It can be worth buying if your child already enjoys Harry Potter and likes story-driven adventure games built around puzzles. LEGO Harry Potter Collection combines LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1–4 and LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5–7, covering all eight film stories, and includes the Character Pack and Spell Pack DLC. The main cautions are the ESRB’s E10+ rating for Cartoon Violence and Crude Humor, the need to match the edition to your hardware, and the fact that the only clearly published price is a historical launch reference rather than a current deal.
What LEGO Harry Potter Collection includes
This is a two-game bundle rather than a single short adventure. The first game covers the stories associated with films one through four; the second covers films five through eight. Together, they provide a continuous LEGO-style retelling of the complete Harry Potter film series.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Included item | What it covers | Why it matters to a parent |
|---|---|---|
| LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1–4 | The first four film stories | A child can begin at the start of the story and progress in order. |
| LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5–7 | The final four film stories | The collection continues through the conclusion, but it also reaches later story events and potential spoilers. |
| Character Pack DLC | Additional playable character content | It is part of the collection’s advertised bundle contents; confirm that the specific edition you are buying includes it. |
| Spell Pack DLC | Additional spell content | It is included in the advertised collection, subject to edition and storefront details. |
Warner Bros. Games describes the collection as including both games and the two DLC packs. The practical value is convenience: one purchase can provide the complete eight-film game journey instead of asking a parent to locate two separate titles and then check whether add-on content is included.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →How the games play
The core format is an adventure game with puzzle-solving rather than a competitive sports or reflex-focused experience. Official descriptions highlight spell-casting, potion-making and puzzles. Those elements give the child a mixture of exploration, interaction with the environment and story progression.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Spell-casting and character abilities
Spells are part of the game’s interaction system. In practical terms, that means the child is expected to notice where a magical ability may help, try it and continue experimenting when a path is blocked. The included Spell Pack adds more spell-related content, but the official materials do not establish how much additional play time it provides.
Potion-making
Potion-making adds another type of activity beyond direct wand use. It can appeal to children who enjoy collecting ingredients, following a sequence and seeing an action produce a result. The available descriptions do not promise a particular difficulty level, so parents should not assume that every child will manage the puzzles without help.
Puzzles and exploration
Puzzle-solving is a central reason to choose this collection over a passive film tie-in. A child has to inspect the environment, identify an interaction and use the appropriate ability. That structure can be satisfying for children who like working things out, but a child who wants a very linear game with little experimentation may become frustrated.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteOfficial descriptions establish the presence of these systems, not a guaranteed educational or developmental benefit. Treat the game as entertainment with problem-solving elements, not as a substitute for a learning program.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What age is it suitable for?
The Entertainment Software Rating Board rates LEGO Harry Potter Collection E10+ for Everyone 10 and older, with the content descriptors Cartoon Violence and Crude Humor. The rating is a useful starting point, not a rule that determines readiness for every child.
What the ESRB describes
The ESRB rating summary identifies magical combat with creatures and wand duels. It also notes that LEGO characters can break apart when defeated and includes a crude-humor sequence. The rating summary states: “LEGO Harry Potter Collection is rated E10+ for Everyone 10+ by the ESRB with Cartoon Violence and Crude Humor.”
These details matter because a child may react differently to stylized LEGO combat than to realistic violence. The presentation is cartoon-like, but the game still shows characters fighting and being defeated. A parent who avoids combat in children’s games should preview the material or choose a different type of game.
Questions to ask about your child
- Is your child comfortable watching or playing fantasy characters duel with wands?
- Will seeing defeated LEGO characters break into pieces be amusing, neutral or upsetting?
- Does your family consider the identified crude-humor sequence acceptable?
- Can your child stop or ask for help when a puzzle is confusing?
- Has your child encountered the Harry Potter story’s darker later events without becoming distressed?
The rating does not establish that every ten-year-old can play independently, nor does it establish that a younger child cannot enjoy the game with supervision. A child’s reading ability, familiarity with games, sensitivity to fantasy combat and tolerance for puzzles all affect the experience. Use the E10+ label and descriptors to start a household decision rather than treating them as a universal age recommendation.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How the story structure affects children
The collection follows the complete film storyline in two stages. Years 1–4 starts with the early school years; Years 5–7 continues into the final four films. That makes the bundle attractive for a child who wants one long journey, but it also means the second game contains story developments from the later films.
Consider spoilers
If your child is reading the books or watching the films for the first time, playing ahead may reveal characters, conflicts and outcomes before the child reaches them in another format. A parent can let the child finish the first game before beginning Years 5–7, or wait until the relevant films have been watched. The collection does not require a parent to play in that order, but the two-game structure makes the choice easy to manage.
Story familiarity and independence
Recognizing characters and locations may help a child understand what is happening, especially when the game moves quickly between scenes. However, familiarity with Harry Potter does not guarantee that a child will understand every objective or solve every puzzle alone. Official descriptions confirm the story and gameplay ingredients but do not provide a measure of independent-play difficulty.
Which platforms support the collection?
