There is no single update lifetime for every Xiaomi or OPPO phone. Xiaomi says its phones typically get security updates for at least two years from a model’s first shipment, with some models supported for three years or longer; its general system-update cycle is around two to three years. OPPO’s promises vary by model and release period: older policies set different terms by series, while some newer flagships have longer commitments. These figures describe different things, so check the exact model and region—and distinguish major Android upgrades from security patches—before treating any number as a guarantee.
What “Android updates” and “security updates” mean
A phone’s update promise can include two separate measures. A major Android upgrade moves the phone to a newer Android version. A security update provides fixes for security vulnerabilities; it does not necessarily change the Android version. A manufacturer can therefore promise several Android upgrades for a shorter period, or continue security patches after the phone has received its last major Android upgrade.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
OPPO’s published policies explicitly distinguish the two measures. Xiaomi’s general support information gives a typical security-support baseline and a broad system-update cycle, but does not promise one universal number of Android-version upgrades for every model. So a statement such as “two to three years of updates” is not enough to tell you how many Android upgrades a phone will receive or when security patches will end.
When comparing models, look for the specific Android-upgrade count and patch-support duration, then check when the support clock starts and whether the promise applies to your sales region. A policy stated for a series or selected flagships is not automatically a guarantee for every model from that brand.
#1 Best Overall
- USA MARKET ONLY WORK ON TMOBILE BOOST MINT TELLO OR ANY UNDER TMOBILE NETWORK PHONE NEEDS A SIM CARD ALREADY ACTIVATED ,OUTSIDE USA WORKS ANY GSM CARRIER SIM GSM FCC ID: 2AFZZPC0AG
- Dual SIM (nano SIM + nano SIM or nano SIM + eSIM) (NO MICRO SD) 5G: 5G SA: n1/2/3/5/7/8/20/26/28/38/40/41/66*(70M)//77/78/485G NSA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66*(70M)/77/784G LTE TDD: B38/40/41/42/484G LTE FDD: B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/18/19/20/26/28/66*(70M)/713G WCDMA: 1/2/4/5/6/8/192G GSM: 2/3/5/8Supports 4x4 MIMO*5G SA/NSA N66(70M) and 4G B66(70M): UL 1710MHz~1780MHz, DL 2110MHz~2180MHz*5G connectivity may vary based on region availability and local operator support.
- 6.83" 1.5K 120Hz ultra-bright AMOLED displayResolution: 2772 x 1280Contrast ratio: 8,000,000:1Refresh rate: Up to 120Hz*Refresh rate can be adjusted to up to 120Hz for supported apps.Peak brightness: 3500 nits covering 25% display areaHBM brightness: 2000 nitsTypical brightness: 800 n: 2560Hz*480Hz touch sampling rate is activated under Game Turbo Mode.*2560Hz instant touch sampling rate is activated under Game Turbo Mode.12-bit color depth, 68 billion colorsDCI-P3 wide display 2.0HDR10+TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution) CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Flicker Free CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly CertifiedDolby VisionCorning Gorilla Glass 7i
- MediaTek Dimensity 9500s3nm manufacturing process1 x Cortex-X925, up to 3.73GHz3 x Cortex-X4, up to 3.3GHz4 x Cortex-A720, up to 2.4GHzImmortalis-G925 MC11NPU 890 - 8500mAh (typ)100W HyperChargeUSB Type-C charging portUp to 27W reverse chargingSupports PD3.0/PD2.0Smart charging
- Wi-Fi Protocol: Wi-Fi 7/ Wi-Fi 6/ Wi-Fi 5/ Wi-Fi 4 and 802.11a/b/g*Wi-Fi 7/Wi-Fi 6 capability may vary based on regional availability and local network support. Wi-Fi connectivity (including Wi-Fi frequency bands, Wi-Fi standards and other features as ratified in IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications) may vary based on regional availability and local network support. The function may be added via OTA when and where applicable.WLAN frequency: 2.4G Wi-Fi | 5G Wi-FiSupports Multi-Link Operation, 2x2 MIMO, 8x8 Sounding for MU-MIMO, Wi-Fi Direct, MiracastBluetooth 6.0, Dual-BluetoothSupports SBC / AAC / LDAC / LHDC 5.0 / LC3 / ASHA / AuracastNFC
It is also useful to separate a stated duration from an update schedule. A multi-year commitment describes the period of support, not necessarily the month a particular update will arrive on your handset. The official brand-level statements do not supply a complete rollout calendar for every model and market.
