Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › anti-glare tablets

TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER Alternatives: Tablets With Paper-Like Displays

By Freedom251 Team · · 9 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The best TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER alternative depends on whether “paper-like” means a matte, low-glare surface on a full-color tablet or a genuinely reflective e-paper screen. Lenovo’s Idea Tab Plus is the closest conventional-tablet substitute: it combines a 12.1-inch 2.5K IPS panel, 90Hz refresh and a paper-like anti-glare treatment. BOOX’s Go 10.3 is the better fit for reading and handwriting if monochrome output is acceptable, with a 10.3-inch, 300-ppi ePaper display, Android 12 and a pen included.

The TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER itself sits in the color-LCD category. TCL’s US page lists an 11-inch 2.1K display running at 90Hz, T-Pen 2 support and a US package containing the pen and a flip case. Regional names and bundles vary, so verify the exact country page and SKU before buying.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What “paper-like display” means on a tablet

“Paper-like” is a description rather than a universal technical standard. It can refer to a textured or anti-glare coating on an LCD, a display tuned to reduce reflections, or a reflective e-paper panel that forms an image without the appearance of a conventional glossy tablet screen.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Those approaches produce different products. An IPS tablet such as the Idea Tab Plus remains a color, high-refresh device for video, games, web apps and normal Android multitasking. The BOOX Go 10.3 uses monochrome ePaper, which is oriented toward books, documents and handwriting rather than vivid media. Neither surface has been shown in the cited manufacturer material to reduce eye strain in a controlled, head-to-head test.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Color LCD with an anti-glare surface

A paper-like treatment on an IPS/LCD panel changes the surface and reflections while preserving color, animation and the broad app compatibility expected from a standard tablet. It is the relevant category for shoppers who want one device for streaming, browsing, schoolwork and notes.

Monochrome e-paper

ePaper is a separate display technology. BOOX identifies the original Go 10.3 panel as Carta 1200 and specifies 300 pixels per inch. Text and diagrams can look paper-like, but the screen is monochrome; color artwork, video and interfaces designed around rich color are not its primary use.

At-a-glance comparison

Model Display technology Size and resolution Refresh information Operating system and apps Pen and package Best match
TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER (US listing) Color LCD/IPS-class NXTPAPER display 11 inches, 2.1K 90Hz Android tablet platform; exact software configuration depends on region and SKU T-Pen 2 support; US listing includes T-Pen 2 and a flip case General tablet use with a less glossy viewing surface
Lenovo Idea Tab Plus IPS LCD with paper-like anti-glare surface 12.1 inches, 2560 × 1600 (2.5K) 90Hz Conventional Android tablet app model Pen options are listed; availability varies by country or region Color media, multitasking and handwriting on a large matte-style panel
BOOX Go 10.3 Monochrome Carta 1200 ePaper 10.3 inches, 2480 × 1860, 300 ppi Not stated as a conventional high-refresh specification Android 12 with third-party app support BOOX Pen Plus included in the standard box Reading, PDF work and notes where monochrome output is acceptable
BOOX Go 10.3 Gen II family Newer ePaper generation; variant details differ Not interchangeable with the original Go 10.3 specifications Not stated in the supplied product information Android 15 listed for the Gen II family Check the selected variant and box contents Readers who specifically want the newer software generation

The figures in this table are manufacturer specifications, not independent measurements. A model’s retail listing can use a similar name while changing storage, battery, lighting, software or included accessories.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Lenovo Idea Tab Plus: the closest full-color alternative

The Idea Tab Plus is the strongest match for someone who wants the TCL concept without giving up a normal color tablet. Lenovo’s specification reference lists a 12.1-inch IPS panel at 2560 × 1600, a 90Hz refresh rate and a paper-like anti-glare surface. The larger diagonal gives documents and split-screen applications more room than an 11-inch class tablet, while the 2.5K resolution keeps text and images detailed.

Why it fits this search

  • The anti-glare surface is explicitly documented rather than inferred from a generic “eye comfort” mode.
  • The IPS panel preserves color for movies, photographs, web pages and ordinary Android apps.
  • 90Hz is specified, matching the TCL US listing and making scrolling and pen movement part of a modern tablet experience.
  • Lenovo lists 600 nits typical brightness and an 800-nit high-brightness mode, useful context for rooms with strong ambient light.

