What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
ASUS announced the ROG Phone 9 series on November 19, 2024, with two models: ROG Phone 9 and ROG Phone 9 Pro. Both use Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 8 Elite Mobile Platform, GameCool 9 cooling, AirTrigger controls and a 6.78-inch 185 Hz AMOLED display. The US launch followed in January 2025 around CES. The Pro adds a much larger rear mini-LED display, AniMe Play games, more storage options in some markets and a 3x telephoto camera.
When did the ASUS ROG Phone 9 launch?
ASUS Republic of Gamers announced both phones globally on November 19, 2024. ASUS’s US announcement says American availability began in January 2025, around CES. Release dates, configurations and included accessories can differ by country, so a global announcement date does not guarantee the same retail package in every market.
ROG Phone 9 and ROG Phone 9 Pro: what is shared?
The two phones have the same core gaming platform rather than separate performance classes.
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Mobile Platform
- ASUS ROG GameCool 9 cooling system
- AirTrigger touch controls for game inputs
- 6.78-inch flexible AMOLED display
- FHD+ resolution with up to a 185 Hz refresh rate
- LTPO operation from 1 to 120 Hz
- Up to 2,500 nits peak brightness
- 5,800 mAh typical battery capacity
- 65 W wired charging and 15 W Qi-certified wireless charging
These specifications describe the hardware platform. They do not by themselves establish sustained frame rates, battery endurance in a particular game or thermal performance under a specific test setup.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall#1 Best Overall
- PRIVACY DISPLAY: Automatically hide your screen from those beside you. The built-in privacy display can be preset¹ to turn on when receiving notifications, typing passwords, or using specific apps
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist² with Galaxy AI.³ Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- NIGHTS, CAPTURED CLEARLY: From gigs to city lights, record and capture moments after dark with clarity using Nightography so your photos and videos stay crisp and clear on your Samsung Galaxy
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile phone, whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more⁴
- HELP THAT KEEPS UP: Stay in the moment while Now Nudge with Galaxy AI helps you respond faster and stay organized with smart suggestions⁵ that appear exactly when you need them on your phone
ROG Phone 9 vs ROG Phone 9 Pro
| Feature | ROG Phone 9 | ROG Phone 9 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Rear AniMe Vision display | 85 mini-LEDs | 648 programmable mini-LEDs |
| AniMe Play pixel games | Not supported | Supported |
| Main gaming hardware | Snapdragon 8 Elite, GameCool 9 and AirTrigger | Snapdragon 8 Elite, GameCool 9 and AirTrigger |
| Memory/storage configurations published by ASUS | 12 GB + 256 GB, 16 GB + 512 GB or 24 GB + 1 TB where sold | 12 GB + 256 GB, 16 GB + 512 GB or 24 GB + 1 TB where sold |
| Rear cameras | Specific complete configuration not stated in the launch material | 50 MP main with 6-axis Hybrid Gimbal Stabilizer 3.0, 13 MP ultrawide and 32 MP 3x optical-zoom telephoto |
| Front camera | Specific resolution not stated in the launch material | 32 MP |
The Pro’s most obvious hardware distinction is the 648-LED rear display and its AniMe Play support. The standard model has 85 mini-LEDs, enough for the AniMe Vision personalization feature but not the Pro-only pixel games. Camera buyers should also note that ASUS explicitly lists a 3x optical-zoom telephoto on the Pro.
Memory and storage choices
ASUS publishes three memory/storage combinations for the series: 12 GB RAM with 256 GB storage, 16 GB with 512 GB, and 24 GB with 1 TB. “Published” does not mean every tier is sold in every country; ASUS cautions that specifications and availability vary by market. Check the local product page and retailer listing before paying for a particular configuration.
Rank #2
- 【Confirm Your Model】(Please Check your model in:"Settings-About Phone-Model") This screen protector ONLY COMPATIBLE WITH Asus ROG Phone 9 Pro 5G 6.78".Not for Asus ROG Phone 9 5G and any other model. if you need other models' protectors, please search in the brand store.
- [Easy Install Kit&Bubble-Free]Easy-installation frame help you install the screen protector easily without worrying about aligning the screen and cleaning kit ensure bubble-free application every time.Please watch our installation video tutorial before installation.
- [Case Friendly&screen Protection]:The screen protector leaves enough space for the installation of most phone cases.Maximum coverage of your Mobile without interfering with the phone Case.9H hardness tempered glass offers scratch resistance and drop protection for your phone
- [Product Features] 0.33mm ultra-thin screen protector maintains the original response sensitivity;Support fingerprint unlocking;2.5D rounded edges which feels smooth and never scratches;99.9% transparency preserving phone's original high-definition retina viewing experience.
- [Package Including]2Pcs Tempered Glass screen protector;1Pc Metal Camera Lens Protector("Hollow out" design);1Pc Back Carbon Fiber Skin Protector(transparet color);1Pc Easy Installation Frame; 2packs installation accessory kits,1Pc Installation Instructions
How much did the ROG Phone 9 cost?
| Model or configuration | US launch price | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| ROG Phone 9 | $1,000 starting price | US launch pricing recorded by ASUS; not a current-price guarantee |
| ROG Phone 9 Pro | $1,200 starting price | US launch pricing recorded by ASUS; not a current-price guarantee |
| 24 GB RAM/1 TB storage edition | $1,500 | US price recorded by ASUS; availability and model assignment can vary by market |
These figures are launch US prices, not a worldwide MSRP or a promise of today’s street price. Taxes, promotions, retailer discounts and regional configurations can change the amount you actually pay.
Is the ROG Phone 9 good for gaming?
