The Samsung ViewFinity S6 S65UC is a 34-inch ultrawide monitor that also provides USB-C laptop charging, USB ports, Ethernet and KVM switching. The Philips 34B1U5600CH offers a closely matched 34-inch, 3440 × 1440 display with up to 100 W USB-C power delivery and a built-in webcam. The practical choice depends on your laptop’s charging needs, the ports you use and whether video-call hardware matters more than Samsung’s listed 100 Hz refresh rate.
This is a comparison of manufacturer-published specifications, not hands-on testing or a universal ranking. The Samsung specifications cited here are for the US model LS34C654UANXGO; the Philips page covers the US /27 variant. Check the exact model suffix and local product page before buying.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What a USB-C monitor dock does
A USB-C docking monitor combines a display with several desk connections. With a compatible laptop, one USB-C connection can carry the display signal and data while also supplying power. Peripherals plugged into the monitor’s downstream USB ports can then connect through that same upstream link. Ethernet on the monitor can provide a wired network connection to a laptop that lacks its own LAN port.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
That arrangement can reduce the number of cables you connect to your laptop when you sit down. It does not make every USB-C port or cable interchangeable: the computer, monitor input and cable must support the functions you want. Confirm the laptop’s USB-C display and charging capabilities, and check the model-specific setup information before assuming a particular one-cable arrangement will work.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
KVM is a separate useful feature for a desk with two computers. It allows a shared keyboard and mouse to be used with two sources, but the exact input combinations and switching workflow depend on the monitor’s connections and setup. Both models below list KVM; consult their manuals to confirm how your intended pairing is wired and switched.
It helps to separate the dock’s jobs when comparing models. USB-C power delivery concerns laptop charging; display support concerns whether the computer can send the resolution and refresh rate you want; downstream USB ports are for peripherals; Ethernet provides a wired network connection; and KVM concerns sharing input devices across two sources. A monitor can list all of these features without guaranteeing that every combination of laptop, cable, peripheral and monitor input will work in the way you expect. Check each requirement against the exact computer and monitor documentation.
Samsung S65UC vs. Philips 34B1U5600CH at a glance
| Specification | Samsung ViewFinity S6 S65UC | Philips 34B1U5600CH |
|---|---|---|
| Screen | 34-inch curved, 21:9 | 34-inch curved UltraWide |
| Resolution | 3440 × 1440 UWQHD | 3440 × 1440 |
| Panel / refresh rate | VA panel; up to 100 Hz | Not stated in the cited Philips product specifications |
| USB-C power delivery | Up to 90 W | Up to 100 W |
| Ethernet | Ethernet port; speed is not stated in the cited Samsung specifications | Up to 1 Gbps |
| USB hub | Three downstream USB 3.0 ports | Four downstream USB-A ports and downstream USB-C |
| KVM | Listed | Listed |
| Video-call hardware | Built-in speakers are listed | Pop-up 5 MP webcam with microphone |
The Samsung details above come from Samsung’s US Business listing for model LS34C654UANXGO and its Canada product information. Philips specifications are from its US /27 product page. A feature appearing in this table is a manufacturer specification, not a claim about measured real-world performance.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The table also shows where the available evidence is uneven. Samsung’s cited listing gives a VA panel type and a maximum refresh rate, while the cited Philips specification page does not provide a refresh-rate figure to compare. Samsung’s cited specification identifies Ethernet but does not state its speed; Philips gives a maximum of 1 Gbps. Missing details are not evidence that a feature is absent. They are a reason to check the exact product page or manual rather than fill in the gap by assumption.
Where the Samsung S65UC fits
The S65UC is a plausible fit if you want an ultrawide screen and a monitor that can serve as a basic hub for a laptop desk. Samsung lists a VA panel, a maximum refresh rate of 100 Hz, up to 90 W of USB-C charging, three downstream USB 3.0 ports, Ethernet and KVM. Samsung’s Canada product information describes USB-C as carrying power and data over one cable, and the LAN port as a way to give a laptop without LAN access to Ethernet.
Those capabilities address different needs. The wide 3440 × 1440 canvas can suit work that benefits from viewing multiple windows side by side; the cited specifications establish the resolution and aspect ratio, not how much usable workspace a particular app will provide. The 100 Hz maximum refresh rate may matter to buyers who want a higher refresh rate than a standard 60 Hz display, but the computer and connection must also support the desired resolution and refresh combination.
