Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › cloud gaming

Xbox Game Pass Alternatives for Players Who Want a Different Game Library

By Freedom251 Team · · 12 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The closest broad Xbox Game Pass alternative is PlayStation Plus Extra—but only for players who own, or are willing to move to, PlayStation. Sony’s Extra tier combines online-console benefits with a rotating catalog of hundreds of games and Ubisoft+ Classics. PlayStation Plus Premium adds cloud streaming, classic games and trials. If you mainly want one publisher’s releases, EA Play and Ubisoft+ are narrower choices rather than full Game Pass replacements.

Your best pick depends on four practical questions: which platform you use, whether your must-play games are currently included, whether you need downloads or streaming, and what the subscription costs in your region. The prices below are Sony’s United States monthly prices displayed in 2026; catalogs, features and prices can change by country and over time.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick comparison of the main alternatives

Service Where it fits Library and access US monthly price shown in 2026 Best for Main limitation
PlayStation Plus Extra PlayStation consoles PlayStation Game Catalog, described by Sony as hundreds of games; downloadable games on supported consoles; includes Essential benefits and Ubisoft+ Classics $16.99 Players wanting the closest broad, multi-publisher catalog on PlayStation Not platform-neutral; catalog titles rotate and vary by region and tier
PlayStation Plus Premium PlayStation consoles and supported streaming locations/devices Everything in Extra, plus cloud streaming, Classics Catalog and game trials; some PS3 classics are streaming-only $19.99 Players who value streaming, older PlayStation games or trials Streaming is limited by title, device and region and needs a suitable internet connection
EA Play Supported Xbox, PlayStation and PC ecosystems, depending on the offer A publisher-focused selection of EA games, member perks and benefits Not stated in the cited official material Players whose priority is EA franchises and related benefits It is not a broad multi-publisher catalog; some Game Pass plans already include it
Ubisoft+ PC through Ubisoft Connect and Xbox consoles on the cited US Premium offer Ubisoft games and downloadable content under the subscription’s current scope Not stated in the cited official material Players focused on Ubisoft franchises and DLC access Publisher-specific selection; do not confuse it with Ubisoft+ Classics in PlayStation Plus Extra

For current plan descriptions and regional prices, check Sony’s PlayStation Plus plans and PlayStation Plus games and help pages before subscribing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What makes a useful Game Pass alternative?

A subscription can resemble Game Pass in one way while being very different in another. A fair comparison starts with the access model rather than the marketing label.

#1 Best Overall
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
  • Model Number CFI-2000
  • Includes DualSense Wireless Controller, 1TB SSD, 2 Horizontal Stand Feet, HDMI Cable, AC power cord, USB cable, printed materials, ASTRO’s PLAYROOM (Pre-installed game)
  • Vertical Stand sold seperately

Platform ownership comes first

PlayStation Plus Extra and Premium require a PlayStation ecosystem. They are sensible alternatives for someone who already owns a PlayStation or is intentionally changing platforms; they are not a way to add PlayStation’s catalog to an Xbox console. EA Play and Ubisoft+ can be more useful when you want to stay on your existing hardware, but their libraries are limited to one publisher’s games.

Catalog fit matters more than the headline count

Sony describes the PlayStation Game Catalog as containing hundreds of games, but that number is a provider description, not an independent comparison of equivalent titles. A larger-looking catalog is not automatically better if it lacks the games you actually play. Check each must-play title in the current regional catalog before paying, and note whether the listing applies to Extra, Premium or another tier.

Subscription access is not permanent ownership

Games supplied through a catalog remain playable only while your membership is active and the title remains included. A game can leave when licensing or catalog rotation changes. Downloading it does not convert it into a permanent purchase. This is the same planning issue that applies to any rotating subscription library.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Downloads and streaming solve different problems

Downloaded games use your console or PC storage and can provide more predictable performance. Streaming avoids a large download but depends on supported titles, devices, regions and network quality. Premium’s cloud feature is therefore an additional access method, not a guarantee that every catalog game can be streamed everywhere.

PlayStation Plus Extra: the closest broad alternative

Extra is the most direct comparison for a player who wants a large, rotating, multi-publisher catalog on PlayStation. Sony says the tier includes its Game Catalog, with new titles added regularly, and also includes the benefits of the lower Essential plan. Extra additionally includes Ubisoft+ Classics, a curated Ubisoft offering that is separate from the full Ubisoft+ subscription.

