Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › DualSense Edge

Pro PS5 Controller vs DualSense Edge: Which Premium Controller Is Right for You?

By Freedom251 Team · · 12 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose the Sony DualSense Edge if native PS5 immersion, system-level profiles and replaceable stick modules matter most. Choose the Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded for competitive or fighting games, where Hall-effect sticks and triggers, four rear buttons and a six-button Fightpad module are more useful than haptics. Choose the Nacon Revolution 5 Pro if you want an asymmetric layout, Hall-effect hardware and wired or wireless play with more than 10 hours of battery life.

There is no universal winner. The Edge is the most complete first-party PS5 experience, while the Victrix is the most feature-focused competitive pad. Nacon occupies the middle ground for players who prefer its layout and longer-life stick technology. This guide compares what each controller actually offers, what each omits, and which trade-offs fit your games.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

At a glance: the right premium PS5 controller for each player

  • Buy DualSense Edge for: DualSense haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, motion controls, a built-in microphone, PlayStation system integration and easy profile switching.
  • Buy Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded for: Hall-effect sticks and triggers, four remappable rear buttons, adjustable trigger stops, modular stick layouts and a dedicated six-button Fightpad module.
  • Buy Nacon Revolution 5 Pro for: An asymmetric stick arrangement, Hall-effect hardware, customisation and the choice of wired or wireless operation.
  • Keep the standard DualSense instead if: You do not need rear controls, trigger stops, modular parts or custom profiles. The premium pads cost roughly $200, so their value comes from specific features rather than a general increase in game performance.

What makes a PS5 controller “pro”?

A premium controller changes how you play rather than simply replacing the console’s included pad. The meaningful upgrades fall into four groups:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Input durability and feel: Hall-effect sensors measure stick or trigger position magnetically, avoiding the physical contact used by conventional potentiometers. In the cited comparisons, the Victrix and Nacon use Hall-effect hardware; the DualSense Edge uses replaceable stick modules but does not use Hall-effect thumbsticks.
  • Extra controls: Rear buttons let you keep your thumbs on the sticks while jumping, reloading or changing stance. The Edge has two rear controls, while the Victrix has four remappable rear buttons. The available Nacon material confirms customisation but does not state a rear-button count.
  • Physical customisation: Swappable caps, trigger stops, alternate stick layouts and interchangeable modules let you tune reach, travel and resistance for a particular game.
  • Software and platform integration: Profile storage and remapping are useful only when switching between them is quick and the controller works with your platforms. Sony’s Edge profile and firmware tools run through the PlayStation Accessories app on Windows PC; the Victrix and Nacon support PS5, PS4 and PC.

Those features involve compromises. Hall-effect hardware and long battery life do not automatically provide PS5 haptics, adaptive triggers or a built-in microphone. Conversely, first-party DualSense features do not eliminate the Edge’s shorter battery estimate or its lack of Hall-effect sticks.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Core specifications and prices

The figures below come from the cited review and corporate sources and should be treated as time- and region-specific. Retail prices, stock and bundles can change.

Controller Review-time price Battery estimate Compatibility and connection Stick/trigger hardware Rear and modular controls Native PS5 features
Sony DualSense Edge $199.99 / £199.99 / AU$399.95 About 5–6 hours (TechRadar comparison estimate) PS5; profile and firmware editing through the PlayStation Accessories app on Windows PC Replaceable stick modules; no Hall-effect thumbsticks Two styles of rear buttons; alternate stick caps; connector housing; carrying case Haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, built-in microphone and motion controls
Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded $209.99 / £179.99 / around AU$322; availability cited from September 28, 2025 Around 20 hours PS5, PS4 and PC; 2.4GHz wireless or USB-C Hall-effect sticks and triggers Four remappable rear buttons; adjustable trigger stops; swappable stick layouts; six-button Fightpad module No haptic feedback or adaptive triggers
Nacon Revolution 5 Pro $199.99 (TechRadar comparison table) More than 10 hours (Nacon corporate filing) PS5, PS4 and PC; wired or wireless Hall-effect hardware Customisable asymmetric design; rear-button count not stated in the cited material Not stated in the cited material

The listed prices are not a permanent price promise. Check the current local listing before buying, especially where the Victrix’s United States, United Kingdom and Australian figures differ substantially after currency conversion, tax and retailer pricing.

Sony DualSense Edge: the best choice for native PS5 features

What you get

The Edge keeps the defining DualSense functions that some third-party pro pads omit: haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, motion controls and a built-in microphone. Those features are integrated at the system level rather than being approximations added by a controller maker. Sony describes the pad as built for “high performance and personalization,” and the practical benefit is that supported PS5 games can retain their normal DualSense behaviour while you add pro-style controls.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

In the box are alternate stick caps, two styles of rear buttons, a braided cable, a connector housing and a carrying case. The different caps and rear-button shapes let you alter contact points without buying accessories immediately. The connector housing is useful when you want a wired connection that is less likely to be pulled out during play.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Profiles and software

Controls can be customised and saved as profiles, then swapped for different games or play styles. Firmware updates and profile editing are supported through Sony’s PlayStation Accessories app on a Windows PC. That is a meaningful advantage if you already use the PlayStation ecosystem: the controller’s configuration is handled with Sony’s own software rather than a separate platform-specific utility.

