The right fast charger for an iPhone depends on the exact model, charging method and protocol—not simply the biggest wattage printed on an adapter. iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max need a 60W-capable USB-C cable and an adapter rated at least 60W with Adjustable Voltage Supply (AVS); Apple’s third-party guidance specifies USB Power Delivery (USB-PD) 3.2. iPhone 17 models have a lower requirement, while iPhone 17e and iPhone Air can reach Apple’s stated target with 20W or more.
Apple’s charging-time figures are approximate manufacturer tests, not guarantees for every charger or situation. Use the model-by-model requirements below to choose a compatible adapter, cable and either wired or MagSafe setup.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What “fast charging” means on an iPhone
Fast charging is a combination of the phone’s charging circuitry, the adapter’s sustained power, the negotiated USB protocol, the cable and operating conditions. A charger marked 60W can provide more power than an iPhone needs, but that label alone does not prove it supports the voltage negotiation Apple specifies for newer models.
USB Power Delivery (USB-PD) is the protocol Apple identifies for compatible third-party USB-C adapters. Adjustable Voltage Supply (AVS) is a newer capability that lets a compliant adapter offer voltage levels selected during the charging negotiation. For iPhone 18 Pro models, Apple calls for both AVS and USB-PD; for third-party comparisons, its fast-charge page names USB-PD 3.2 specifically. Apple’s testing note describes wired fast charging with a 60W-capable USB-C cable and USB-PD 3.1-or-better adapters with AVS. Those are related statements: the general test note says PD 3.1 or better, while the third-party requirement on the fast-charge page is the more specific PD 3.2 threshold.
#1 Best Overall
- 【20W PD 3.0 Fast Charger】20W PD 3.0 fast charger and 10ft USB-C to C cable, charge iPhone 18 17 16 15 to 50% in half an hour, which is 3× faster than with an original 5W charger
- 【Superior Safety】iPhone fast charger block equipped with a wide range of safety features, including temperature control, short circuit protection and current regulation to protect your connected devices and maximize the life of your device
- 【Widely Compatibility】USB-C charger block offers 20W fast charging for iPhone 18 Pro/18 Pro Max/Duo/17/17 Pro/17 Pro Max/Air, iPhone 16/16 Pro/16 Pro Max/16 Plus, iPhone 15/15 Pro/15 Pro Max/15 Plus, 2022/2021/2020/2018 iPad Pro 12.9/11 inch 6th/5th/4th/3rd, iPad 10th Generation, iPad Air 5th/4th, iPad Mini 6
- 【10FT USB C Cable】With the intelligent chip USB-C to C cable, friendly reversible design, charging speed max up to 20V/3A, also support 480 Mbp/s fast data transmission. 10ft length can give you more space to move while charging
- 【What you get】2-pack 20W USB-C wall charger and 10ft Type C cable. We offer 2-year warranty and 7 x 24 hours friendly customer service. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us
For older iPhones, Apple’s requirement is simpler: an Apple USB-C adapter rated 18W or higher, or a comparable USB-C adapter that supports USB-PD. Always identify the exact phone before buying, because connector and power requirements change by generation.
Apple’s official requirements and test notes are in Fast charge your iPhone and the iPhone power-adapter guide.
Model-by-model wired charging requirements
The table separates Apple’s stated adapter requirements from the approximate charging targets reported under Apple’s test conditions.
Rank #2
- 20W High-Speed Charging: Enjoy fast charging with 20W max output for your iPhone, Samsung phones, and other devices.
- Simultaneous Dual-Port Charging: With the ability to use USB-C and USB-A ports simultaneously, power two devices at once without compromising speed or performance.
- Small and Compact: Designed with portability in mind, take the compact charger with you wherever you go, ensuring that you never run out of power when you need it the most.
- Safety Features You Can Trust: Anker's proprietary system includes overvoltage protection, temperature control, and other safety features designed to help safeguard your devices while charging.
