Recommended Free Tools
Fitbit Charge 6 is the confirmed choice today; Fitbit Edge is only described in leak reports. As of October 7, 2026, Google has not published official Edge specifications, pricing, or release details in the sources available here. If you need a tracker now, Charge 6 has documented features and battery guidance. If you are interested in Edge, wait for Google to confirm what it is and when it will be available.
Is Fitbit Edge officially released?
Google’s official announcement dated May 7, 2026, introduces Fitbit Air—not Edge. Reports published October 4 and October 6, 2026 describe Edge based on leaked material, but that is not the same as an official product announcement. The name, design, features, price, release timing, and supported markets for Edge therefore remain unconfirmed. Google’s Fitbit Air announcement and the October 4 report and October 6 report reflect that distinction.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The reports describe Edge as a screen-equipped tracker, but that is a leak-based claim rather than a Google specification. Treat any purported feature list or price you encounter as provisional until Google publishes product details.
What is the difference between Fitbit Edge and Charge 6?
There is not yet enough confirmed information for a reliable feature-for-feature comparison. The useful comparison today is between Charge 6’s documented capabilities and Edge’s unknowns.
#1 Best Overall
- COMPLETE ALL-IN-ONE-BUNDLE: Includes Fitbit Charge 6 Black/Obsidian, rapid USB charger, and a premium microfiber cleaning cloth, – everything you need to start tracking in style.
| Question | Fitbit Edge | Fitbit Charge 6 |
|---|---|---|
| Product status | Described in October 4 and October 6, 2026 leak reports; no official specifications established in the sources cited here. | Established product covered by Google support documentation. |
| Display | Reported as screen-equipped in leak coverage; not an official specification. | Has an always-on display option; Google says using it can reduce the battery estimate. |
| Activity and health data | Official supported metrics not stated. | Google documents activity, sleep, heart-rate, oxygen, stress-related, and other tracking categories; these are not all medical measurements or diagnoses. |
| GPS | Official GPS details not stated. | Google documents connected and on-device GPS. |
| Battery | Official estimate not stated. | Up to 7 days under Google’s general estimate; up to 3 days with always-on display, or up to 5 hours with continuous built-in GPS. Actual life varies. |
| Price and availability | Not officially stated in the sources cited here. | Current price and availability are not stated in the cited support documentation. |
Google’s Charge 6 data and metrics documentation supports the Charge 6 entries. Battery figures come from Google’s battery-life guidance. The Edge entries reflect the absence of official details in the cited material, not proof that a feature will never be offered.
What does Fitbit Charge 6 track?
Google’s support documentation lists the following data and tracking categories for Charge 6:
Rank #2
- COMPLETE ALL-IN-ONE-BUNDLE: Includes Fitbit Charge 6 Black/Obsidian, rapid USB charger, and a premium microfiber cleaning cloth, – everything you need to start tracking in style.
- Steps, distance, swimming, and cardio fitness (VO2 max).
- Sleep logging and stages, plus Sleep Score.
- Stress management scoring, meditation minutes, and EDA scans.
- Heart rate, resting heart rate, heart-rate variability, and breathing rate.
- SpO2 tracking and skin-temperature variation.
- Connected and on-device GPS.
These are documented data categories, not a claim that each reading is a medical measurement or diagnosis. Google also says Charge 3 through Charge 6 and Charge HR can automatically detect high-movement activities, including walking, running, biking, sports, elliptical, aerobics, and swimming. You can edit the detected activity label in the app. See Google’s activity-detection guidance.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsHow long does the Charge 6 battery last?
Google’s current support estimate for Charge 6 is up to seven days. That is a maximum estimate, not a guarantee: Google says actual battery life can be lower and varies with enabled features, use, environment, and other factors.
