Recommended Free Tools
Choose Linux Mint if you want a traditional desktop and a choice of Cinnamon, MATE, or Xfce. Choose Ubuntu Desktop if you prefer its GNOME 50 workflow, want the current 26.04 LTS release, or value standard support through April 2031. Mint 22.3 “Zena” is supported through April 2029. Neither distribution is universally easier, faster, or more compatible: the right choice depends on the interface you prefer, your computer’s hardware, the applications and peripherals you use, and how long you want this installation supported.
Linux Mint vs Ubuntu at a glance
Linux Mint and Ubuntu are closely related but deliver noticeably different desktop experiences. Mint 22.3 “Zena” is built on the Ubuntu Noble package base and is offered in Cinnamon, MATE, and Xfce editions. Ubuntu Desktop 26.04 uses GNOME 50 as its default environment and also points users to separate official flavors.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Decision point | Linux Mint 22.3 “Zena” | Ubuntu Desktop 26.04 LTS |
|---|---|---|
| Default desktop choice | Cinnamon, MATE, or Xfce editions | GNOME 50 on the main Desktop edition |
| Package base | Ubuntu Noble base | Upstream Ubuntu distribution |
| Standard support stated by publisher | Through April 2029 | Through April 2031 |
| Published hardware figures | 2 GB RAM, 20 GB disk, 1024×768 minimum; 4 GB RAM and 100 GB disk recommended for comfortable use | 2 GHz dual-core processor, 6 GB memory, 25 GB free storage |
| Best starting question | Which Mint desktop feels right? | Do you want the GNOME workflow and longer LTS horizon? |
These hardware numbers come from different publishers and releases. They are requirements or recommendations, not a controlled speed test. A computer that meets the figures may still have problems with a particular Wi-Fi adapter, graphics chip, audio device, sleep mode, printer, or other peripheral.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →What is the difference between Linux Mint and Ubuntu?
Linux Mint emphasizes desktop choice
Mint’s 22.x line lets you download the same release family with Cinnamon, MATE, or Xfce. The choice changes the panel layout, menus, settings tools, window behavior, and the amount of visual complexity you see. Cinnamon is the edition to examine if you want a conventional desktop with a panel, application menu, task list, and system tray. MATE and Xfce provide alternative desktop designs for people who prefer their workflows or have a computer for which a lighter interface is appropriate.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Mint 22.3 is listed as an LTS release on the Ubuntu Noble base. Its release notes identify Linux kernel 6.14 and describe updates to system-information and troubleshooting tools. You can verify the edition list and support date on Linux Mint’s all-versions page and read the release notes at Linux Mint’s 22.3 feature page.
Ubuntu Desktop centers on GNOME
The main Ubuntu Desktop 26.04 download uses GNOME 50. GNOME’s overview, dock, Activities search, workspaces, and keyboard-oriented navigation produce a different rhythm from a traditional Mint desktop. Ubuntu also lists official flavors for people who want another desktop while staying in the Ubuntu family; those flavors should be treated as separate interface choices rather than as proof that the main Desktop edition behaves like Mint.
Ubuntu’s release notes date 26.04 to 23 April 2026 and state that standard support runs until April 2031. The Ubuntu Desktop download page identifies 26.04.1 LTS as the latest LTS shown on that page and says LTS releases receive five years of free security and maintenance updates. Optional Ubuntu Pro coverage can extend security maintenance, but that is separate from the standard five-year period. Details and dates are in the Ubuntu 26.04 release notes.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesLinux Mint vs Ubuntu: which is better for a beginner?
There is no evidence here for a universal “best for beginners” ranking. A beginner who expects a Windows-style panel, menu, taskbar, and system tray may understand Cinnamon quickly; another beginner may find GNOME’s Activities view and workspaces clearer. The decisive factor is which layout matches the person’s prior experience and the instructions they will follow.
Choose Mint first when these describe you
- You want to pick among Cinnamon, MATE, and Xfce instead of accepting one default desktop.
- You prefer a traditional panel-and-menu arrangement and want Mint’s own desktop integration.
- You are comfortable with a support horizon ending in April 2029 for the current 22.3 release.
- You are moving from Windows and want familiar task-switching and tray conventions, while accepting that Linux applications and settings still differ.
