Neither phone is the better choice for everyone. Pick the iPhone 18 Pro Max if you want a conventional large-screen phone, iOS and Apple’s ecosystem. Pick the vivo X Fold5 if you will make real use of its 8.03-inch unfolded screen and are comfortable with a book-style foldable. For the X Fold5, first confirm local price, availability, warranty, repair service and carrier compatibility; the global specification page does not establish those details for your country.
What is the main difference?
The iPhone 18 Pro Max is a single-screen phone with a 6.9-inch OLED display. The X Fold5 is a foldable: it has a 6.53-inch cover screen and opens to an 8.03-inch inner AMOLED display. Those screen sizes describe different shapes and uses, not directly interchangeable viewing areas. The iPhone is the simpler fit if you want one conventional screen; vivo’s larger unfolded canvas is its clearest advantage if you read, watch or work on a phone-sized device and value extra screen area.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple lists the iPhone at 249 g. vivo lists the X Fold5 at 217 g in gray and 226 g in white. These are manufacturer-listed weights for the specified versions; they do not by themselves settle which device feels more comfortable in hand or pocket.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →How do the platforms and specifications compare?
| Feature | iPhone 18 Pro Max | vivo X Fold5 |
|---|---|---|
| Operating system and chip | iOS 27; A20 Pro, according to Apple’s September 2026 announcement and specification page. | Android 15 with Funtouch OS 15; Snapdragon 8 Gen 3, according to vivo’s global parameter page. |
| Memory and storage | Apple lists 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB storage options. RAM is not stated in the cited Apple material. | vivo’s global listing specifies 16GB RAM and 512GB storage, with no expandable ROM listed. |
| Displays | 6.9-inch OLED screen. | 8.03-inch inner AMOLED and 6.53-inch cover AMOLED screens. |
| Rear cameras | Apple announces a 48MP Fusion Main camera with variable aperture and other new Pro camera features. | vivo lists three 50MP rear cameras. |
| Front cameras | Not stated in the cited Apple material. | vivo lists two 20MP front cameras. |
| Battery and charging | Apple describes improved battery life, but the cited material does not establish a capacity figure or a comparable measured runtime. | vivo specifies a dual-cell battery rated at 5,815mAh equivalent and 6,000mAh typical capacity, with up to 80W wired FlashCharge and 40W wireless FlashCharge. |
| SIM | eSIM only; Apple says the listed model is not compatible with physical SIM cards. | Two nano-SIMs are listed on vivo’s global parameter page. |
These are manufacturer specifications, not a performance ranking. The chip names and RAM figures cannot establish which phone is faster across different operating systems. Camera resolutions do not determine which takes better pictures, and battery capacity alone cannot show which lasts longer in everyday use. No controlled comparison of these exact models’ speed, cameras or endurance is established here.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Which phone fits your priorities?
Choose iPhone 18 Pro Max for a conventional iPhone experience
- You prefer iOS and Apple’s ecosystem.
- You want a large phone display without an unfolding inner screen.
- You want to choose among Apple’s listed 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB storage tiers.
- You rely on eSIM and have confirmed that your carrier supports it for the model sold in your region.
Apple lists an IP68 rating under IEC 60529, with testing up to 6 metres for 30 minutes in controlled laboratory conditions. Apple cautions that resistance may diminish with wear. The rating is not a promise that the phone is safe for every water exposure.
Choose vivo X Fold5 for its unfolded screen
- You expect to use the 8.03-inch inner display often enough to value a foldable over a conventional phone.
- You want a 6.53-inch cover screen for use while the phone is folded.
- You prefer Android with vivo’s Funtouch OS 15 and the listed two-nano-SIM configuration, subject to your region’s exact SKU and carrier support.
vivo lists IP5X, IPX8 and IPX9 on its parameter page and separately markets IPX9+ on its product page. It says resistance is tested under controlled laboratory conditions and may decline with use. These ratings involve different tests and device constructions, so they do not establish a simple durability winner or make casual underwater use advisable.
Rank #2
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Pause if your decision depends on unmeasured factors
If you are choosing mainly for camera quality, real-world battery life, gaming performance, hinge longevity, repairability or long-term software support, the specifications above do not resolve the comparison. Look for an independent review that identifies its test method, date and exact regional models before treating a result as applicable to your purchase.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsWhat should you check before buying?
- Confirm the country and exact model. Check the seller’s SKU and whether it is intended for your market rather than assuming global specifications apply to every regional version.
- Verify network and SIM compatibility. Ask your carrier to confirm the relevant bands and, for the iPhone, eSIM activation support. Do not assume the listed X Fold5 nano-SIM setup or band list guarantees service on every local network.
- Check the complete local purchase terms. For the X Fold5 in particular, confirm official stock, local price, warranty coverage, authorized repair options and service availability before ordering. These details are country-dependent and are not settled by vivo’s global parameter page.
- Compare current local iPhone pricing. Apple announced a U.S. starting price of $1,299 for the iPhone 18 Pro Max in September 2026. That is a U.S. launch price, not an international price; check Apple or an authorized local seller for the price and stock where you live.
Availability and what the launch announcement establishes
Apple’s September 9, 2026 announcement said iPhone 18 Pro Max sales would begin September 18 in more than 65 countries and regions, with availability beginning September 25 in 20 others. Those were launch dates, not a guarantee of current stock in a particular market. The cited vivo global materials establish product specifications but do not establish a reliable local X Fold5 price, official distribution, warranty or service picture.
Rank #3
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Apple’s feature descriptions are also manufacturer statements. Availability of features may vary by language and region; check Apple’s local product and support information for the configuration you intend to buy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Verdict by use case
The iPhone 18 Pro Max is the more straightforward choice if your priority is iOS in a conventional large-screen phone. The vivo X Fold5 makes more sense if its unfolded 8.03-inch screen is the feature you specifically want and you have verified local purchase and support. Neither manufacturer’s specifications alone prove a winner for camera quality, endurance or speed.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Rank #4
- BIGGER, YET SLIMMER THAN EVER: Who would’ve guessed that wider could also be lighter? The design of Galaxy Z Fold7 is refined to feel like a traditional smartphone with its expanded cover display.
- BEST CAMERA ON A FOLD YET: You asked for more – now you can have the most. Galaxy Z Fold7 now boasts an ultra-premium 200MP camera with Pro-Visual Engine so you can effortlessly take incredibly detailed pics.
- SCREENSHARE FOR STREAMLINED ASSISTANCE: Intrigued by something you see? Go Live with Google Gemini, then screenshare or point your camera at it for additional info or assistance on the fly.¹
- DO AND VIEW MORE, ALL AT ONCE: With an 8” screen that allows you to view up to three windows at once, Galaxy Z Fold7 is the ultimate device for seeing and doing more.²
- ALL THE POWER AND SPEED YOU NEED Smoothly run your day with the power and speed of Galaxy Z Fold7. With its customized Snapdragon 8 Elite processor for Galaxy, you can stream your favorite shows, edit photos, scroll social feeds and more with ease.³
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

