Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
World desk3 min

GitHub Portfolio Generator: How to Build One with Public Data

GitHub’s public REST API can supply profile and repository data for a portfolio generator, but pagination, primary and secondary rate limits, and API versioning shape a reliable implementation.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A developer portfolio generator can use GitHub’s public REST API to retrieve a user’s profile and public repositories without asking them to authenticate. The practical limits are important: unauthenticated requests have a documented primary limit of 60 requests per hour per originating IP address, secondary limits can also apply, and a repository list may take multiple requests to retrieve completely.

The title alone does not specify how any particular generator works. The steps below describe a grounded implementation pattern, not claims about a specific project’s framework, endpoint choices, caching, or deployment.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What the public GitHub API can provide

GitHub’s REST API separates user information from repository listings. The user endpoints document profile fields including login, name, bio, blog, location, and public repository count. These are examples of available fields, not a guarantee that every profile fills them in. GitHub’s user endpoint documentation describes the available user data.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A separate repository endpoint lists public repositories for a specified user. That gives a generator a basic data path: accept a GitHub username, request profile information, then request that user’s public repositories. The repository endpoint documentation describes the listing and its parameters.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How to structure a generator

  1. Collect a GitHub username. Validate that the input is present and treat it as a username, not as trusted HTML or a URL.
  2. Request the profile. Use the documented user endpoint to retrieve fields the portfolio will display. Decide how the interface should handle optional or absent fields such as a bio or blog address.
  3. Request public repositories. Call the documented user-repository listing endpoint and select the repository fields the portfolio needs. Do not assume the profile’s public repository count means one response contains every repository.
  4. Handle pagination. The repository listing accepts per_page and page; its documented maximum page size is 100 items. Request later pages when needed if the aim is to include the full list, and stop when the response indicates there are no more results.
  5. Render deliberately. Choose and explain how repositories are ordered or featured, and escape user-provided or API-returned text appropriately before rendering it. The API provides data; it does not decide what makes a portfolio useful.

Request limits and reliability

Unauthenticated access

GitHub says, “You can make unauthenticated requests if you are only fetching public data.” Its current REST API documentation sets the primary unauthenticated limit at 60 requests per hour, associated with the originating IP address; this is a limit on API requests, not on users or portfolio views. See GitHub’s rate-limit documentation.

Secondary limits

Staying under the primary hourly limit does not guarantee every request will succeed. GitHub also applies secondary limits, which may be triggered by request patterns, high concurrency, high endpoint request volume, or excessive compute and resource use. GitHub notes that it does not disclose every reason a secondary limit may apply. A generator should handle failed or delayed requests clearly rather than treating every failure as “user not found.”

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Pagination and request budgets

Fetching several pages for one person uses several requests, so pagination affects both completeness and rate-limit exposure. Requesting the maximum documented page size can reduce the number of pages for a large account, but a generator should still follow pagination rather than assume a user has fewer than 100 public repositories. A project that fetches data repeatedly may also consider caching; cache duration is a design choice that trades freshness against API traffic, not a behavior established by the title.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose a request approach and API version

Direct HTTP requests keep the integration small and make each request visible. A client library can provide conveniences for making requests, but adds a dependency and does not remove GitHub’s API limits. GitHub’s REST documentation identifies official Octokit libraries as an option, without implying that a particular generator uses one.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

GitHub describes its REST API as versioned and provides an OpenAPI-compliant description. Pin the API version appropriate to the project and review the official documentation when updating it; do not assume request behavior is immutable. Start from the REST API documentation for versioning, pagination guidance, best practices, and implementation references.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the title does—and does not—tell you

“Using only the public GitHub API” establishes a data-source constraint, not a complete implementation. It does not identify the language or framework, exact endpoints, repository-selection rules, caching strategy, error handling, deployment method, or whether the generator was tested with users. Those details require the project repository or the author’s account; GitHub’s API documentation explains what the API offers, not what a specific generator built.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.