DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › battery buying guide

I own too many Ryobi batteries, but these are the only ones I would buy again

By Freedom251 Team · · 5 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: For a mixed Ryobi 18V ONE+ collection, buy the 4Ah PBP005 as the default, keep 2Ah PBP006 packs for compact tools, step up to the 6Ah PBP007 when runtime matters, and reserve the 8Ah PBP1108 or 12Ah PBP1112 Lithium EDGE packs for genuinely demanding tools. The 1.5Ah PBP002 is useful for very light jobs but is too small to be the main battery for most collections.

What makes one Ryobi battery a better buy than another?

Ryobi’s 18V ONE+ platform covers more than 300 compatible products, so the right battery is usually the one that balances runtime, handling and the demands of the tool. All current 18V ONE+ lithium batteries use IntelliCell technology; Ryobi’s US overview also describes COOL-CORE heat management. Ryobi’s slogan is “One Battery. 300+ Tools. Endless Possibilities.”

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Capacity is expressed in amp-hours (Ah). Ryobi’s guidance says a higher Ah rating generally provides longer runtime, but the pack becomes larger and heavier. Runtime is not a universal number: the same battery will last different lengths of time in a drill, circular saw, sander, blower or light, depending on load and how the tool is used.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

This shortlist follows Ryobi’s published positioning rather than independent runtime testing or personal field measurements. Performance descriptions such as higher output, longer life and faster charging are manufacturer claims.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The batteries worth buying again

Battery Best use What it gets right Trade-offs and limits
1.5Ah PBP002 Very light, short jobs Smallest, easiest-to-handle option in this group Limited capacity makes it a specialist pack rather than a collection’s main battery
2Ah PBP006 Drills, drivers, lights and balance-sensitive tools Ryobi describes it as compact and lightweight; it includes an LED fuel gauge, IntelliCell and COOL-CORE Less runtime than 4Ah, 6Ah or larger packs
4Ah PBP005 General-purpose DIY, maintenance, gardening and cleaning The most useful compromise of capacity, size and handling for a mixed collection; listed as a current 4Ah ONE+ battery Heavier and larger than 2Ah; not the maximum-runtime choice
6Ah PBP007 Longer sessions with saws, sanders and outdoor tools More capacity when stopping to change batteries is inconvenient More weight and bulk than 4Ah; the manufacturer does not state a universal runtime figure
8Ah PBP1108 Lithium EDGE High-demand tools Lithium EDGE uses tabless-cell technology that Ryobi says enables more efficient energy transfer, higher output, longer life and faster charging Largest and heaviest than the everyday packs; excessive for small drills and lights
12Ah PBP1112 Lithium EDGE The most demanding ONE+ applications Maximum capacity in this shortlist, with the same Lithium EDGE technology claims Highest weight and cost; only sensible when the tool can use the capacity

Is 4Ah or 6Ah better for Ryobi ONE+?

Choose 4Ah for an all-around collection

The 4Ah PBP005 is the default recommendation when one battery must cover drills, saws, sanders and general outdoor tools. It supplies a substantial capacity increase over 2Ah without committing every tool to the bulk of a 6Ah or larger pack. It is the sensible first purchase when you are building a collection or replacing mismatched older batteries.

Choose 6Ah when runtime is the interruption you want to eliminate

The 6Ah PBP007 is the better choice for longer cutting, sanding, mowing or blowing sessions where changing packs is more annoying than carrying additional weight. It is not automatically “better” than 4Ah: its advantage is capacity, while the 4Ah pack remains easier to balance on compact tools.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Are bigger Ryobi batteries worth the weight?

Only when the tool’s demand and the job duration justify them. Ryobi’s Australian battery-selection guide states that high-Ah batteries provide longer runtime but are slightly larger and heavier. A 2Ah pack can make a drill or driver feel noticeably less top-heavy; an 8Ah or 12Ah pack can make a small tool cumbersome while offering capacity the task may never use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Use 1.5Ah or 2Ah for lights, drivers, inspection work and short overhead tasks.
  • Use 4Ah as the normal starting point for mixed indoor and outdoor work.
  • Use 6Ah when a saw, sander or garden tool regularly outlasts a 4Ah pack.
  • Use 8Ah or 12Ah only for high-demand tools where fewer battery changes matter more than minimum weight.

What makes HP and Lithium EDGE packs different?

Ryobi positions standard ONE+ batteries for everyday DIY, maintenance, gardening and cleaning. It says 18V ONE+ HP batteries are better suited to complex tasks requiring more power and longer runtime. In the Australian guide, HP packs have two additional terminals for communication with HP Brushless tools. The same guide says the 8Ah and 12Ah HP packs use larger 21700 cells designed for lower internal resistance.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The 8Ah PBP1108 and 12Ah PBP1112 carry the Lithium EDGE name. Ryobi attributes their performance to tabless-cell construction, describing more efficient energy transfer, higher output, longer life and faster charging. Those are design and positioning claims, not independent test results.

Do HP batteries work in every ONE+ tool?

Ryobi places these batteries within the 18V ONE+ ecosystem, but HP communication features matter specifically with HP Brushless tools. Before buying an expensive high-capacity pack, check the exact tool manual and the battery listing for your country. Physical platform compatibility does not mean every tool can exploit every HP feature.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Capacity, balance, cost and availability

There is no single “best value” Ah figure without a current price and a measured runtime for the specific tool. Price per usable amp-hour changes by country, retailer, promotion and whether a pack is sold alone, in a multipack or bundled with a tool. Catalogs and stock also vary by market, so verify the exact model number, current price and included accessories before ordering.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Comparison point What is established What you still need to check
Runtime Higher Ah generally means longer runtime Actual runtime for your tool, material and workload
Weight and balance Higher Ah packs are larger and heavier Whether the added mass is comfortable on your specific tool
Peak-demand performance HP/Lithium EDGE packs are aimed at demanding applications Whether your tool is HP Brushless and can use the communication features
Compatibility ONE+ is a broad 18V platform with more than 300 products Exact tool and battery compatibility in your region
Price per usable Ah Not stated; it depends on current market pricing and real use Today’s standalone, multipack and bundle prices
Warranty Ryobi’s US overview states a 3-year limited warranty for all 18V ONE+ batteries Warranty region and registration requirements
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A practical buying plan

  1. Start with one 4Ah PBP005. It covers the widest range of ordinary jobs without making every tool heavy.
  2. Add a 2Ah PBP006. Use it when compact size and balance matter more than runtime.
  3. Add a 6Ah PBP007 for recurring long sessions. This is the next upgrade when battery changes, rather than power, are slowing the job.
  4. Buy an 8Ah PBP1108 or 12Ah PBP1112 only for a proven high-demand need. Confirm the tool’s manual and the local listing first.
  5. Treat 1.5Ah PBP002 as a specialist pack. It makes sense for very light work, not as the foundation of a mixed collection.

Ryobi states that all 18V ONE+ batteries are covered by a 3-year limited warranty in the United States; registration is handled through MyRYOBI. Warranty terms and availability can differ outside the US.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

battery buying guideDIY toolspower tool batteriesRYOBI ONE+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.