Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › co-op games

Sonic PICO PARK vs. PICO PARK: What’s Different for Co-op Players?

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

SONIC PICO PARK is not out yet. PICO PARK Inc. has announced the Sonic collaboration for November 12, 2026, on Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows and Steam. It is confirmed as a 2–8-player cooperative action puzzle game, but its official announcement does not yet say whether those players are local, online, cross-platform, or how many controllers a console group will need.

The confirmed difference is the theme and mechanics: previewed levels combine PICO PARK-style coordination with Sonic abilities. The original PICO PARK is a 2–8-player game with 48 levels and no cross-play, while PICO PARK 2 supports cross-play for up to eight players and adds more content. If online logistics determine your purchase, the older games have clearer specifications today; if you want Sonic characters and Sonic movement in a cooperative puzzle format, the 2026 release is the distinct option to watch.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What is confirmed about SONIC PICO PARK?

PICO PARK Inc. describes SONIC PICO PARK as the latest entry in the series and a collaboration with SEGA’s Sonic the Hedgehog. The official announcement lists the genre as cooperative action puzzle, supports two to eight players, and gives a November 12, 2026 release date. The listed platforms are Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows and Steam. The announcement names Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy and PICO CAT as characters. It displays an ESRB “RP” placeholder, so a final age rating has not been announced. PICO PARK Inc.’s official SONIC PICO PARK page also says the PICO PARK series has surpassed eight million copies worldwide; that figure applies to the series, not this unreleased game.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Because the launch date is still in the future as of October 13, 2026, these are announced specifications rather than a complete account of the finished product. The announcement does not provide a mode list, local-versus-online breakdown, cross-play policy, controller requirements or a Nintendo Switch Online requirement. A 2–8-player label alone cannot establish any of those details.

#1 Best Overall
Nintendo Neon Purple/Neon Orange Joy-Con (L-R) - Switch
  • Two Joy Con can be used independently in each hand, or together as 1 game controller when attached to the Joy Con grip
  • They can also attach to the main console for use in handheld mode, or be shared with friends to enjoy two player action in supported games
  • Each Joy Con has a full set of buttons and can act as a standalone controller, and each includes an accelerometer and gyro sensor, making independent left and right motion control possible

How does the player count compare?

Game Players stated by official information What that number does not prove
SONIC PICO PARK 2–8 Whether all eight can play on one console, whether online play is available, or whether platforms can play together
PICO PARK 2–8 Classic Edition is a separate product with different support
PICO PARK 2 2–8 One Switch can host up to seven joining online players; Nintendo’s listing describes the broader local and online arrangement

The eight-player ceiling is therefore common to the announced Sonic game and both main PICO PARK entries. It is a group-size ceiling, not a promise that every mode uses eight people or that one device supplies eight controllers.

SONIC PICO PARK versus the original PICO PARK

Theme and abilities

The original PICO PARK builds its challenges around shared movement, keys, switches, doors and careful positioning. SONIC PICO PARK keeps the cooperative puzzle framing but places recognizable Sonic characters and abilities inside it. In a June 14, 2026 hands-on preview, TechRadar’s Dashiell Wood played eight levels at Summer Game Fest. He reported a shared gold ring used to pass a laser, springs and loop-de-loops, Spin Dash access for every character, Tails flying while carrying teammates, and Knuckles gliding. These observations demonstrate how the collaboration changes the moment-to-moment tools available to a team; they do not describe every level or guarantee that every preview feature remains unchanged at launch. TechRadar’s hands-on report covered eight preview levels, not the complete final game.

The result should not be treated as a conventional solo Sonic platformer. The official genre is cooperative action puzzle, and the preview emphasizes sharing information, timing movement and using character-specific abilities together. A Sonic move matters because it helps the group solve an obstacle, not simply because it makes one character move faster.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Modes and level counts

The original game’s official page lists World, Battle and Endless modes and 48 levels. SONIC PICO PARK’s announcement does not confirm those modes, a level count, or an equivalent structure. Familiarity with earlier games is not evidence that the same menu will appear in the Sonic edition.

Release status and platforms

The original PICO PARK is already available on Nintendo Switch and Steam and was released on June 8, 2019. SONIC PICO PARK is announced across seven platform families, including both generations of Nintendo hardware and both current and previous Xbox consoles. The wider platform list may make it easier for mixed-platform groups once connection details are published, but cross-play cannot be inferred from the list.

Cross-play

The original PICO PARK’s official page explicitly says cross-play is not supported. Players should therefore assume that a Switch owner and a Steam owner cannot join the same original-game session. The Sonic announcement has no comparable statement, so its cross-play policy is currently unknown rather than positive or negative.

