The Galaxy S26 FE is a meaningful hardware upgrade over the Galaxy S21 FE if you want a larger screen, a higher-resolution main camera, faster wired charging or a longer stated software-support window. It is not an automatic upgrade: the S21 FE still has a 120Hz FHD+ display, three rear cameras, wireless charging and IP68 resistance, and the best value depends on current local prices and your exact model.
Galaxy S21 FE vs S26 FE: key specifications
This comparison uses Samsung’s US T-Mobile specification sheet for the S21 FE and Samsung UK/Ireland product information for most S26 FE specifications. Configurations can differ by market and carrier; check the model and storage variant sold where you live.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Specification | Galaxy S21 FE 5G | Galaxy S26 FE |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.4-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X; 2340 × 1080 FHD+ | 6.7-inch; 2340 × 1080 FHD+; 120Hz |
| Processor | Qualcomm SDM8350, 5nm, on the cited US T-Mobile sheet; regional chipsets and configurations can differ | Samsung Exynos 2500, 3nm, per Samsung India |
| Rear cameras | 12MP wide, 12MP ultrawide, 8MP telephoto | 50MP wide with OIS, 12MP ultrawide, 8MP telephoto with 3x optical zoom |
| Front camera | 32MP | 12MP |
| Battery and charging | 25W wired and 15W wireless charging | 4,900mAh; up to 45W wired and 15W wireless charging; up to 29 hours of video playback in Samsung’s estimate |
| Storage and RAM | 128GB or 256GB storage; 6GB RAM on the cited sheet | 128GB, 256GB or 512GB listed on Samsung UK/Ireland pages; confirm RAM and actual local SKU |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | IP68; Samsung’s rating is based on lab submersion in up to 1.5m of freshwater for up to 30 minutes, and resistance may diminish with wear |
| Software support evidence | Samsung’s SM-G990B update page lists Android 16 released September 17, 2026, with an August 5, 2026 security patch | Up to seven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch |
Sources: Samsung’s S21 FE US T-Mobile specification sheet, Samsung’s S21 FE SM-G990B update history, Samsung’s S26 FE specifications and Samsung’s S26 FE launch and support information.
Recommended Free Tools
What changes with the S26 FE?
A larger display, at the same resolution
The S26 FE’s 6.7-inch display is 0.3 inches larger diagonally than the 6.4-inch screen listed for the S21 FE. Both cited displays are FHD+ at 2340 × 1080, so the newer model gives you more screen area rather than a higher listed resolution. Samsung lists a 120Hz refresh rate for the S26 FE; the cited S21 FE sheet does not state a refresh rate.
#1 Best Overall
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
Updated rear-camera hardware
The S26 FE has a 50MP main camera with optical image stabilization, compared with the S21 FE sheet’s 12MP wide camera. Both have 12MP ultrawide and 8MP telephoto cameras; Samsung specifies 3x optical zoom for the S26 FE. The S21 FE sheet does not state a zoom figure. A higher megapixel count or newer hardware alone does not establish how much better photos look in everyday use, and no controlled side-by-side camera test is available here.
The listed front-camera resolution goes the other way: 12MP on the S26 FE versus 32MP on the cited S21 FE sheet. Megapixels alone do not settle image quality, so consider this a hardware difference rather than a prediction about selfies.
Rank #2
- BIG. BRIGHT. SMOOTH : Enjoy every scroll, swipe and stream on a stunning 6.7” wide display that’s as smooth for scrolling as it is immersive.¹
- LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN, EVERYDAY EASE: With a lightweight build and slim profile, Galaxy S25 FE is made for life on the go. It is powerful and portable and won't weigh you down no matter where your day takes you.
- SELFIES THAT STUN: Every selfie’s a standout with Galaxy S25 FE. Snap sharp shots and vivid videos thanks to the 12MP selfie camera with ProVisual Engine.
- MOVE IT. REMOVE IT. IMPROVE IT: Generative Edit² on Galaxy S25 FE lets you move, resize and erase distracting elements in your shot. Galaxy AI intuitively recreates every detail so each shot looks exactly the way you envisioned.³
- MORE POWER. LESS PLUGGING IN⁵: Busy day? No worries. Galaxy S25 FE is built with a powerful 4,900mAh battery that’s ready to go the distance⁴. And when you need a top off, Super Fast Charging 2.0⁵ gets you back in action.
