Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Short answer: both current-generation versions of Mafia III: Definitive Edition advertise 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements. Neither the official PlayStation nor Xbox information establishes a resolution advantage, steadier frame rate, or better image quality for either console. The meaningful differences are platform features: PS5 lists DualSense vibration, trigger effects, and PS5 Pro optimization, while Xbox lists HDR10 and 60 fps+ capability.
The PS5 and Xbox Series X|S editions launched on October 8, 2026. This comparison separates what 2K and the platform stores actually promise from what has not been measured publicly, then explains upgrades, disc requirements, save-transfer limits, and the content included in the Definitive Edition.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
PS5 vs. Xbox Series X|S at a glance
| Topic | PS5 | Xbox Series X|S | What the evidence supports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Release date | October 8, 2026 | October 8, 2026 | Both current-generation editions became available on the same date. |
| Advertised performance | 60 FPS gameplay, according to 2K | 60 FPS gameplay, according to 2K; the Xbox listing also says 60 fps+ | This is a publisher and store claim, not an independent measurement of sustained frame rate or frame pacing. |
| Resolution | Numeric current-generation resolution not stated in the reviewed official material | Numeric current-generation resolution not stated in the reviewed official material | There is no supported resolution winner. |
| Platform-listed features | DualSense vibration, trigger effects, PS5 Pro optimized | HDR10, optimized for Xbox Series X|S | These are different store metadata labels, not a controlled test of equivalent features. |
| Loading and fixes | 2K describes improved loading and legacy issue fixes | 2K describes improved loading and legacy issue fixes | No official loading-time numbers or complete fix list is supplied. |
| Upgrade from the previous generation | Qualifying PS4 owners can claim a PS5 digital version; a qualifying disc must remain inserted to play | Qualifying Xbox One owners can download the Series X|S edition through the stated library or Store route | Eligibility depends on the edition, purchase date, account, and—in some cases—the disc. |
| Save and achievement transfer | PS4 saves and achievements do not transfer | Xbox One saves and achievements do not transfer | Returning players must start the newer version as a new save. |
| Included content | Base game, story DLC, and bonus packs | Base game, story DLC, and bonus packs | The listings identify the same Definitive Edition bundle categories. |
For the documented facts behind the release, upgrade rules, and save limitation, see 2K’s support announcement. The platform-specific feature labels come from the PlayStation Store listing and the Xbox Store listing.
What the 2026 current-generation release actually promises
Both versions advertise 60 FPS gameplay
2K’s headline improvement for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S is 60 FPS gameplay. The Xbox store page repeats that claim and labels the game as capable of 60 fps+. That wording tells you the intended performance target or capability, but it does not tell you whether the game holds a locked 60 frames per second in every scene, whether it uses a dynamic resolution, or how the Series S behaves in demanding areas.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
There is no independent frame-rate capture or frame-pacing test in the official material reviewed for this comparison. It would therefore be inaccurate to say that PS5 is more stable, that Series X runs at a higher frame rate, or that Series S always matches Series X. Treat “60 FPS” as the publisher’s advertised feature rather than a measured guarantee.
Technical improvements are described broadly
2K also describes improved loading and fixes for legacy issues on the current-generation release. The announcement does not publish before-and-after loading times, a technical breakdown of the fixes, or a scene-by-scene performance analysis. You can reasonably expect the new versions to be presented as improved editions, but you cannot attach a specific number of seconds or a complete bug-fix checklist to that statement.
The release date and edition identity
The PS5 and Xbox Series X|S versions arrived on October 8, 2026. They are versions of Mafia III: Definitive Edition, not a newly separated base-game release. The platform listings describe the package as including the main game, story DLC, and bonus packs, so a buyer of the current-generation edition receives the complete advertised bundle rather than only the campaign disc or download.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Resolution and image quality: what is—and is not—known
Neither the reviewed 2K announcement nor the PS5 and Xbox store pages provides a numeric current-generation resolution for the game. There is no official 1080p, 1440p, 4K, checkerboard, or dynamic-resolution figure to place in a PS5-versus-Series-X|S table. Because the same figures are missing on both sides, the responsible conclusion is not that the consoles are identical; it is that a resolution comparison has not been established by these sources.
The same caution applies to image-quality details such as texture filtering, anti-aliasing, resolution scaling, shadow settings, and the behavior of the Series S compared with Series X. A television may report a different output signal from the internal rendering resolution, and a console’s output setting alone would not prove what the game renders. Without a platform-by-platform test, do not use a display’s 4K or HDR indicator as evidence that one version has a higher internal resolution.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
For the same reason, this article does not declare a winner for sharpness, clarity, or visual consistency. Those questions require controlled captures of identical scenes on each console, which are not supplied by the official listings.
