The HONOR Play20C appears to be the global counterpart to the HONOR X5d s, but HONOR has not explicitly confirmed that the two names refer to the same model. Their core design and specifications overlap, including a 2.01-inch rear screen and a 6,000mAh typical-capacity battery. The clearest listed hardware difference is configuration-specific: the Play20C’s 4GB/128GB version uses a UNISOC T615, while other Play20C storage versions and the South African X5d s specification list a T610.
Is the HONOR Play20C the global version of the X5d s?
That is how Gizmochina characterized the Play20C in an October 6, 2026 report, saying it “looks like” the global version of the X5d s. HONOR’s regional product pages show substantial overlap, but none of the cited HONOR pages expressly declares the model names equivalent. It is more accurate to call the Play20C the reported global counterpart, rather than an officially confirmed rename.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The distinction matters when checking a listing: names, specifications and availability can be market-specific. The X5d s specifications cited here are from HONOR South Africa, while the Play20C details come from HONOR Ireland and Mexico.
What is the chipset difference?
It depends on the Play20C storage configuration, not simply on which phone name is printed on the box.
#1 Best Overall
- For USA Buyers: Only work with T-Mobile in the US, as it is not optimized for Verizon and AT&T. This means that as long as there's T-Mobile coverage, it'll work. For Intentional Buyers: Work outside of the USA with any network provider without any restrictions.
- Inner screen: 7.95 inch, 2352 x 2172 Pixels, foldable OLED, 1.07 billion colors
- External screen: 6.52 inch, 2420 x 1080 Pixels, OLED, 1.07 billion colors
- 512GB Storage, 16GB RAM
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (Gen 5) Mobile Platform, Adreno 840
- HONOR Play20C, 4GB/128GB: UNISOC T615, according to HONOR’s Ireland product information; HONOR Mexico also identifies T615 for this configuration.
- Other Play20C storage versions: UNISOC T610, according to HONOR Ireland.
- HONOR X5d s: UNISOC T610 in HONOR South Africa’s specifications.
So the T615 difference applies to the Play20C 4GB/128GB tier; it is not a blanket upgrade across every Play20C. The available sources do not establish a measured performance advantage for T615 over T610, so the chipset names alone are not a basis for claiming the 4GB/128GB phone is faster in real use.
How do their screens and battery compare?
Both models are listed with a 6.78-inch main display and a 2.01-inch secondary display on the back. HONOR Ireland specifies the Play20C’s main display at 720 × 1576 pixels and up to 90Hz. HONOR Mexico gives the Play20C secondary-screen size, while HONOR South Africa lists the same 2.01-inch size for the X5d s.
Rank #2
- Network Compatibility: For USA Buyers - Only works with T-Mobile in the US, as it is not optimized for Verizon and AT&T. This means that as long as there's T-Mobile coverage, it'll work. For International Buyers - Works outside of the USA with any network provider without any restrictions
- Inner Display Specifications: 7.95 inch foldable OLED screen with 2352 x 2172 Pixels resolution and 1.07 billion colors for immersive viewing experience
- External Display Specifications: 6.52 inch OLED screen with 2420 x 1080 Pixels resolution and 1.07 billion colors for convenient access when folded
- Storage and Memory Capacity: 512GB internal storage with 16GB RAM for extensive app usage and multitasking performance
- Processor and Graphics: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (Gen 5) Mobile Platform with Adreno 840 GPU for high-performance computing and gaming
HONOR Ireland describes the Play20C rear screen as showing call alerts and media playback, with interaction controls. Those are the functions described by HONOR; the product information cited here does not establish a broader set of apps or capabilities.
HONOR Ireland lists a 6,000mAh typical battery capacity for the Play20C and a rated capacity of 5,850mAh. These are capacity specifications, not a battery-life test. Launch coverage also associates the X5d s with the same battery family specification, but the figures should not be read as a guarantee of equal runtime.