Faster wired charging, with a vendor battery estimate
Samsung lists up to 45W wired charging for the S26 FE, compared with 25W on the cited S21 FE sheet. Both list 15W wireless charging. Samsung also gives the S26 FE a 4,900mAh battery and estimates up to 29 hours of video playback. That figure is a manufacturer estimate, not a guarantee of real-world battery life; usage, settings and network conditions affect results.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →How long will Samsung update the S21 FE?
Samsung’s page for the S21 FE model SM-G990B records an Android 16 update released September 17, 2026, and an August 5, 2026 security patch. This is update-history evidence for that specific model, not a schedule for every S21 FE sold by every carrier or region.
Rank #3
- TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
- MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
- FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
- IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
- FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
For the S26 FE, Samsung states up to seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates, counted from global launch. The commitment is explicit, but it is not a promise that every regional or carrier variant receives each update on the same date.
S26 FE launch prices and how to compare today’s price
TechRadar reported that the S26 FE first went on sale September 4, 2026. Its September 2026 launch-price table listed the following amounts; these are launch prices, not verified current prices:
Rank #4
- The Galaxy S25 FE features a large, immersive Dynamic AMOLED display with smooth refresh rate and enhanced brightness, delivering vivid colors and sharp clarity whether you're streaming, browsing, or using it outdoors.
| Market | 128GB | 256GB | 512GB |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $699 | $799 | Not listed in TechRadar’s launch-price table |
| United Kingdom | £699 | £799 | £949 |
| Australia | AU$1,149 | AU$1,299 | AU$1,599 |
Source: TechRadar’s S26 FE launch-price report. The prices do not show today’s street price or what your S21 FE is worth used. For a useful price difference, compare current in-stock S26 FE prices with the same storage capacity in one country, then subtract any realistic resale or trade-in value for your specific S21 FE. Include tax, carrier lock status and trade-in conditions; those can change the amount you actually pay.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchIs the S26 FE worth upgrading to from the S21 FE?
Consider upgrading if these changes matter to you
- You want the larger 6.7-inch display, while accepting that the cited resolution remains FHD+.
- You value the S26 FE’s 50MP stabilized main-camera hardware and specified 3x optical telephoto zoom.
- You often charge by cable and want the higher listed 45W wired-charging support.
- You plan to keep your next phone for years and value Samsung’s stated seven-year security-update window from global launch.
Keeping the S21 FE can make sense
- Your phone still meets your needs, and the price premium for the S26 FE is not worth the hardware changes to you.
- You prefer the S21 FE’s 32MP front-camera specification, or its existing performance and size suit your use.
- Your exact S21 FE model’s remaining update status and your local S26 FE price make an immediate replacement unattractive.
There is no controlled benchmark or battery test here that establishes a universal performance or endurance advantage. Decide on the features you will actually use and compare the net upgrade cost in your market, not launch prices from another country.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 6.7" Dynamic AMOLED 2X FHD+, 120Hz Adaptive Refresh Rate, 1900nits Peak brightness, 1080x2340px, 4700mAh Battery, Android 14, One UI 6.1
- 128GB, 8GB RAM, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 2400e (4nm), 10-core CPU, Xclipse 940 GPU, Bluetooth 5.3
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + + 12MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 8MP, f/2.4 (telephoto), 3x Optical Zoom, Front Camera: 10MP, f/2.4
- CDMA 800/1900, 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100, CDMA2000 1xEV-DO, 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/32/38/40/41/66, 5G: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/38/40/41/66/75/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6 - Nano-SIM and eSIM
- US Model. Compatible with Most GSM and CDMA Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.
Model and resistance caveats
- The cited S21 FE specification sheet is for a US T-Mobile version. Its processor, memory and other details should not be assumed to describe every regional model.
- The Android 16 update record cited above applies to model SM-G990B; carrier and regional release schedules may differ.
- Samsung says the S26 FE’s IP68 rating reflects lab testing in freshwater. It is not a guarantee against water damage, and Samsung notes resistance can diminish with wear.
- Galaxy AI feature availability can vary by region, model, operating system and carrier.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