SONIC PICO PARK versus PICO PARK 2

What PICO PARK 2 already confirms

PICO PARK 2 supports cross-play for up to eight players. Its developer page lists World, Battle and Endless modes, and 60 levels. It gives August 28, 2024 as the release date. Nintendo’s US listing gives August 27, 2024; the one-day difference may reflect release timing or store-listing conventions, so both dates should be understood as attributed listings rather than a reason to treat the games as different versions. The developer page also states that PICO PARK 2 has exceeded five million downloads worldwide, without specifying a separate date for when that count was reached. Downloads are not the same measure as copies sold.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Nintendo’s Switch listing adds a Dark mode and describes both local and online multiplayer for two to eight players. It says online cross-platform support is available, that up to seven players may join online from one Switch, and that online play requires a Nintendo Switch Online subscription. Nintendo also lists Switch 2 compatibility for the Switch version. These are PICO PARK 2 details and must not be transferred to SONIC PICO PARK before a Sonic-specific listing confirms them. PICO PARK 2’s developer page and Nintendo’s US store listing provide those separate specifications.

What the Sonic game could change

The previewed Sonic abilities are the clearest creative distinction from PICO PARK 2. PICO PARK 2 expands the established formula with more levels, hats, cross-play and additional modes; SONIC PICO PARK introduces a licensed character roster and movement ideas associated with Sonic. No official information yet establishes whether the Sonic game has 48, 60 or another number of levels, or whether it includes World, Battle, Endless or Dark mode.

Co-op logistics: what you can and cannot plan for

Local play

The announced two-to-eight-player range does not say that eight people can play locally on one Switch, Switch 2, PlayStation, Xbox or PC. It also does not state whether each player needs a separate controller, whether a pair of Joy-Con controllers can be split, or whether keyboard and gamepad combinations are accepted. Those questions matter for a living-room group, so check the final platform store pages and manual before buying extra hardware.

Online play

There is no title-specific confirmation that SONIC PICO PARK has online multiplayer. Do not assume that the presence of Windows, Steam, PlayStation and Xbox versions means an online lobby exists. Do not assume a Nintendo Switch Online subscription is required, either; that requirement is documented for PICO PARK 2’s Switch listing, not for the Sonic announcement.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Nintendo Switch™ 2 Pro Controller
  • HD Rumble 2
  • Motion controls
  • Built-in amiibo functionality*
  • Capture Button
  • C Button for GameChat**

Cross-platform sessions

Cross-play is explicitly absent from the original PICO PARK and explicitly supported by PICO PARK 2. SONIC PICO PARK sits between those known cases: its announcement names many platforms but says nothing about joining across them. A group split between Switch, Xbox, PlayStation and PC should wait for a platform-specific FAQ or store listing before choosing the Sonic version for an online event.

One copy or multiple copies

PICO PARK 2’s official information says players in different locations each need a copy. That purchasing rule belongs to PICO PARK 2. There is no announced copy-sharing, guest-access or remote-play policy for SONIC PICO PARK, so a group should not budget on the assumption that one purchase covers everyone.

What the preview tells us about teamwork

The eight-level preview suggests that the Sonic collaboration is more than a character reskin. A team can use a shared gold ring to move past a laser, launch through springs and loop-de-loops, and combine mobility options that differ by character. Every character reportedly has access to Spin Dash, while Tails can fly and carry teammates and Knuckles can glide. Those tools create coordination questions: who reaches a switch, who carries another player, and when should the group preserve a shared object rather than rush ahead?

Preview evidence has a precise limit. It does not establish the full level set, final difficulty curve, complete character roster beyond the names on the announcement, balance, modes, performance, accessibility options or launch-day network behavior. It is evidence that the concept works in a small sample, not a substitute for a final-game specification.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

GamesRadar+ reports that Sonic Team head Takashi Iizuka initially wondered, “Is this gonna be a Sonic game?” when he first saw the concept. In the same interview, the collaboration was described as an eight-player format Sonic Team had not previously made, paired with a form of play that the PICO PARK team was passionate about. The comments explain why the game may feel unusual: it is deliberately combining Sonic’s identity with a series built around group puzzle solving. GamesRadar+’s interview report contains the quoted context.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Side-by-side specification table

