Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Apple Magic Keyboard

Which Keyboard Fits Your 11-Inch iPad Pro? Apple Magic Keyboard and Alternatives Compared

By Freedom251 Team · · 12 min read

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The right keyboard for an “iPad 11 Pro” depends first on the iPad’s generation, not on the screen size alone. Apple’s current Magic Keyboard is specified for the 11-inch iPad Pro with M4 or M5 and requires iPadOS 17.4 or later. The previous Magic Keyboard is specified for 11-inch iPad Pro generations 1 through 4 and requires iPadOS 14.5 or later. Those are different compatibility groups, so confirm your model before buying.

For the newest M4/M5 iPad Pro, the 2024 Magic Keyboard combines an attached protective case, haptic trackpad, 14-key function row, backlit scissor keys with 1 mm travel and USB-C pass-through charging. For an older 11-inch iPad Pro, the earlier Magic Keyboard is the relevant Apple design. Apple also lists Logitech Combo Touch, Flip Folio and Keys-To-Go 2, while its broader catalog includes standalone MX Keys Mini and Wave Keys keyboards. The catalog entries do not prove that every unit fits every iPad Pro generation, so treat each as a starting point for a model-specific check.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick answer: match the keyboard to the iPad generation

“iPad 11 Pro” is commonly used to mean an 11-inch iPad Pro, but Apple has sold that size in several generations. A keyboard that fits an M4 or M5 iPad Pro is not automatically the keyboard for a first-, second-, third- or fourth-generation 11-inch iPad Pro. Start in Settings > General > About and record the exact model name and software version. Then compare that information with the keyboard’s compatibility statement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you have an M4 or M5 11-inch iPad Pro, the 2024 Magic Keyboard is the clearest feature match when you want an integrated case, trackpad and function row. Its stated requirements and features are documented by Apple, but the specifications are not an independent typing test. If you have a first- through fourth-generation 11-inch iPad Pro, use the earlier Magic Keyboard specification as the reference point. If you prefer a detachable case or a separate Bluetooth keyboard, Apple’s catalog-listed Logitech options may be worth considering only after you verify the exact generation and layout.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Apple iPad Magic Keyboard Case for iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 and M5), Great Typing Experience, Built-in Trackpad, Function Row, US English - Black
  • WHY MAGIC KEYBOARD FOR IPAD — The incredibly thin and portable Magic Keyboard features a glass trackpad with haptic feedback, a great typing experience with a function row, USB-C pass-through charging, front and back protection, and magnetic attachability. No pairing or charging required.
  • COMPATIBILITY — Magic Keyboard works with iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 and M5).
  • DESIGNED FOR COMFORT — Magic Keyboard features a two-cantilever hinge design for smooth, adjustable viewing angles. Backlit keys with a scissor mechanism and a 10-key function row give you more versatility than ever. The built-in glass trackpad features haptic feedback and support for Multi-Touch gestures using the cursor.
  • PROTECTIVE KEYBOARD AND CASE — Folds to provide front and back protection wherever you go and features a USB-C connector for pass-through charging. Available in black or white.
  • Accessories are sold separately and subject to availability. Compatibility varies by generation.

Compatibility and feature comparison

The table separates what Apple explicitly specifies from what still needs checking on the individual product page. “Not established” means the cited catalog entry does not provide that comparison, not that the product lacks the feature.