The remastered collection was announced for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and PC through Steam. Official storefront listings also show the game on PlayStation, Xbox and Steam. Platform catalogs can differ by country and can change, so check the exact product page for your region before paying.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Platform family | What is established | What to verify before checkout |
|---|---|---|
| PlayStation | An official PlayStation storefront listing exists; the remastered release was announced for PS5. | Confirm the console generation, edition name and whether your account region can purchase and download it. |
| Xbox | An official Xbox listing exists; the remastered release was announced for Xbox Series X|S. | Confirm whether the listing is for Series X|S, whether it runs on your household console and which account will own it. |
| PC | An official Steam listing exists. | Check the current Steam system requirements, supported operating system and available storage on the child’s computer. |
Do not assume that a disc, download code or older-console listing is interchangeable with the remastered collection. A product title that contains the same words may refer to a different release. Match the platform logo, edition description and included DLC on the specific listing you intend to buy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is the collection good value?
Warner Bros. Games gave the remastered collection a suggested retail price of $39.99 at its October 2024 launch. That is a historical publisher reference, not a statement of the price you should expect today. Digital discounts, regional pricing, physical availability and platform-specific promotions can change the amount.
The meaningful comparison is the collection against buying Years 1–4 and Years 5–7 separately. Current prices for the individual games were not established in the available official materials, so a parent should compare the live prices at the moment of purchase rather than relying on the launch figure.
| Purchase route | What you receive | Price information established | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Collection | Years 1–4, Years 5–7, Character Pack DLC and Spell Pack DLC, subject to the specific edition listing | $39.99 suggested retail price at the October 2024 launch; current price not stated | A family that wants both story games and prefers one transaction. |
| Years 1–4 separately | The first game only | Current price not stated in the available official materials | A child who has not yet decided whether the format suits them, or a parent who wants to begin with the earliest stories. |
| Years 5–7 separately | The second game only | Current price not stated in the available official materials | A child who already owns or has completed the first game and specifically wants the later stories. |
When comparing listings, check more than the headline amount. A cheaper separate title may omit one of the DLC packs, belong to another platform generation or cover only half of the film stories. Conversely, a discounted individual game can be the better choice if your child is uncertain about the format and you would rather test one portion first.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
A parent’s buying checklist
- Confirm interest. Make sure the child actually enjoys Harry Potter and is interested in exploration, spells, potions and puzzles. The bundle is less compelling for a child who wants only a short, action-heavy game or has no connection to the story.
- Read the rating details. Use the E10+ label, Cartoon Violence and Crude Humor descriptors, and the ESRB examples to decide whether the content fits your household.
- Choose the correct story timing. Decide whether the child should experience the films or books before playing the corresponding later chapters to avoid spoilers.
- Match the hardware. Verify PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S or Steam compatibility on the exact regional listing. Do not rely on a retailer’s shortened title alone.
- Check the bundle contents. Confirm that both Years 1–4 and Years 5–7 are listed and that the Character Pack and Spell Pack are included in that edition.
- Compare live prices. Treat the $39.99 figure as the October 2024 launch SRP only. Compare the current collection price with the two separate games and account for any edition or DLC differences.
- Plan for assistance. If the child is new to adventure games or easily frustrated by puzzles, be available to explain an objective or help identify what to try next. No official source establishes that every child can complete the game without help.
Who should buy it?
The collection is a strong candidate when
- The child already likes Harry Potter characters and wants to experience all eight film stories in game form.
- They enjoy solving environmental puzzles and experimenting with abilities rather than simply watching a story.
- Your household is comfortable with cartoon combat, wand duels, LEGO characters breaking apart when defeated and the ESRB-identified crude humor.
- You have a compatible PS5, Xbox Series X|S or PC, and the live bundle price is competitive with buying both games separately.
- You want the convenience of one package that advertises both games and two DLC packs.
Choose a different approach when
- The child is sensitive to any combat or to the visual effect of defeated characters breaking apart.
- You want a game with no crude humor, even in a cartoon context.
- The child has little interest in Harry Potter and would be unlikely to follow a story spanning eight films.
- Your hardware does not match the listed remastered platforms, or the local store does not clearly identify the edition.
- You are unsure whether the child likes this style of puzzle adventure and the separate first game is substantially cheaper than the bundle.
How to make the final decision
Start with content, not price. If the ESRB examples are outside your family’s comfort zone, a discount does not make the purchase suitable. If the content fits, ask whether the child wants a long, story-led adventure and whether the available hardware supports the exact release.
Next, decide how much of the story you want to make available at once. The collection’s main advantage is completeness: both games cover the entire film sequence, and the advertised DLC is included. That advantage matters most when the child already knows the series and wants a substantial amount of themed play. If the child is only curious, beginning with Years 1–4 separately can limit the initial commitment, provided the current listing and price make that sensible.
Finally, use the live store information to settle value. The October 2024 $39.99 SRP can help identify what the publisher originally positioned as the standard price, but it cannot tell you whether today’s digital or physical offer is good. Verify the current amount, platform, region, edition and DLC line by line. With those checks complete, the collection is a reasonable family purchase for a Harry Potter fan who enjoys puzzles and accepts the E10+ content.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