The integrated hub can also simplify a desk with a wired network connection and a few USB peripherals. Samsung lists three downstream USB 3.0 ports, so count the devices you expect to leave connected. If you need a specific number or type of ports, check the exact regional model’s port diagram rather than inferring details from a broad product family name.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesSamsung’s 90 W figure is the monitor’s stated maximum USB-C charging power, not a statement that every laptop will request or receive 90 W continuously. A laptop’s needs depend on its own charging requirements, and actual charging behavior should be checked with the computer maker’s information. If the monitor will replace a separate laptop charger, make that compatibility check before purchasing; the headline wattage alone does not establish that the monitor is an adequate charger for every laptop or workload.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The same caution applies to the 100 Hz figure. It is a maximum specification, not a guarantee that every connected computer will output 3440 × 1440 at 100 Hz through every cable or port. If that combination is important, check the graphics hardware, output connection, cable and monitor documentation together. Samsung’s US Business listing for model LS34C654UANXGO lists 100 Hz, but does not establish a universal supported mode for every system.
What the Philips alternative changes
The Philips 34B1U5600CH is the closest comparison in this set on screen size and resolution: it is also a curved 34-inch 3440 × 1440 USB-C docking monitor. Its listed maximum USB-C power delivery is 100 W, compared with Samsung’s 90 W. It also specifies Ethernet up to 1 Gbps, four downstream USB-A ports plus downstream USB-C, KVM, and a pop-up 5 MP webcam with microphone.
That extra 10 W is a specification difference, not proof that the Philips will charge every laptop faster or suit every laptop better. Compare the laptop’s charging requirement with the monitor’s maximum output, and check whether the laptop will charge adequately while in use. The Philips webcam and microphone may reduce the need for separate video-call accessories; choose it for that reason only if the camera setup and its placement suit your desk.
The Philips page cited here does not establish a refresh-rate figure, so it is not possible to make a specification-based refresh-rate comparison with Samsung from these product pages. If refresh rate is a deciding factor, verify it in the exact Philips regional specification sheet or manual before choosing.
For ports, Philips’ published list gives it a different footprint from Samsung’s three downstream USB 3.0 ports: four USB-A downstream ports and a downstream USB-C port are specified for Philips. That can matter if you want several USB-A devices left connected and also have a USB-C peripheral. It is not enough to assume that every port has the same speed, charging behavior or role; confirm the port details in the manual if those distinctions affect your setup. The cited Philips product page supports the port types and counts, but not a broader claim about performance.
The camera is another concrete distinction, not a blanket call-quality ranking. Philips specifies a pop-up 5 MP webcam with microphone. The cited Samsung material lists built-in speakers and an adjustable stand, but does not document a comparable built-in webcam. If you already own a webcam, or prefer a separate camera, the Philips camera may add less value; if you want an integrated camera and microphone, it is a feature the Philips source explicitly confirms.
Choose by the job your monitor must do
If laptop charging is the deciding factor
Start with the laptop maker’s recommended charging wattage and the monitor’s stated USB-C power delivery: Samsung lists up to 90 W and Philips up to 100 W. “Up to” is a maximum specification, not a guarantee that the laptop will draw that amount in every condition. If your laptop needs more than the monitor can supply, or you need to establish whether it can maintain charge under heavy use, confirm compatibility with the laptop maker and monitor documentation.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Do not select solely by the numerical difference. Ten watts may be relevant for one buyer and irrelevant for another; the listed specifications do not identify a universal threshold at which the Philips becomes preferable. Compare the laptop’s requirement with each monitor’s stated maximum, then confirm that the laptop accepts charging through the relevant USB-C port. If keeping the laptop charged under your normal workload is essential, seek confirmation for that particular laptop-monitor pairing rather than treating the display’s maximum as a guarantee.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
If you need Ethernet or many connected peripherals
Both products list Ethernet. Philips specifies a maximum Ethernet speed of 1 Gbps; Samsung’s cited specifications identify an Ethernet port without stating its speed. On USB, Samsung lists three downstream USB 3.0 ports, while Philips lists four downstream USB-A ports and downstream USB-C. Match those published port types and counts to the keyboard, mouse, storage and other devices you actually plan to keep connected. If you need more connections than the monitor offers, you may still need a separate hub or dock.
Make a short inventory before you buy: list the devices that will stay on the desk, note whether each connects by USB-A or USB-C, and include any wired network connection. Then compare that list with the downstream ports the manufacturer names. Leave room for the practical possibility that you may need a separate hub if the monitor’s port count or type does not cover your devices. The published figures do not tell you which specific peripherals will work through the hub, so confirm any specialized requirements with the manual or device maker.
Ethernet can be useful when you want the laptop to reach a wired network through the monitor rather than connecting a LAN cable directly to the laptop. Samsung’s Canada description specifically presents the LAN port as useful for a laptop without its own LAN connection. Philips states up to 1 Gbps. The cited Samsung material does not state a speed, so do not assume the two Ethernet implementations are identical based on the presence of a port alone.
If you switch between two computers
Both manufacturers list KVM, which can be useful when a single desk setup serves two sources. Before relying on it, check each model’s manual for the required USB upstream connections, supported video-input pairings and switching steps. The product-level feature listing alone does not establish that a particular pair of computers can share every peripheral in the way you expect.
For a two-computer desk, write down which computer should use which video input and which one should share the keyboard and mouse at a given time. Then verify that the monitor’s documented USB upstream arrangement supports that plan. KVM is the name of the capability, but the listed feature by itself does not specify your complete cabling path or promise a particular switching shortcut. A manual check before purchase can prevent a mismatch between the computers you have and the workflow you want.
If calls are part of your daily setup
Philips explicitly lists a pop-up 5 MP webcam and microphone. Samsung’s cited US listing specifies built-in speakers and an adjustable stand, rather than a webcam. If you prefer a monitor-integrated camera, Philips has the clearer stated feature set in these specifications. If you already use a webcam or headset, the built-in camera may be less important than power delivery, ports or refresh rate.
Think about the whole call setup rather than treating a camera as an automatic advantage. The Philips feature list names both webcam and microphone, while Samsung’s cited feature list names speakers. If you need a camera, an integrated option may reduce the need for a separate accessory, but neither product’s manufacturer-published specifications provide hands-on image or audio quality measurements. Choose based on the feature you need and the documented specifications, not an unverified quality comparison.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →If display motion or ergonomics matters
Samsung lists a 100 Hz maximum refresh rate and an adjustable stand. Philips’ cited feature list does not state a comparable refresh rate, and the referenced regional details do not establish a directly comparable stand adjustment range. Confirm the exact model’s ergonomics and supported display modes if you need a particular height, tilt, mount or refresh-rate capability.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Both cited products share the headline screen dimensions and resolution, so the central choice is not between two different sizes in this comparison. If a particular stand movement, mount arrangement or refresh mode is a buying requirement, look for the exact regional manual or specification sheet and compare the documented values. Do not infer a matching ergonomic feature set from the screen size or product-family name.
How to check compatibility before you buy
- Identify the exact monitor SKU. For the Samsung listing discussed here, the model is LS34C654UANXGO. The Philips specification page covers the 34B1U5600CH/27. Regional suffixes can identify different market variants, so use the page or manual for the unit sold in your country.
- Check the laptop’s USB-C port capabilities. Confirm that the port supports video output and charging input at the levels you need. A USB-C-shaped connector alone does not establish support for every docking function.
- Compare charging requirements. Set the laptop’s required wattage beside the monitor’s maximum USB-C power delivery: 90 W for the cited Samsung model and up to 100 W for the cited Philips variant. Verify the laptop’s behavior with the monitor if your workload makes charging headroom important.
- Map the display mode you intend to use. Both are listed at 3440 × 1440; Samsung additionally lists up to 100 Hz. Confirm that the computer, graphics hardware, port and cable can support the desired resolution and refresh rate together.
- Count cables and peripherals. List the devices that need USB, Ethernet and display connections. Compare that list with the monitor’s specified ports, and check whether any USB-C port is upstream or downstream in the model manual.
- Validate KVM wiring if you have two computers. Check the monitor manual for the required video and USB connections for both computers and how to switch the shared keyboard and mouse.
A useful final check is to treat the desired desk as a complete connection plan, not as a collection of attractive feature names. Identify which laptop port will connect to the display, whether that same connection is intended to carry power and data, which monitor ports will host your peripherals, and whether Ethernet or KVM is part of the setup. The manufacturers’ pages establish that these models offer docking-oriented features, but the exact wiring and compatibility details must come from the appropriate manuals.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Price, availability and regional details
Manufacturer feature pages establish capabilities, not current street prices, warranty terms or stock. These factors vary by retailer, country and date, so compare the local listings for the exact model suffix before deciding. Do not assume that a US specification page describes every variant sold elsewhere.
For Samsung, the cited US Business listing names model LS34C654UANXGO, while Samsung’s Canada page supplies additional explanation of USB-C, LAN and KVM use. For Philips, the cited product page is the US /27 variant. Local pages and manuals are the right place to resolve differences in included cables, port layouts, ergonomics, warranty and availability.