Option iPad fit stated by Apple System requirement Form factor Documented features What you must verify
Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro 11-inch (2024) 11-inch iPad Pro with M4 and M5 iPadOS 17.4 or later Attached keyboard case Haptic trackpad; 14-key function row; backlit scissor keys with 1 mm travel; USB-C pass-through charging; protective outer cover Regional keyboard layout and confirmation that your iPad is M4 or M5
Earlier Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro 11-inch 11-inch iPad Pro generations 1–4 iPadOS 14.5 or later Attached keyboard case Backlit keys; trackpad; USB-C pass-through charging; protective case design Exact generation, regional layout and condition of the particular unit
Logitech Combo Touch Keyboard Case for iPad Pro 11-inch Listed on Apple’s 11-inch M5 accessory page; universal generation fit is not established Not stated in the cited catalog entry Case-attached keyboard Catalog listing identifies it as a keyboard case Specific iPad generation, cutouts, attachment method, layout and software requirements
Logitech Flip Folio Listed in Apple’s current 11-inch accessory listing; universal generation fit is not established Not stated in the cited catalog entry Check the individual product configuration Catalog listing identifies the product by name Exact model fit, whether the keyboard is detachable, layout and carrying arrangement
Logitech Keys-To-Go 2 Listed in Apple’s current 11-inch accessory listing; universal generation fit is not established Not stated in the cited catalog entry Standalone keyboard Catalog listing identifies the product by name Bluetooth support, device fit for your workflow, language/layout and separate stand
Logitech MX Keys Mini or Wave Keys Listed in Apple’s broader keyboard catalog; dedicated iPad Pro case fit is not established Not stated in the cited catalog entry Standalone keyboard Catalog listing identifies standalone keyboards Separate stand, carrying case, connection method, layout and desk space

Apple’s current 11-inch accessory page is available at Apple’s iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) keyboard listing. The broader catalog is at Apple’s iPad keyboard catalog. Neither catalog page should be read as a guarantee that one accessory spans every iPad Pro generation.

Apple Magic Keyboard for M4 and M5: the feature-led choice

Compatibility comes first

Apple’s 2024 technical specifications name the 11-inch iPad Pro with M4 and M5. The listed operating-system requirement is iPadOS 17.4 or later. An 11-inch display by itself is not enough to establish fit; identify the chip generation in the About screen and compare it with the specification page before ordering.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Typing and pointer features

The 2024 model has backlit scissor keys with 1 mm of key travel. That is a manufacturer-stated mechanical specification, not a measurement of how fast or comfortable a particular person will type. Key feel also depends on your preferred layout, hand position and the text editor you use. The keyboard includes a 14-key function row, which can make system controls easier to reach without leaving the main letter keys.

A haptic trackpad is built into the keyboard. This matters if you want pointer-based work such as selecting text, positioning a cursor, manipulating tables or navigating multiple windows without touching the display for every action. Apple identifies the trackpad as a feature; the available specifications do not provide an independent tracking-accuracy or latency test.

Charging and protection

A USB-C connector provides pass-through charging, allowing power to reach the iPad through the keyboard connection while the iPad’s own port remains available for other uses. The design also provides a protective outer cover for the front and back. Those characteristics make the accessory a combined typing, stand and protection arrangement rather than a keyboard that you carry separately.

How to interpret Apple’s wording

Apple describes this model as delivering “an amazing typing and trackpad experience in a sleek, portable design with an aluminium palm rest.” That is the manufacturer’s description, not an independent review or a comparative test. Use the measurable details—compatibility, 1 mm travel, the 14-key row, haptic trackpad and pass-through USB-C—to decide whether the configuration suits your work.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Apple iPad Magic Keyboard Case for iPad Pro 11-inch (M4 and M5), Great Typing Experience, Built-in Trackpad, Function Row, US English - Black
  • WHY MAGIC KEYBOARD FOR IPAD — The incredibly thin and portable Magic Keyboard features a glass trackpad with haptic feedback, a great typing experience with a function row, USB-C pass-through charging, front and back protection, and magnetic attachability. No pairing or charging required.
  • COMPATIBILITY — Magic Keyboard works with iPad Pro 11-inch (M4 and M5).
  • DESIGNED FOR COMFORT — Magic Keyboard features a two-cantilever hinge design for smooth, adjustable viewing angles. Backlit keys with a scissor mechanism and a 10-key function row give you more versatility than ever. The built-in glass trackpad features haptic feedback and support for Multi-Touch gestures using the cursor.
  • PROTECTIVE KEYBOARD AND CASE — Folds to provide front and back protection wherever you go and features a USB-C connector for pass-through charging. Available in black or white.
  • Accessories are sold separately and subject to availability. Compatibility varies by generation.

Earlier Magic Keyboard: for 11-inch iPad Pro generations 1–4

The earlier Apple specification lists 11-inch iPad Pro generations 1 through 4 and requires iPadOS 14.5 or later. It states that the keyboard has backlit keys, a trackpad, USB-C pass-through charging and a protective case design. If your iPad belongs to one of those four generations, this is the Apple compatibility group to investigate rather than assuming the 2024 M4/M5 accessory will fit.

