“Refurbished” is not a universal condition. It is a program label whose meaning depends on who inspected the product, what was repaired, how appearance and battery wear are graded, which accessories are supplied, and who handles the warranty. A manufacturer’s certified program can make different promises from a marketplace listing using the same word.
Before buying, compare the exact model and configuration, refurbisher, grade, functional testing, battery or other wear-part condition, included parts, warranty provider and duration, return window, and total price. The seller’s current item page and program terms—not the word “refurbished” alone—are the contract you should evaluate.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Why “refurbished” has no single definition
A refurbished product is generally a previously sold, returned, leased, display, or otherwise used item that has been inspected, tested, repaired or restored, and offered for sale again. That broad description does not specify the depth of work. One program may replace worn parts and use manufacturer components; another may test basic operation, clean the item, and disclose cosmetic marks without replacing every aging component.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteProgram labels are therefore local definitions. Amazon Renewed and eBay Refurbished publish their own grade systems, and neither system should be assumed equivalent to the other. “Good,” “Excellent,” or “Certified” only has meaning when you read the program and listing that define it. No official source establishes a universal cross-retailer ranking, and no independent comparison of failure rates or customer satisfaction was established for these programs.
#1 Best Overall
- Charger NOT Included, 6.7" Super AMOLED FHD+, 90Hz Refresh Rate, 385 ppi, 800 nits (HBM), 1080x2340px, 5000mAh Battery
- 128GB, 4GB RAM, microSDXC, Exynos 1330 (5nm), Octa-Core, Mali-G68 MP2 or Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 5MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 2MP, f/2.4 (macro), LED flash, panorama, HDR; Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, Android 14, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 6.1
- 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100; 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/25/41/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM
- US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.
“Fully functional” is also narrower than many buyers expect. It normally addresses whether the device performs its main functions, not whether it looks new, contains original parts, has a new battery, retains a water seal, or includes every accessory from a factory package. Those are separate questions that must be answered from the listing.
How major refurbishment programs describe their products
The following examples illustrate why the seller and program matter. They are published claims for the named programs, primarily for US shoppers; they are not a universal standard for all used electronics.
| Program | Inspection or restoration claim | Condition and wear-part details | Protection or notable limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Certified Refurbished | Apple says every product completes full functional testing and that genuine Apple replacement parts are used when needed. | Apple says refurbished iOS devices receive a new battery and outer shell. Accessories, cables, and an operating system are included. | Apple states a standard one-year limited warranty. It advertises savings of “up to 15%,” which is a maximum, not a typical or guaranteed discount. |
| Amazon Renewed | Amazon says a qualified, performance-managed supplier—possibly a manufacturer or specialist third-party refurbisher—professionally inspects and tests the item. | Grades are Premium, Excellent, Good, and Acceptable, with separate descriptions for cosmetic condition, functionality, and accessories. For wireless devices, battery capacity is at least 80% of original, or at least 90% for Renewed Premium, at the time of sale. | Listings refer buyers to the Amazon Renewed Guarantee. Amazon says refurbished phones are not guaranteed to retain their waterproof seal. |
| eBay Refurbished | eBay publishes condition definitions for Certified, Excellent, Very Good, and Good Refurbished items, including refurbishment and cosmetic descriptions. | The exact grade is assigned under eBay’s definitions; the individual listing remains the place to check included components and visible condition. | eBay’s warranty page says qualifying eBay Refurbished and Certified Open Box products include Allstate-backed warranty coverage. Eligibility and terms vary by item. |
| Back Market | Back Market describes a Quality Charter covering inspection, testing, and quality-control measures for marketplace refurbishers. | Its grades classify cosmetic condition. The marketplace model means the particular seller and listing still matter. | The page describes a one-year warranty; verify the current product-specific terms, exclusions, and return process. |
| Best Buy Outlet | The guide says refurbished products are repaired and restored to a like-new state. | Minor scratches may remain. Refurbishment can be performed by an in-house repair center, the manufacturer, or a third-party company. | The guide is a category explanation; check the individual outlet listing for warranty, accessories, and returns. |
These descriptions show why “refurbished” cannot be used as a proxy for one specific repair process. Apple’s new-battery statement for refurbished iOS devices, for example, is an Apple-program promise, not a requirement imposed on every marketplace product.
Grades are not interchangeable
Condition grades usually combine two different dimensions: whether the product works and how it looks. A high cosmetic grade can still have an aging battery unless the program sets a battery threshold. Conversely, a lower cosmetic grade may perform normally while showing scratches or dents. Read the grade definition and the item’s own notes together.