The trade-offs

The Edge’s battery estimate is about 5–6 hours in TechRadar’s comparison, considerably shorter than the estimates cited for the Victrix and Nacon. It also has only two rear controls and no Hall-effect thumbsticks. The replaceable stick modules provide a way to replace a worn unit, but replaceability is not the same as eliminating the possibility of stick drift.

WIRED rated the Edge 8/10, praising its high-end feel, physical customisation, PS5 software integration and simple profile creation. The same review highlighted the smaller battery, lack of Hall-effect sticks, two rear buttons and high price as cautions. Those are not minor details: they define whether the Edge is a sensible purchase for you.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who should choose it

  • Players of first-party and immersion-heavy PS5 games who want haptics and adaptive triggers.
  • People who want the closest possible experience to the standard DualSense with extra controls and profiles.
  • Players who prefer replaceable stick modules as a serviceability option and do not want to trade away Sony’s built-in features.

Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded: the competitive and fighting-game specialist

Hall-effect inputs and four rear buttons

The Pro BFG Reloaded is aimed at players who value low-maintenance inputs and more simultaneous controls. Hall-effect sticks and triggers use magnetic sensing, and the controller adds four remappable rear buttons. That gives a shooter player more opportunities to map jump, reload or weapon actions without removing a thumb from a stick. The exact best mapping depends on the game; the important distinction is that the Victrix provides twice as many rear buttons as the Edge.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Modular layouts and Fightpad module

You can swap stick layouts and use adjustable trigger stops, changing the distance a trigger must travel. Shorter stops can suit rapid-fire actions, while a longer travel may feel preferable for games that use analogue acceleration. The six-button Fightpad module is the standout option for fighting games because it places the face inputs in a traditional arcade-style cluster. A modular design is valuable only if you are willing to change parts between genres; otherwise, you may be paying for flexibility you rarely use.

Battery, connectivity and omissions

TechRadar lists around 20 hours of battery life, plus 2.4GHz wireless and USB-C operation. It supports PS5, PS4 and PC, so it can serve as one controller across a console and computer setup. The price cited by TechRadar is $209.99, £179.99 or around AU$322, with availability cited from September 28, 2025.

The principal compromise is the absence of haptic feedback and adaptive triggers. Games that rely on DualSense sensations will not provide the same tactile effects through this pad. TechRadar called it one of the best PS5 controllers it had tested after the addition of Hall-effect sticks and triggers and the improved Fightpad module, but that praise is specifically relevant to competitive and fighting-game priorities.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who should choose it

  • Competitive shooter players who want four rear inputs and adjustable trigger travel.
  • Fighting-game players who will use the six-button module.
  • Anyone who values a long battery estimate and 2.4GHz wireless more than DualSense immersion.

Nacon Revolution 5 Pro: asymmetric layout with Hall-effect hardware

What distinguishes it

Nacon’s Revolution 5 Pro uses an asymmetric stick layout and Hall-effect hardware. Layout is a personal decision: some players prefer the offset stick positions for the reach and hand posture they provide, while others want the symmetrical arrangement familiar from Sony’s pad. Because the difference changes thumb position constantly, it is worth deciding based on your existing controller preference rather than on specifications alone.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Nacon launched the Revolution 5 Pro in October 2023 under a PlayStation licence. The cited corporate filing says it supports PS5, PS4 and PC, offers wired and wireless modes, is customisable and provides more than 10 hours of battery life. Those details make it a practical all-round alternative when you want Hall-effect durability without committing to the Victrix’s modular Fightpad design.

What the available information does not establish

The cited material does not give a rear-button count, a detailed list of included accessories or a confirmed haptics/adaptive-trigger feature set. Do not assume it matches the Edge’s DualSense functions or the Victrix’s four-button arrangement. Verify the exact package and compatibility notes for your region before ordering.

Who should choose it

  • Players who specifically prefer an asymmetric layout.
  • People who want Hall-effect hardware and both wired and wireless options.
  • Multi-platform owners who need one customisable controller for PS5, PS4 and PC.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Feature-by-feature: how to make the decision

Native PS5 immersion

The Edge is the clear choice when haptics, adaptive triggers, motion controls and the built-in microphone are requirements. The Victrix explicitly omits haptics and adaptive triggers, and the available Nacon information does not establish those features. If a game’s atmosphere depends on trigger resistance or detailed vibration, choosing either third-party pad means accepting that change.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Stick durability and replacement

The Victrix and Nacon use Hall-effect hardware in the cited material. The Edge instead offers replaceable stick modules. Hall-effect sensing can reduce the wear mechanism associated with conventional contact sensors, while a replaceable module gives Edge owners a service path if a stick becomes unreliable. These solve the problem differently: one changes the sensing technology, the other makes the stick assembly replaceable.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Rear controls and remapping

Four rear buttons make the Victrix the strongest option for games that need several simultaneous actions. The Edge’s two rear buttons are enough for a modest remap, such as jump and crouch, but offer less flexibility. The Nacon is customisable, yet the cited specifications do not state how many rear controls it has, so do not select it on that basis without checking the current product listing.

