October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
World desk4 min

Frontpoint Hub: How Its Panel, App, Sensors, and Smart-Home Features Work

The Frontpoint Hub coordinates a security system’s sensors and devices. Here’s how its communication paths, app, keypad, setup process, and compatibility work.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Frontpoint Hub is the control panel at the center of a Frontpoint security system: it communicates with sensors and other devices, while a wireless keypad and the Frontpoint app provide ways to manage the system. Frontpoint says the Hub uses cellular and Wi-Fi communication paths, and that its app supports remote arming, device control, alerts, automation, and video features when compatible equipment and service are in place. These are vendor-documented capabilities, not independent reliability-test results.

What the Frontpoint Hub does

Frontpoint describes the Hub as the system’s security control device. It coordinates connected sensors and other equipment, and serves as the panel behind system operations. The keypad and app are control interfaces; app features should not be confused with functions performed locally by the Hub itself.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Frontpoint’s Hub overview and Hub Master Guide describe the device’s communications and capacity. Those specifications are published by Frontpoint; the available material does not establish independently measured performance or uninterrupted service.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the Hub connects to the system

Cellular and Wi-Fi paths

Frontpoint describes cellular and Wi-Fi as dual communication paths: if one is unavailable, the other is designed to serve as a backup. The Master Guide specifies 4G AT&T cellular service and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. This describes the vendor’s intended design, not a guarantee that every outage or interruption will be covered.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Frontpoint also says connecting the Hub to Wi-Fi supports more frequent software updates and quicker reporting of system and sensor status in the app or on the website. To connect an existing panel, follow Frontpoint’s Wi-Fi setup instructions in the Frontpoint app.

Published device limits

Frontpoint’s overview and technical guide use different wording for user capacity. Keep the figures distinct rather than treating “users” and “user codes” as the same limit.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Specification Frontpoint Hub overview Hub Master Guide
Sensors Up to 80 Up to 80
Users or user codes Up to 40 users Up to 50 user codes
Z-Wave devices Supports a range of Z-Wave smart devices; no count stated Up to 232 devices
Battery Not stated in the overview Rechargeable battery life up to 24 hours when fully charged
Wi-Fi Not stated in the overview 2.4 GHz
Cellular Not stated in the overview 4G AT&T

These are Frontpoint-published specifications, not independently tested measurements. Because the user-related limits have different labels and counts, confirm the applicable limit for your particular system with Frontpoint.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Keypad, app, and daily control

Wireless keypad

Frontpoint says a wireless keypad is included and can be used up to 100 feet from the Hub. The overview also says up to four additional keypads may be added. The Master Guide separately refers to support for keypad and touchscreen combinations; check the equipment limits for your specific setup rather than assuming those descriptions mean the same thing.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Frontpoint app

The app extends control beyond the panel. Depending on compatible service and equipment, Frontpoint lists these capabilities:

  • Remote arming and disarming.
  • Live or saved camera video and control of connected smart devices.
  • Adding equipment, managing user codes, and configuring event-based automation.
  • Up to 90 days of system and sensor history, plus custom notifications.
  • Geofence-related reminders and automations, scheduled or automatic arming, and scenes.
  • In-app panic buttons and troubleshooting prompts.

Frontpoint documents these functions on its Frontpoint App Features page. Availability depends on the compatible devices and service associated with the system.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Setting up or replacing a Hub

Activating a new system

Frontpoint directs new customers to interactive setup in its mobile app. Its activation instructions say to begin with the six-digit code printed on the equipment box, then follow the app’s prompts. The company describes this guidance as intended for customers without prior security-installation experience; that does not guarantee every installation will be effortless.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

See Frontpoint’s Hub activation instructions and its overview of what to expect during new-system setup.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Replacing a panel

For existing customers, Frontpoint provides a “Panel Swap” flow in the app. The process activates the replacement Hub, connects it to Wi-Fi, transfers sensors, and checks existing user codes. Frontpoint says equipment bought directly from it may already be learned into the Hub. Z-Wave devices, whether bought from Frontpoint or a third party, must be cleared and learned into the replacement Hub.

Sensor and smart-home compatibility

Frontpoint says most of its own sensors are compatible with the Hub, but that statement does not establish compatibility for every older sensor or every Z-Wave product. Before reusing equipment, check the exact model with Frontpoint; its guidance on whether old sensors work with a replacement Hub explains the panel-swap distinction.

Frontpoint’s HomeKit compatibility answer says its system is not currently compatible with Apple HomeKit and is compatible with Siri and Alexa. The company points to a separate third-party compatibility catalog, but a complete current list of supported third-party devices is not established here. See Frontpoint’s HomeKit compatibility answer and verify any specific device or ecosystem integration before relying on it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Hub status and troubleshooting

Frontpoint says the Hub checks system aspects throughout the day and can self-diagnose issues. Its system introduction for new Hub customers says a flashing blue light signals a trouble condition and that the app provides troubleshooting steps. Pressing the white button on the rear of the Hub can announce system issues.

A walk-through test is described by Frontpoint as optional. Do not intentionally trigger environmental sensors such as smoke or heat, carbon monoxide, or flood sensors except during a real alarm event.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.