Apple’s older page calls the keyboard “an amazing companion for iPad Pro 11-inch and iPad Air.” That sentence is promotional copy from Apple. The practical buying questions are whether the generation is explicitly listed, whether the software requirement is met and whether the regional layout matches your typing habits. For an older iPad, check the particular listing’s condition and included parts as well; the cited specification establishes the product family, not the condition of a second-hand unit.

Third-party options listed by Apple

Logitech Combo Touch Keyboard Case

Apple lists the Logitech Combo Touch Keyboard Case on its 11-inch M5 accessory page. The listing confirms that Apple presents it as an available keyboard-case option, but it does not establish that one Combo Touch unit fits every 11-inch iPad Pro generation. Before purchase, open the manufacturer’s listing for the exact model, match the iPad generation and inspect the language or regional layout.

A case-attached design is useful when you want the keyboard, stand and protective shell to travel together. It can be less flexible than a separate keyboard if you regularly use the iPad without a case or want to position the screen independently from the keys. Those are configuration trade-offs; the catalog entry does not supply comparative weight, battery-life or typing-test figures.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Logitech Flip Folio

Flip Folio appears in Apple’s current 11-inch keyboard-accessory listing. Because the catalog name alone does not establish generation coverage, verify the exact iPad fit and determine how the folio carries the keyboard. Ask whether your intended setup keeps the keyboard attached during transport, whether the display can be supported without the keys, and whether the product’s layout matches your region.

Logitech Keys-To-Go 2

Keys-To-Go 2 is also listed for the 11-inch accessory category. Treat it as a standalone-keyboard candidate until the individual product page says otherwise. A standalone keyboard can be packed separately and used with more than one device, but it does not by itself provide an iPad case or screen stand. Plan the complete carrying setup—including a stand or folio—rather than judging portability from the keyboard name alone.

Standalone keyboards in Apple’s broader catalog

Apple’s broader keyboard catalog lists Logitech MX Keys Mini and Wave Keys. These are catalog-listed standalone keyboards, not evidence of a dedicated iPad Pro case or generation-specific mounting system. They make sense for a desk-centered setup where you already have a stand and want a full-size or desktop-style keyboard arrangement. For travel, count every component you must carry: keyboard, stand, protective cover and charging accessories.

Rank #3
Sale
Apple Magic Keyboard: iPad Keyboard case for iPad Pro 11-inch (1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th gen) and iPad Air (4th, 5th gen, and M2), Great Typing Experience, Built-in trackpad, US English - White
  • WHY MAGIC KEYBOARD — The perfect companion for iPad Pro and iPad Air, Magic Keyboard features a great typing experience, a trackpad, backlit keys, a USB‑C port for pass‑through charging, and front and back protection. No charging or pairing required. Simply attach it and start typing.
  • COMPATIBILITY — Magic Keyboard works with iPad Pro 11‑inch (1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th generation); and iPad Air (4th and 5th generation).
  • KEYBOARD LANGUAGES — Arabic, British English, Chinese (Pinyin), Chinese (Zhuyin), Danish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Swiss, Ukrainian, US English.
  • DESIGNED FOR COMFORT — Magic Keyboard has a floating cantilever design. It smoothly adjusts to the perfect viewing angle. Backlit keys and a scissor mechanism deliver quiet, responsive typing. The built-in trackpad is designed for Multi‑Touch gestures and using a cursor.
  • PROTECTIVE KEYBOARD AND CASE — Folds to provide front and back protection wherever you go. Available in black or white.

Which setup is most portable?

Portability is a system choice, not a single product specification. An attached keyboard case combines typing hardware with a stand and front/back protection. Once closed, the iPad and keyboard travel as one unit, so there is less loose equipment to organize. The trade-off is that the case remains part of the iPad whenever you carry it, and the screen position is governed by the case’s design.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A standalone keyboard separates the typing surface from the iPad. That can be convenient when you want the tablet in one position and the keyboard elsewhere, or when the same keyboard will serve several devices. It also means a separate stand or folio is needed for a comfortable viewing angle and protection. The available Apple catalog entries do not provide comparable weights or portability tests, so do not claim that one named model is lighter or easier to carry without a source that measures both.

