DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Apple

HP OmniBook 5 14: MacBook Neo Rival Starts at $699.99

By Freedom251 Team · · 4 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

HP’s newly announced OmniBook 5 14 starts at $699.99 in the U.S., $100.99 above Apple’s $599 MacBook Neo. HP expects the 14-inch laptop to arrive in October 2026 through HP.com and Best Buy, but that is an announced availability window—not confirmation that a product listing is live. The comparison is useful for price, size and announced specifications; it cannot establish which laptop performs better or lasts longer in everyday use.

What HP announced

HP announced the OmniBook 5 14 AI PC on October 1, 2026, with a U.S. starting price of $699.99 and expected October availability at HP.com and Best Buy. HP has not established in its announcement that every reported processor, memory, storage and display combination will be offered as a purchasable configuration. Check the live product listing for the actual SKU and price when sales begin.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The laptop has an aluminum chassis and a tone-on-tone keyboard. HP names four finishes: Smoke Silver, Starlit Blue, Peony Pink and Soft Honeydew. HP gives its weight as 1.16 kg and calls out two full-function USB-C ports and a compact 65W USB Mini GaN charger. Tom’s Hardware reports a 1080p IR camera, a 60 Wh battery and a 2.56-pound weight; HP’s announcement is the source for the features and weight figures above. (HP Newsroom; Tom’s Hardware)

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Reported configurations and timing

Tom’s Hardware reports launch options with Intel Core 5 320 or Core 7 350 processors, integrated Intel Graphics, 8 GB or 16 GB of LPDDR5-6400 memory, and 256 GB or 512 GB PCIe Gen 4 SSDs. It also reports that 12 GB memory and 1 TB storage options are planned for November 2026. HP says Core 7 models are planned for mid-October. These reports describe options and plans, not a confirmed complete SKU matrix: the available sources do not establish which processor, panel, memory and storage combinations will be sold together. Confirm the configuration on HP’s listing before buying. (Tom’s Hardware; HP Newsroom)

#1 Best Overall
HP 2025 OmniBook 5 Flip 2-in-1 14” WUXGA IPS Touchscreen Laptop 10-Core Intel Core 5 120U 8GB LPDDR5 512GB NVMe SSD USB-C w/DP WiFi AX BT Webcam HDMI2.1 Backlit KB Windows 11 Home w/RE USB
  • [Powerful Performance with Intel Core 5 120U] Powerhouse Intel Core 5 120U 10-Core (Base Frequency 2.4 GHz, Up to 5.0 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology, 12 MB Intel Smart cache, 10 cores (2P + 8E), 12 threads)
  • [Customization] Seal is opened for Hardware/Software upgrade only to enhance performance. Upgraded to 8GB DDR5 SDRAM 5200 MHz, 512GB PCI-E NVMe Solid State Drive, No Built-in Optical Drive
  • [Display and Graphics] Brilliant 14" Touchscreen LED-backlit WUXGA (1920 x 1200) IPS 300 nits, micro-edge, 62.5% sRGB, 60Hz, Thin Bezel LCD Display powered by Intel Graphics, 5MP + IR Camera with Privacy Shutter and integrated digital microphone
  • [Connectivity] Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 (2x2) and Bluetooth 5.3, 2 x USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 (Power Delivery and DisplayPort 1.4 and Power-off Charging and 10Gbps), 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps), 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps), 1 x HDMI v2.1, 1 x Headphone/Microphone Combo Jack, 1 x USB-C Power Jack
  • [Rock eDigital Feature] Windows 11 Home; Backlit Keyboard; Dual speakers; HP Audio BoostSpeakers; 68Whr 4-cell lithium-ion battery; 12.32 x 8.66 x 0.73 inches, 3.58 lbs; Glacier Silver; 45 AC Adapter, free Rock eDigital 32GB USB Drive

Launch display versus the later OLED option

The launch 2K OLED display is rated by HP at up to 300 nits. A brighter 2.5K OLED touch option, rated up to 620 nits with 100% DCI-P3 coverage, is planned for March 2027; it is not a launch-day feature according to HP’s announcement. Tom’s Hardware identifies the launch resolution as 1920 × 1200 and the later option as 2560 × 1600. Buyers comparing listings should distinguish the panel actually offered from a feature planned for a later date. (HP Newsroom; Tom’s Hardware)