Those brightness figures are Lenovo’s stated specifications, not a guarantee that every regional configuration reaches the same mode. High brightness can also increase reflections or visual fatigue in a dark room, so it should be treated as available headroom rather than a setting to leave on permanently.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Pen considerations

Lenovo lists pen options but notes that availability can vary by country or region. Do not assume that every Idea Tab Plus box contains a stylus. Check the exact local bundle, part number and supported pen before ordering; the cited specification does not establish a universal accessory package.

Who should choose it

Choose the Idea Tab Plus when one tablet must handle color media, general apps, browsing, school or office documents and occasional handwriting. It is also the more natural choice if a 90Hz interface and a large screen matter as much as surface reflectivity.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

BOOX Go 10.3: the e-paper reading and handwriting option

The original BOOX Go 10.3 changes the premise instead of imitating an LCD. Its product information lists a 10.3-inch ePaper panel at 2480 × 1860 and 300 ppi, Android 12, support for third-party apps and a BOOX Pen Plus in the standard package. BOOX’s specification table identifies the panel as Carta 1200.

What you gain

  • A monochrome surface designed around books, long documents and handwritten notes.
  • High pixel density for crisp type at the stated 300 ppi.
  • Android 12 and third-party app support, allowing more than a closed e-reader workflow.
  • A pen included in the standard package according to the BOOX product page.

What you give up

  • Color is not available on the original Go 10.3, so magazines, comics, charts and video will not resemble their presentation on an LCD tablet.
  • The supplied specifications do not present it as a 90Hz general-purpose tablet; interactions should be evaluated as ePaper behavior rather than compared only by refresh-rate numbers.
  • Third-party app support does not make every Android app equally suitable for a monochrome screen.

Who should choose it

Pick the Go 10.3 when reading and writing are the main activities and grayscale is acceptable. It is particularly logical for novels, PDFs, meeting notes and annotation. If streaming, color design work or fast-moving games are central, a color LCD alternative is the safer category.

Do not confuse the original Go 10.3 with Gen II

BOOX also lists a Go 10.3 Gen II family with Android 15 and variants that may or may not include a front light. Gen II is a distinct newer generation, not a software update that can be assumed for the original model.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Before purchasing, confirm all of the following on the listing for the exact device:

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. The product name includes the generation you intend to buy.
  2. The operating-system version is stated for that generation.
  3. The selected front-light or non-front-light variant is clearly identified.
  4. The included pen and other box contents match the seller’s description.

Do not carry the original Go 10.3’s Android 12, Carta 1200 or package assumptions across Gen II variants unless the specific listing repeats them.

How the TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER compares

TCL’s US product page describes the TAB A1 NXTPAPER as an 11-inch 2.1K tablet with a 90Hz refresh rate. It supports T-Pen 2, and the US package is described as including both the stylus and a flip case. This makes it a color-tablet reference point, not an ePaper reader.

Regional model checks are essential

TCL presents a broader and changing A1 family across its US, global and series pages. Names such as TAB A1, TAB A1 Plus and NXTPAPER 11 Plus should not be treated as the same hardware. Battery capacity, storage, dimensions, software and accessories can differ between variants.

Use this buying sequence:

  1. Open the TCL page for your country or sales region.
  2. Match the complete model name and SKU on the product page to the retailer’s listing.
  3. Confirm screen size, resolution, refresh rate and memory on that exact page.
  4. Check whether T-Pen 2 and the flip case are included or sold separately.
  5. Only then compare the price and warranty for your market.

The US specifications and bundle should not be generalized to every country.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Display technology by everyday task

Task TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER Lenovo Idea Tab Plus BOOX Go 10.3
Streaming and video Color LCD category; suited to normal tablet media Color IPS with 90Hz; suited to normal tablet media Monochrome ePaper; not the natural choice for video
Web browsing and social apps Color Android tablet experience Color Android tablet experience with a larger 12.1-inch panel Android 12 and third-party apps, but monochrome presentation changes the experience
Books and long documents Large color screen with NXTPAPER treatment Large color screen with paper-like anti-glare treatment Purpose-oriented ePaper with 300 ppi
Handwritten notes T-Pen 2 support; package depends on region, with pen included on the US listing Pen options; regional availability must be checked BOOX Pen Plus listed in the standard package
Color diagrams and artwork Color display Color display Monochrome display
Fast-scrolling interfaces 90Hz listed for the US model 90Hz listed Not specified as a conventional high-refresh display

This is a technology comparison, not a laboratory ranking. The cited pages do not provide controlled measurements of writing friction, reading fatigue, latency, glare or eye comfort.

