The right Kindle depends on what you read and how you use it: choose the 6-inch Kindle (2024 release) for a compact black-and-white reader, the Paperwhite (12th Generation, 2024 release) for a larger screen, warm light and waterproofing, Colorsoft for color pages, or Scribe if you want to write and annotate with a pen. Storage is 16 GB on the basic Kindle and standard Paperwhite; choose a higher-capacity edition only if its extra room or charging feature suits your needs.
Compare current Kindle models by what matters to you
Amazon’s official identification guide lists these features for the models below. It is a product reference, not a live inventory or independent test; availability and specifications can vary by market and release. Check the exact generation and configuration on the retail listing before buying.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Model | Screen and lighting | Waterproofing | Storage and charging | Writing support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindle (2024 release) | 6-inch, 300 ppi glare-free E Ink display; adjustable front light and dark mode | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide | 16 GB; USB-C charging | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide |
| Kindle Paperwhite (12th Generation, 2024 release) | Larger reading area than the 6-inch basic Kindle; adjustable warm light and dark mode | IPX8 | 16 GB; USB-C charging | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition (12th Generation, 2024 release) | Paperwhite display features | IPX8 | 32 GB; wireless charging; dock sold separately | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide |
| Kindle Colorsoft | Color display | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide | Standard model: 16 GB. Signature Edition: 32 GB and wireless charging; dock sold separately | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide |
| Kindle Scribe | Adjustable screen light; Scribe Colorsoft has a color display | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide | Higher capacities are listed for Scribe variants; exact capacity depends on model | Recent Scribe models include a Premium Pen; Scribe Colorsoft supports color writing features |
Amazon lists battery life of up to 6 weeks for the Kindle (2024 release) and up to 12 weeks for the Paperwhite (12th Generation, 2024 release). These are maximum listed figures, not a guarantee of the time any particular reader will get. See Amazon’s Kindle identification guide for the official model details.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsChoose a screen for your reading habits
Pick the basic Kindle for a compact reader
The Kindle (2024 release) has a 6-inch, 300 ppi glare-free E Ink display. Its smaller screen is a practical fit if portability is your priority and black-and-white text is what you mainly read. It also has an adjustable front light and dark mode.
#1 Best Overall
- Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.
- Effortless reading in any light - Read comfortably with a 6“ glare-free display, adjustable front light—now 25% brighter at max setting—and dark mode.
- Escape into your books - Tune out messages, emails, and social media with a distraction-free reading experience.
- Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
- Take your library with you – 16 GB storage holds thousands of books.
Choose Paperwhite for warm light and a larger reading area
The Paperwhite (12th Generation, 2024 release) is the larger-screen alternative to the 6-inch basic Kindle. Its adjustable warm light is a useful distinction if you want to tune the screen’s lighting, and its IPX8 waterproofing makes it the listed choice for readers who want that protection.
Consider Colorsoft for illustrated material
Colorsoft is Amazon’s Kindle family with a color display. It may be a better match for material where color is useful, such as illustrated pages, than a black-and-white screen. The identification guide lists a standard 16 GB model and a 32 GB Signature Edition.
Rank #2
- Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.
- Effortless reading in any light - Read comfortably with a 6“ glare-free display, adjustable front light—now 25% brighter at max setting—and dark mode.
- Escape into your books - Tune out messages, emails, and social media with a distraction-free reading experience.
- Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
- Take your library with you - 16 GB storage holds thousands of books.
Choose Scribe if reading includes writing
Recent Scribe devices include a Premium Pen and adjustable screen light. Scribe Colorsoft adds a color display and supports color writing features. This is the pen-oriented option when you expect to write or annotate, rather than simply read.
Match the extra features to real needs
- Waterproofing: Amazon lists IPX8 for the Paperwhite (12th Generation). The guide does not establish waterproofing for the other models in this comparison.
- Warm light: Listed for the Paperwhite (12th Generation); the basic Kindle is listed with an adjustable front light but not adjustable warm light.
- Wireless charging: Listed for Paperwhite Signature Edition and Colorsoft Signature Edition. The compatible dock is sold separately; check the listing for the exact device and dock compatibility.
- Pen writing: A defining reason to consider Scribe, which includes a Premium Pen in recent models. Color writing features are listed for Scribe Colorsoft.
If you are unlikely to use color, pen input or wireless charging, do not choose a model solely for those features. Focus instead on the screen and protection you will use.
Rank #3
- Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
- Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
- Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
- Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
- Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
How much Kindle storage do you need?
The Kindle (2024 release) and standard Paperwhite (12th Generation) are listed with 16 GB of internal storage. Paperwhite Signature Edition and Colorsoft Signature Edition are listed with 32 GB; Scribe variants have higher capacities, with the exact amount depending on the model. Amazon’s guide does not establish a fixed number of books for each capacity, and file sizes vary, so storage is best matched to the types and volume of content you keep on the device.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
- Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
- Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
- Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
- Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
Rank #4
- Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
- Upgrade your reading experience – The Signature Edition features an auto-adjusting front light, wireless charging, and 32 GB storage.
- Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
- Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
- Adapts to your surroundings – The auto-adjusting front light lets you read in the brightest sunlight or late into the night.
Make the choice in four steps
- Decide on screen size and color. For compact black-and-white reading, start with the 6-inch Kindle (2024 release). For a larger area and warm light, consider Paperwhite (12th Generation). For color pages, compare Colorsoft models.
- Check whether you need protection or writing tools. Paperwhite (12th Generation) is the model in this comparison listed with IPX8 waterproofing. Choose Scribe when pen-based writing or annotation is part of your use.
- Choose storage based on your content. The basic Kindle and standard Paperwhite offer 16 GB; Signature Editions offer 32 GB. Scribe capacity varies by variant.
- Verify the exact listing for your market. Amazon notes that not all generations have been available in all marketplaces. Confirm model generation, storage, included accessories and current availability on the local retail listing.
What to verify before buying
- Generation and release year, especially when a listing uses only the family name, such as “Paperwhite.”
- Whether the listing is standard or Signature Edition, since storage and wireless charging differ.
- Whether a wireless charging dock is included; Amazon’s guide says it is sold separately for supported Signature Editions.
- Local availability and configuration, which can differ across marketplaces.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




