October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
Seoul desk5 min

Galaxy A56 or Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G: Which Fits Your Needs?

Samsung’s A56 has the clearer published software-support commitment; Xiaomi’s Kenya-listed Redmi has a larger, sharper display and higher battery and charging figures. Regional specs and the displayed ₹1 price gap need checking before you buy.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Samsung Galaxy A56 5G is the safer pick if long-term software support is your priority: Samsung promises up to six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates. The Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G, as listed for Kenya, has the larger, sharper display, a much higher stated battery capacity and faster wired charging. There is no universal winner: Xiaomi’s specifications and regional features vary, and the available price comparison is only a snapshot.

Samsung Galaxy A56 vs Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G: specs at a glance

The table combines Samsung’s UK product information with Xiaomi’s Kenya specification listing. It is not a guarantee that every market sells those exact configurations. Where a figure is supported only by a comparison site rather than a manufacturer source, that is noted.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Specification Samsung Galaxy A56 5G Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G
Display 6.7-inch Super AMOLED; 1080 × 2340; up to 120Hz; Samsung states up to 1,200 nits 6.83-inch AMOLED; 2772 × 1280; up to 120Hz; 12-bit color and Gorilla Glass Victus 2 (Kenya listing)
Processor Octa-core Exynos 1580; listed peak CPU speeds of 2.9, 2.6 and 1.9GHz Snapdragon 6s Gen 4, up to 2.4GHz (Kenya listing)
Rear cameras 50MP main, 12MP ultra-wide, 5MP macro 50MP OIS main, 8MP ultra-wide (Kenya listing)
Front camera 12MP, according to 91mobiles 16MP (Kenya listing)
Battery and wired charging 5,000mAh typical; 45W 8,340mAh typical silicon-carbon battery; 67W HyperCharge (Kenya listing)
Water and dust resistance IP67; Samsung describes lab submersion in up to 1m of freshwater for up to 30 minutes IP66/IP68/IP69/IP69K listed for Kenya, with testing and wear caveats
Software support information Up to six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates HyperOS 3 is listed for Kenya; the cited specification page does not state a support duration
Price snapshot ₹36,999 on the 91mobiles comparison page, accessed in 2026 ₹36,998 on the same page, accessed in 2026

Sources: Samsung UK Galaxy A56 5G specifications, Samsung’s 2025 announcement, Xiaomi Kenya Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G specifications, and 91mobiles’ comparison page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which phone has the better display?

On the listed specifications, the Redmi has the larger and higher-resolution panel: 6.83 inches at 2772 × 1280, compared with the A56’s 6.7-inch, 1080 × 2340 display. Both are listed at up to 120Hz. Xiaomi also specifies 12-bit color and Gorilla Glass Victus 2 for its Kenya model. Samsung identifies its panel as Super AMOLED and states up to 1,200 nits.

#1 Best Overall
SAMSUNG Galaxy A56 5G 2025 with AI | 256GB, 8GB, Dual SIM | 6.7" 120Hz AMOLED, Water Resistant, Android 15 | International Model Factory Unlocked for T-Mobile, Global | 25W Charger Bundle (Graphite)
  • 25W Samsung Super Fast Charger Included, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
  • 256GB, 8GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3

These figures do not establish which screen looks better in everyday use. The brightness claims are not presented here as a controlled, like-for-like measurement, and resolution, refresh rate and color depth do not capture every aspect of viewing quality.

Battery capacity and charging: what the numbers show

Xiaomi’s Kenya listing gives the Redmi an 8,340mAh typical silicon-carbon battery and 67W HyperCharge. Samsung lists a 5,000mAh typical battery and 45W wired charging for the A56. Those are substantial specification differences, but capacity and charging wattage alone do not tell you how long either phone lasts or how many minutes a full charge takes. Usage, software, charger and test conditions matter.

Samsung UK also advertises up to 29 hours of video viewing. That is Samsung’s manufacturer-stated claim under its conditions, not an independent test or a directly comparable result against the Redmi.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Camera comparison: hardware is not a photo-quality verdict

The A56 has three listed rear cameras: a 50MP main, 12MP ultra-wide and 5MP macro. Xiaomi’s Kenya specification lists a 50MP main camera with optical image stabilization (OIS) and an 8MP ultra-wide; it does not list a separate macro camera in the cited specifications. The Redmi’s front camera is listed at 16MP, while the 12MP A56 front-camera figure comes from 91mobiles rather than the Samsung sources cited here.

Rank #2
Samsung Galaxy A56 5G 2025 | 256GB, 12GB, Dual SIM | 6.7" 120Hz AMOLED, IP67 Water Resistant, Android 15 | International Model Factory Unlocked for T-Mobile & Global | 25W Charger Bundle (Graphite)
  • The included 25W Fast Charger is a generic accessory and is not a Samsung-branded charger, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
  • 256GB, 12GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3
  • 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/17/20/25/26/28/38/40/41/66, 5G: N1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78 - Dual SIM
  • International Model – Global Connectivity – Plug & Play with an active SIM on AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, and most U.S. carriers. New activations are supported on T-Mobile and Its MVNO's in the U.S., as some carriers may not recognize International IMEI's as Compatible. (No U.S. manufacturer warranty; Seller Return policy applies.)