PS5 features and considerations
DualSense vibration and trigger effects
The PlayStation Store lists support for DualSense vibration and trigger effects. That means the PS5 edition advertises use of the controller’s platform-specific feedback features. The listing does not describe which actions use resistance or how extensively the effects are implemented, so it would be excessive to promise a particular trigger profile or a specific strength of vibration.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
If you already prefer the DualSense controller, this is the clearest documented reason to choose the PS5 edition. It is a feature declaration, not evidence that the PS5 version renders the game at a higher resolution or maintains a steadier frame rate.
PS5 Pro optimization
The PlayStation listing marks the game as PS5 Pro optimized. That label confirms that the store recognizes a PS5 Pro optimization, but the official material reviewed does not state what changes on the Pro model. No Pro-specific resolution, frame-rate mode, visual setting, or comparison with the standard PS5 is published here. Do not infer a particular enhancement until the developer supplies those details or a reliable test measures them.
Physical PS4 upgrade behavior
A qualifying physical PS4 owner can download the PS5 version, but the PS4 disc must remain inserted when playing. The disc acts as the ownership check; downloading the digital PS5 files does not turn a disc license into a disc-free entitlement. This matters if you use a PS5 Digital Edition, because a console without a disc drive cannot validate a physical PS4 copy.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Xbox Series X|S features and considerations
HDR10 listing
The Xbox Store identifies HDR10 support. That is the principal platform-specific display feature named in the listing. The benefit depends on an HDR10-capable television or monitor and an appropriately configured console, but the store page does not provide a luminance target, HDR calibration instructions, or a comparison with the PS5 edition’s display output.
“60 fps+” does not establish a higher console result
The Xbox listing uses the phrase “60 fps+ capability,” while 2K’s announcement says 60 FPS gameplay for both platforms. The extra “+” is store wording; it is not a published benchmark showing that Series X or Series S runs above 60 FPS in a particular mode. It also does not establish that Series X and Series S deliver the same result. Read it as a capability label and keep the shared 60 FPS claim as the comparable headline.
Series X and Series S are covered together
2K’s current-generation announcement and the Xbox listing address Xbox Series X|S as a family. They do not publish separate resolution, frame-rate, or image-quality specifications for Series X and Series S. If you own a Series S, the correct expectation from the available evidence is that your console is supported and included in the advertised current-generation release—not that it has a documented resolution or stability match with Series X.
Loading, fixes, and everyday play
2K says the current-generation release includes improved loading and fixes for legacy issues. That is useful context for someone deciding whether to replay the game, but it does not quantify the improvement. Loading may vary with the console, storage state, installed updates, and the point at which you measure it; no official timing methodology is provided.
Likewise, “legacy issue fixes” is a general publisher description rather than a complete changelog. Do not assume that every historical bug has been removed or that a specific mission, save problem, or visual glitch is guaranteed to be fixed. If a known issue affects your playthrough, check the current patch notes or 2K support information for that issue instead of treating the broad announcement as a promise about an individual case.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallRank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Free upgrade eligibility and installation steps
2K says the new versions are free for qualifying owners of Mafia III: Definitive Edition, Mafia: Trilogy, or Mafia: The Omerta Collection. “Qualifying” is important: the route depends on your platform, edition, account, purchase date, and whether you own a physical disc. Use the following process rather than assuming that any previous access automatically qualifies.
PS5: digital PS4 owner
- Sign in to the PlayStation account that purchased the qualifying PS4 edition.
- Confirm that the purchase was made before October 8, 2026 if you are using the pre-release upgrade route described by 2K.
- Open your game library or the relevant PlayStation Store product page and look for the PS5 version or upgrade entitlement.
- Start the PS5 download and check that the installed product is the current-generation version, not only the PS4 application.
- Launch the PS5 edition with the same account that owns the qualifying license.
Purchases made on or after October 8, 2026 are described by 2K as including the cross-generation edition. PlayStation Plus monthly-game access does not count as a digital purchase for this upgrade route, so having claimed the game through a monthly catalog is not the same as owning the qualifying license.
PS5: physical PS4 owner
- Insert the qualifying PS4 disc into a PS5 model with a disc drive.
- Use the game hub or Store page to obtain the PS5 digital version offered under the upgrade rules.
- Leave the PS4 disc inserted whenever you play the PS5 version; the console needs it to verify ownership.
- Keep the disc and the purchasing account available if you reinstall the game later.
The disc requirement means a physical owner cannot use this route on a disc-less PS5. It also means that downloading the PS5 files alone is not proof that the upgrade is permanently detached from the disc license.
Xbox Series X|S: Trilogy or Omerta Collection owner
- Sign in on the Xbox console with the Microsoft account that owns the qualifying collection.
- Open My games & apps and then the Full library section.
- Look for the Xbox Series X|S edition of Mafia III: Definitive Edition among owned games or available installations.
- Start the download and verify the Series X|S label before launching.
