Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsChoose the Lucid Air Grand Touring if your priority is the highest published US range figure and standard front-seat pampering. Lucid lists up to 512 miles of EPA-estimated range for the 2026 Grand Touring and includes 20-way massaging front seats as standard. Choose the Polestar 5 if you want to select between a longer-range Dual motor version and a faster, more hardware-focused Performance version. The UK-market Dual motor is rated at 421 miles WLTP, while Performance is rated at 346 miles WLTP, with more power, quicker quoted acceleration, MagneRide dampers and Bowers & Wilkins audio.
This is a specification-led comparison, not a same-route test. The Polestar figures below are UK prices and WLTP targets; the Lucid figures are US or Canadian prices and EPA estimates. Those figures cannot be treated as directly equivalent, and actual range, charging time and ride comfort depend on configuration and conditions.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
At a glance: the decision in one table
| Buyer priority | Better fit on the published specifications | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum advertised range | Lucid Air Grand Touring | Up to 512 miles EPA-estimated for the 2026 US model. The figure is configuration-dependent; Lucid’s technical sheet lists 512, 480 and 446 miles with 19-, 20- and 21-inch wheels respectively. |
| Choice of range or performance trims | Polestar 5 | The UK Dual motor targets 421 miles WLTP, while Performance targets 346 miles WLTP and raises output to 650 kW/871 bhp. |
| Quickest quoted acceleration | Polestar 5 Performance, narrowly on the figures supplied | Polestar quotes 0–60 mph in 3.1 seconds; Lucid quotes 3.0 seconds for Air Grand Touring. These are manufacturer claims measured under different conditions. |
| Standard front-seat comfort equipment | Lucid Air Grand Touring | 20-way massaging front seats are standard on the 2026 Grand Touring. |
| Chassis hardware aimed at performance | Polestar 5 Performance | Performance adds MagneRide dampers; the Dual motor version uses passive dampers. |
| Charging architecture | Different strengths, no proven overall winner | Polestar specifies 800 V and up to 350 kW DC. Lucid’s 2025 technical sheet specifies 900V+ and up to 300 kW DC, while its current page expresses capability as 200 miles in 12 minutes. |
The table is useful only when each market, trim and test cycle remains attached to the number. A higher headline figure does not prove a shorter charging stop or greater real-world range.
Market, trim and test-cycle caveats
Polestar’s quoted prices and ratings come from its UK specification material accessed in 2026: £89,500 for the Dual motor and £104,900 for Performance. Lucid’s published 2026 prices are $114,900 in the United States and $161,200 in Canada. These are not interchangeable currencies or markets, so neither is a universal “cheaper” option. Taxes, incentives, delivery charges, options and local availability can change the amount a buyer actually pays.
#1 Best Overall
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Polestar uses WLTP range targets in the figures here; Lucid uses US EPA estimates. WLTP generally produces a different result from EPA testing, so 421 WLTP miles is not a like-for-like claim against 512 EPA miles. Wheel size, weather, speed, temperature, terrain, payload and climate use also affect consumption. Confirm the rating and final equipment for the exact vehicle offered in your country before placing an order.
Polestar 5: two distinct interpretations of a grand tourer
Dual motor: the range-oriented Polestar 5
The UK Dual motor version is listed at £89,500 and a 421-mile WLTP range target. Its 550 kW output is quoted as 737 bhp, with 0–60 mph in 3.8 seconds. It uses passive dampers rather than the Performance model’s MagneRide system.
This is the logical Polestar choice for a buyer who wants the model’s performance credentials without selecting the shortest-range, highest-price configuration. The 421-mile figure remains a WLTP target, not an EPA result or a guarantee of motorway range. The lower listed UK price also cannot be compared directly with Lucid’s US or Canadian prices.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Performance: power, hardware and audio over maximum range
Polestar lists the Performance version at £104,900, with 650 kW (871 bhp) and a quoted 0–60 mph time of 3.1 seconds. Its WLTP range target falls to 346 miles. MagneRide dampers are included, as is a Bowers & Wilkins audio system.