Xiaomi: what its general guidance says
Xiaomi says it typically maintains security updates for at least two years after a model’s first shipment. It adds that some models may receive security updates for three years or longer. That is Xiaomi’s general policy, not a claim that every Xiaomi phone receives the same duration or that every model’s support period starts on the date a customer buys it. The start point Xiaomi names is the model’s first shipment. Xiaomi’s official security-support FAQ also refers readers to its end-of-support information.
The first-shipment detail matters especially when comparing an older phone still being sold with a newer model. Xiaomi’s stated clock does not begin when an individual buyer opens the box, so purchase date alone cannot tell you how much of the stated support period remains. The general FAQ does not provide an exact end date for every model; check the specific device’s support or end-of-support information rather than calculating a date from a brand-wide minimum.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Separately, Xiaomi says the general system-update cycle for its smartphones is around two to three years. That broad estimate is not a universal Android-upgrade count, and it should not be added to the security-patch period as though the two figures describe one continuous promise. Xiaomi also says it may stop planning system updates once a system version reaches optimal stability. In other words, a phone can stop receiving system-version updates without that statement alone establishing the exact end date of security patches. Xiaomi’s update guidance explains the general cycle and how to check for an update.
How to check a Xiaomi phone for an update
-
Open Settings → About phone → Xiaomi HyperOS → Check for updates. Xiaomi gives this route in its official update guidance.
-
If the phone reports that it is up to date, remember that this only reports the update currently available to that phone. It does not establish how many future Android upgrades remain or a support end date.
-
Check Xiaomi’s support information and end-of-support listing for the exact model. Confirm the model name and sales market, since a brand-wide policy does not show the status of every variant.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy. -
If you expected an update that is not appearing, Xiaomi advises checking whether the phone was purchased through the official local sales channel. Update availability can be affected by the specific device and market; the general policy by itself does not diagnose an individual rollout delay.
Xiaomi also publishes an Android Enterprise Recommended device listing. Statements on patch timeliness, duration, or Android upgrades in that listing apply to the listed devices and program context; they should not be generalized into a promise for every Xiaomi consumer phone. For example, a listing-specific statement about one major Android update for enrolled devices is not a blanket upgrade count for the brand.
OPPO: support depends on series, model, and announcement
OPPO’s policy history illustrates why the phone’s exact model and release period matter. Its 2021 global ColorOS 12 announcement described a series-based policy for OPPO devices released from 2019 onward. In 2022, the company announced longer support for selected global flagship models beginning in 2023. Those announcements are useful evidence of stated policy tiers, but neither should be read as a current, complete model-by-model list for every country.
Rank #2
- USA MARKET ONLY WORK ON TMOBILE MINT TELLO OR ANY UNDER TMOBILE NETWORK PHONE NEEDS A SIM CARD ALREADY ACTIVATED ,OUTSIDE USA WORKS ANY GSM CARRIER SIM GSM FCC ID: 2AFZZRA29G
- Dual SIM (nano SIM + nano SIM or nano SIM + eSIM) NO MICRO SD SLOT. 5G: n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/26/28/38/40/41/48/66/77/78 - 4G: LTE FDD: 1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B12/B13/B17/B18/B19/B20/B26/B28/B32/B66 4G: LTE TDD: B38/B40/B41/B42/B48 - 3G: WCDMA: B1/B2/B4/B5/B6/B8/B19 - 2G: GSM: B2/B3/B5/B8
- 6.83" AMOLED displayResolution: 1.5K (2772 x 1280)Refresh rate: Up to 120HzTouch sampling rate: Up to 480HzInstantaneous touch sampling rate: 2560Hz*Activated in Game Turbo modeBrightness: 3200 nits peak brightnessBrightness: HBM 1800 nitsColor depth: 12bitContrast ratio: 8000000:1DCI- P3 wide color gamut447PPICorning Gorilla Glass Victus 2Sunlight displayHDR10+ | Dolby Vision16,000-step automatic brightness adjustment3840Hz PWM dimming|TÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution) Certified | TÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly Certified | TÜV Rheinland Flicker Free Certified
- MediaTek Dimensity 7400-Ultra4nm manufacturing process technologyCPU: Octa-core processor, up to 2.6GHzGPU: Mali-G615
- 200MP main cameraOptical Image Stabilization (OIS)0.56μm, 16in1, 2.24μmf/1.77P lens1/1.4" sensor size8MP ultra-wide cameraf/2.2Rear camera video recording4K at 30 fps1080p at 30/60 fps720p at 30 fps / Front Camera 20MP front camera1/4" sensor sizef/2.24P lensFront camera video recording1080p at 30/60 fps720p at 30 fps
Under the 2021 policy, the Find X tier had a different commitment from the Reno, F, K, and A tiers. Even within the A line, the announcement distinguished some models from low-memory models. This is why a shorthand such as “OPPO phones get two upgrades” is misleading: the series and model qualifications change the answer, and the policy’s date and scope matter.