OmniBook 5 versus MacBook Neo: what the announced facts show

Category HP OmniBook 5 14 Apple MacBook Neo
Announced U.S. starting price $699.99, announced by HP on October 1, 2026. $599, announced by Apple on March 4, 2026.
Display size 14 inches. 13 inches.
Display detail and timing Launch 2K OLED rated up to 300 nits; a 2.5K OLED touch option rated up to 620 nits is planned for March 2027. Apple’s cited announcement establishes a 13-inch display; the materials cited here do not establish further comparable display specifications.
Operating system and ecosystem Windows PC; HP’s announcement identifies it as an AI PC. MacBook in Apple’s Mac ecosystem; Apple’s announcement identifies it as a Mac.
Memory and storage Tom’s Hardware reports launch options of 8 GB or 16 GB memory and 256 GB or 512 GB SSD; additional options are planned, subject to actual listing confirmation. Not stated in the Apple announcement cited here.
Ports HP specifies two full-function USB-C ports. Not stated in the Apple announcement cited here.
Portability HP gives a weight of 1.16 kg. Not stated in the Apple announcement cited here.
Battery figure and method HP claims up to 42 hours of local video playback under its specified continuous FHD playback test at 200 nits; actual life varies. Apple says up to 16 hours of battery life using its own stated methodology. The figures are not a same-test comparison.

The OmniBook’s announced starting price is $100.99 higher than the Neo’s. The HP is one inch larger by the announced display sizes, and its launch panel and planned later panel have distinct specifications and dates. The table does not show which laptop is faster, has the better screen in practice, or lasts longer for a particular person; those conclusions require comparable independent testing and confirmed retail configurations. (HP Newsroom; Apple Newsroom; Tom’s Hardware)

Rank #2
HP OmniBook 5 Flip 2-in-1 14" FHD+ Touchscreen Laptop, Intel Core 7 150U, Intel Graphics,16GB DDR5, 512GB SSD, Copilot, Backlit Keyboard, Win 11 Pro, Silver
  • 【 Intel Core 7 150U Processor】It is a high-end notebook CPU based on the Raptor Lake-U Refresh (RPL-U) series (Alder Lake architecture), which was introduced in January 2024. The CPU offers 2 performance cores (P-cores, Golden Cove architecture) and 8 efficiency cores (E-cores, Gracemont architecture). The P-cores support hyperthreading (therefore 12 threads together) and clock from 1.8 to 5.4 GHz. The E-cores clock from 1.2 - 4 GHz and should offer comparable performance to old Skylake cores.
  • 【14.0 " (1920x1200) touch Display】Intuitive touchscreen technology lets you control your PC right from the screen. Transform your content with 1920 x 1200 resolution and 178-degree wide-viewing angles. Make taking notes, sketching, and editing easier by rotating the screen to tablet or tent mode. Multitouch-enabled, IPS (in-plane switching), edge-to-edge glass.
  • 【Other features】Intel Graphics,Microsoft Copilot,Tuned stereo speakers,HP Audio Boost,HP 5MP IR Camera with HDR Switch, Backlit Keyboard, Windows 11 Home OS.

How to read HP’s 42-hour battery claim

HP’s “up to 42 hours” figure is a manufacturer test claim, not a guarantee of normal all-day use. HP’s footnote describes continuous local FHD video playback at 200 nits and warns that actual battery life varies with configuration, use and battery capacity over time. Apple’s “up to 16 hours” MacBook Neo figure uses Apple’s own stated methodology. Because the disclosed methods differ, subtracting the numbers or treating them as a direct endurance ranking would be misleading. (HP Newsroom; Apple Newsroom)

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the comparison can—and cannot—tell you