What you get

  • Access to the PlayStation Game Catalog while the subscription and each title’s availability continue.
  • A catalog Sony describes as hundreds of games; the exact selection changes over time and by region.
  • Essential-tier benefits bundled into Extra.
  • Ubisoft+ Classics included as part of the Extra offering.

What Extra does not solve

Extra does not give Xbox owners access to PlayStation games without changing ecosystems. It also does not automatically include every new PlayStation release, every Ubisoft title or every game shown in a higher Premium tier. Check the game’s current tier listing before you subscribe, especially if one specific release is the reason you are considering a platform switch.

Price and value check

Sony’s US PlayStation Plus page displayed Extra at $16.99 per month when the cited 2026 page was accessed. That is a US figure and may change; local storefront pricing, taxes, billing intervals and promotions can differ. Compare the recurring price with the cost of buying the few games you will actually play, not with the catalog’s total advertised size.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

PlayStation Plus Premium: when streaming and classics justify the higher tier

Premium includes the Extra catalog and adds three features that can matter more than simply having additional games: cloud streaming, a Classics Catalog and game trials. Its US monthly price shown by Sony was $19.99 in 2026.

Cloud streaming

Sony says streaming is available only for select games and in supported regions and devices. That means a Premium badge does not make every catalog title streamable. Sony’s support information lists a minimum internet connection of 5 Mbps, with 15 Mbps recommended for 1080p streaming. Those are connection requirements, not a promise of identical latency or image quality on every home network.

Classics Catalog

Premium is the tier to consider if older PlayStation releases are a major reason for subscribing. Sony specifically notes that a wide selection of classic PlayStation 3 games is available via streaming only. The streaming-only condition is important: those titles cannot be treated like ordinary downloadable catalog games, and access still depends on the supported region and device.

Game trials

Trials let you test selected games for a limited period before deciding whether to buy or continue playing through the catalog. Availability is title-specific, so confirm the trial listing rather than assuming every Premium game includes one.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sony PlayStation 5 PS5 Disc Version Gaming Console, 4K Blu-ray Player, 16GB GDDR6 Memory, Ultra-High Speed 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1, 120Hz 8K Output
  • CPU: x86-64-AMD Ryzen Zen 8 Cores / 16 Threads at 3.5GHz.GPU: AMD Radeon RDNA 2-based graphics engine.
  • 16GB GDDR6/256-bit Memory; 825GB SSD Storage Capacity
  • Ethernet (10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T), IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, Bluetooth 5.1
  • HDR technology, 8K output, 4K TV gaming, Up to 120 fps with 120Hz output, Tempest 3D AudioTech
  • What's Included: Sony PlayStation 5 Disc Version; Wireless controller; USB cable, HDMI cable, AC power cord. Nogtox PVT HDMI_cable

Who should pay for Premium?

  • Choose Premium when cloud access is useful and your region and devices support the games you want to stream.
  • Choose it for the Classics Catalog if older PlayStation titles are a central part of your plans.
  • Choose it when trials help you evaluate expensive games before purchase.
  • Stay with Extra when you mainly download current catalog games and do not need those three additions.

Premium’s extra cost is easiest to justify when at least one of these features changes how you play. Paying more solely for a larger-sounding tier name offers little benefit if your chosen games are already available in Extra.

EA Play: a focused option for EA fans

EA Play is a publisher membership, not a general replacement for a multi-publisher service. Electronic Arts describes it as access to some EA games plus member-only perks and benefits. The practical advantage is concentration: if most of your intended playtime is in EA franchises, a narrower library may be more relevant than a larger catalog filled with games you will not launch.

Important relationship with Game Pass

EA’s help page states that EA Play is included with Xbox Game Pass Ultimate on Xbox and PC, and with PC Game Pass for PC. The same page identifies other listed Game Pass plans that do not include it. Therefore, EA Play is not wholly independent of the comparison service: some readers already receive it through their existing Game Pass tier and should not pay twice without checking their entitlements.

Questions to answer before subscribing

  • Is the particular EA game in the current EA Play offering in your region?
  • Do you need a console, PC or both, and does your chosen EA Play offer support that platform?
  • Are the perks valuable to you, or are you subscribing only for one game that might be cheaper to buy?
  • Does your current Game Pass plan already include EA Play?

EA Play should be treated as a specialist add-on for EA-heavy libraries, not as a one-for-one replacement for the breadth of Game Pass or PlayStation Plus Extra.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ubisoft+: a specialist catalog for Ubisoft franchises

Ubisoft+ is another publisher-focused choice. Ubisoft’s US Premium page describes access to Ubisoft games and downloadable content, including PC access through Ubisoft Connect and Xbox-console support under the cited offer. Because the subscription scope and included titles can change, verify the current Ubisoft listing for your platform before enrolling.

