Choose a tailgate power station by matching three things to your setup: the energy your gear will use, the power it needs at one time, and the right ports and weather protection. Then check carrying weight and how you can recharge it. A large watt-hour (Wh) figure alone cannot tell you whether a station will start an appliance or how long it will run.
Start with the gear you plan to power
List the devices you expect to use, their operating wattage, how many hours they will run, and whether they may start or cycle at a higher load. Include devices that will run simultaneously. A mini fridge, for example, may draw power intermittently, so its label wattage by itself is not enough to promise a specific runtime.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- Watt-hours (Wh) describe stored energy. Add up the energy your gear is expected to use over the outing, then allow for conversion losses and keep some reserve.
- Watts (W) describe the rate of power output. The station must handle the combined load while your devices are running.
- Continuous and peak output are separate ratings. Compare normal operating demand with the continuous AC rating, and startup demand with the peak or surge rating.
Capacity-based runtime estimates are approximate: usable energy varies with the load and conversion losses. Do not treat the published Wh rating as a guaranteed amount of energy available at an outlet.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsCompare example stations by their published specifications
The figures below are manufacturer-published specifications and claims, not independent measurements or a tested ranking. Product pages inspected did not supply publication dates. Confirm the current specification and availability for the exact model before buying.
#1 Best Overall
- Ultra-Lightweight: At only 7.5 lbs, the Explorer 300 delivers a robust 292Wh capacity while remaining 17% lighter than the industry average. The sleek, integrated handle makes it effortless to carry on long hikes or pack with your camping gear, providing reliable off-grid power without adding bulk to your load.
- Versatile Power for 6 Devices: Equipped with 2 AC outlets, a 100W USB-C PD port, 2 USB-A ports, and a 120W car port. With a 300W rated output (600W peak surge), it easily handles laptops, drones, and cameras, while also serving as a dependable cpap battery for camping or a robust solar powered generator when paired with panels.
- Built to Last: Upgraded with premium LiFePO4 chemistry, this portable generator delivers over 4,000 charge cycles before reaching 70% capacity. This ensures more than 11 years of reliable service life, making it a sustainable and durable energy partner for a decade of exploration.
- Fast Solar Charging: Perfect for off-grid use, this solar powered generator pairs seamlessly with Jackery panels. Reach 80% capacity in approximately 2.8 hours with a 100W solar panel, or maintain your gear with a portable 40W panel (80% in 7.5 hours), making it an essential part of your hunting essentials.
- WHAT YOU GET: 1* Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 1*AC adapter, 1* car charger cable, 1* user guide (𝐒𝐨𝐥𝐚𝐫 𝐏𝐚𝐧𝐞𝐥 𝐍𝐨𝐭 𝐈𝐧𝐜𝐥𝐮𝐝𝐞𝐝.)
| Model | Published capacity and output | Ports and recharge details | Weather claim | Published weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goal Zero Yeti 700 | 677 Wh; the cited page lists multiple output options. | Multiple output options; port-specific wattages and recharge limits are not stated in the cited material. | IPX4 water-resistance rating. | Not stated in the cited material. |
| BLUETTI AC60 | 403 Wh; 600 W output; expandable capacity up to 2,015 Wh. | Port-specific wattages and recharge limits are not stated in the cited material. | IP65 rating. | 8.6 kg, as stated by BLUETTI. |
| NEBO Rambler 300 | 288 Wh; integrated 300 W pure sine wave inverter. | Six-way device charging and solar capability; individual port wattages and solar input limit are not stated in the cited material. | Protective port covers are listed; an IP rating is not stated in the cited material. | Not stated in the cited material. |
| Westinghouse iGen400s | 183.6 Wh; 200 W continuous and 400 W peak. | Two 120 V AC outlets, USB ports, and one 12 V DC output; port-specific USB wattages and recharge limits are not stated in the cited material. | Described as having a weather-resistant shell; no IP rating is stated on the inspected page. | 5.53 lb. |
| RELiON Outlaw | 921.6 Wh; 1,000 W pure sine wave inverter and 2,000 W peak. | Multiple USB and 12 V connections; maximum solar input is 160 W. | An IP rating or specific weather-protection claim is not stated in the cited material. | 32 lb. |
Check continuous and startup power before choosing capacity
After estimating energy use, check whether the station can deliver enough power at once. Add the operating watts of devices likely to be on together and compare that total with the station’s continuous AC rating. For equipment with a motor or compressor, also check its startup demand against the station’s peak or surge rating. A station can have ample Wh capacity and still be unsuitable if its output rating is too low.