2K describes this library route for owners of Mafia: Trilogy or Mafia: The Omerta Collection. If the entitlement does not appear, confirm that you are using the purchasing account and that the collection is the edition covered by the support instructions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Xbox Series X|S: Definitive Edition owner
- Sign in with the account that owns the Xbox One or cross-generation license.
- Open the Xbox Store and search for Mafia III: Definitive Edition.
- Check for the free Series X|S version or an install option rather than purchasing a second copy.
- Install the version marked for Xbox Series X|S and launch it from your library.
For purchases made on or after October 8, 2026, 2K says the purchase includes the cross-generation edition. Store behavior can still depend on account region and the exact product license, so check the product page while signed in before paying again.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
When the upgrade does not appear
- Verify the edition: the support offer names Mafia III: Definitive Edition, Mafia: Trilogy, and Mafia: The Omerta Collection.
- Verify the date and account: a different console profile, family account, or post-launch purchase can show a different entitlement.
- On PS5, check whether your access came only from a PlayStation Plus monthly game; 2K excludes that access from the digital-purchase upgrade rule.
- On PS5 with a disc, insert the disc and confirm that the console has a usable disc drive.
- On Xbox, check both the library and the signed-in Store page, because 2K describes different discovery routes for collection owners and Definitive Edition owners.
- If the correct license still does not show, use the account and purchase details when contacting 2K support rather than buying another copy first.
Save files and achievements: the important catch
2K explicitly says that saves and achievements do not transfer from PS4 to PS5 or from Xbox One to Xbox Series X|S. Installing the current-generation edition therefore does not continue your previous campaign automatically. Plan to start a new save, replay missions, and earn the achievements again on the newer version.
This limitation is separate from upgrade eligibility. You may qualify for a free download and still have no supported way to import your old progress. If you are midway through the campaign, finish the old version first or keep it installed for access to that existing save; do not delete it on the assumption that the PS5 or Series X|S edition will convert it.
What is included in the Definitive Edition?
The PS5 and Xbox listings identify the Definitive Edition as a bundle containing the base game, story DLC, and bonus packs. The current-generation upgrade changes the target platform and advertises technical improvements; it does not turn the package into a separately itemized collection in the store descriptions. Check the exact product page in your region if you need a list of individual DLC names, because the reviewed listings establish the bundle categories but do not provide a complete item-by-item inventory here.
Which version should you choose?
Choose PS5 when the controller features matter
- You want the documented DualSense vibration and trigger-effect support.
- You own a PS5 Pro and prefer a listing that explicitly marks the game as PS5 Pro optimized, while accepting that the exact Pro changes are not specified.
- Your qualifying ownership is already on PlayStation and you can meet the PS4-disc requirement if you own a physical copy.
Choose Xbox Series X|S when your library and display setup favor Xbox
- Your qualifying copy is attached to Xbox and the Series X|S edition appears in your library or Store page.
- You use an HDR10-capable display and want the Xbox listing’s stated HDR10 support.
- You prefer Xbox’s ecosystem and do not need a platform-specific controller feature that is listed on PS5.
Do not choose based on an unsupported resolution or stability claim
Nothing in the reviewed official sources proves that PS5, Series X, or Series S renders at a higher resolution or holds 60 FPS more consistently than the others. If those are your deciding factors, wait for a reputable independent test that measures the same scenes, modes, and patches on each console. The currently documented difference is feature labeling and upgrade logistics, not a verified graphics-performance hierarchy.
Practical checklist before you download
- Confirm that your console is a PS5, Xbox Series X, or Xbox Series S and that you are selecting the current-generation product.
- Check whether your license is Mafia III: Definitive Edition, Mafia: Trilogy, or Mafia: The Omerta Collection.
- Use the account that made the purchase.
- For a physical PS4 copy, confirm that your PS5 has a disc drive and keep the disc inserted for play.
- Do not count a PlayStation Plus monthly claim as a qualifying digital purchase under 2K’s stated PS5 rule.
- Back up or finish any old campaign you want to keep; PS4 and Xbox One saves and achievements do not transfer.
- Expect the advertised 60 FPS feature, but do not assume a measured lock, a particular resolution, or identical Series X and Series S output.
- Check your display settings if you intend to use the Xbox listing’s HDR10 feature.
Bottom line
On the evidence available as of October 13, 2026, Mafia III: Definitive Edition is a broadly equivalent current-generation upgrade on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S: both advertise 60 FPS gameplay, improved loading, and legacy fixes, and both include the Definitive Edition’s game and add-on content. PS5 has the clearer controller-specific extras—DualSense vibration, trigger effects, and a PS5 Pro optimization label—while Xbox lists HDR10 and 60 fps+ capability. Because no official source supplies console-by-console resolution or independent frame-rate measurements, neither platform can honestly be named the performance winner. Choose according to your existing library, controller, display, and upgrade eligibility, and start with the expectation that your previous save and achievements will not carry over.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