Rank #2
- Android 13.0 Operating System: Runs on the latest Android OS for smooth performance and up-to-date features.
- Bluetooth 5.0 and Wi-Fi 802.11ac: Stay connected with others wirelessly and stream content at high speeds.
- 6.6" AMOLED Display: View vivid content on a large, high-resolution screen.
- Quad Camera Array: Capture stunning photos and 4K video with the advanced camera system.
- Long Battery Life: Power through the day on a large 5000mAh battery.
Amazon Renewed grades
Amazon lists Premium, Excellent, Good, and Acceptable. Its help page separates cosmetic descriptions, functionality, and accessories, so do not infer battery health or package contents from the grade name alone. The wireless-device battery thresholds—80% for standard Renewed and 90% for Renewed Premium—are minimum capacities at sale, not predictions of future runtime or evidence that every unit reaches the same measured capacity.
eBay Refurbished grades
eBay’s published labels include Certified, Excellent, Very Good, and Good Refurbished. The definitions describe cosmetic condition and refurbishment, but they apply to qualifying items using eBay’s program. A generic used listing on eBay is not automatically covered by those definitions or the associated warranty.
Marketplace grades
Back Market’s charter uses grades to describe cosmetic appearance while marketplace refurbishers perform the work. Best Buy’s guide likewise warns that the repair source can vary. In either case, inspect the listing for the seller identity, exact grade, photographs, included accessories, and any statement about replaced parts.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Battery health, seals, and other wear parts
Batteries are consumable components, so “works” does not mean “has factory-new capacity.” Amazon provides explicit wireless-device thresholds, while Apple states that refurbished iOS devices include a new battery. If a program does not state a minimum capacity or replacement policy, treat battery condition as not stated rather than assuming a particular percentage.
Rank #3
- Blazing-fast Qualcomm performance. Get the speed you need for great entertainment with a Snapdragon 680 processor and 4GB**** of RAM.
- Fluid display + immersive stereo sound. Bring your entertainment to life with an ultrawide 6.5" 90Hz* HD+ display plus stereo speakers, Dolby Atmos, and Hi-Res Audio**.
- 50MP*** Quad Pixel camera. Capture sharper, more vibrant photos day or night with 4x the light sensitivity.
- 64GB**** built-in storage. Get plenty of room for photos, movies, songs, and apps—and add up to 1TB more with a microSD card*****.
- Unbelievable battery life. Work and play nonstop with a long-lasting 5000mAh battery.*****
Water resistance deserves separate attention. Amazon says refurbished phones are not guaranteed to maintain their waterproof seal. A phone can pass functional testing and still lack the original ingress protection after opening or repair. Do not rely on an original model’s IP rating when the refurbisher or listing disclaims seal integrity.
For laptops, tablets, game controllers, cameras, and other products, ask the same question about every wear part that affects ownership: battery, storage drive, fan, seals, stylus, remote, or proprietary charger. The official pages reviewed do not establish a common replacement rule for these components across sellers.
Warranty and returns: identify who is responsible
A warranty is a promise from a named provider; a return policy is a window for sending an item back, often for a different reason. Confirm both before checkout.
- Provider: Determine whether coverage comes from the manufacturer, retailer, marketplace, refurbisher, or an insurer such as the Allstate-backed coverage described for qualifying eBay Refurbished products.
- Duration: Apple states one year for every Apple Certified Refurbished product, and Back Market’s quality page describes a one-year warranty. Amazon directs buyers to the Renewed Guarantee rather than giving one universal duration in the cited help page. Check the current item terms.
- Scope: Look for exclusions covering accidental damage, battery capacity, water damage, accessories, software, or cosmetic wear.
- Process: Note whether you must contact the seller first, obtain authorization, pay return shipping, or use a particular service center.
- Returns: Record the start date, window length, restocking conditions, and whether the policy differs for marketplace sellers or international orders.
A warranty can repair a defect without guaranteeing a replacement with identical cosmetic condition. A return policy may be your only remedy for an undisclosed scratch or missing accessory, so save the listing and photograph the package when it arrives.
Rank #4
- The Galaxy S21 FE sports a sleek polycarbonate back with a premium matte finish that resists fingerprints and feels smooth in hand, giving it a stylish yet practical design.
A practical buying checklist
Use this sequence for a phone, laptop, camera, console, or appliance. It prevents a low headline price from hiding a material difference.
- Match the configuration. Write down model number, generation, storage, memory, carrier or regional version, color, and included connectivity. Compare only like-for-like products.
