Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › AI limits

Microsoft Copilot pricing and plans (2026): limits, renewals, and refunds

By Freedom251 Team · · 8 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Microsoft Copilot is sold in different ways for individuals and organizations. The U.S. individual pricing page lists Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, Premium, and Pro, while business customers can buy Copilot as an add-on or bundle under separate licensing and billing rules. The practical differences are not limited to price: AI usage levels, access to Researcher and Analyst, who receives the benefits, renewal timing, and refund eligibility all depend on the plan and offer.

The most important distinction is between feature limits and AI credits. Microsoft describes them as separate controls, and says both can vary by feature, entry point, system conditions, and model updates. Check the exact offer shown in your Microsoft account before paying or canceling, especially if you are buying for a business or outside the United States.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Microsoft 365 Copilot prices for individuals

These are the prices displayed on Microsoft’s U.S. individual pricing page. Prices and included benefits can change, so treat them as a current snapshot rather than a worldwide price list.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Plan Price shown Billing People and devices Renewal
Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99 per month Monthly subscription; a free one-month trial is shown One person; up to five simultaneous device sign-ins Automatically renews unless canceled in Microsoft account
Microsoft 365 Family $12.99 per month or $129.99 per year Monthly or annual One to six people; AI benefits are for the subscription owner Automatically renews unless canceled in Microsoft account
Microsoft 365 Premium $19.99 per month or $199.99 per year Monthly or annual Not stated on the cited comparison Automatically renews unless canceled in Microsoft account
Microsoft 365 Pro $99.99 per month Monthly billing only on the cited page Not stated on the cited comparison Automatically renews unless canceled in Microsoft account

The Family price covers as many as six people for the Microsoft 365 subscription, but Copilot AI benefits do not follow every family member. Microsoft says those benefits are available only to the subscription owner and cannot be shared. That makes Family a poor reason to upgrade solely for several people to use Copilot.

What changes between Personal, Family, Premium, and Pro

Personal

Personal is the entry individual tier in the cited U.S. listing. It includes one person and permits up to five simultaneous device sign-ins. The comparison rates chat, deep reasoning, and Pages as “Extensive use,” but rates Audio Overview, Voice and Vision, and image generation as “Standard usage.” Researcher and Analyst are not available on this tier.

Family

Family has the same Copilot usage labels as Personal in the comparison: extensive use for chat, deep reasoning, and Pages; standard usage for Audio Overview, Voice and Vision, and image generation; and no Researcher or Analyst access. Its distinguishing Microsoft 365 feature is coverage for one to six people, while its Copilot benefits remain owner-only.

Premium

Premium raises several AI allowances. Chat, deep reasoning, Pages, Audio Overview, and image generation are all marked “Extensive use.” Voice and Vision are marked “More usage,” and Researcher and Analyst are available with “Extensive use.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Pro

Pro is the highest-priced individual option in the cited table and is listed only with monthly billing. It carries “Extensive use” for chat, deep reasoning, Pages, Audio Overview, image generation, Researcher, and Analyst. Voice and Vision are marked “Highest usage.”

All four listed plans show priority access. That label does not mean every feature has an unlimited quota; Microsoft uses separate usage controls, described below.

Copilot limits: feature limits versus AI credits

Microsoft Support separates two concepts that are often conflated:

  • Feature limits are the number of times a particular feature can be used during a defined period.
  • AI credits are monthly usage allotments consumed across Microsoft 365 and Windows applications.

A plan can therefore offer extensive use for one capability while another capability has a standard or higher-but-not-unlimited allowance. Credits may be consumed in more than one application, so using Copilot in Windows can affect the credits available elsewhere.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Microsoft’s qualification is explicit: “Limits may vary based on the feature, entry point, and system conditions. Limits may also change over time as new AI models become available.” Do not treat the labels in the comparison as fixed numbers, a promise of unlimited generations, or a guarantee that the same prompt will consume the same amount every month.

Capability Personal Family Premium Pro
Chat, deep reasoning, and Pages Extensive use Extensive use Extensive use Extensive use
Audio Overview Standard usage Standard usage Extensive use Extensive use
Voice and Vision Standard usage Standard usage More usage Highest usage
Image generation Standard usage Standard usage Extensive use Extensive use
Researcher and Analyst Unavailable Unavailable Extensive use Extensive use
Priority access Yes Yes Yes Yes

Microsoft does not state numeric monthly quotas for these labels in the cited comparison. If a feature is important to your workflow, open the current plan details and the in-product usage indicator rather than budgeting from the word “extensive.”

Is Copilot Chat included with Microsoft 365?

There are two different experiences. Microsoft Learn says web-based Copilot Chat is automatically included at no extra cost with an eligible Microsoft 365 subscription. This is the general prompt-and-response experience available through the web experience.

Work-based chat is different. It can use organizational data available to an Entra work or school account and requires a Microsoft Copilot license. Having an eligible Microsoft 365 subscription does not by itself grant the licensed work-data experience. Administrators should check the tenant’s assigned licenses and the eligibility of the underlying Microsoft 365 plan.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How automatic renewal works

The individual pricing page uses the same rule for each listed plan: the subscription automatically renews unless it is canceled in the Microsoft account. Cancellation is therefore an action you must complete; uninstalling an Office app or signing out does not stop billing.

Annual subscribers receive an email notice at least 30 days before the renewal date, according to Microsoft’s FAQ. The authoritative date for your account is shown under Microsoft account Services & subscriptions. A trial can also convert into a paid subscription if its recurring billing is not turned off before the trial ends.

