Uzbek fintech Uzum has moved from talking about an international debut to a concrete, but still partly documented, step. In September 2026, UzDaily reported that Uzum’s first foreign-currency bond issue, worth US$50 million at 8.5%, had been registered. The same reporting described five domestic bond placements totaling UZS 2.1 trillion and called Uzum the country’s largest private corporate issuer. Registration is not the same as a completed sale, and the reporting does not show that the US$50 million issue is the US$300 million deal Bloomberg described in 2025. This article separates what is dated and attributed from what remains open.
The short answer
Uzum has done two things that can be checked: it has raised money through repeated domestic bond issues, and it has registered a foreign-currency bond issue. It has not, based on the reporting available as of October 2026, publicly confirmed a completed international placement, a listing venue for the foreign-currency issue, or its maturity. The word “Eurobond” in the headline is reader shorthand for an international-market debt sale. Nothing in the reporting establishes the legal structure of the registered issue.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Timeline of confirmed events
- 29 August 2025: international plan reported. Bloomberg reported that Uzum was considering a US$300 million debut sale on international bond markets as soon as the first half of 2026, citing co-founder Nikolay Seleznev. The same report said an IPO could be prepared for 2027 and named Hong Kong, Abu Dhabi and Nasdaq as possible venues. This was an executive-reported plan on that date, not a completed bond or listing.
- 27 October 2025: second domestic issue announced. Uzum said it was preparing a UZS 400 billion bond with a 24% coupon, a two-year maturity and a par value of UZS 100 million per bond, to be placed on the Republican Stock Exchange “Toshkent.” The company described it as its second issue.
- 15 September 2026: foreign-currency issue registered. According to UzDaily, the National Agency of Prospective Projects registered Uzum’s first foreign-currency bond issue, worth US$50 million at an 8.5% rate.
- 17 September 2026: fifth domestic issue reported placed. UzDaily reported a fifth local corporate issue of UZS 600 billion at an 18% coupon, bringing domestic placements to UZS 2.1 trillion, and said roughly 60% of the new placement was raised from non-residents.
Dates here are the dates of the reports or announcements. Where an event’s exact completion date is not stated, this article does not infer one.
From an international plan to a registered issue
The gap between the August 2025 plan and the September 2026 registration matters. The Bloomberg figure was a US$300 million debut international sale, and the window it named, the first half of 2026, has passed. The later reporting describes a US$50 million foreign-currency issue, roughly one-sixth of the earlier figure. That difference could reflect a smaller first tranche, a different structure or a different transaction altogether. The sources do not say which.
#1 Best Overall
Three questions therefore remain separate:
- Is the US$50 million issue placed? Registration is a regulatory step that allows an issue to proceed. The reporting does not say whether investors have bought the bonds.
- Is it the same transaction Bloomberg reported? The amounts differ and the timing is not the same. Nothing in the reporting links the two.
- What are its final terms? The maturity, detailed currency denomination and listing venue are not stated in the report.
The domestic bond run
The domestic program is the best-documented part of the story. It shows a company that has returned to the local market several times and, according to UzDaily, has placed UZS 2.1 trillion across five issues. The reporting gives full terms only for the second and fifth issues, so the table below marks the other values as not stated rather than estimating them.
| Item | Second domestic issue (announced 27 Oct 2025) | Foreign-currency issue (registered, reported 15 Sep 2026) | Fifth domestic issue (reported placed, 17 Sep 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Announced as being prepared; separate placement date not stated | Registered; placement not reported | Reported as completed |
| Size | UZS 400 billion | US$50 million | UZS 600 billion |
| Coupon | 24% | 8.5% | 18% |
| Maturity | Two years | Not stated (UzDaily, Sep 2026) | Not stated (UzDaily, Sep 2026) |
| Par value | UZS 100 million per bond | Not stated (UzDaily, Sep 2026) | Not stated (UzDaily, Sep 2026) |
| Venue | Republican Stock Exchange “Toshkent” | Not stated (UzDaily, Sep 2026) | Not stated (UzDaily, Sep 2026) |
| Non-resident participation | Not stated | Not stated | Roughly 60% of the new placement (UzDaily, Sep 2026) |
The table is a status comparison, not a ranking of deal quality. The reporting does not give the first, third or fourth domestic issues in detail, so the total of UZS 2.1 trillion cannot be broken down further from the available sources.
Rank #2
What “top local issuer” means
The phrase comes from UzDaily’s September 2026 reporting, which described Uzum as the country’s largest private corporate issuer based on five local issues totaling UZS 2.1 trillion. That is a dated press characterization. It is not a certification by a regulator or exchange, and the reporting does not cite an independent market ranking that compares issuers across Uzbekistan. Readers should treat “top local issuer” as Uzum’s standing according to that report, not as an audited league-table position.
Reading the coupons carefully
The three disclosed rates, 24%, 18% and 8.5%, are tempting to compare directly. They should not be. The 24% and 18% rates are on domestic UZS paper, while the 8.5% rate is on a foreign-currency issue. The domestic maturity of two years is confirmed for only one issue, and the foreign-currency tenor is not stated. Issuer risk, currency exposure, investor base and final terms all differ. A lower coupon on a foreign-currency bond does not show that Uzum borrowed more cheaply overall; the reporting does not establish that comparison.
Rank #3
The company’s view of investor demand
In its 27 October 2025 announcement, Uzum CFO Nikita Gulyaev said: “The first bond issuance confirmed the strong interest from investors and the market’s readiness for new financial instruments.” This is the company’s characterization of investor interest. It is not a separately measured market finding. The company’s description of about 20 million monthly users across Uzbekistan, also from its 2025 announcement, is likewise its own figure.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What to watch next
- A placement notice or completion report for the US$50 million foreign-currency issue, which would show whether it has been sold.
- The maturity, currency denomination and venue for that issue, which the September 2026 reporting leaves open.
- Any statement connecting the registered issue to the US$300 million international plan Bloomberg reported, or any update on the planned 2027 IPO preparation.
- Listings on the Republican Stock Exchange “Toshkent” for the domestic issues, which would confirm terms for the issues whose details are not yet stated.
Until those documents appear, the most accurate headline is that Uzum has registered a foreign-currency bond issue and reports a growing domestic bond program, not that it has completed an international Eurobond.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

