testing is available here.
If camera quality is decisive, look for sample photos taken in comparable conditions and independent testing of the exact models. Do not treat the higher megapixel figure on one camera as proof of a better result.
Rank #2
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
What the battery and charging specifications do—and don’t—tell you
Motorola lists a 7,000mAh battery and 30W TurboPower charging for the moto g max. Apple’s cited iPhone 17 specifications do not state a comparable battery capacity in mAh. Capacity alone cannot establish which phone lasts longer: no side-by-side runtime test is available here, and battery life depends on use and other factors. Compare independent tests that use the same conditions if runtime matters more than the listed capacity.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Durability, ports and storage
Water and dust resistance
Apple rates iPhone 17 IP68 and specifies a laboratory condition of up to 6m for up to 30 minutes under IEC 60529. Motorola lists the moto g max as IP64 water-resistant and also refers to MIL-STD-810H testing with caveats in its support materials. These are manufacturer specifications, not guarantees against all water damage or every kind of impact. Do not assume that a rating makes a phone suitable for deliberate immersion or use outside its stated conditions.
Rank #3
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Headphones and expandable storage
Motorola’s cited US materials list a 3.5mm headset jack and support for a memory card. The iPhone 17 specification page lists 256GB and 512GB capacities and no microSD slot. Motorola lists no NFC on the cited US specifications. These features may differ by regional model, so check the exact SKU rather than assuming the US listing applies where you live.
Which phone should you choose?
The iPhone 17 may suit you if
- You prefer Apple’s OLED display and the A19 platform.
- You want iOS and Apple’s ecosystem.
- The listed IP68 rating is important to your choice.
- You want the listed 48MP main and ultra-wide camera configuration.
The moto g max may suit you if
- You want a larger display.
- The listed 7,000mAh battery capacity is a priority, while recognizing it does not prove longer runtime.
- You value a 3.5mm headphone jack or the memory-card support indicated in Motorola’s support materials.
- You prefer Android and the listed Snapdragon 6s Gen 4 platform.
These are fits based on published specifications, not conclusions from hands-on use or comparative performance testing.
Rank #4
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
How to find the real price difference
The available specifications do not establish current matched retail prices for either phone. A fair comparison needs local, current listings for the same storage configuration and comparable purchase terms. Prices, stock and regional variants can change; Motorola specifically cautions that specifications may vary by market.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
- Compare prices from sellers serving the same country, checked on the same date.
- Match storage capacity where possible; the listed configurations differ between the two phones.
- Check whether each listing is unlocked or tied to a carrier.
- Compare the final price, including taxes and required fees, and check warranty terms and seller status.
- Confirm the exact Motorola variant and its supported network bands and SIM compatibility in your country.
Until those details are matched, a numeric price gap would be misleading. The official specification pages provide product details, not a reliable live-price comparison.
Best Value
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Sources and scope
Specifications are drawn from Apple’s iPhone 17 technical specifications and Motorola Support’s US moto g max specifications, with feature information also indicated in Motorola’s SIM and SD card support materials. They describe manufacturer-published specifications, not independently verified performance, current stock or current selling prices.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