Use this checklist to evaluate your actual bag:

  • Count the keyboard, iPad cover, stand and charging cable as separate items.
  • Decide whether you type while holding the iPad, on a lap or at a desk.
  • Check whether the keyboard can stay attached while the iPad is used as a tablet.
  • Confirm that the closed arrangement protects the screen and rear surface you need protected.
  • Consider whether you regularly switch between portrait and landscape orientation.

How typing experience varies by feature

Key mechanism and travel

The 2024 Apple keyboard specifies backlit scissor keys and 1 mm travel. Scissor mechanisms generally provide a low-profile laptop-style layout, but the specification alone cannot predict your personal comfort, noise tolerance or speed. If you already prefer deeper desktop keys, a standalone keyboard may feel more familiar; if you prefer a compact laptop-like arrangement, the integrated Apple design may be a closer match. No independent comparison in the available material establishes a typing winner.

Trackpad workflow

A trackpad is valuable for pointer-heavy work, including document editing, spreadsheets and web research. The 2024 model explicitly specifies a haptic trackpad, while the earlier Magic Keyboard specification lists a trackpad. The Logitech catalog entries cited here do not provide enough detail to assume that every listed option has the same trackpad implementation, so check the exact product page if pointer input is essential.

Function-row controls

The 2024 Magic Keyboard’s 14-key function row is a concrete differentiator. It gives quick access to system controls that otherwise may require on-screen gestures or Control Center. The earlier specification cited here mentions backlit keys and a trackpad but does not state a 14-key row. Do not infer feature parity between the two generations.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Backlighting and layout

Backlighting helps when you type in dim rooms, but regional key legends matter just as much. Confirm whether the unit uses your preferred language and physical layout—such as the placement and shape of Return, Shift, punctuation and modifier keys. A keyboard can be mechanically compatible yet frustrating if its layout is unfamiliar.

Step-by-step buying process

  1. Identify the iPad. Open Settings > General > About and note the model name, generation or chip designation and current iPadOS version.
  2. Separate M4/M5 from generations 1–4. M4 and M5 point you toward the 2024 Magic Keyboard specification. Generations 1–4 point you toward the earlier Magic Keyboard specification.
  3. Choose the physical arrangement. Select an attached case if one-piece protection and a built-in stand matter most. Select a standalone keyboard only if you are prepared to carry or provide a separate stand and cover.
  4. List must-have features. Decide whether you need a trackpad, a dedicated function row, backlighting, pass-through charging or a protective shell. Treat unstated features as unknown until the product page confirms them.
  5. Verify the operating-system requirement. The 2024 Apple model requires iPadOS 17.4 or later; the earlier Apple model requires iPadOS 14.5 or later. Update the iPad if it supports the required version before judging compatibility.
  6. Check the exact third-party model. For Combo Touch, Flip Folio or Keys-To-Go 2, use the manufacturer’s listing to match the generation, language/layout and connection method. Apple’s catalog placement is not a universal-fit statement.
  7. Plan charging. An Apple Magic Keyboard’s pass-through USB-C connection can simplify charging while the keyboard is attached. A standalone Bluetooth keyboard has its own charging or battery arrangement, which you must account for separately; the cited catalog does not state battery figures.
  8. Confirm the complete carry kit. Include the iPad, keyboard, case or cover, stand if needed and cables. This prevents a lightweight keyboard from becoming an inconvenient travel system once its missing accessories are added.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Setup and troubleshooting

The keyboard does not fit

Stop rather than forcing the iPad into a case. Recheck the exact generation and compare it with the keyboard’s compatibility list. Screen size labels such as “11-inch” are not sufficient because Apple’s 11-inch iPad Pro has multiple generations.