- What You Get: Anker Charger (2-Port, 20W), 2-pack 5 ft USB-C to USB-C cable, welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| iPhone model | Apple’s approximate wired target | Adapter requirement | Cable and protocol details |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max | Around 50% in around 15 minutes | Apple 40W Dynamic Power Adapter with 60W Max, or a comparable adapter rated 60W or greater with AVS | Included USB-C cable rated 60W or more. Apple’s third-party guidance specifies USB-PD 3.2; its testing note says USB-PD 3.1 or better with AVS. |
| iPhone 17, iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro Max | Around 50% in around 20 minutes | Adapter rated 40W or higher. Apple’s adapter guide recommends 40W continuous sustained output and up to 60W maximum output, with AVS output combinations and a USB-C port. | Use a suitable USB-C cable and confirm the adapter’s USB-PD and AVS specifications when comparing third-party models. |
| iPhone 17e and iPhone Air | Around 50% in around 30 minutes | Adapter rated 20W or higher | Use the cable supplied for the phone or another compatible cable; the cited Apple guidance does not state a special 60W cable requirement for these models. |
| iPhone 15 and later models not listed above | Not stated in the cited guidance | Apple USB-C adapter rated 18W or higher, or a comparable USB-C adapter supporting USB-PD | These models use a USB-C cable. Confirm the exact model before selecting an adapter. |
| iPhone 14 and earlier | Not stated in the cited guidance | Apple USB-C adapter rated 18W or higher, or a comparable USB-C adapter supporting USB-PD | Earlier models can use a USB-C-to-Lightning cable rather than USB-C-to-USB-C. |
The 15-, 20- and 30-minute figures are Apple’s approximate results, not independent tests of every third-party adapter. Apple says its tests used preproduction phones and drained units, and that results vary with the adapter, settings, use and environmental conditions.
How Apple, USB-PD and AVS chargers differ
Apple-branded adapters
Apple’s own 40W Dynamic Power Adapter with 60W Max is a named option for iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max. It gives you a reference point for the power class Apple expects, but the adapter’s name does not eliminate the need for a 60W-capable cable. For iPhone 17 family models, Apple’s guide describes a 40W continuous sustained output and up to 60W maximum output as recommended characteristics for comparable adapters.
USB-PD without documented AVS
USB-PD compatibility is important, but a USB-PD label by itself is not enough to establish the newest iPhone 18 Pro requirement. If a product lists wattage and USB-PD but does not state AVS, you cannot verify from the label that it meets Apple’s stated specification. It may still charge the phone, but do not represent it as meeting the 60W AVS requirement without evidence.
Rank #3
- 【45W iPhone 18 17 Pro Max Charger Fast Charging】:Duloch 45W iPhone 18 17 Fast Charger USB C Block with 10ft extra long USB C to USB C fast charger cable cord provide Max 45W output power, charge your iPhone 18 17 Pro Max/iPhone Duo up to 70% in just 30mins, 6X faster than the original 20W USB C charger
- 【10FT USB C iPhone 18 17 Charger Cable Cord】:Duloch iPhone 18 17 Pro Max Charger with 10 ft Long type c to c charging cable cord supports PD 3.0 fast charging speed max up to 20V/5A (100W), The cable's reversible design allows for effortless plug-in, while enabling efficient 480Mbps data syncing. With its generous 10FT length, you'll move your device around while keeping your device powered up.(Not compatible with iPhone 14/13/12/11)
- 【iPhone 18 17 Pro Max Charger Fast Charging Compatibility】:Extra-long iPhone 18/iPhone Duo USB C charger cable cord is perfectly compatible for iPhone 18 Pro Max/18 Pro/Duo/17 Pro Max/17 Pro/17 Air/17, iPhone 16 Pro Max,/ iPhone 16 Pro/ iPhone 16/ iPhone 16 Plus, also for iPhone 15/ iPhone 15 Plus/ iPhone 15 Pro/ iPhone 15 Pro Max, iPad Pro 11 inch 4th/ 3rd/ 2nd/ 1st, iPad Air 5/4th, iPad Mini 6th, iPad 10th Generation. And Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra/S24+/S24/S23.(Not compatible with iPhone 14/13/12/11)
- 【Safety and Reliable iPhone 18 17 Charger Block】: Our USB C iPhone 18 17 charger fast charging prioritizes safety with its comprehensive protection system, guarding against over-voltage, over-charge, and over-heating. Equipped with advanced smart chips, it intelligently adjusts the current to match your device's needs, guaranteeing a rapid and secure charging process for your iPhone 18/17 series.
- 【What You Get】: 2 X 45W iPhone 18/17 Pro Max charger, 2 X 10FT iPhone 18 17 usb c to usb c charging cable. 18-month worry guarantee. if you have any questions, please contact us, We promise to solve your problems within 24 Hours. (Please note: About 80% Limit: With iPhone 16/15 models, to choose between Optimised Battery Charging, 80% Limit and None, go to Settings > Battery > Battery Health & Charging > Charging Optimisation and Choose to cancel charging optimization to lift the 80% limit)
USB-PD with AVS
For iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, look for all three elements in the specification: at least 60W output, AVS and USB-PD 3.2 for the third-party requirement Apple lists. Also check that the USB-C cable is rated for 60W or more. For iPhone 17 models, Apple’s guide likewise identifies AVS output combinations, alongside the 40W continuous recommendation and 60W maximum figure.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Why sustained output matters
Maximum output is often a peak value, while continuous sustained output describes what the adapter can maintain. Apple distinguishes those figures in its iPhone 17 adapter guidance. A charger advertising 60W maximum but offering a lower sustained output may not match the intended performance profile. Compare both values when a specification provides them.