That specification makes Performance a trim for buyers willing to exchange 75 miles of the quoted WLTP target for additional output, faster acceleration, electronically controlled damping hardware and upgraded audio. The equipment list establishes what is fitted; it does not establish that the car will ride better, corner faster or be more enjoyable than the Lucid without independent testing.
Battery, voltage and AC charging
Polestar specifies a 112 kWh nickel-manganese-cobalt battery, an 800-volt electrical architecture and up to 350 kW DC charging. Its UK specification lists 10–80 percent DC charging in 22 minutes and 0–100 percent AC charging at 11 kW in 11 hours. Those are manufacturer-stated capabilities. Charger temperature, state of charge, battery conditioning and the site’s power sharing determine what a driver actually sees.
An AC cable is listed as an option in the UK material. If you plan to charge at home, check the cable supplied with the car, the connector used in your market, the household supply and whether an electrician must upgrade the installation.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Lucid Air Grand Touring: the range-and-comfort proposition
Published range and wheel-size effect
Lucid lists up to 512 miles of EPA-estimated range for the 2026 Air Grand Touring. A Lucid 2025 technical specification sheet shows how wheel choice changes the rating: 19-inch wheels are listed at 512 miles, 20-inch wheels at 480 miles and 21-inch wheels at 446 miles. The wheel figures are useful context, but the 2025 sheet should not be silently treated as a complete 2026 specification sheet.
Rank #2
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
When configuring a Grand Touring, ask the retailer which wheel and tire package carries the quoted rating. Selecting larger wheels for appearance can reduce the official range by a substantial amount. The EPA estimate is still a laboratory-based comparison number, not a promise that every driver will travel 512 miles between charges.
Power and acceleration
The 2026 Grand Touring is quoted at 819 horsepower and 0–60 mph in 3.0 seconds. That is 0.1 second quicker than Polestar’s 3.1-second Performance claim, although the two manufacturers may use different test surfaces, tires, launch procedures and measurement tolerances. There is no independent, same-route head-to-head test establishing a real-world winner here.
Battery and charging claims
Lucid’s 2025 technical sheet lists a 117 kWh battery, a 900V-plus system and up to 300 kW DC charging. The current product material instead communicates charging capability as 200 miles added in 12 minutes. Those statements use different yardsticks: peak power and added miles are not the same measurement. They should not be converted into a definitive stop-time ranking without controlled testing.
The 2026 announcement says a mobile cable kit is standard and includes a 240-volt NEMA 14-50 adapter. That adapter can be useful for portable charging, but it does not remove the need to verify the home’s circuit rating, outlet condition, local electrical rules and the vehicle’s connector requirements. A permanent Level 2 installation may still be the more convenient solution.
Seats, accommodation and interior emphasis
Lucid lists 20-way massaging front seats as standard on the 2026 Grand Touring and describes seating for up to five. Those are unusually specific comfort provisions in the supplied specifications and make the Lucid the clearer choice for buyers who spend long hours in the front seats.
Polestar’s brochure describes the 5 as accommodating five adults. Its Performance trim’s Bowers & Wilkins audio is the notable comfort-and-entertainment upgrade in the supplied equipment list. Local upholstery, seat, audio and wheel packages can vary, so obtain a build sheet rather than relying on a global brochure.
Range: how to make a fair comparison
Start by separating three questions that are often mixed together:
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
- What test cycle is being quoted? Polestar’s 421- and 346-mile figures are WLTP targets; Lucid’s 512-mile figure is an EPA estimate.
- Which configuration produced it? Polestar’s two trims have different battery-use and performance positioning. Lucid’s wheel-size data shows a 66-mile spread between the 19-inch and 21-inch figures.
- What journey do you actually drive? Sustained motorway speeds, cold weather, hills, passengers and heating can reduce any laboratory estimate.
For cross-shopping, record the exact trim, wheels, tires and market rating on each quote. Then compare the charging network available on your regular routes and the number of stops your own journey requires, rather than treating the two headline mile figures as one common scale.