| OPPO policy or example | Major Android upgrades | Security patches | Scope and qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Find X under the 2021 ColorOS 12 policy | 3 | 4 years of regular patches | Series-level policy described for OPPO devices released from 2019 onward; verify the exact model and region. OPPO’s 2021 announcement. |
| Reno, F, K, and some A models under the 2021 policy | 2 | 3 years for the specified lines | The announcement’s terms were series- and model-dependent; “some A models” does not mean every A model. OPPO’s 2021 announcement. |
| Low-memory A models under the 2021 policy | 1 | 3 years for the specified A line | OPPO identified a separate major-upgrade tier for low-memory A models. Confirm whether the policy covers the exact model. OPPO’s 2021 announcement. |
| Selected global flagship models beginning in 2023 | 4 | 5 years | OPPO announced this expanded policy in 2022 for selected flagships, not all OPPO phones. OPPO’s ColorOS 13 announcement. |
| Find X8 Series | Not stated in the cited commitment | 6 years | OPPO’s 2024 global launch announcement states six years of security updates, but does not give an Android-upgrade count in that statement. OPPO’s Find X8 announcement. |
The table shows stated commitments, not a guarantee that a particular handset has already received every update on schedule. For an OPPO phone, find its exact model and regional support information, then confirm the Android-upgrade count and security-patch duration separately. Do not infer the missing Android-upgrade count for the Find X8 Series from its six-year security commitment.
The longer flagship terms should likewise be read narrowly. The 2022 announcement says four major Android upgrades and five years of security patches for selected flagship models in 2023; it does not extend those figures to every OPPO phone launched that year. The Find X8 launch statement is a separate example: it specifies six years of security updates, not the number of Android versions covered.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to compare two phones’ support lifetimes
A fair comparison requires more than choosing the larger number of “years.” Use the following checks for each candidate:
-
Identify the exact model and region. Confirm the full model name and the country or market where the phone is sold. Policies can apply only to selected models, series, or global variants.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy. -
Count major Android upgrades. Look for a stated number of major Android-version upgrades. If the manufacturer only gives a broad system-update cycle, do not convert it into a specific upgrade count.
-
Record the security-patch period separately. Note the promised duration and any wording that limits it to selected models or a particular series.
-
Find the support clock’s start point. Xiaomi’s general baseline is measured from first shipment, not from when a particular buyer activates or purchases the device. If a policy or model page does not state a start point, do not assume one.
-
Check current status. Look at the manufacturer’s support or end-of-support information for the exact model. A historic policy announcement cannot by itself confirm the model’s current status or exact end date.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy. -
Separate the promise from delivery. A policy describes the stated support commitment; it does not establish when an update will reach a particular handset. The available brand-level guidance does not provide a current rollout schedule for every model and country.
