DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › broadband installation

Openreach self-install FTTP modem trial is reportedly going ahead—but it is not a public service yet

By Freedom251 Team · · 5 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Openreach is reportedly considering a limited proof-of-concept (PoC) that would let some customers install their own Optical Network Terminal (ONT) and connect its power supply. The report, published by ISPreview on 14 October 2026, describes a tentative proposal—not a confirmed nationwide self-install product.

For now, Openreach’s documented process remains engineer-led for new full-fibre (FTTP) installations. Customers can set up a router themselves only when an Openreach ONT is already installed and working.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What the reported trial would change

ISPreview says Openreach is tentatively proposing a PoC in selected situations. Under that proposal, the customer could fit the ONT and connect its power supply instead of waiting for an engineer to complete those tasks.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That is materially different from a general launch. No public trial start date, participating internet service providers, eligibility rules, approved ONT models, safety instructions or fault-handling process has been established in the available reporting. Until Openreach or a participating provider publishes those details, the idea should be treated as reported and proposed.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What an Openreach ONT actually does

The box involved is an Optical Network Terminal. It terminates the fibre entering the property and converts the optical signal into an electrical Ethernet connection for a router.

Openreach describes the ONT as equipment that belongs to Openreach or forms part of the property’s fixed network infrastructure. Its own explanation is unambiguous: “It’s not a router, and it’s not a traditional modem.” The ONT does not provide Wi-Fi. A separate router creates the home network and distributes the internet connection to wireless and wired devices.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The cable used between the boxes

A standard Ethernet cable runs from the ONT’s LAN or data port to the router’s WAN or internet port. That Ethernet lead is the ordinary accessory relevant to customer setup; the ONT, its power supply and the internal fibre should not be purchased or substituted by the customer.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How a normal new FTTP installation works today

Openreach’s current installation guidance still assigns the physical fibre and ONT work to an engineer. The usual sequence is:

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  1. The engineer runs fibre from a nearby connection point toward the property.
  2. The fibre is brought inside, normally through a small hole drilled through an external wall.
  3. An ONT is fitted inside and connected to its power supply.
  4. The line and equipment are tested before the installation is handed over for broadband service.

Openreach says most installations take between one and four hours. The actual time depends on the property and the route the fibre must take. A self-install PoC could reduce the need for an appointment in qualifying cases, but there is no evidence yet that it would remove engineering work for every address or every part of an installation.

Reported PoC versus the current process

Question Current documented process Reported PoC
Official status Openreach publishes engineer-led installation guidance. Tentatively proposed in an ISPreview report dated 14 October 2026; no general launch confirmation.
Who fits the ONT? An Openreach engineer installs and tests it. Customers could install it in selected situations, if the proposal proceeds.
Who connects power? The engineer connects the ONT’s power supply during installation. The customer could connect the power supply under the proposed arrangement.
Eligibility Determined through the normal provider and Openreach ordering process. Not stated in the available report.
Approved hardware Openreach supplies the network equipment used for the installation. Approved ONT models are not stated.
Engineer-visit avoidance A new installation normally includes an engineer visit. Potentially reduced in qualifying cases; the extent is not stated.
Fault escalation Openreach or the broadband provider can arrange engineering support when equipment or the line fails. PoC fault and replacement arrangements are not stated.

What customers can self-install right now

Openreach already has a narrower customer self-setup process for homes where the ONT is present. It does not mean installing fibre equipment from scratch.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
  1. Locate the small white ONT, usually near where the fibre enters the home.
  2. Check that its power light is illuminated.
  3. Connect an Ethernet cable from the ONT’s LAN or data port to the WAN or internet port on the provider-supplied router.
  4. Power the router and follow the broadband provider’s activation instructions.
  5. Use the ONT’s status lights and the provider’s troubleshooting guidance if the connection does not come online.

If the ONT is missing, has no power, or displays a fault indication, Openreach says an engineer may need to visit. Customers should not open the unit, replace its power supply with an unapproved one, or attempt to reconnect internal fibre themselves.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Ownership, moving home and changing provider

The ONT, its power supply and the fixed internal fibre are Openreach equipment or fixed infrastructure, not ordinary customer-owned networking gear. Leave them in place when changing broadband provider or moving house.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

When switching provider on an existing Openreach FTTP line, the next provider normally uses the ONT already installed. Removing the box can leave the property without the equipment needed for a future service and may create a fault that requires an engineer.

What the report does—and does not—say about timing

The report does not establish when the PoC will begin, how long it will run, which providers will participate or whether customers will be invited directly. It also does not establish whether self-install would apply to new fibre builds, existing properties with a prepared connection, replacement ONTs, or only a narrower set of addresses.

Those distinctions matter because the difficult part of an FTTP installation can be the outside fibre route, the wall entry and the optical signal test—not simply plugging in a box. A customer-installed ONT would still need to be compatible with Openreach’s network, correctly provisioned and safe to use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How this fits Openreach’s wider rollout

Openreach’s 2026 availability information says its full-fibre network reaches 19 million homes and states a target of 25 million homes by December 2026. Those figures describe the scale and ambition of the network rollout; they do not confirm that the self-install PoC is available across those homes.

What to do if your provider mentions self-install

  • Ask whether the message refers to an official Openreach process or only a provider’s preparation guidance.
  • Confirm whether an ONT is already installed at the address and whether the order is for activation or a new physical installation.
  • Use only the ONT and power supply supplied or specified through the provider and Openreach process.
  • Keep the ONT powered and connected to the router’s WAN port as instructed.
  • Ask who handles a failed light check, damaged fibre or a dead ONT before cancelling an engineer appointment.

Until formal instructions are published, do not buy an ONT, a replacement power supply or an internal fibre kit in anticipation of the trial.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

broadband installationFTTPfull-fibre broadbandONTOpenreachtélécoms

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.