Rank #3
- [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
- [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
- [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
- [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
- [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.
Performance and chassis: what the hardware tells you
| Specification | Polestar 5 Dual motor | Polestar 5 Performance | Lucid Air Grand Touring |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quoted power | 550 kW / 737 bhp | 650 kW / 871 bhp | 819 hp |
| Quoted 0–60 mph | 3.8 seconds | 3.1 seconds | 3.0 seconds |
| Dampers | Passive | MagneRide | Adaptive dampers with independent compression and rebound control in the 2025 technical sheet |
| Audio called out in the supplied specifications | Not stated | Bowers & Wilkins included | Not stated |
The Polestar range gives you a clear equipment choice: passive dampers and longer quoted range in Dual motor, or MagneRide and more power in Performance. Lucid’s adaptive-damper description indicates a sophisticated chassis specification, but neither that description nor Polestar’s hardware list proves which car has the better ride. A test drive on the roads you use remains essential.
Comfort, space and long-distance use
Both cars are positioned as electric grand tourers, and both manufacturers describe seating for five. Lucid provides the stronger published case for standard front-seat comfort because the 20-way massage function is explicitly included in the 2026 Grand Touring specification. Polestar’s brochure emphasizes five-adult accommodation, while Performance adds premium audio rather than a stated massage-seat package.
For a long-distance buyer, check more than seat-count claims:
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →- Confirm whether the exact local car has the seat ventilation, heating, adjustment range and upholstery you want.
- Inspect rear headroom, legroom and access with the adults who will actually travel there.
- Test the driving position with your preferred wheel and tire package, since larger wheels can alter both range and ride response.
- Check luggage space with the boot or trunk loaded for a normal trip; manufacturer capacity figures were not established in the supplied specifications.
Price and value without false precision
In the markets covered by the published material, Polestar’s UK prices are £89,500 for Dual motor and £104,900 for Performance. Lucid’s 2026 announcement lists $114,900 in the US and $161,200 in Canada for Air Grand Touring. Because these are different countries, currencies, tax systems and product pages, a numerical ranking would mislead.
Use a local, configured quote for a meaningful value comparison. Include destination or delivery charges, registration taxes, incentives, wheel upgrades, home-charging work, insurance and any service package. A lower list price in one country does not establish a lower transaction price in another.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Ownership details to verify before ordering
Home charging
Polestar’s 11 kW AC specification and Lucid’s supplied 240-volt NEMA 14-50 adapter describe different parts of the home-charging experience. Before buying equipment, verify the vehicle’s inlet and cable, the electrical panel’s spare capacity, the circuit amperage, cable routing, outdoor protection and local inspection requirements. The supplied information supports considering a generic Level 2 charger or installation, but it does not establish that any particular third-party unit is compatible or recommended.
Warranty
Polestar’s UK page lists a three-year vehicle warranty and an eight-year or 100,000-mile battery warranty. It says the battery is repaired or replaced if state of health falls below 70 percent within that stated limit. These terms are explicitly UK-market information; confirm the current warranty booklet for your country, including exclusions, roadside assistance and transferability.
Materials and sustainability claims
Polestar’s MY26 brochure reports that 83 percent of the aluminum secured for Polestar 5 comes from smelters using renewable electricity, 13 percent is recycled, and plant-based flax fibers reduce plastic content by up to 50 percent. These are company-reported material figures, not a complete lifecycle comparison with Lucid. They can inform a materials discussion but should not be read as a full carbon-footprint ranking.
Rank #4
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Which version suits which buyer?
Choose Lucid Air Grand Touring when range and front-seat comfort lead
- You are buying in a market where the quoted 2026 Grand Touring configuration is actually offered.
- You want the highest published range figure in this comparison and are prepared to select the wheel package associated with it.
- Standard 20-way massaging front seats matter more than selecting a performance-specific Polestar trim.
- You prefer Lucid’s stated charging and performance specifications, while understanding that its 200-miles-in-12-minutes claim is not a controlled comparison with Polestar’s 10–80-percent figure.