Rank #3
XIAOMI 17T PRO Ai 5G (Compatible with Tmobile Mint Tello & Global) (512GB + 12GB) NFC Global ROM Unlocked 50MP Triple Pro Leica Cam eSIM 6.83" 144Mhz Model 2602EPTC0G Liberado (Black)- International Model - No Warranty in US. USA ONLY COMPATIBLE WITH TMOBILE / MINT, TELLO GLOBAL VERSION . ****** Does NOT Work With Verizon Sprint Boost Metro Pcs At&t Cricket ***** . Unlocked Worldwide . - FCC ID: 2AFZZPNFAG
- Dual Nano sim 5G + eSIM (No micro SD support): 5G: Supports NSA + SA5G: 5G SA: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/38/40/41/48/66/75/77/78 5G NSA: n1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/75/77/78: 4G: LTE FDD: B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/32/66/71 4G: LTE TDD: B38/39/40/41/42/48: 3G: UMTS: B1/2/4/5/6/8/192G: GSM: B2/3/5/8 Supports 4x4 MIMO
- Leica Summilux optical lensVARIO-SUMMILUX 1:1.67-3.0/15-115 ASPH.Leica 23mm main camera50MPLight Fusion 9502.4μm 4-in-1 Super Pixelf/1.67OIS23mm equivalent focal lengthLeica 115mm periscope telephoto50MPf/3.0OIS115mm equivalent focal lengthLeica 15mm ultra-wide camera12MPf/2.215mm equivalent focal length120º FOV Rear camera video recording8K (7680 x 4320) video recording at 30fps4K video recording at 120fps p (190+ (1280 x 720) video recording at 30fpsLog video recording up to 4K at 30fps, 60fpsSlow-motion video recording:- 720p at 120fps, 240fps, 480fps, 960fps, 1920fpootSteady
- 6.83" 144Hz eye-care AMOLED displayCorning Gorilla Glass 7iResolution: 1.5K, 2772 x 1280, 447 PPIRefresh rate: Up to 144Hz refresh rate*Touch sampling rate: Up to 480Hz, 3500Hz instantaneous*Color gamut: 100% DCI-P3Color depth: 12bit, 68 billion colorsBrightness: 600 (typ), 2000 (HBM)Peak brightness: 3500nits (UHBM) @APL25 dimmingOriginal color PRO | Pro HDR | Wet Touch Technology 2.0 | Xiaomi Vision Care*HDR10+, Dolby VisionTÜV Rheinland Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution) CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Flicker Free CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly CertifiedTÜV Rheinland Intelligent Eye Care Certified
- MediaTek Dimensity 95003nm processCPU:1 x C1-Ultra, up to 4.21GHz3 x C1-Premium, up to 3.5GHz4 x C1-Pro, up to 2.7GHzGPU: Mali G1-UltraAI: NPU 990
For a practical comparison, write the two measures side by side for each model—for example, “major Android upgrades: stated count” and “security patches: stated duration”—and keep the source and scope beside them. If one figure is absent, mark it as unspecified rather than filling it in from the other figure. This avoids treating a longer patch period as evidence of more Android upgrades, or the reverse.
What the published policies can—and cannot—tell you
The official material supports broad comparisons, not a single Xiaomi-versus-OPPO verdict for every buyer. Xiaomi’s general pages state a typical security baseline and an approximate system-update cycle. OPPO’s announcements give concrete upgrade and patch figures for particular tiers and selected flagships. Those are different kinds of evidence: one is broad brand guidance, while the other includes dated policy announcements and named product examples.
Neither set of brand-level statements establishes one guaranteed Android-upgrade count for every Xiaomi phone, one support duration for every OPPO phone, or an exact support end date for every model and country. A model page, local support listing, or current end-of-support entry is more relevant to a purchase or troubleshooting decision than a series-wide figure on its own.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFor a phone you already own, the settings screen can show whether an update is currently available, but it does not answer how many future upgrades remain. For a phone you are considering, verify the manufacturer’s terms for that exact model and regional version before relying on the broader numbers in this guide. If the manufacturer does not state one of the two measures, treat it as unspecified rather than estimating it from the other measure.
There is no verified cost comparison in these support terms: they describe manufacturer update commitments, not a fee or paid update plan. The decision point is whether the exact device has a clearly stated commitment that suits your expected period of use, and whether its current support status is confirmed for your market.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many Android updates will my Xiaomi get?
Xiaomi’s general FAQ describes a smartphone system-update cycle of around two to three years, but it does not give one universal number of major Android upgrades for every model. Check the exact model’s support information; do not convert the general cycle into a guaranteed upgrade count.
How long will my OPPO phone get security updates?
It depends on the model and policy tier. OPPO’s 2021 policy described four years of regular patches for Find X, three years for specified Reno/F/K/A lines, and longer patch support for selected flagship models in later announcements. Find X8 Series was announced with six years of security updates. Verify the exact regional model because these are not universal terms.
Does Xiaomi still update my phone?
Check Settings → About phone → Xiaomi HyperOS → Check for updates, then compare the exact model with Xiaomi’s support and end-of-support information. An “up to date” message only indicates that no update is currently available to that phone; it does not establish its future upgrade count or end date.
Do security updates mean my phone will get new Android versions?
No. Security-patch support and major Android upgrades are separate measures. A phone may receive patches without moving to a newer Android version, so check each commitment independently.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Xiaomi’s general guidance is at least two years of security updates from first shipment, with some models receiving three years or longer, and an approximately two-to-three-year system-update cycle. OPPO commitments range by tier and date, from older series-based policies to longer selected-flagship promises. Neither brand has one universal lifetime for every phone. Confirm the exact model, region, Android-upgrade count, patch duration, and current support status before relying on a number.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →




