DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
Santa Clara desk3 min

Rumored Intel Nova Lake-S table lists three BFC chips, up to 28 cores and 144MB of cache

A 2026 leak reportedly lists three Intel Nova Lake-S BFC CPUs, including a Core Ultra 9 4970K with a leading rumor of 28 cores and a 144MB bLLC pool—not 144MB of native L3.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Core Ultra 9 4970K BFC is a rumored Nova Lake-S desktop CPU, not an Intel-announced product. The leading leak describes a 28-core chip with a 144MB Big Last-Level Cache (bLLC) pool, but a second published table gives a conflicting core count. The 144MB figure is not the same as native L3 cache.

What the leaked table says about the Core Ultra 9 4970K BFC

Reports in 2026 describe Nova Lake-S as Intel’s next desktop CPU family, also referred to in those reports as Core Ultra 4000. Tom’s Hardware says a leaked initial desktop table contains seven models, three tagged “BFC.” ComputerBase and Tom’s Hardware both characterize the names and specifications as rumors, not Intel-confirmed details.

The reported BFC models are:

Rumored model Reported core configuration Reported cache Reported TDP Reported graphics
Core Ultra 9 4970K BFC Leading report: 28 cores (8 P-cores, 16 E-cores, 4 LPE-cores). A Tom’s Hardware table instead says 24 cores while printing the same 8+16+4 breakdown, which adds up to 28. 144MB bLLC pool; 36MB native L3 in Tom’s Hardware’s earlier leak 125W 32 EUs, per ComputerBase
Core Ultra 9 4900 BFC 22 cores (6 P-cores, 12 E-cores, 4 LPE-cores), per Tom’s Hardware’s reported configuration 108MB bLLC pool; 27MB native L3 in Tom’s Hardware’s earlier leak 65W Not stated in the cited reports
Core Ultra 7 4870K BFC 24 cores (8 P-cores, 12 E-cores, 4 LPE-cores), per Tom’s Hardware’s reported configuration 132MB bLLC pool; 36MB native L3 in Tom’s Hardware’s earlier leak 125W Not stated in the cited reports

These are preliminary figures from leaked tables, not specifications confirmed by Intel. The 4970K’s core count is especially unsettled: ComputerBase reports 28, while Tom’s Hardware reproduces a row marked 24 that also lists components totaling 28 (8+16+4). The component breakdown supports 28 as the leading rumor, but it does not resolve the discrepancy as an official specification.

Does the 4970K BFC have 144MB of L3?

Not according to the cache breakdown in Tom’s Hardware’s earlier leak. It describes 144MB as the rumored bLLC pool for the 28-core, single-tile configuration, with 36MB of native L3 separately. Calling the entire 144MB “L3” collapses two cache figures that the report distinguishes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Intel® Core™ Ultra 7 Processor 270K Plus 24 cores (8 P-cores + 16 E-cores) up to 5.5 GHz
  • Next‑Gen Platform Support: Compatible with Intel 800 Series Chipset‑based motherboards with LGA1851 Socket enabling PCIe 5.0/4.0 and high‑speed DDR5 memory (up to 7200 MT/s).
  • High‑Performance Core Configuration: Features up to 24 cores (8 P‑cores + 16 E‑cores) for demanding gaming and creator
  • Ultra‑Fast Boost Clocks: Reaches up to 5.5 GHz max turbo frequency for top‑tier responsiveness and performance
  • Built for Enthusiasts: Unlocked for performance tuning when paired with Intel Z‑series chipsets, making it ideal for overclockers and power users.
  • Robust Power & Thermal Design: Engineered with 125W base power and 250W max turbo power to sustain high‑intensity

The same reported distinction appears in the other configurations: 132MB bLLC alongside 36MB native L3 for the rumored 24-core model, and 108MB bLLC alongside 27MB native L3 for the 22-core model. Intel has not confirmed these capacities or how the cache would be implemented in retail CPUs.

What does BFC mean?

The reporting connects “BFC” with processors equipped with Intel’s rumored Big Last-Level Cache, or bLLC. ComputerBase notes that “BFC” may be an unofficial reading of “Big Fucking Cache,” but says the official expansion is unknown. For now, the safest interpretation is that BFC is a leak label for bLLC-equipped parts—not a confirmed Intel branding explanation.

Rank #2
Sale
Intel® Core™ Ultra 9 Processor 285K 24 cores (8 P-cores + 16 E-cores) up to 5.7 GHz
  • Get ultra-efficient with Intel Core Ultra desktop processors that improve both performance and efficiency so your PC can run cooler, quieter, and quicker.
  • Core and Threads 24 cores (8 P-cores plus 16 E-cores) and 24 threads. Integrated Intel Graphics included
  • Performance Hybrid Architecture Integrates two core microarchitectures, prioritizing and distributing workloads to optimize performance
  • Performance Unlocked Up to 5.7 GHz unlocked. 40MB Cache
  • Compatibility Compatible with Intel 800 series chipset-based motherboards

The apparent point of the larger cache pool is to improve gaming workloads, but the leaks do not establish how much it would help, which games would benefit, or how the chips would compare with existing CPUs. A larger cache figure alone is not a performance result.

How many BFC chips are in the rumored lineup?