How to check a renewal date or stop a Copilot renewal

  1. Sign in to the Microsoft account that paid for the subscription.
  2. Open Services & subscriptions.
  3. Find the Microsoft 365 subscription and select Manage. If you bought through a third-party store, use that store’s subscription controls instead.
  4. Review the next billing or renewal date, payment method, and the current recurring-billing status.
  5. Choose Turn off recurring billing or Cancel subscription, depending on the label displayed.
  6. Follow the confirmation screens and save the confirmation email or screenshot.

Turning off recurring billing normally lets the paid term continue until its stated end date, while canceling immediately can present different choices. Read the final screen carefully: it should identify whether access ends now or at the end of the period and whether any refund is offered.

Refunds and cancellation rules for consumers

The cited consumer pages establish automatic renewal but do not state one universal refund window for every country, payment method, or Microsoft 365 plan. A refund can depend on when you cancel, where you bought the subscription, local law, and the terms attached to that order.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

To check your own eligibility, open Services & subscriptions, select Manage, and start the cancellation flow without confirming until the review page shows the proposed end date and any refund amount. If the page offers no refund, contact Microsoft billing support through the account help options and provide the order number. Do not assume that the business seven-day rule below applies to a Personal, Family, Premium, or Pro purchase.

Business Copilot pricing and the seven-day refund offer

Business Copilot uses separate licensing. Microsoft’s business pricing material says the Copilot Business add-on is available only to existing Microsoft 365 customers with an eligible Business plan. A cited promotion required an annual commitment, used recurring annual billing, and stated a seven-day cancellation window for a prorated refund.

The seven-day language is offer-specific: “Customers have a 7-day cancellation window to receive a prorated refund.” It should not be generalized to every business purchase, every country, or consumer subscriptions. Check the exact terms attached to your tenant and order.

A Microsoft partner pricing deck says annual/annual end-retail pricing for the offers launched March 1, 2026 was $30.00 for Microsoft 365 Copilot and $21.00 for Microsoft 365 Copilot Business. The same deck says monthly/monthly billing for Copilot Business and bundles costs 20% more than the equivalent annual/annual plan, but the cited material does not state every resulting monthly figure. Do not infer a monthly price for a specific bundle without checking its current quote.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Business item Price or term stated Important qualification
Microsoft 365 Copilot $30.00 annual/annual end-retail price Pricing-deck figure for offers launched March 1, 2026
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business $21.00 annual/annual end-retail price Pricing-deck figure for offers launched March 1, 2026
Monthly/monthly Copilot Business and bundles 20% more than the equivalent annual/annual plan Exact figures vary by bundle; not stated in the cited material
Cancellation under the cited business offer Seven-day window for a prorated refund Annual commitment and recurring annual billing; offer-specific
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which plan should you choose?

Choose Personal when one person needs the standard individual package

Personal is the simplest choice when one user wants Microsoft 365 and does not need Researcher or Analyst. Its lower monthly price comes with standard usage for Audio Overview, Voice and Vision, and image generation.

Choose Family when the Microsoft 365 subscription itself must cover several people

Family makes sense for shared Microsoft 365 coverage for up to six people. It does not multiply Copilot access, because AI benefits stay with the owner. If several people need Copilot, compare separate eligible subscriptions or a business licensing arrangement instead of assuming Family shares the AI allowance.

Choose Premium for broader AI features without the Pro price

Premium is the first listed individual tier that includes Researcher and Analyst and upgrades Audio Overview and image generation to extensive use. It also raises Voice and Vision to “More usage.”

Choose Pro for the highest listed individual usage levels

Pro is aimed at users who need the highest Voice and Vision level and extensive use across the other listed premium capabilities. The cited U.S. page shows it as monthly billing only, so compare the recurring monthly cost with your expected usage before selecting it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose a business license when organizational data or administration is required

If Copilot must work with a company’s Entra data, be assigned by an administrator, or be governed through a business tenant, use the business licensing path. The no-extra-cost web Copilot Chat experience is not a substitute for licensed work-based chat.

Common billing problems and fixes

  • You cannot find the subscription: Sign in with the account that received the receipt. A personal Microsoft account and a work account can show different services.
  • Cancel appears unavailable: The purchase may be managed by a third-party store, an organization administrator, or a reseller. Cancel through the original seller or ask the tenant administrator.
  • A family member cannot use the AI features: This is expected under the cited Family terms; Copilot benefits are owner-only.
  • Your usage seems lower than the plan label: Check which feature and entry point you used. Limits can change with system conditions and model updates, and AI credits are separate from feature limits.
  • You were charged after turning off renewal: Confirm the cancellation date and status in Services & subscriptions, then compare it with the receipt. Contact billing support promptly if the charge does not match the account record.
  • You expected a refund: Consumer refund eligibility is not one universal rule. Review the cancellation screen and order terms; use the seven-day prorated rule only when your business offer explicitly includes it.

Bottom line

For U.S. individual customers, Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, Premium, and Pro range from $9.99 to $99.99 per month on the cited pricing page, with Family and Premium also showing annual options. Premium and Pro are the tiers that add Researcher and Analyst, while Family increases the number of Microsoft 365 users but does not share Copilot benefits. All listed individual plans renew automatically unless you turn that off. Microsoft distinguishes feature limits from monthly AI credits, and its labels can change with the feature, entry point, system conditions, and model updates. Consumer refunds require checking the order-specific terms; the seven-day prorated refund rule belongs to the cited business offer, not to every Copilot subscription.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

AI limitsautomatic renewalbusiness licensingMicrosoft 365Microsoft Copilotrefundssubscription pricing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.