Profiles and configuration

The Edge has explicit support for custom profiles and profile editing through the PlayStation Accessories app on Windows PC. The Victrix and Nacon are described as customisable, but the supplied specifications do not detail their profile workflow. If you frequently move between games and want a documented Sony software path, the Edge has the clearest case.

Layout and modularity

Choose the Victrix if you want to alter stick positions, fit trigger stops or install a six-button Fightpad module. Choose the Nacon if an asymmetric arrangement is the deciding ergonomic factor. Choose the Edge if you prefer the familiar DualSense shape and want alternate caps and rear-button styles without changing the fundamental layout.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Battery and connection

Battery estimates favour the Victrix at around 20 hours, followed by the Nacon at more than 10 hours and the Edge at about 5–6 hours. These are review or corporate estimates, not guaranteed runtimes; vibration intensity, wireless conditions and usage affect real results. The Victrix offers 2.4GHz wireless or USB-C, Nacon offers wired or wireless operation, and the Edge package includes a braided cable and connector housing for wired play.

Price and value

All three sit near the $200 mark in the cited comparison. The Edge’s $199.99 US figure buys first-party integration and DualSense features. The Victrix’s $209.99 US figure buys Hall-effect inputs, four rear buttons and modular fighting-game hardware. Nacon’s $199.99 comparison price buys an asymmetric, Hall-effect, wired/wireless design. Value depends on which capability you would otherwise have to give up, not on a small difference in list price.

Buying and setup checklist

Before ordering

  1. Write down the games you play most and mark whether they use haptics, adaptive triggers, motion controls or a microphone.
  2. Decide how many rear inputs you will actually use. Two suits a simple remap; four is more useful for complex competitive layouts.
  3. Choose between symmetrical, asymmetric and modular layouts based on hand comfort, not on a feature list.
  4. Check the current regional price, stock, included modules and return policy. The cited prices and availability are time-sensitive.
  5. Confirm your platforms. All three are associated with PS5, while the Victrix and Nacon explicitly include PS4 and PC support in the cited material.

Setting up a DualSense Edge

  1. Connect the controller to a Windows PC and open the PlayStation Accessories app.
  2. Install any offered firmware update before configuring controls.
  3. Create a profile for each game or genre, assigning the two rear buttons and adjusting the available stick-cap and button configuration.
  4. Save the profile and practise switching profiles before entering an online match.
  5. Keep the braided cable and connector housing available when the shorter battery estimate makes wired play preferable.

Setting up a Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded

  1. Select the standard stick arrangement or the alternate layout that suits the game.
  2. Install the Fightpad module when playing a fighting game, or keep the conventional module for other genres.
  3. Set trigger stops according to the action: shorter travel for rapid digital-style inputs, longer travel when analogue range matters.
  4. Map the four rear buttons to actions you can reach consistently without shifting your grip.
  5. Use 2.4GHz wireless for low-cable play or USB-C when you want a wired connection.

Setting up a Nacon Revolution 5 Pro

  1. Test the asymmetric layout for several sessions before committing; comfort differences often appear only after extended play.
  2. Choose wired or wireless operation for the room and game you are playing.
  3. Use the controller’s customisation options for your preferred games, checking the current manual for the exact profile procedure.
  4. Because the cited material does not specify rear-button count or DualSense functions, verify those details directly in the current package documentation.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

  • Buying on battery life alone: A 20-hour estimate is attractive, but it does not replace haptics or adaptive triggers if those sensations are central to your games.
  • Assuming replaceable means Hall-effect: The Edge’s replaceable modules and the Victrix and Nacon’s Hall-effect sensors are different approaches to long-term stick reliability.
  • Ignoring rear-button ergonomics: More buttons help only when you can press them without accidental inputs. Start with the smallest useful remap.
  • Choosing a layout from photographs: Symmetric and asymmetric sticks change your hand position constantly. Use your current controller preference as the baseline.
  • Treating review prices as permanent: The figures cited here are review-time or filing-based numbers. Regional tax, bundles and retailer stock can change the final cost.
  • Expecting identical PS5 software behaviour: The Edge has documented Sony app support and DualSense features. Third-party controllers may provide excellent hardware while omitting those system-level functions.

Final recommendation

For most PS5 owners who want a premium controller without giving up the console’s signature features, the DualSense Edge is the safest choice. Its shorter battery estimate, two rear buttons and non-Hall-effect sticks are real compromises, but its haptics, adaptive triggers, motion controls, microphone, replaceable modules and Sony profile workflow are uniquely cohesive.

Pick the Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded when competitive control density, Hall-effect hardware, trigger stops, long battery life or the Fightpad module matters more than DualSense effects. Pick the Nacon Revolution 5 Pro when its asymmetric layout is the deciding comfort choice and you want Hall-effect hardware with wired and wireless flexibility. The best premium PS5 controller is therefore the one whose trade-offs match the games you actually play.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

DualSense Edgegaming hardwareNacon Revolution 5 Propro controllersPS5Victrix Pro BFG Reloaded

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.