Choose Polestar 5 Dual motor when range matters within the Polestar line
- You are shopping in the UK market covered by the £89,500 specification.
- You want the higher of the two Polestar WLTP targets, 421 miles, rather than the Performance model’s 346 miles.
- You prefer 550 kW and 3.8-second quoted acceleration to the additional cost and hardware of Performance.
Choose Polestar 5 Performance when output and chassis hardware matter most
- You value 650 kW/871 bhp and the 3.1-second quoted 0–60 mph time.
- MagneRide dampers and Bowers & Wilkins audio are worth accepting the shorter 346-mile WLTP target.
- You are choosing on equipment and driving intent, not on the longest possible distance between charges.
A practical buying process
- Set your market first. Ask for the local price, warranty, charging connector and official range rating; do not import a UK or North American figure into another market.
- Lock the trim and wheels. Write down Polestar Dual motor or Performance, or Lucid’s exact wheel and tire package. This prevents a best-case range figure from being compared with a configured car that cannot achieve it.
- Model your longest regular journey. Use your normal motorway speed, winter temperature, passengers and luggage. Count charging stops using the networks available on that route.
- Test the seats and rear accommodation. Spend enough time in both rows, operate every adjustment and load the luggage you actually carry.
- Check charging at home. Have an electrician confirm supply capacity and obtain an installation quote before assuming a portable adapter is all you need.
- Request written terms. Get the final price, options, delivery estimate, warranty limits and battery-health provisions on the order paperwork.
- Drive both cars on representative roads. Include rough surfaces, a fast road and low-speed manoeuvres. Hardware descriptions cannot substitute for your own comfort and visibility assessment.
What the published specifications do not establish
No independent same-route range run, charging-stop comparison, ride evaluation, reliability ranking or long-term ownership survey is established in the supplied material. The power, acceleration, range, charging and equipment numbers are manufacturer-provided. They are useful for narrowing the shortlist, but they do not prove which car is quieter, more comfortable, more reliable or faster to charge in every situation.
Lucid’s 2025 technical sheet is technical context rather than a complete 2026 specification. Polestar’s prices and warranty terms are UK-specific. Availability, standard equipment and final ratings can change by country and model year, so verify the current local configurator and contract.
Bottom line
On the published figures, Lucid Air Grand Touring is the straightforward grand-tourer choice for a buyer who wants the highest EPA range claim and standard massaging front seats. Polestar 5 is the more trim-dependent choice: Dual motor favors the higher Polestar range target and lower listed UK price, while Performance favors output, MagneRide dampers and premium audio. Decide only after matching the same market, wheel size, test cycle and home-charging conditions—and after driving both cars on roads you actually use.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are the Polestar 5’s 421 miles directly comparable with the Lucid Air Grand Touring’s 512 miles?
No. The Polestar figure is a UK WLTP target, while Lucid’s figure is a US EPA estimate. They use different test systems, and real-world range also changes with wheels, speed, weather, payload and climate use.
Which Polestar 5 trim has the longest published range?
The UK Dual motor version is listed at 421 miles WLTP. Performance is listed at 346 miles WLTP because it prioritizes higher output, quicker acceleration, MagneRide dampers and upgraded audio.
Do larger Lucid Air wheels reduce range?
Lucid’s 2025 technical sheet lists 512 miles with 19-inch wheels, 480 with 20-inch wheels and 446 with 21-inch wheels. Confirm the wheel-specific rating for the 2026 car you are ordering.
Which car charges faster?
The supplied specifications do not establish a controlled winner. Polestar quotes 800 V, up to 350 kW and 10–80 percent in 22 minutes. Lucid’s 2025 sheet quotes 900V-plus and up to 300 kW, while current material says 200 miles in 12 minutes; those claims use different measurements.
Recommended Free Tools
Is the Polestar 5 warranty the same everywhere?
No. The cited three-year vehicle and eight-year/100,000-mile battery terms are from Polestar’s UK material. Check the warranty booklet for your own country and model year.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

