Bitbucket Data Center does not document a built-in AI code reviewer. It includes a mature pull-request workflow and a Code Insights surface where integrations can post reports, but those are workflow and integration features, not AI review. Atlassian’s AI-assisted code review, Rovo Dev, is documented for Bitbucket Cloud and GitHub repositories. If you run Data Center and want AI review, the option described in Atlassian’s Marketplace is a third-party app, and you need to verify its version compatibility and data handling before adopting it. These statements reflect Atlassian’s documentation and the Marketplace listing as checked on 7 October 2026.
What Bitbucket Data Center includes natively
Bitbucket Data Center is a self-managed source-code collaboration product. Atlassian’s Bitbucket Data Center 10.4 documentation lists pull-request workflow enhancements by the release that introduced them:
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Feature | Introduced in |
|---|---|
| Draft pull requests | 8.18 |
| Reviewer groups | 9.0 |
| Multiline comments | 9.2 |
| Multiline suggestions | 9.3 |
| Default reviewer groups | 9.5 |
| Merge queues | 10.2 |
Check your installed release before planning around these features. A capability introduced in 9.2 is not available on an 8.x instance. None of the features in this table analyzes code content automatically.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Code Insights is an integration surface
Code Insights displays reports that integrations send for a branch, and those reports can appear while a pull request is reviewed. The Data Center documentation points readers to Marketplace apps that support Code Insights. In practice, a scanner or other tool produces the data and Code Insights presents it in the review workflow. Its presence does not mean Data Center includes a generative-AI reviewer, and the integration API should not be described that way.
#1 Best Overall
What Atlassian documents for AI code review
Rovo Dev can review pull requests and identify potential quality, security, and performance issues. Atlassian’s product material calls this capability “AI-assisted code review.” The documented workflow is Cloud-connected, so it should not be presented as Data Center behavior.
Setup for the documented Cloud-connected workflow
- Activate review for the Bitbucket workspace and the repositories you want covered.
- Connect Bitbucket to Jira by DVCS, as Atlassian’s enablement material describes.
- Confirm that Rovo Dev credits are available. Credits are allocated to the pull-request author.
- Choose the trigger. Atlassian’s material describes review on pull-request creation, on each commit, or only when started manually. In the repository settings, the control is labeled “AI code reviews in this repository.”
Supported repositories and documented limits
- Repository types: Atlassian’s Rovo Dev code-review product page names Bitbucket Cloud and GitHub as supported. Bitbucket Data Center is not in the published support list. This is the clearest documented answer to what is not native in Data Center, and it can change as Atlassian updates its support statements.
- Large changes: Changes over 10,000 lines may receive no comments or a too-large notice.
- Large repositories: Repositories larger than 20 GB may receive no comments or a too-large notice.
Third-party option for Data Center: Code Review Assistant for Bitbucket
The Atlassian Marketplace listing for Code Review Assistant for Bitbucket describes an app that combines compiler and linter warnings with contextual AI review. Its listed use cases include code-style review, refactoring, test coverage, and explaining legacy code. The listing states compatibility with Bitbucket Data Center 8.9.0 through 10.4.3. If your instance runs a release outside that range, the listing does not claim support.
- Version history: Listing version 7.4.1 was released on 18 September 2026 and fixes a bug in saving API keys. The version history also mentions REST-based AI provider support and custom prompts. Confirm these in the app’s current documentation.
- Data handling: The listing identifies the app partner as publisher and says the partner’s privacy policy applies, not Atlassian’s. Read that policy before sending proprietary code to any AI service.
- Evidence: These are vendor-listing claims. They are not independent measurements of detection quality or time savings.
Comparing the options
| Criterion | Native Data Center features | Rovo Dev (Atlassian documentation) | Code Review Assistant for Bitbucket (Marketplace listing) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deployment | Self-managed Data Center | Bitbucket Cloud and GitHub repositories | Bitbucket Data Center 8.9.0 to 10.4.3, per listing |
| Source of review | Pull-request workflow and integration-supplied reports | Atlassian AI-assisted review | Compiler and linter warnings plus contextual AI review |
| Review triggers | Not applicable; no automated AI review documented | On pull-request creation, on each commit, or manual | Not stated in the listing reviewed |
| Data handling | Not stated for AI processing; no AI service documented | Not stated in the reviewed Atlassian passages | Partner privacy policy applies, per listing |
| Pricing | Not stated in the reviewed Data Center documentation | Consumes Rovo Dev credits allocated to the pull-request author | Not stated in the listing reviewed |
Checklist before adopting an AI review app on Data Center
- Confirm the exact installed Data Center release against the app’s current compatibility range.
- Map where source code, prompts, and review output travel, including any network access the app requires, and verify retention terms with the publisher.
- Confirm which AI provider options are supported and how credentials are stored.
- Pilot the app on a representative codebase and compare its findings with your own baseline of known defects and false positives. Vendor claims do not establish accuracy or time savings for your code.
- Obtain current pricing and support terms directly from the publisher.
The practical answer for Data Center today is that native features cover pull-request workflow and integration-based reporting, while AI review depends on a third-party app whose compatibility, data handling, and quality must be checked against your own environment.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Rank #3
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