Rank #4
Sale
Apple iPad Magic Keyboard Case for iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 and M5), Great Typing Experience, Built-in Trackpad, Function Row, US English - White
  • WHY MAGIC KEYBOARD FOR IPAD — The incredibly thin and portable Magic Keyboard features a glass trackpad with haptic feedback, a great typing experience with a function row, USB-C pass-through charging, front and back protection, and magnetic attachability. No pairing or charging required.
  • COMPATIBILITY — Magic Keyboard works with iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 and M5).
  • DESIGNED FOR COMFORT — Magic Keyboard features a two-cantilever hinge design for smooth, adjustable viewing angles. Backlit keys with a scissor mechanism and a 10-key function row give you more versatility than ever. The built-in glass trackpad features haptic feedback and support for Multi-Touch gestures using the cursor.
  • PROTECTIVE KEYBOARD AND CASE — Folds to provide front and back protection wherever you go and features a USB-C connector for pass-through charging. Available in black or white.
  • Accessories are sold separately and subject to availability. Compatibility varies by generation.

The iPad rejects the accessory

Check the iPadOS version in Settings > General > Software Update. The 2024 Magic Keyboard needs iPadOS 17.4 or later, while the earlier model needs iPadOS 14.5 or later. If the iPad cannot install the required version, use a keyboard whose documented requirement your device meets.

A standalone keyboard will not connect

Confirm that the keyboard is powered, place it in pairing mode according to its manual, then open Settings > Bluetooth on the iPad and select the keyboard. If it does not appear, turn Bluetooth off and on, remove an old saved entry for that keyboard and retry. These are general connection steps; the exact button sequence depends on the model.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Keys or symbols are wrong

Inspect the physical legends and the software keyboard layout. A language mismatch can make punctuation and modifier keys appear incorrect even when the hardware is compatible. Select the layout that matches the keyboard you actually purchased and verify the region before keeping the accessory.

Charging is inconvenient

For a Magic Keyboard, confirm that the cable is connected to the keyboard’s USB-C pass-through port and that the iPad shows charging. For a standalone keyboard, follow its own charging instructions and carry the required cable. Do not assume that every keyboard in Apple’s catalog supports pass-through charging; that feature is explicitly stated for the two Magic Keyboard specifications cited above.

What the available evidence does—and does not—show

The manufacturer specifications establish compatibility, named hardware features and software requirements. They do not establish measured typing speed, long-session comfort, durability, battery endurance, weight or a universal portability ranking. No independent reviewer, standards body or regulator is identified in the cited material as having tested these products against one another.

That limitation changes the decision method. Use the documented features to narrow the field, then apply your own priorities: generation fit, case integration, trackpad use, function-row access, charging arrangement, regional layout and carrying configuration. Avoid treating Apple’s phrases such as “amazing” or “sleek, portable design” as laboratory results.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Decision guide by reader priority

Your priority Most logical starting point Reason Check before purchase
Newest 11-inch iPad Pro with integrated protection 2024 Magic Keyboard Specified for M4/M5 and combines case, trackpad, function row and pass-through charging iPadOS 17.4 or later and regional layout
First- through fourth-generation 11-inch iPad Pro Earlier Magic Keyboard specification Apple explicitly lists generations 1–4 iPadOS 14.5 or later, exact generation and unit condition
Detachable case arrangement Combo Touch or Flip Folio listing Apple’s catalog identifies these as available 11-inch accessory options Exact generation fit and how the keyboard separates from the case
Keyboard carried separately from the iPad Keys-To-Go 2 or another standalone catalog option Separate keyboard arrangement can suit a multi-device or desk workflow Bluetooth or connection details, stand, cover, layout and charging
Desktop typing at a fixed workstation MX Keys Mini or Wave Keys listing Apple’s broader catalog identifies them as standalone keyboards Desk space, stand, device switching and regional layout

Bottom line for choosing an 11-inch iPad Pro keyboard

There is no evidence here for a universal “best” keyboard based on measured typing quality or weight. The dependable choice is the one whose fit and arrangement match your iPad. Choose the 2024 Magic Keyboard when you have an M4 or M5 11-inch iPad Pro and want the documented combination of 1 mm backlit scissor keys, haptic trackpad, 14-key function row, USB-C pass-through charging and protective coverage. Choose the earlier Magic Keyboard when your iPad is a first- through fourth-generation 11-inch model. Consider Logitech’s listed alternatives or Apple’s standalone catalog keyboards only after checking the exact generation, layout, connection method and complete carrying setup.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Apple Magic KeyboardiPad accessoriesiPad keyboardsiPad Pro 11-inchLogitech keyboardstablet productivity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.