Choose Ubuntu Desktop first when these describe you
- You want the GNOME 50 desktop used by the main 26.04 Desktop edition.
- You want the stated standard support date of April 2031 rather than Mint 22.3’s April 2029 date.
- You are following documentation, training, or workplace procedures written specifically for Ubuntu Desktop.
- You prefer to start with Ubuntu’s main edition and consider an official flavor only if the default desktop does not suit you.
For either choice, “beginner-friendly” also depends on whether the applications you need have Linux versions, whether your hardware has working drivers, and whether you can get help from someone familiar with your selected desktop.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Which is better for an old laptop?
Do not decide from the distribution name alone. Mint publishes a lower general memory recommendation than Ubuntu’s 26.04 Desktop page, but the figures are not comparable benchmark results and do not establish that Mint is faster.
| Published figure | Linux Mint FAQ | Ubuntu Desktop 26.04 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Not stated on the cited general FAQ figures | 2 GHz dual-core processor or better |
| Memory | 2 GB; 4 GB recommended for comfortable use | 6 GB system memory |
| Storage | 20 GB; 100 GB recommended for comfortable use | 25 GB free hard-drive space |
| Display | 1024×768 | Not stated in the cited figures |
The Mint numbers come from its official FAQ. Ubuntu’s numbers are on its 26.04 download information and release notes. “Minimum” or general requirement language does not describe how many browser tabs, video calls, extensions, or background services a machine can handle.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How to evaluate an older computer
- Record the exact model, processor, installed RAM, storage type and free space, graphics hardware, wireless adapter, and screen resolution.
- List the devices that must work: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, webcam, speakers, microphone, printer, external monitor, fingerprint reader, and suspend/resume.
- List the applications that cannot be replaced. Check whether each has a native Linux release, a supported web version, or a dependable alternative before erasing the current system.
- Try a live session from installation media when practical. Test wireless networking, audio input and output, video playback, display brightness, sleep and wake, and the peripherals you actually use.
- Choose the desktop that remains responsive and understandable on that hardware. If Ubuntu’s main GNOME desktop feels too heavy or unfamiliar, investigate an official Ubuntu flavor or a Mint MATE/Xfce edition rather than assuming every Ubuntu-based desktop behaves the same.
A live session is a risk-reduction step, not a guarantee of long-term performance. Disk encryption, updates, application workload, and the condition of an older hard drive can change the installed system’s behavior.
Will Linux Mint or Ubuntu work on my computer?
Published requirements can tell you whether a computer is in the general range, but compatibility is device-specific. Graphics acceleration, wireless firmware, audio codecs, touchpads, card readers, printers, and suspend support can vary even between two laptops with similar processors.
Use this pre-install checklist
- Back up personal files to another drive or a trusted cloud destination.
- Check whether the computer boots in UEFI mode and whether its firmware has a boot-menu key.
- Confirm that you have a way to restore the current operating system if the experiment fails.
- Check proprietary application and hardware requirements, including software needed for work, school, accessibility, or specialized peripherals.
- Test the live environment before making changes to internal storage.
If a device fails in the live session, search for a documented driver or firmware solution for the exact model before installing. If it works in the live session but fails after installation, compare the installed system’s updates and graphics-driver choices with the live environment and keep a recovery path available.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How much RAM does Linux Mint need?
Linux Mint’s FAQ lists 2 GB of RAM and recommends 4 GB for comfortable use. It also lists 20 GB of disk space, recommends 100 GB for comfortable use, and specifies a 1024×768 display resolution. These are Mint’s general published figures, not a promise of a particular number of browser tabs or applications.
On a machine with only 2 GB, leave room for the desktop, browser, updates, and swap activity. A modern browser with several media-heavy tabs can become the limiting factor even when the operating system itself starts successfully. More RAM, an SSD instead of a mechanical disk, and fewer simultaneous background tasks can matter more to perceived responsiveness than the distribution label.
How much RAM does Ubuntu need?
Ubuntu Desktop 26.04 lists 6 GB of system memory, a 2 GHz dual-core processor or better, and 25 GB of free storage. Ubuntu’s release notes say lower-spec systems may still be installable and suggest considering an Ubuntu flavor in that situation. Treat the 6 GB figure as the published baseline for the 26.04 Desktop edition, not as a measurement of every Ubuntu flavor.