Tom’s Hardware reports three BFC-tagged models in a seven-model initial desktop table: the Core Ultra 9 4970K BFC, Core Ultra 9 4900 BFC, and Core Ultra 7 4870K BFC. The reported stack includes non-BFC counterparts, and no Core Ultra 5 BFC appears in that table. This is a description of the leak, not confirmation of the final product range.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Intel® Core™ Ultra 7 Desktop Processor 265 20 cores (8 P-cores + 12 E-cores) up to 5.3 GHz
  • 20 cores (8 P-cores + 12 E-cores) and 20 threads. Integrated Intel Graphics included
  • Performance hybrid architecture integrates two core microarchitectures, prioritizing and distributing workloads to optimize performance
  • Up to 5.3 GHz. 36 MB Cache
  • Compatible with Intel 800 series chipset-based motherboards
  • Turbo Boost Max Technology 3.0, and PCIe 5.0 & 4.0 support. Intel Optane Memory support. No thermal solution included

Is this Intel’s answer to AMD’s X3D CPUs?

The rumored emphasis on a larger cache pool suggests Intel may be targeting workloads such as gaming, making comparisons with AMD’s cache-equipped X3D processors a natural question. But the available reports provide no independent benchmark results, confirmed product specifications, or pricing. It is too early to call the 4970K BFC an X3D competitor on performance; that comparison will require retail hardware and like-for-like testing.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

When can you buy Nova Lake?

The reports summarized here do not establish a launch date, price, or retail listing for Nova Lake-S. They also do not confirm platform compatibility or final suffix details. Until Intel announces the family, the 4970K BFC should be treated as a leaked name and specification set rather than an available product.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 2
Intel® Core™ Ultra 9 Processor 285K 24 cores (8 P-cores + 16 E-cores) up to 5.7 GHz
Intel® Core™ Ultra 9 Processor 285K 24 cores (8 P-cores + 16 E-cores) up to 5.7 GHz
Performance Unlocked Up to 5.7 GHz unlocked. 40MB Cache; Compatibility Compatible with Intel 800 series chipset-based motherboards
$519.99
Bestseller No. 3
Intel® Core™ Ultra 7 Desktop Processor 265 20 cores (8 P-cores + 12 E-cores) up to 5.3 GHz
Intel® Core™ Ultra 7 Desktop Processor 265 20 cores (8 P-cores + 12 E-cores) up to 5.3 GHz
20 cores (8 P-cores + 12 E-cores) and 20 threads. Integrated Intel Graphics included; Up to 5.3 GHz. 36 MB Cache
$371.60
Bestseller No. 4
Intel® Core™ Ultra 5 Desktop Processor 225F 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) up to 4.9 GHz
Intel® Core™ Ultra 5 Desktop Processor 225F 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) up to 4.9 GHz
10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) and 14 threads.; Up to 4.9 GHz. 22 MB Cache; Compatible with Intel 800 series chipset-based motherboards
$141.38
Bestseller No. 5
Intel® Core™ Ultra 5 Desktop Processor 225 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) up to 4.9 GHz
Intel® Core™ Ultra 5 Desktop Processor 225 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) up to 4.9 GHz
10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) and 14 threads. Integrated Intel Graphics included; Up to 4.9 GHz. 22 MB Cache
$179.95
Best Value
Intel® Core™ Ultra 5 Desktop Processor 225 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) up to 4.9 GHz
  • 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) and 14 threads. Integrated Intel Graphics included
  • Performance hybrid architecture integrates two core microarchitectures, prioritizing and distributing workloads to optimize performance
  • Up to 4.9 GHz. 22 MB Cache
  • Compatible with Intel 800 series chipset-based motherboards
  • PCIe 5.0 & 4.0 support. Intel Optane Memory support. No thermal solution included.
Rank #4
Intel® Core™ Ultra 5 Desktop Processor 225F 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) up to 4.9 GHz
  • 10 cores (6 P-cores + 4 E-cores) and 14 threads.
  • Performance hybrid architecture integrates two core microarchitectures, prioritizing and distributing workloads to optimize performance
  • Up to 4.9 GHz. 22 MB Cache
  • Compatible with Intel 800 series chipset-based motherboards
  • PCIe 5.0 & 4.0 support. Intel Optane Memory support. No thermal solution included. Discrete graphics required

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. Shenzhen desk3 min
    HONOR Expands Beyond Smartphones With Humanoid Robot RevealHONOR said it unveiled its first humanoid robot at MWC 2026 and named shopping assistance, workplace inspections, and supportive companionship as intended uses. Later Robotics D1 claims and a reported…
  2. Cupertino desk5 min
    Apple Unveils AirPods Max 2: The Upgrade That Should Have Happened Years AgoAirPods Max 2 adds H2-powered audio features and Apple claims up to 1.5× more effective ANC, but its design, Smart Case, and 20-hour battery rating are unchanged. Wired lossless audio…
  3. Cupertino desk4 min
    Apple’s OLED Touch MacBooks Are Coming—but the Dynamic Island Is the Real GambleApple has not announced an OLED touchscreen MacBook, but reports point to high-end models arriving in late 2026 or early 2027. The reported Mac Dynamic Island could be useful, but…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.