Rank #3
- Fitbit Charge 6 tracks key metrics from calories and Active Zone Minutes to Daily Readiness and sleep; move more with 40+ exercise modes, built-in GPS, all-day activity tracking, 24/7 heart rate, automatic exercising tracking, and more[1]
- See your heart rate in real time: Just link your Charge 6 to compatible exercise machines, like treadmills, ellipticals, and more[2]; and stay connected with YouTube Music controls[3]
- Tune into your body: Track your response to stress with a stress management score; learn about the quality of your sleep with a personalized nightly Sleep Score; and wake up more naturally with the Smart Wake alarm
- Run your routine with Google essentials: Find your way seamlessly during runs or rides with turn-by-turn directions from Google Maps on Fitbit Charge 6; and when you need a snack break on the go, just tap to pay with Google Wallet[1,4]
- Unlock more with Google Health Premium: With a premium membership, get personalized coaching that’s built with Gemini and adapts to your life[7]; get a 3-month trial at no cost to you[5] (Google Health Premium subscription sold separately)
- Always-on display: Google’s estimate falls to up to three days.
- Continuous built-in GPS: Google’s estimate is up to five hours.
These estimates are not directly comparable usage promises: GPS use in particular can drain the battery much faster than ordinary wear. Check Google’s Charge 6 battery guidance for the conditions attached to its estimates.
Should you wait for Fitbit Edge or buy Charge 6?
Choose Charge 6 if you need a tracker now
Charge 6 is the lower-uncertainty option if you want a product with documented tracking categories, GPS support, and published battery estimates. Confirm the current price and availability with a retailer before buying; the support pages cited here do not establish a current sale price.
Rank #4
- Fitbit Charge 6 tracks key metrics from calories and Active Zone Minutes to Daily Readiness and sleep; move more with 40+ exercise modes, built-in GPS, all-day activity tracking, 24/7 heart rate, automatic exercising tracking, and more[1]
- See your heart rate in real time: Just link your Charge 6 to compatible exercise machines, like treadmills, ellipticals, and more[2]; and stay connected with YouTube Music controls[3]
- Tune into your body: Track your response to stress with a stress management score; learn about the quality of your sleep with a personalized nightly Sleep Score; and wake up more naturally with the Smart Wake alarm
- Run your routine with Google essentials: Find your way seamlessly during runs or rides with turn-by-turn directions from Google Maps on Fitbit Charge 6; and when you need a snack break on the go, just tap to pay with Google Wallet[1,4]
- Unlock more with Google Health Premium: With a premium membership, get personalized coaching that’s built with Gemini and adapts to your life[7]; get a 3-month trial at no cost to you[5] (Google Health Premium subscription sold separately)
Wait for official Edge details if you can postpone buying
Waiting makes sense if Edge’s rumored screen or other reported features are central to your decision. Before comparing it seriously with Charge 6, look for Google’s confirmed specifications, release timing, supported markets, and price. Until then, a leak cannot establish whether Edge will suit your needs better.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Is Fitbit Air the same as Fitbit Edge?
No such equivalence is established by the cited sources. Google’s May 7, 2026 announcement describes Fitbit Air as a screenless tracker. It announced U.S. launch prices of $99 for standard colors and $129 for the Stephen Curry Special Edition; those are announcement prices, not verified current offers. Air provides lineup context, but it does not confirm Edge’s identity, positioning, or specifications. See Google’s announcement.
Best Value
- Fitbit Charge 6 tracks key metrics from calories and Active Zone Minutes to Daily Readiness and sleep; move more with 40+ exercise modes, built-in GPS, all-day activity tracking, 24/7 heart rate, automatic exercising tracking, and more[1]
- See your heart rate in real time: Just link your Charge 6 to compatible exercise machines, like treadmills, ellipticals, and more[2]; and stay connected with YouTube Music controls[3]
- Tune into your body: Track your response to stress with a stress management score; learn about the quality of your sleep with a personalized nightly Sleep Score; and wake up more naturally with the Smart Wake alarm
- Run your routine with Google essentials: Find your way seamlessly during runs or rides with turn-by-turn directions from Google Maps on Fitbit Charge 6; and when you need a snack break on the go, just tap to pay with Google Wallet[1,4]
- Unlock more with Google Health Premium: With a premium membership, get personalized coaching that’s built with Gemini and adapts to your life[7]; get a 3-month trial at no cost to you[5] (Google Health Premium subscription sold separately)
Does the Charge 6 use the same charging cable as other Fitbit trackers?
Google says Charge 5, Charge 6, and Luxe use the same charging cable. Do not assume every Charge model shares one: Google specifically warns that the Charge 3 charging cable does not work with Charge 4. Check that a replacement listing names Charge 6 compatibility. The model-specific guidance is on Google’s charging instructions.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