On paper, it is purpose-built for gaming. The Snapdragon 8 Elite supplies the flagship mobile platform, GameCool 9 is designed for thermal management, and AirTriggers provide touch-based controls that can keep thumbs on the display while mapping other actions to shoulder zones. The 185 Hz maximum refresh rate can make supported games and menus appear smoother than lower-refresh panels, while LTPO’s 1–120 Hz range allows the display to use lower refresh rates for compatible non-gaming content.
Rank #3
- NOTE: Global Version. No Warranty. This device is globally unlocked and ready to be used with your preferred GSM Carrier. THIS DEVICE IS NOT COMPATIBLE with CDMA carriers such as Cricket, Verizon, Sprint, Boost Mobile, US Cellular, etc. SIM CARD NOT INCLUDED. Please confirm device compatibility with your service provider before placing your order
- Storage: 1TB 24GB LPDDR5X
- Display: 6.78 inches, 111.0 cm2 (~88.2% screen-to-body ratio) LTPO AMOLED, 1B colors, 185Hz, HDR10, 1600 nits (HBM), 2500 nits (peak)
- Platform: Android 15, up to 2 major Android upgrades, Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Mobile Platform 4.3GHz, 64-bit, Octa-core Processor GPU: Qualcomm Adren 830
- Camera: Main Camera 50 MP image sensor - 1/1.56” large sensor size, F1.9 aperture, Gimbal OIS
Both models also have the same 5,800 mAh typical battery, 65 W wired charging and 15 W Qi wireless charging. Those numbers are useful capacity and charging references, but actual play time depends on the game, brightness, network, refresh-rate setting and temperature. The launch specifications do not provide independent frame-rate, heat or endurance tests.
Choose the standard ROG Phone 9 if
- You want the same Snapdragon 8 Elite, GameCool 9 and AirTrigger foundation at the lower launch price.
- An 85-LED rear display is sufficient and you do not need AniMe Play.
- You prefer to spend less on extras that do not affect the core platform.
Choose the ROG Phone 9 Pro if
- You want the 648-programmable-LED AniMe Vision display and Pro-exclusive AniMe Play games.
- You need the listed 32 MP 3x optical-zoom telephoto camera.
- Your market offers a higher-memory or larger-storage configuration that matches your use.
What comes in the ROG Phone 9 Pro Edition box?
ASUS lists an AeroActive Cooler X Pro, case, USB-C cable, SIM tool, 65 W adapter and documentation in the Pro Edition box. Box contents and accessory bundles can vary by region. The wider ROG ecosystem includes additional gaming accessories, but compatibility and local availability should be checked before purchase; an accessory listed for one ROG Phone generation is not automatically suitable for another.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Ultra-high Performance Chipset: This cell phone is equipped with a powerful and efficient Snapdragon 8s Gen 4 chip, using 4nm technology and a full-core 3.2GHz CPU, supporting 24GB LPDDR5X memory + UFS 4.0 flash memory, and equipped with an AI engine, with comprehensive performance upgrades.
- Revolutionary 50MP Quad Camera System: This smartphone is equipped with All 50MP four camera system: Including a Main Camera, a Periscope, an Ultra-wide Camera, and a ultra-clear Front Camera; this cell phone support Ultra XDR 4K video, Auto Tone, Portrait Optimiser, Motion Capture Mode, Night Mode; Whether you're a photographer, vlogger, or social media enthusiast, with the pro-grade camera system and AI enhancements, this Nothing phone can ensure every shot is masterpiece-ready.
- One-Touch Control, AI-Powered Organization:ESSENTIAL KEY: A new button on the side of your device.Press once to capture your screen, long-press to record voice and ideas, and double-press to access Essential Space; ESSENTIAL SPACE: Everything in one place, organised the way you want it to be,AI mobile phones helps organise your captures, generating suggestions, and staying on top of what matters; Explore more AI features, Let AI enrich your life
- GLYPH INTERFACE: Where Light Speaks; The Glyph Matrix transforms your phone into an interactive playground—smart animations turn notifications, tools, and games into living light experiences; NFC: An animation comes to life when NFC is triggered; Glyph Button: Quick-tap to browse Glyph Toys, long-press to launch—from utilities to games; Smarter Alerts: Notifications now speak in light and sound, blending visuals with meaning; Beyond illumination; This is interaction, redefined.
- Larger and Brighter FHD Display: 6.67" FHD+ 1.5K AMOLED flex screen with 1.07B colors & 120Hz adaptive refresh for ultra-smooth visuals; Vs Nothing Phone (2)/(3a): Phone (3) boasts 181.2% brighter (4500 nits), 16.7% sharper (460 PPI), and 316% faster touch response (1000Hz); IP68-rated—tough enough for any adventure.
Rank #4
- 6.78 inches, LTPO AMOLED, 1B colors, 1080 x 2400 pixels
- 512GB Storage, 12GB RAM
- Android 15, Qualcomm SM8750-AB Snapdragon 8 Elite (3 nm), Octa-core (2x4.32 GHz Oryon V2 Phoenix L + 6x3.53 GHz Oryon V2 Phoenix M)
- Rear: 50 MP, f/1.9, 24mm (wide), 1/1.56", 1.0µm, PDAF, gimbal OIS, 13 MP, f/2.2, 13mm, 120˚ (ultrawide), 5 MP (macro), Front: 32 MP, f/2.5, 22mm (wide), 1/3.2", 0.7µm
Key buying checks
- Confirm that the seller is offering ROG Phone 9 or ROG Phone 9 Pro, not a differently configured regional variant.
- Verify RAM and storage, since 12/256, 16/512 and 24 GB/1 TB availability is market-dependent.
- Check whether the advertised price is a current retail price or the historical US launch price.
- For the Pro, confirm that the box includes the accessories promised for your region and edition.
- If gaming controls matter, verify the game supports your intended AirTrigger mappings and test the layout during any applicable return period.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