The manufacturer product pages cited here do not establish a current price comparison or a claim that either model is in stock in a particular market. A buyer comparing offers should check the price, warranty coverage and availability for the exact SKU at the time of purchase, and should not treat a feature comparison as evidence of value for money. The right purchase can change with local pricing even when the specifications remain the same.
Which monitor should you choose?
Choose the Samsung S65UC if its 90 W USB-C output meets your laptop’s needs and the listed 100 Hz refresh rate, three USB 3.0 downstream ports, Ethernet and KVM match your desk. Choose the Philips 34B1U5600CH if you value its stated up-to-100 W USB-C power, specified 1 Gbps Ethernet, larger listed USB hub configuration or integrated 5 MP webcam and microphone. Both offer the same cited screen size and resolution, and both list KVM; neither specification sheet alone establishes a universal winner.
In practical terms, begin with non-negotiables: the laptop’s charging requirement, the display mode your computer can support, the number and types of peripherals you need, and whether your desk depends on KVM or an integrated camera. Then verify those items against the exact local model documentation. That sequence is more reliable than choosing by brand, a single wattage figure or a feature that may not matter to your setup.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchFrequently Asked Questions
Is the Samsung 34-inch ultrawide monitor a good USB-C dock?
The S65UC can serve as a docking monitor for a compatible laptop: Samsung lists up to 90 W USB-C charging, three downstream USB 3.0 ports, Ethernet and KVM. Whether it is a good fit depends on the laptop’s USB-C video and charging capabilities, the wattage it needs and the number of ports your desk requires.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
What is a good alternative to the Samsung S65UC?
The Philips 34B1U5600CH is a closely matched alternative in the cited specifications: it is a curved 34-inch 3440 × 1440 USB-C docking monitor with up to 100 W power delivery, Ethernet up to 1 Gbps, KVM, four downstream USB-A ports, downstream USB-C and a pop-up 5 MP webcam with microphone. Its cited page is for the US /27 variant, so check local model details.
Can a 34-inch USB-C monitor charge my laptop and connect Ethernet?
Both monitors discussed here list USB-C charging and Ethernet. Samsung specifies up to 90 W charging; Philips specifies up to 100 W and Ethernet up to 1 Gbps. Your laptop must support charging and video over the USB-C connection, and you should compare its charging requirement with the monitor’s maximum output. Samsung’s cited specifications do not state Ethernet speed.
Is 90 W enough to charge my laptop from the Samsung S65UC?
It depends on the laptop. Samsung lists up to 90 W USB-C charging, but the maximum figure does not establish that every laptop will accept that amount or remain charged under every workload. Check the laptop maker’s charging requirements and verify compatibility for your intended use.
Recommended Free Tools
Does the Philips 34B1U5600CH have a higher refresh rate than the Samsung S65UC?
The cited Samsung listing specifies up to 100 Hz. The cited Philips product specifications do not state a refresh-rate figure, so these sources do not support a direct comparison. Check the exact Philips regional specification sheet or manual if refresh rate matters.
Do both monitors support KVM?
Yes. Both manufacturers list KVM. The feature listing alone does not confirm the wiring for your particular two-computer setup, so check the model-specific manual for USB upstream connections, video-input pairings and switching steps.
Which monitor has more USB ports?
Samsung lists three downstream USB 3.0 ports. Philips lists four downstream USB-A ports and a downstream USB-C port. Compare the port types and count against your devices, and consult the manual for details not stated on the cited product pages.
Does the Samsung S65UC include a webcam?
The cited Samsung listing specifies built-in speakers and an adjustable stand, but does not list a webcam. Philips explicitly lists a pop-up 5 MP webcam with microphone. The available specifications do not provide hands-on camera or audio quality comparisons.
Are the listed specifications the same in every country?
Not necessarily. The Samsung details cited here include the US model LS34C654UANXGO and additional explanatory information from Samsung Canada; the Philips page is for the US /27 variant. Check the product page and manual for the exact regional suffix you are considering.
Which one is cheaper or better value?
The cited product pages do not establish current prices, availability, warranty terms or a universal value winner. Compare current local offers for the exact model suffix and consider which documented features you will actually use.
The Bottom Line
The Samsung S65UC is the more clearly documented choice here if you want a stated 100 Hz maximum refresh rate and 90 W USB-C charging. The Philips 34B1U5600CH lists up to 100 W, 1 Gbps Ethernet, more downstream USB connections and an integrated webcam with microphone. Both are 34-inch 3440 × 1440 docking monitors with KVM; verify laptop compatibility, regional specifications and current local pricing before buying.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