- Identify the refurbisher. Is the work done by the manufacturer, a retailer repair center, a named marketplace seller, or an unspecified third party? Best Buy’s guide demonstrates that even one retail category can contain several repair sources.
- Read the program definition. Open the grade and quality pages linked from the listing. Do not transfer a grade meaning from Amazon to eBay or from one marketplace seller to another.
- Separate function from appearance. Find the exact cosmetic grade, screen or body notes, dead-pixel policy, and photographs. Check what “fully functional” actually covers.
- Check wear parts. Look for a stated battery minimum or replacement statement. For Amazon wireless devices, compare the 80% standard Renewed threshold with the 90% Renewed Premium threshold. For Apple refurbished iOS devices, note Apple’s new-battery statement. Treat unstated values as unknown.
- Inventory the box. Confirm charger type, cable, stylus, remote, SIM tool, manuals, and whether parts are genuine, compatible, or missing. A cheaper device can cost more after replacing proprietary accessories.
- Read protection terms. Record warranty provider, length, exclusions, claim route, return window, and shipping responsibility. Verify that the promise applies to this exact listing, not merely to the retailer’s general program.
- Calculate total cost. Add taxes, shipping, required accessories, expected battery replacement, and any service-plan cost. Compare the result with a new or used alternative in the same configuration.
- Save evidence. Download or screenshot the listing, grade definition, warranty, and return terms. Keep serial numbers, packaging, and photos until the inspection period ends.
What to inspect when the package arrives
Within the return window
- Check the model and storage against the order before removing protective films or labels.
- Photograph the shipping box, serial number, screen, ports, hinges, lenses, and included accessories.
- Run setup, charging, wireless, camera, microphone, speakers, buttons, biometric sensors, and every port relevant to your use.
- Review battery-health information where the operating system exposes it, while remembering that a displayed percentage is not necessarily the program’s official test result.
- Test cellular bands, carrier lock, regional keyboard layout, and any account or activation lock on phones, tablets, and laptops.
- Do not deliberately expose a refurbished phone to water merely because the original model carried an ingress-resistance rating; Amazon expressly disclaims a guaranteed waterproof seal for refurbished phones.
If something is wrong
Stop using the item if it is swollen, overheating, sparking, or otherwise unsafe. Contact the seller through the documented channel, describe the defect precisely, and attach the photos and test results. Request the remedy allowed by the listing—replacement, repair, refund, or return authorization—before shipping anything. If the seller does not respond, use the marketplace’s stated escalation process or the named warranty administrator. A missing cable, cosmetic mismatch, battery below a published threshold, and functional failure are different claims; identify the one that matches the written terms.
“Renewed” versus “refurbished”: is there a difference?
Usually, the words are branding choices rather than a universal technical distinction. Amazon uses “Renewed” for its inspected-and-tested program, while Apple, eBay, Back Market, and Best Buy use “refurbished” in their own program or category descriptions. The meaningful difference is the rule set behind the label: who performed the work, what was tested, which grade applies, what parts and battery standards exist, and what protection follows the sale.
When comparing Amazon Renewed with Back Market, for example, compare the specific product page and seller—not the names. Amazon publishes wireless-device battery minimums and a multi-level grade system; Back Market describes a marketplace charter, cosmetic grades, and a one-year warranty. Those are different disclosed criteria, not evidence that one marketplace is always more reliable.
Best Value
- Immersive 6.7-inch Super AMOLED display with 120 Hz refresh rate, offering smooth scrolling, vibrant colors, and enhanced contrast for watching videos, gaming, or browsing social media. The large screen is ideal for multitasking, allowing apps and media to feel spacious and engaging even in a single glance.
How to judge whether the discount is worthwhile
There is no live, cross-retailer price or reliability dataset that supports a blanket percentage saving or a claim that one program fails less often. Apple’s “up to 15%” figure is an advertised maximum. Use it as a ceiling for that page, not as a normal discount.
Value depends on what you would have to replace. A device with a lower price but no charger, an unspecified battery, a short return window, or third-party parts may lose its advantage after purchase. A more expensive certified unit may justify its premium if its written warranty, new battery, included accessories, and return process address the risks that matter for your use. Make that calculation with the same model and configuration, because storage, cellular capability, and included accessories can otherwise make a nominally cheaper comparison misleading.
Limits of the published promises
The program pages cited here are official descriptions, primarily oriented to US shoppers, and terms, eligible categories, grades, guarantees, and availability can change by country and listing. They do not provide an independent, cross-retailer failure-rate study, and a battery threshold or warranty length does not prove comparative reliability. Recheck the exact product page and current terms immediately before payment.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