Rank #3
- Factory Unlocked Compatibility: USA & Rest of the World, In USA Unlocked only for T-Mobile (GSM) and excluding Verizon, Sprint, US Cellular, No CDMA / Dual SIM (Nano-SIM slot 4FF, eSIM), Networks: 2G GSM, 3G, 4G LTE, 5G
- Display Specifications: 6.71 inches, OLED, FHD+ 1256 x 2808, 1.07 billion colors
- Storage and Memory: 1TB Storage, 16GB RAM
- Processor and Graphics: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (Gen 5) Mobile Platform, Adreno 840
- Connectivity Features: Bluetooth 6.0, Wi-Fi, NFC
Which camera specification is correct?
The cited HONOR regional pages conflict, so a single rear-camera resolution cannot be stated confidently for every Play20C market version. HONOR Ireland’s Play20C parameter section lists 13MP; HONOR Mexico’s Play20C specifications list 50MP; HONOR South Africa lists 50MP for the X5d s. Check the specification page for the country and exact SKU you are considering rather than assuming one number applies worldwide.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Do colors and availability differ by country?
HONOR’s Ireland Play20C page lists Sunrise Gold, Forest Green and Midnight Black. Its South Africa X5d s page lists Forest Green and Midnight Black. Product colors can vary by market, and the pages do not establish that every listed color is sold in every country.
Rank #4
- Factory Unlocked (USA & Rest of the World), In USA Unlocked only for T-Mobile (GSM) and excluding Verizon, Sprint, US Cellular, No CDMA / Dual SIM (Nano-SIM slot 4FF, eSIM), Networks: 2G GSM, 3G, 4G LTE, 5G
- 6.71 inches, OLED, FHD+ 1256 x 2808, 1.07 billion colors
- 1TB Storage, 16GB RAM
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (Gen 5) Mobile Platform, Adreno 840
- Bluetooth 6.0, Wi-Fi, NFC
Gizmochina reported on October 6, 2026 that HONOR had listed the Play20C on its global site and that a 4GB/64GB version was listed in Nigeria at NGN 149,900. The report said rollout in other markets was unconfirmed. That dated price is not a guarantee of current stock or current pricing; check HONOR or an authorized local seller for availability in your country.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- For USA Buyers: This Smartphone is not compatible/will not work with any CDMA Networks including: VERIZON, SPRINT, US CELLULAR. Please check with your network provider for 3G or 4G/LTE compatibility check before you purchase.
- Dual-SIM, Network Compatibility, SIM CARD 1 AND 2 [2G : GSM 850/ 900/ 1800/ 1900and/or3G : HSDPA 850(B5) / 900(B8) / 1900(B2) / 2100(B1)and/or4G : LTE and/or5G : SA/NSA/Sub6]
- 6.78 inches, AMOLED, 1224 x 2700 pixels
- 256GB Storage, 12GB RAM
- Android 14, Qualcomm SM6450 Snapdragon 6 Gen 1 (4 nm), Octa-core (4x2.2 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x1.8 GHz Cortex-A55)
HONOR Play20C and X5d s specifications at a glance
| Specification | HONOR Play20C | HONOR X5d s |
|---|---|---|
| Model relationship | Reported by Gizmochina as appearing to be the global counterpart; HONOR has not explicitly confirmed equivalence. | Comparison model on HONOR South Africa’s regional product page. |
| Processor | T615 on 4GB/128GB; T610 on other storage versions, per HONOR Ireland. | T610, per HONOR South Africa. |
| Main display | 6.78 inches, 720 × 1576 pixels, up to 90Hz, per HONOR Ireland. | 6.78 inches, per HONOR South Africa; resolution and refresh rate not stated on the cited page. |
| Rear display | 2.01 inches, per HONOR Mexico; rear-screen functions described by HONOR Ireland. | 2.01 inches, per HONOR South Africa. |
| Battery | 6,000mAh typical; 5,850mAh rated, per HONOR Ireland. | Same battery family specification reported in launch coverage; a separate rated capacity is not stated in the cited X5d s specification. |
| Rear camera | 13MP on HONOR Ireland’s page; 50MP on HONOR Mexico’s page. Regional pages conflict. | 50MP, per HONOR South Africa. |
| Listed colors | Sunrise Gold, Forest Green, Midnight Black, per HONOR Ireland. | Forest Green, Midnight Black, per HONOR South Africa. |
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