Ubisoft+ versus Ubisoft+ Classics

These names refer to different offers. Ubisoft+ is the broader Ubisoft subscription described on Ubisoft’s storefront. Ubisoft+ Classics is the separate Ubisoft selection that Sony lists as included with PlayStation Plus Extra. Having Extra does not mean you automatically have the full Ubisoft+ Premium catalog or all associated DLC.

When Ubisoft+ makes sense

  • You regularly play Ubisoft franchises and want access to several of them rather than buying each separately.
  • DLC inclusion is important to your plans and is explicitly listed in the current offer.
  • You want to stay on PC through Ubisoft Connect or use the supported Xbox-console option.

If you want games from many publishers, Ubisoft+ will feel narrow even when its own catalog is a strong match. If you are choosing PlayStation Plus Extra, compare the Ubisoft+ Classics selection with the full Ubisoft+ offer rather than assuming they are interchangeable.

Is PlayStation Plus actually like Xbox Game Pass?

They overlap in the idea of paying a recurring fee for access to a changing game library, but they are not identical services.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Decision point What PlayStation Plus offers What the difference means for you
Hardware Extra and Premium are PlayStation subscriptions You need PlayStation hardware or must be willing to move ecosystems
Catalog scope Game Catalog access varies by tier, title, region and time Check your must-play list instead of comparing headline counts
Streaming Premium adds streaming for selected games on supported devices and regions Streaming is an option, not universal access to the entire catalog
Older games Premium adds Classics; some PS3 classics stream only Premium is more relevant if legacy PlayStation games matter
Publisher services Extra includes Ubisoft+ Classics That is distinct from the full Ubisoft+ subscription
Catalog stability Sony says availability changes over time Plan around rotation and buy favorites you want to keep permanently

The useful question is not “Which service has more games?” It is “Which service has the games I will play, on hardware I own, with an access method my connection supports?”

How to choose without paying for the wrong library

  1. List your non-negotiable games. Write down the games you would subscribe for, plus any franchises you expect to play over the next few months.
  2. Check the current catalog page. Confirm each title’s tier, platform, region and availability date. Do not rely on an old article or a search snippet.
  3. Mark the access method. Note whether each game can be downloaded, streamed, or accessed only through a particular device. Premium’s PS3 classics, for example, are streaming-only according to Sony.
  4. Calculate the realistic play value. Compare the monthly fee with the price of buying the two or three games you will actually finish. A large unused catalog is not a saving.
  5. Check your existing subscriptions. EA Play may already be included with Game Pass Ultimate or PC Game Pass, so verify your account before adding another payment.
  6. Decide whether a platform switch is acceptable. Moving from Xbox to PlayStation can involve new hardware, accessories, purchases and an unfamiliar friends list. Treat that as a major cost, not a footnote to the subscription price.
  7. Set a cancellation reminder. Recheck the catalog before each renewal. If the games that justified the membership have left, cancel or downgrade rather than keeping it automatically.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Streaming, downloads and network requirements

Choose downloads when consistency matters

Downloading a catalog game uses local storage but avoids the performance variability of a streamed session. It is the safer choice for competitive play, a shared household connection or a game you expect to play for long sessions. You still need the subscription active and the title to remain included.

Choose streaming when storage or hardware is the constraint

Streaming can reduce download time and storage pressure, but it introduces network dependence and may not be available for the title you want. Premium’s support guidance lists at least 5 Mbps and 15 Mbps for 1080p. Those figures should be treated as a floor for the service’s stated requirements; Wi-Fi congestion, latency and data caps can still affect the experience.

Rank #3
Playstation 5 Digital Edition PS5 Gaming (Disc Free) Console (Renewed)
  • 🚀 CPU: 3.5GHz, 8-core AMD Zen 2
  • 🚀 Storage: Custom 825GB SSD
  • 🚀 RAM: 16GB GDDR6
  • 🚀 GPU: 10.3 teraflop RDNA 2 GPU

Check eligibility before buying Premium

  • Confirm that cloud streaming is offered in your country or region.
  • Confirm that your device is supported.
  • Confirm that the specific game is marked as streamable.
  • Test the connection at the location where you will actually play, not only beside the router.

