SEBI’s October 15, 2026 circular replaces the existing closing-auction design with a 10-minute Closing Auction Session (CAS) running from 3:30 p.m. to 3:40 p.m. on implementation day, December 7, 2026. It also sets different closing times for index and stock derivatives and keeps expiry-day settlement based on 30-minute VWAP calculations rather than the CAS auction price.
The supplied official regulatory and exchange material does not establish the percentage decline in BSE or NSE shares or prove that any market move was caused by the rule change. The operational changes below are the confirmed part of the announcement.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What changes on December 7, 2026
The revised framework separates the closing auction from continuous cash-market trading and compresses the session to 10 minutes. The schedule is:
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minute- 3:30–3:31 p.m.: the reference price is calculated and the market transitions from continuous trading.
- 3:31–3:36 p.m.: both market and limit orders may be entered.
- 3:36–3:38 p.m.: only limit orders may be entered.
- 3:38–3:40 p.m.: the system closes at a random time.
- After closure: orders are matched using the auction outcome.
Only market and limit orders are permitted during CAS. Participants cannot submit new iceberg orders or stop-loss orders in this session.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
How the CAS reference price is set
The reference price is the volume-weighted average price (VWAP) for the final 15 minutes of continuous cash trading. Under the revised timetable, that is the 3:15–3:30 p.m. period.
- If no trade occurs during those 15 minutes, the security’s last traded price for the day is used.
- If the security did not trade at all during the day, the previous trading day’s close is used.
- The fallback close is adjusted for applicable corporate actions.
This reference price anchors the CAS process; it is not itself necessarily the final auction price.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How the old and revised regimes differ
NSE’s published description of the original Phase 1 implementation provides the baseline that the December changes replace for cash-market stocks with listed derivatives.
| Feature | Original Phase 1 design | Revised design from December 7, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| CAS time | 3:15–3:35 p.m. (20 minutes) | 3:30–3:40 p.m. (10 minutes) |
| Reference-price VWAP | 3:00–3:15 p.m. | Last 15 minutes of continuous cash trading, 3:15–3:30 p.m. under the new schedule |
| Order-entry phases | Original framework used the earlier 20-minute structure | Market and limit orders 3:31–3:36; limit orders only 3:36–3:38; random closure 3:38–3:40 |
| Price band | ±3% band in the original NSE description | Orders outside the applicable CAS bands do not carry forward; the October 15 circular does not state a replacement percentage |
| Auction-price logic | Equilibrium price based on maximum executable volume, minimum imbalance and proximity to the reference price | The circular changes the session timetable and order treatment; the cited material does not specify a different ranking formula |
| Implementation | Original January 16, 2026 framework | Most provisions effective December 7, 2026 |
Derivative trading hours and expiry-day settlement
Trading cut-offs
- Index derivatives on regular days: trading continues until 3:45 p.m.
- Expiring index derivatives: trading ends at 3:30 p.m. on expiry days.
- Stock derivatives: trading continues until 3:45 p.m., including expiry days.
- Cash post-close session: remains 3:50–4:00 p.m.
What determines settlement on expiry days
For expiring index derivatives, settlement uses an index value calculated from the VWAPs of constituent stocks during the last 30 minutes of continuous cash trading. For expiring stock derivatives, settlement uses the underlying stock’s VWAP over that same 30-minute period, calculated across all stock exchanges.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Therefore, expiry-day futures and options settlement is VWAP-based, not simply the CAS auction price. Exchanges must publish indicative VWAP and index values in real time during the 30-minute calculation window.
What happens to pending orders
Limit orders carried into CAS
An unexecuted limit order from continuous trading carries into CAS when it is within the applicable CAS price bands. Stop-loss orders and orders outside those bands do not carry forward.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Iceberg-order transition
The special transition begins February 8, 2027, rather than December 7, 2026. From that date, an eligible unexecuted iceberg order can be carried forward as a fully disclosed limit order unless the trading participant opted out.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Transitioned iceberg orders receive lower time priority than other carried-forward limit orders. In general, carried-forward orders rank ahead of newly entered CAS limit orders, but modifying an order can change its time priority. Traders should verify how their broker or exchange interface displays these states before relying on queue position.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Why SEBI revised the framework
SEBI’s January 16, 2026 circular described the CAS objective as transparent and efficient closing-price discovery. After reviewing implementation, public comments, recommendations from the Secondary Market Advisory Committee and discussions with exchanges, the October 15 circular says the revisions are intended to support efficient price discovery and orderly functioning of the cash and derivatives markets.
The changes address several practical points at once: a shorter auction window, a clearly defined 15-minute reference VWAP, separate treatment of expiry-day derivatives, and explicit handling of orders that remain unexecuted when continuous trading ends.
What traders should check before the first revised session
- Confirm that your trading platform shows the 3:30–3:40 p.m. CAS rather than the former 3:15–3:35 p.m. window.
- Do not assume a stop-loss or new iceberg instruction will be accepted during CAS.
- Check whether an unexecuted limit order is inside the applicable price band and therefore eligible to carry forward.
- On an expiry day, distinguish the 3:30 p.m. cut-off for expiring index derivatives from the 3:45 p.m. cut-off for stock derivatives and regular-day index derivatives.
- For an iceberg order that remains open after February 8, 2027, check whether your participant has opted out of the fully disclosed-limit transition.
What is—and is not—known about the BSE and NSE share move
The headline description of BSE and NSE shares falling is not quantified by the cited SEBI or exchange documents. Those materials also do not attribute a particular price move to the rule revision. A percentage change or causal explanation would require a dated market-data source. The confirmed news is the regulatory timetable and settlement framework, not a measured market reaction.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