Choosing a charger step by step
- Identify the phone. Open Settings > General > About and note the model name. Do not rely only on the phone’s screen size or purchase year.
- Choose wired or wireless charging. Wired USB-C charging uses the model-specific requirements in the table. MagSafe has separate adapter recommendations and different Apple timing targets.
- Read the adapter specification. Check for a USB-C port, the required wattage, USB-PD support and, for the newest models, AVS. For iPhone 18 Pro models, confirm 60W or greater and USB-PD 3.2 in addition to AVS.
- Match the cable. iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max require a 60W-capable USB-C cable for Apple’s stated wired fast-charge setup. iPhone 15 and later use USB-C; earlier iPhones can require USB-C-to-Lightning.
- Check sustained and maximum figures. For iPhone 17 models, prefer the 40W continuous and up-to-60W maximum characteristics Apple lists rather than judging by a peak wattage alone.
- Connect directly and observe the result. Use the adapter’s USB-C port and watch the battery percentage over the first 15, 20 or 30 minutes. Treat the result as an observation under your conditions, not a guarantee that the same time will occur every charge.
Wired versus MagSafe charging
MagSafe is a separate wireless path, so do not apply the wired AVS and cable rules to it. Apple’s current guidance gives iPhone 18 Pro models an approximate MagSafe target of 50% in around 30 minutes with a 35W-or-higher adapter.
Rank #4
- 45W USB C iPhone 18 17 Pro Max Duo Charger: This Auorld usb c charger block adopts latest PPS(Programmable Power Supply) fast charging technology to provide maximum power of 45W, can charge iPhone Duo 18 Pro Max up to 50% within 15 minutes, 30% faster than the original 20W USB C charger
- iPhone Charger Fast Charging Cord: 45W usb c super fast charger block provide fast charge for iPhone Duo/18/17/16/15 Pro Max,iPhone 18/17/16/15 Pro, iPhone 17/16/15, iPhone Air,iPad Pro 12.9”11”, iPad Air 5/4th, iPad 10th generation, iPad Mini 6, Google Pixel 7 Pro/7/7a/6a/6 Pro/6/5a/5/4a 5G/4a/4/4 XL/3a/3a XL, and more USB-C Devices. Please note: it NOT compatible with iPhone 14/13/12/11
- 10FT Long iPhone Charger: The iPhone 18 17 16 Pro Max Charger with 10 ft Long usb c to c charging cable cord supports PD 3.0 fast charging speed max up to 20V/3A (100W), also support 480Mbps Sync/Data transfer speed; and the 10-Foot length long enough to be convenient to charge your device anywhere
- USB C iPhone 18 17 16 Pro Max Charger: This 45 Watt usbc super fast charging block multiple built-in safeguards protect your devices against damage caused by short circuit, over-current, over-voltage, over-heating, and over-charging issues. Automatically stops charging when battery capacity is full to ensure your device safety and longevity
- What Your Get: 2 pack Auorld USB C iPhone 18 17 16 15 Charger Block + 2 pack 10ft usb c to c fast charging cable(This will not work for iphone 14/13/12/11 series) .If you have any questions,Please don’t hesitate to contact us and we promise to solve your problems timely
| Phone group | Apple’s stated MagSafe adapter requirement | Approximate target where stated |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max | 35W or higher | Around 50% in around 30 minutes |
| iPhone 16, iPhone 17 and iPhone Air | 30W or higher Apple USB-C adapter or comparable USB-PD adapter | Not stated in the cited guidance |
| iPhone 15 and earlier | 20W or higher Apple USB-C adapter or comparable USB-PD adapter | Not stated in the cited guidance |
Wireless charging can therefore use a different adapter threshold from wired charging. If your priority is the shortest cable-connected charging time, compare the wired requirements; if convenience and alignment matter more, evaluate the MagSafe requirement for your model.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why your iPhone may charge more slowly
The adapter lacks the required protocol
A high-wattage label does not prove AVS or the required USB-PD version. Recheck the technical specification, especially for iPhone 18 Pro models.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →The cable is under-rated or the connector is wrong
A 60W-capable adapter paired with a cable that is not rated for 60W does not reproduce Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro test setup. Likewise, an iPhone that uses Lightning needs a USB-C-to-Lightning cable rather than a USB-C-to-USB-C cable.