If your computer has less memory, test the exact edition you plan to install. GNOME extensions, browser tabs, video conferencing, virtual machines, and large development tools can all raise the practical requirement above the published baseline.
Which support timeline should you choose?
Mint’s current 22.x timeline
Linux Mint’s release listing gives Mint 22.3 “Zena” support through April 2029. The same listing shows Mint 22, 22.1, and 22.2 with that support horizon. Mint 21.x releases are shown through April 2027, so downloading an older image shortens the remaining support period even when the major series is still supported.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Ubuntu’s 26.04 LTS timeline
Ubuntu states that 26.04 LTS receives standard security and maintenance updates through April 2031. Ubuntu Pro can provide optional extended security maintenance, described in the release notes as ten years of coverage with Pro; that extension is not the same as the free standard-support period.
Support dates are properties of specific releases, not permanent properties of Mint or Ubuntu. Recheck the publisher’s release pages when planning a new installation, a hardware refresh, or an in-place upgrade.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to install and test your choice safely
Create installation media
Ubuntu’s official instructions describe downloading an ISO, writing it to a bootable USB flash drive with an image writer, and booting the computer from that drive. The same download guidance identifies USB or DVD as installer media. See the current instructions on the Ubuntu Desktop download page.
- Download the ISO for the exact edition you selected.
- Use an image-writing utility to write the ISO to a USB flash drive or use DVD media where supported. Writing the image normally erases the target media, so copy off anything important first.
- Restart the computer and open its one-time boot menu or firmware settings.
- Select the USB or DVD, then choose the live-session option when offered.
- Test networking, graphics, sound, camera, suspend, external displays, and other essential devices.
- Only after the tests and backup are complete, start the installer and select the storage layout you intend to use.
A generic USB flash drive for the installer is optional; you may already have suitable USB or DVD media. No particular brand, speed class, or capacity is established by the installation instructions.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →When Mint is your selection
Mint’s release listing provides downloadable Cinnamon, MATE, and Xfce editions. Choose the edition first, then use the current installation guidance supplied with that release. Do not assume that every Ubuntu installation screen or option has the same label in Mint; the documented USB-writing process cited above is specifically Ubuntu’s.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
What software and workflow differences matter after installation?
Desktop navigation
Mint’s Cinnamon, MATE, and Xfce sessions generally present conventional desktop controls, but they are not identical to one another. Ubuntu’s GNOME session organizes applications and workspaces through the Activities overview and dock. Spend a few minutes opening applications, switching windows, connecting a network, changing display settings, and finding update controls before deciding which workflow you want to maintain for years.
Application availability
Both systems provide access to a large Linux software ecosystem, but a particular commercial application may support one distribution release, a universal package format, a web browser, or none of these. Check the developer’s system requirements for the exact application and version you need. If your work depends on a Windows-only program, plan for a supported web service, a replacement, remote access, or a separate Windows installation before choosing either Linux distribution.
Help and documentation
Ubuntu’s longer 26.04 standard-support date may matter to organizations that want a single documented release for a longer period. Mint’s interface choices may matter more to a household that wants a familiar desktop or a lighter edition. In both cases, support quality depends on the exact release and desktop, not just the name on the ISO.
A decision framework: which one should you install?
- Pick the interface. Choose Mint Cinnamon, MATE, or Xfce if one of those workflows fits you; choose Ubuntu Desktop if GNOME 50 is the layout you want.
- Check the support date. Mint 22.3 runs to April 2029; Ubuntu 26.04 LTS runs to April 2031 under standard support.
- Compare your computer with the correct figures. Mint lists 2 GB RAM and 20 GB storage minimum figures, with higher comfortable-use recommendations; Ubuntu Desktop 26.04 lists 6 GB memory, a 2 GHz dual-core processor, and 25 GB free storage.
- Verify devices in a live session. Pay particular attention to wireless, graphics, audio, suspend, cameras, printers, and external displays.
- Verify applications and recovery. Confirm critical software, back up files, and keep a way to restore the existing system.
- Install the newest supported release you have selected. Avoid an older image unless you have a specific compatibility reason and understand its shorter remaining support window.
If all six checks point in the same direction, that distribution is the sensible choice for your computer. If they conflict, prioritize hardware compatibility and required applications over brand loyalty or generalized claims about ease of use.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