Match the ports to your equipment
Count the connections you will need, then verify the power each connection can provide. A socket count does not show whether a particular port supports your device’s charging requirement.
Rank #2
- 【SLIM & POCKETABLE】This portable power bank is about the size of a smartphone (6.5×3.3×4 inches) and weighs only 2.54 pounds. It features an ergonomic soft handle for easy portability. It easily fits into a backpack for convenient portability. Pro Tip: Fully charge and discharge the battery twice initially for the best experience.(Solar panel and cable not included)
- 【DUAL INPUT/OUTPUT (AC + DC)】The portable power station comes with a 89.6Wh capacity LiFePO4 battery pack(not NCM) and 100W, features 7 output ports, including 2 AC sockets (100W),2 USB-C port (45W/15W), 2 USB-A port (18W/15W), and DC5521 ports (60W). The LED display can clearly show the working status and remaining power.(Please peel off the protective film on the screen after unboxing)
- 【Ultra Fast Charging】With unique fast charging technology,the portable generator can be charged from 0-80% just in 1.5hrs. The solar power bank power station has Four methods to charging: AC wall socket fast charging, USB-C DC two-way PD fast charging(AC and DC can be charged at the same time) ,car charging and solar panel charging.Fast charging solar power bank portable charger suitable for for emergency home backyard outdoor power outages off-grid camping essentials
- 【ULTRA-QUIET & EMERGENCY-READY POWER STATION】Experience silent, fanless operation perfect for sleeping, working, or camping, while the built-in 4-level LED flashlight (with steady/SOS modes) ensures emergency readiness. Its accidental-touch-proof design requires a long-press to activate, ideal for charging devices during outages or outdoor adventures without noise disruption.(Only suitable for powering devices within 100W).
- 【Long-Lasting & Safe LiFePO4 Battery】: 3500+ life cycles (far exceeding standard batteries). Durable LiFePO4 batteries last 3x longer than standard lithium batteries! Advanced BMS provides 12 safety protections, monitoring voltage, current & temperature. Powers your smartphone, laptop, mini-fridge, camera, and drone simultaneously.
- AC outlets: for equipment with a standard wall plug; verify outlet voltage and the station’s continuous and peak AC limits.
- USB-C and USB-A: for phones, tablets, and other electronics; check the per-port wattage and charging protocol, especially for USB-C power delivery.
- 12 V/DC: for compatible vehicle-style accessories; confirm connector type and output rating.
Read weather claims precisely
An IP rating gives more specific information than a general phrase such as “weather resistant,” but the rating and the manufacturer’s instructions determine what exposure is supported. For example, Goal Zero lists the Yeti 700 as IPX4, while BLUETTI lists the AC60 as IP65. Westinghouse describes the iGen400s shell as weather resistant but does not state an IP rating on the inspected page. Those claims are not interchangeable, and none is a reason to leave a station in standing water. Follow the manual and keep the unit protected from exposure beyond its stated limits.
Balance capacity against how far you will carry it
A larger station may provide more stored energy, but can be harder to move from a parking space to a tailgate setup. Compare the published weight and dimensions with the actual carrying distance, and consider how you will lift or transport the unit. The published weights in the examples range from 5.53 lb for the Westinghouse iGen400s to 32 lb for the RELiON Outlaw; the Goal Zero Yeti 700 and NEBO Rambler 300 weights are not stated in the cited material.
Rank #3
- [288Wh On-the-Go Power] - Only 9.4 lbs lightweight, carry it anywhere during storms! 288Wh capacity meets daily & outdoor needs—camping, road trips, beach visits, or home emergencies. Extend your smart green energy life to every corner of your ideal lifestyle with this compact entry-level power station.
- [600W Continuous & 1500W Surge Power] - Get a full 600W output—twice as much as others. When you need serious power, activate Power Lifting Mode for 1500W power (vs. the typical 600W). It runs everything from essential camping lights, speakers, and car fridges to critical devices like laptops and CPAP machines and even a small kettle or toaster—ideal for stormy days at home or outdoor trips.
- [50% Lower Power Consumption] - Upgraded UltraCell tech & smart cooling system cut power consumption by 50%. Enhances overall energy efficiency, extends device runtime. Excellent durability & environmental adaptability for extreme outdoor climates and long-term operation.(Standby power only 4.5W, DC 5W, AC 8W)
- [8 Charging Modes & 380W Fast Wall Charge] - Supports AC wall charge (380W/200W adjustable), solar, car charging, etc. 0-80% in 45 mins, 0-100% in 70 mins (battery-safe). Match PV60L solar panel for on-the-go recharging. Flexible charging solutions for city, wilderness, daily or emergency scenarios.