Megapixel counts do not establish which phone takes better photos. Sensor behavior, image processing, stabilization and performance in different lighting all affect results. No directly comparable camera test is established by these specifications, so choose based on verified sample photos or reviews of the exact regional models rather than resolution alone.

Performance and software support

Processor: do not compare clock speeds in isolation

Samsung lists the A56’s Exynos 1580 with peak CPU speeds of 2.9, 2.6 and 1.9GHz. Xiaomi lists a Snapdragon 6s Gen 4 with a speed of up to 2.4GHz for the Kenya model. Because these are different chip families, the clock figures alone cannot tell you which phone is faster. The cited manufacturer pages do not provide an equivalent independent benchmark comparison.

Software support: Samsung has the clearer stated commitment

Samsung says the A56 receives up to six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates. Xiaomi’s cited Kenya specification page lists HyperOS 3 but does not state a comparable support duration. That makes Samsung’s published duration the clearer commitment in the available specifications; the omission from Xiaomi’s page does not prove that Xiaomi offers no updates.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Durability, regional variants and what comes in the box

Water and dust ratings have limits

Samsung’s IP67 description covers laboratory submersion in up to 1m of freshwater for up to 30 minutes, and Samsung cautions that water resistance can diminish. Xiaomi’s Kenya listing specifies IP66/IP68/IP69/IP69K ratings with test-condition and wear caveats, and advises against beach or pool use. Neither rating means a phone is waterproof in every real-world situation.

Rank #3
Samsung Galaxy A56 5G Cell Phone, 256GB AI Smartphone, Awesome LightGray
  • AWESOMELY LIGHT: The sleeker, lighter design of Galaxy A56 5G makes it easier and more comfortable to hold as you browse, snap and share as compared to Galaxy A54 5G.
  • AWESOME MADE EASY: The Awesome Intelligence of Galaxy A56 is like having a suite of superpowers. You can find answers quicker using Circle to Search with Google.7 Plus, get the photos and videos you want with tools like Best Face and Auto Trim .
  • AWESOMELY VIVID DETAIL: The ultra-clear 6.7” display of Galaxy A56 5G helps you enjoy the latest shows, your favorite pics or fun social videos in awesome detail.2
  • DELIGHT IN THE DETAILS: Galaxy A56 5G comes equipped with a triple-lens camera. A 50MP main camera gets great details, even at a distance. The 12MP wide camera allows you to get stunning clarity in your broader shots.
  • LASTS LONG. CHARGES FAST: The 5,000mAh battery in Galaxy A56 5G lets you do what you want without worrying about running out of power. And the 45W Super Fast Charging 2.0 recharges your phone faster so you can get back to doing awesome things faster.3

Check the exact local model before buying

Network bands, SIM configuration and NFC availability can depend on the market and carrier. Xiaomi says bands vary by region and carrier. Its Kenya page says NFC availability may vary, while the Xiaomi Mexico specification page says NFC is unavailable on that listing. Samsung’s complete regional band and feature configuration is not established by the cited UK product page. Check the model number and carrier compatibility for the country where you will use the phone.

Box contents are also market-specific. Xiaomi’s Kenya listing includes an adapter, cable, SIM tool and protective case, among other items, but Xiaomi warns that packaging may differ by region. The Samsung sources cited here do not establish box contents. Confirm the local retailer’s listing rather than assuming a charger or case is included.

Price difference: the displayed ₹1 gap is not a live buying comparison

When accessed in 2026, 91mobiles displayed ₹36,999 for the Galaxy A56 5G and ₹36,998 for the Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G, both with Amazon attribution. That is a ₹1 difference in that page snapshot, with the Redmi lower. It is not a verified current checkout price, and the source does not establish that the listings are the same storage configuration, seller terms or warranty. Prices, stock and offers change.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a useful comparison, check current local offers for the same RAM and storage, and compare seller, warranty, taxes and promotions. The title does not specify a country, so the rupee snapshot should not be treated as a price recommendation for another market.

Which should you buy?

  • Choose the Galaxy A56 5G if Samsung’s stated six-generation OS upgrade and six-year security-update commitment is your deciding factor, or if its listed display and camera setup better match your needs.
  • Consider the Redmi Note 17 Pro 5G if the specifications for your local version match Xiaomi’s Kenya listing and you prioritize a larger, higher-resolution display, higher stated battery capacity or 67W charging.
  • Wait to decide until you verify local price, exact storage and RAM, carrier bands, NFC, warranty and included accessories. The regional listings are not interchangeable, and the available price snapshot is not a current like-for-like offer.

Neither the processor clock speeds nor camera megapixel counts settle which phone performs better in practice. For those questions, look for comparable independent tests of the exact regional versions.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.