Catalog turnover and the risk of losing access

Rotating catalogs are useful for discovering games but unsuitable as a permanent archive. Sony says catalog availability varies over time and by plan. A title can disappear even if you downloaded it, leaving you with the choice of buying it or moving to another game. Publisher services have the same basic risk because their included games and DLC scope can change.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use a simple two-list system:

  • Play-soon list: games you intend to finish while they are included.
  • Own-forever list: games you would replay, keep for offline access or continue after canceling.

Start the play-soon list with games that have a known departure notice or that you can complete within one billing cycle. Move own-forever titles to a purchase list before canceling. This avoids treating a subscription as a permanent collection.

Xbox cloud-gaming changes to watch

On September 3, 2026, Team Xbox announced a change beginning in November to how cloud gaming is included with Xbox Game Pass. The announcement says monthly included cloud-gaming hours would become 15 for Ultimate, 10 for Premium and 5 for Essential, and that customers could buy cloud playtime to stream eligible owned games without Game Pass.

This is an announced future change relative to the announcement date, not a timeless specification. Check the official Xbox announcement and the current plan comparison to see whether the change has taken effect, whether the hour allowances remain the same and which games and devices qualify. The announcement matters when comparing alternatives because a reader who mainly streams may value a different plan after the new limits apply.

Costs beyond the monthly subscription

The displayed US prices for Extra and Premium are recurring monthly amounts, not the total cost of changing ecosystems. A player moving from Xbox to PlayStation may also need a console, replacement accessories and new purchases for games that do not transfer. Those hardware and software costs can outweigh several months of subscription fees.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Regional pricing is equally important. The cited Sony figures are for the United States; taxes, currency conversion, local promotions and billing terms can produce a different total elsewhere. EA Play and Ubisoft+ prices were not stated in the official pages cited for this comparison, so check the current storefront rather than inferring a price from another country or an old promotion.

Practical recommendations by player type

You already own a PlayStation

Start with Extra. It is the broadest catalog-oriented option identified here and includes Ubisoft+ Classics. Move to Premium only if streaming, classic games or trials are valuable to your play habits and are supported where you live.

You own Xbox and do not want new hardware

Check whether EA Play or Ubisoft+ matches your priorities. They can expand access without a platform switch, but each covers one publisher rather than providing a broad replacement. Also review your current Game Pass plan before buying EA Play separately.

You are considering a platform switch for one franchise

Do not subscribe first and investigate later. Confirm the title’s current catalog status, whether it is downloadable or streamable, and how long you expect to play. Include console and accessory costs in the decision.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

You mainly play older PlayStation titles

Premium is the relevant tier because it includes the Classics Catalog. Check individual streaming requirements, especially for PS3 classics, which Sony identifies as streaming-only.

You play mostly Ubisoft games

Compare Ubisoft+ with the Ubisoft+ Classics selection included in Extra. The full Ubisoft+ offer and the Classics benefit are not the same subscription, and their supported platforms and DLC access can differ.

Bottom line

For most players seeking a different broad library, PlayStation Plus Extra is the closest alternative found—but it is a PlayStation choice, not a drop-in Xbox replacement. Premium is worth considering for supported cloud streaming, classic games and trials. EA Play is the focused answer for EA fans, while Ubisoft+ suits players committed to Ubisoft franchises. Verify the current regional catalog, platform support, streaming eligibility and price immediately before subscribing.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
Model Number CFI-2000; Vertical Stand sold seperately
$594.99
Bestseller No. 2
Sony PlayStation 5 PS5 Disc Version Gaming Console, 4K Blu-ray Player, 16GB GDDR6 Memory, Ultra-High Speed 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1, 120Hz 8K Output
Sony PlayStation 5 PS5 Disc Version Gaming Console, 4K Blu-ray Player, 16GB GDDR6 Memory, Ultra-High Speed 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1, 120Hz 8K Output
16GB GDDR6/256-bit Memory; 825GB SSD Storage Capacity; Ethernet (10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T), IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, Bluetooth 5.1
Bestseller No. 3
Playstation 5 Digital Edition PS5 Gaming (Disc Free) Console (Renewed)
Playstation 5 Digital Edition PS5 Gaming (Disc Free) Console (Renewed)
🚀 CPU: 3.5GHz, 8-core AMD Zen 2; 🚀 Storage: Custom 825GB SSD; 🚀 RAM: 16GB GDDR6; 🚀 GPU: 10.3 teraflop RDNA 2 GPU

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

cloud gamingEA PlayGame subscriptionsPlayStation PlusUbisoftXbox Game Pass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.