- [Reliable UPS] - Never lose data or stop your devices during winter storms/blackouts! 10ms ultra-fast UPS switch protects CPAP, laptops, routers—critical for home emergencies when power cuts suddenly.
Check charging options, especially for solar
For an outing where you may need to replenish power, confirm which charging inputs the station accepts and their maximum input ratings. Solar panels are optional, not automatically compatible: check the station’s maximum solar input, panel voltage, connector, and stated compatibility. Actual recharge depends on conditions as well as the station’s input limit. The RELiON Outlaw page lists a 160 W maximum solar input; for the other examples, the cited material does not establish a maximum solar input.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 𝐔𝐩 𝐭𝐨 𝟑𝟓-𝐇𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐅𝐫𝐢𝐝𝐠𝐞 𝐁𝐚𝐜𝐤𝐮𝐩: With 6W idle power draw and 10% higher efficiency, this power station runs 20% longer than other 2kWh systems, keeping your fridge powered for 35 hours.
- 𝟏𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎-𝐂𝐲𝐜𝐥𝐞 𝐋𝐅𝐏 𝐁𝐚𝐭𝐭𝐞𝐫𝐲: Powered by 314Ah LFP cells, S2000 has a 15-year lifespan, equivalent to 10,000 charge cycles.
- 𝐒𝐦𝐚𝐥𝐥𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐋𝐢𝐠𝐡𝐭𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝟐𝐤𝐖𝐡 𝐏𝐨𝐰𝐞𝐫 𝐒𝐭𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧: 30% smaller and 25% lighter than the industry average, this power station measures just 8.2 × 11.1 × 12.7 in and weighs only 35.7 lbs.
- 𝐏𝐨𝐰𝐞𝐫𝐬 𝟗𝟗% 𝐨𝐟 𝐇𝐨𝐦𝐞 𝐄𝐬𝐬𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐢𝐚𝐥𝐬: 1,500W continuous output and 3,000W peak output keep nearly every essential appliance running. Actual runtime will vary depending on your refrigerator model, usage habits, and ambient temperature.
- 𝟔 𝐖𝐚𝐲𝐬 𝐭𝐨 𝐑𝐞𝐜𝐡𝐚𝐫𝐠𝐞: Supports up to 400W solar input. Power up via AC + solar, a wall outlet, a generator, solar panels, an alternator charger, or a car outlet—anytime, anywhere.
Rank #4
- Powerful yet Compact: Boasting a 1,500W AC output and a 3,000W surge peak, the Solar Generator 1000 V2 can power multiple appliances, including AC units, fridges, and electric pots. With a 1,070Wh capacity and a lightweight build of only 23.8 lbs, along with a foldable handle, it makes an excellent companion for outdoor camping, road trips, or emergencies.
- One Hour Fast Charging: Charge your Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power Station from 0% to 100% battery level in just one hour with emergency charging activated via the Jackery App. It defaults to 1.7 hours for a full charge to optimize battery health. Engineered with advanced ChargeShield 2.0 technology, this power station charges safer, faster, and smarter.
- 10 Year Lifespan: The Explorer 1000 v2 portable power station is equipped with a durable LFP battery, maintaining over 70% of its original capacity even after 4,000 charge cycles, offering longevity exceeding 10 years.
- Tailored for Versatility: Featuring two USB-C ports, one USB-A port, one DC car port, and three pure sine wave AC ports, along with LED lights, the Solar Generator 1000 V2 is capable of charging multiple devices simultaneously, meeting power needs in various scenarios. PD 100W fast USB-C charging ensures a rapid charging speed, even without power adapters.
- Smart App Control: Effortlessly switch between different charging modes with Jackery’s App—including one hour emergency charging from 0 to 100%, 30 dB quiet overnight charging mode, and energy efficiency mode. Maximize the freedom to adjust the power station to meet your needs.
A final pre-purchase checklist
- Estimate the energy your devices will use over the outing and leave a reserve.
- Confirm continuous output covers simultaneous operating loads and peak output can accommodate startup demand.
- Match AC, USB, and DC connections to the equipment, including per-port wattage and charging protocol.
- Use the model’s specific weather rating or claim and manual instructions; do not assume “outdoor” means waterproof.
- Check weight and dimensions against your transport route.
- Verify charging-input limits and exact solar-panel compatibility if you plan to recharge away from grid power.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