Eye comfort: what the specifications do and do not prove

TCL uses promotional language describing NXTPAPER as offering “paper-like clarity” that makes viewing for hours easy. That is TCL North America’s claim, not independent evidence that the product reduces eye strain. Lenovo’s paper-like anti-glare wording similarly describes a surface characteristic, while BOOX’s ePaper specification describes display technology.

Comfort depends on room lighting, viewing distance, font size, brightness, reflections, blink rate and the individual user. The manufacturer pages cited here do not provide a controlled comparison among these products. If comfort is your deciding factor, buy from a seller with a usable return policy and evaluate the exact model under your normal lighting rather than relying on the phrase “paper-like” alone.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Stylus and accessory checklist

Included accessories are a frequent source of misleading comparisons because bundles change by market.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • TCL: The US TAB A1 NXTPAPER listing includes T-Pen 2 and a flip case. Verify that your local SKU carries the same bundle.
  • Lenovo: Pen options are listed, but Lenovo explicitly notes regional variation. Confirm inclusion and compatibility before checkout.
  • BOOX: The original Go 10.3 page lists a BOOX Pen Plus in the standard box. Gen II variants should be checked independently.

The supplied product information does not establish separate case, replacement-pen or accessory availability for every region, so do not assume cross-generation compatibility.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Which alternative should you buy?

Choose Lenovo Idea Tab Plus if you want one color tablet

It is the most direct alternative for a buyer who likes the TCL idea but wants a larger 12.1-inch display, 2.5K resolution, 90Hz refresh and an explicitly documented paper-like anti-glare surface. It keeps the broad use case of a normal Android tablet while adding the surface treatment that prompted the search.

Choose BOOX Go 10.3 if reading is the priority

Select the original Go 10.3 for monochrome ePaper, 300 ppi text, Android 12 app support and an included pen. It is the specialist option for books, documents and notes, not a color-media replacement. If you are considering Gen II, treat it as a separate product family and verify Android 15, lighting variant and accessories on the exact listing.

Stay with TCL if the bundle and color format fit

The TAB A1 NXTPAPER remains sensible when you want an 11-inch, 2.1K, 90Hz color tablet and the US-style T-Pen 2 and flip-case bundle is available in your market. The decisive step is confirming the exact regional SKU rather than assuming that every A1-branded product shares those specifications.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A practical buying checklist

  1. Define “paper-like.” Decide whether you want anti-glare color LCD or monochrome ePaper.
  2. Set the media requirement. If color video, photos or games matter, stay with an LCD category.
  3. Set the reading requirement. If books and notes dominate and grayscale is fine, consider ePaper.
  4. Check size and resolution. Compare TCL’s 11-inch 2.1K, Lenovo’s 12.1-inch 2560 × 1600 and BOOX’s 10.3-inch 2480 × 1860 at 300 ppi.
  5. Verify refresh information. TCL’s US model and Lenovo list 90Hz; the BOOX specifications are presented differently.
  6. Confirm software generation. Original BOOX Go 10.3 is listed with Android 12; Gen II is listed with Android 15.
  7. Confirm the box. Check pen, case and front-light details for the exact regional configuration.
  8. Check the return terms. No cited manufacturer page establishes an independent eye-comfort result, so personal evaluation still matters.

Bottom line for TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER alternatives

For a full-color tablet with a paper-like surface, the Lenovo Idea Tab Plus is the clearest alternative documented here: it offers a larger 12.1-inch 2.5K IPS screen, 90Hz refresh and paper-like anti-glare treatment. For a fundamentally paper-like reading device, the BOOX Go 10.3 is the better match, with 300-ppi monochrome ePaper, Android 12, third-party app support and a pen included. The TCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER remains a credible color option, but its exact screen and bundle must be checked by region and SKU.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

anti-glare tabletsBOOX Go 10.3ePaper tabletsLenovo Idea Tab Pluspaper-like display tabletsTCL TAB A1 NXTPAPER

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.