Best Value
- 【45W iPhone Duo 18 17 16 15 Pro Max & Samsung Charger Type C 】 :The 45W iPhone Duo 18 17 16 15 Pro Max and Samsung Fast Charger USB C Block With the 60W 3ft+6ft+10ft+10ft extra long USB C to USB C Fast Charger cable provides a maximum 45W output power, charging the iPhone 18 Pro Max up to 70% in 30 minutes, six times faster than the original 20W USB C charger. And the 45W charger uses a two-port design, two ports can quickly charge two devices at the same time, up to 45W, up to 45W when a single device is connected.
- 【60W USB C iPhone Duo 18 17 16 15 Pro Max & Samsung Charging Cable】 :The iPhone Duo 18 17 16 15 Pro Max charger comes with a 3foot+6foot+10foot+10-foot long C-to-C charging cable that supports PD 3.0 fast charging speeds up to 20V/5A (100W), and the reversible design of the cable allows for easy insertion, It also achieves efficient 480Mbps data synchronization. It's 10 feet long, and you can move your device while keeping it powered up.
- 【Safe and reliable iPhone Duo 18 17 16 15 Pro Max & Samsung Charger block】:Our USB C iPhone Duo 18 17 16 15 Pro Max and Samsung charger Fast charging prioritizes safety with its comprehensive protection system to prevent overvoltage, overcharge, and overheating. Equipped with advanced smart chips, intelligent current regulation to meet your device needs, ensure your Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra/iPhone Duo/ iPhone 18 pro max/iPhone 17/ iPhone16/ iphone15 fast and safe charging process.
- 【45W charger Fast charging compatibility 】 : Extra long iPhone Duo iPhone 18 pro max iPhone 17 iPhone 16 iPhone 15 USB C charger cable is fully compatible with iPhone Duo/iPhone 18 Pro/iPhone 18 Pro max/iPhone 17/iPhone 17 Pro/iPhone 17 Pro Max/iPhone Air/iPhone 16 Pro Max / iPhone 16 Pro/ iPhone 16/ iPhone 16 Plus, Also available for iPhone 15/ iPhone 15 Plus/ iPhone 15 Pro/ iPhone 15 Pro Max, iPad Pro 11 inch 4/3/2/1, iPad Air 5/4, iPad Mini 6, iPhone 15 Pro Max iPad 10. And Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra/S26 +/S26/Galaxy S25 Ultra/Galaxy S24 Ultra/S24+/S24/S23 Ultra/ S23+/S23/S22 Ultra/ S22+/S22/S21 5G, S21+ 5G.
- 【What you can get 】: 2 Pack 45W iPhone Duo/18/17/16 /15 Pro Max and Samsung Fast Charger & 4 Pack 3/6/10/10FT iPhone 16 usb c to usb c Charging Cable. 18 months worry-free guarantee.If you have any questions, please contact us and we promise to solve your problem within 24 hours.
The phone is too hot or too cold
Apple warns that fast charging might not work when the device is too cold or too hot. Move it to a normal indoor temperature, stop demanding tasks and try again after conditions stabilize.
Usage and settings changed the result
Apple says charging time varies with adapter, settings, use and environmental factors. Screen activity, background work and different adapter behavior can make one session slower than another. Compare sessions only when the phone, cable, adapter and usage are similar.
The comparison treats a target as a guarantee
“Around 50%” is an approximate manufacturer target. Apple’s figures come from tests with preproduction phones and drained units; they are not a promise that every retail phone reaches the same percentage at the exact minute shown.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →What to look for on a third-party charger listing
- Correct port: USB-C for the wired setups described here.
- Required power: 60W or more for the iPhone 18 Pro family, 40W or more for iPhone 17 family models, and 20W or more for iPhone 17e and iPhone Air.
- Protocol: USB-PD; add AVS where Apple specifies it.
- Version: iPhone 18 Pro third-party comparisons should state USB-PD 3.2, while Apple’s testing note uses USB-PD 3.1 or better with AVS.
- Sustained output: Particularly important for iPhone 17 recommendations, where Apple lists 40W continuous sustained output and up to 60W maximum output.
- Cable rating: At least 60W for the iPhone 18 Pro wired setup.
If a listing omits AVS, USB-PD version or cable capability, mark that information as unknown instead of inferring compliance from the wattage number.
Bottom line: match the specification, not the biggest number
For iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, choose a 60W-or-higher AVS USB-PD charger—Apple specifies USB-PD 3.2 for comparable third-party adapters—and a 60W-capable USB-C cable. For iPhone 17, iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro Max, use at least 40W and compare sustained output and AVS characteristics. For iPhone 17e and iPhone Air, 20W or more is Apple’s stated threshold. Earlier models can use an 18W-or-higher USB-C USB-PD adapter, with the appropriate USB-C or Lightning cable.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