Specification SONIC PICO PARK PICO PARK PICO PARK 2
Status Announced; scheduled for November 12, 2026 Released June 8, 2019 Released in 2024; developer page says August 28, Nintendo lists August 27
Players 2–8 2–8 2–8
Platforms in the cited official information Switch, Switch 2, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows and Steam Switch and Steam Steam, Switch, Xbox and Windows
Modes Not stated on the announcement page World, Battle and Endless World, Battle and Endless; Nintendo also lists Dark
Levels Not stated 48 60
Cross-play Not stated Not supported Supported for up to eight players
Local/online details Not stated Cooperative play is described, but the cited product details do not settle the complete setup here Nintendo lists local and online 2–8-player play; online requires Nintendo Switch Online
Distinctive content Sonic characters and previewed Sonic mechanics Original PICO PARK puzzle format More levels, hats, cross-play and additional modes

Do not confuse PICO PARK with Classic Edition

The original PICO PARK page also references PICO PARK: Classic Edition, but it is not interchangeable with the 2019 original for multiplayer planning. Classic Edition has a different player limit and different online support. The commonly cited 2–8-player and no-cross-play specifications in this comparison refer to the original PICO PARK, not Classic Edition. Check the exact product name in a store listing before organizing a group.

The original page also discusses using phones as gamepads in its own setup information. That does not establish phone-controller support for SONIC PICO PARK. The Sonic announcement has not specified whether phones, Joy-Con, standard gamepads, keyboards or other input methods will work.

Which game fits which co-op group?

Choose the original PICO PARK when certainty matters most

  • You want an available game with a clearly stated 2–8-player range.
  • Your group is happy to play within the same platform ecosystem, because cross-play is not supported.
  • You want the documented World, Battle and Endless modes and 48 levels.
  • You prefer the original puzzle rules without Sonic-specific abilities.

Choose PICO PARK 2 when mixed-platform online play is the priority

  • Your group needs confirmed cross-play for up to eight people.
  • You want 60 levels, World, Battle and Endless, plus the Dark mode listed by Nintendo.
  • You can meet the platform’s copy requirements for players in different locations.
  • Switch players can meet the Nintendo Switch Online requirement for online sessions.

Wait for SONIC PICO PARK when the collaboration is the reason to play

  • Your group wants Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy and PICO CAT in a cooperative puzzle setting.
  • You are interested in abilities such as Spin Dash, Tails’ flight and carrying, and Knuckles’ glide.
  • You can wait for final information about modes, online play, cross-play and controller setup.
  • You are comfortable making a decision based on an announced November 12, 2026 release rather than a finished product.

Preparing a local group without overbuying hardware

The Switch version is listed for two to eight players, and PICO PARK 2 demonstrates that a Switch release in this series can support local two-to-eight multiplayer. That precedent is useful but not conclusive for the Sonic title. Before buying additional Switch-compatible controllers, verify the Sonic game’s final input requirements, whether players can split Joy-Con, and whether local eight-player play is supported on one console. The announcement does not answer those questions, so any controller shopping now would be provisional.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a mixed-platform online group, make a checklist before launch: confirm that every platform version is in the same multiplayer ecosystem, check whether each remote player needs a copy, verify subscription requirements, and test voice-chat or party-chat arrangements. Those checks are especially important because the original game has no cross-play, PICO PARK 2 does, and SONIC PICO PARK’s policy remains unannounced.

Sales and audience context

The collaboration arrives after the series has built a substantial audience. PICO PARK Inc. reports more than eight million copies sold worldwide across the PICO PARK series on the SONIC PICO PARK announcement page. Separately, the PICO PARK 2 page reports more than five million downloads worldwide, without a separate measurement date. Neither figure predicts the Sonic game’s launch performance, and the two metrics should not be combined: copies sold and downloads measure different things.

Bottom line for co-op players

SONIC PICO PARK’s confirmed proposition is straightforward: two to eight players, a broad multi-platform launch planned for November 12, 2026, and Sonic characters and abilities integrated into cooperative action puzzles. The original PICO PARK offers a known 48-level, 2–8-player format with no cross-play. PICO PARK 2 is the established choice for confirmed cross-play, 60 levels and documented local/online support. The Sonic game is the one to choose for its character-driven mechanics, but anyone deciding primarily on online access, cross-play, controller count or subscription cost should wait for those title-specific details rather than borrowing assumptions from either predecessor.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
Nintendo Switch™ 2 Pro Controller
Nintendo Switch™ 2 Pro Controller
HD Rumble 2; Motion controls; Built-in amiibo functionality*; Capture Button; C Button for GameChat**
$89.00

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

co-op gamescross-playNintendo SwitchPICO PARKPICO PARK 2Sonic PICO PARKSonic the Hedgehog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.