The announcement supports a straightforward early comparison: the OmniBook 5 14 costs more at its stated U.S. entry price and has a larger display, while the Neo starts at a lower price and has a 13-inch screen. It also identifies the HP’s colors, ports, stated weight, reported configuration options and staged display plans. Apple executive John Ternus described the Neo as delivering “the magic of the Mac at a breakthrough price”; that is Apple’s launch positioning, not an independent assessment of either laptop. (Apple Newsroom)

Rank #3
HP OmniBook X Flip 2-in-1 Copilot+ AI Laptop, 14" 2K OLED Touchscreen, AMD Ryzen AI 5 430 Upto 50 Tops(2026), 16GB LPDDR5X, 512GB SSD, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0, w/Stylus, Win11 H
  • [Feature]: Slim, sleek, lightweight 2 in 1 design | Powered by 2026 AMD Ryzen AI 5 400 Series processors and a 50 TOPS NPU | Copilot+ PC | Long Battery Life Up to 24 hours and 30 minutes of battery life | HP 5MP IR camera with HDR auto-switch: Enhanced by AI Noise Reduction & Poly Studio Audio Tuning | Wi-Fi 7 (2x2) and Bluetooth 6.0 wireless card | DTS: X Ultra technology | Backlit keyboard.
  • [Processor]: AMD Ryzen AI 5 430 processor with AMD Ryzen AI (50 NPU TOPS) (4 Cores, 8 Threads, 2.0 GHz Base, Up to 4.5 GHz, 12MB Cache ). Unlock powerful AI-driven experiences with a Copilot+ PC powered by an AMD Ryzen AI processor designed to enhance creativity, simplify and streamline your day, and give you valuable time back to do more; AMD Radeon 840M Shared Integrated Graphics.
  • [Display]: 14" 2K OLED touchscreen - 1920 x 1200 resolution delivers incredible detail, wide-viewing angles, and lifelike color reproduction. And with touch, you can control your PC right from the screen.
  • [Memory & Storage]: 16GB LPDDR5x-7467 MT/s Memory, 512GB PCIe Gen4 Solid State Drive (Boot SSD), Original Factory Box will be opened and resealed for Upgrade.
  • [Other]: Weight Only 3.09 lbs | 0.57 Inch Thin | Windows 11 Home | Wi-Fi 7 AX211 (2x2) | 3-cell 65 Wh Li-ion polymer battery up to 24.5 hours Battery Life | HP Audio Boost 2.0 | 5MP IR webcam | HDMI 2.1 | Bluetooth 6.0 | 2 x USB-A 3.1, 2 x USB-C 4.

Announcement specifications do not settle display quality, processor performance, thermals, keyboard feel, real-world battery life or overall value. Those depend on final retail configurations and testing under comparable conditions. No hands-on result or independently established performance winner is available from these launch announcements.

Rank #4
HP OmniBook X Flip 14" Next Gen AI 2-in-1 Laptop | 2K Touchscreen | Intel Core Ultra 5 226V | 16GB DDR5 RAM | 512GB SSD w/WOWPC 500GB External HDD | Win 11 | Backlit Keyboard | for Work & Creativity
  • Power Through Everyday AI Workflows — Powered by the Intel Core Ultra 5 226V processor with Intel AI Boost and 16GB LPDDR5x memory, this laptop delivers fast, responsive performance for multitasking, document creation, online collaboration, and AI-assisted productivity throughout your day.
  • Storage That Grows with Your Needs — Available with upgraded PCIe SSD capacities, for business files, creative projects, photos, videos, and everyday productivity, while larger capacity options are available for users who need even more space.
  • Immersive Touchscreen Flexibility — The 14-inch 1920×1200 IPS touchscreen delivers crisp visuals, responsive touch control, and more vertical workspace, while the 360° convertible hinge lets you switch easily between laptop, tablet, tent, and presentation modes.
  • Built for Modern Hybrid Work — Stay productive anywhere with Wi-Fi 6E, Thunderbolt 4, HDMI 2.1, USB Type-C, and USB Type-A connectivity, making it easy to connect displays, accessories, docks, and other peripherals for work, school, or home office setups.
  • Designed for Comfortable Everyday Productivity — A 5MP IR camera with privacy shutter, dual-array microphones, Poly Studio audio, full-size backlit keyboard, HP Imagepad, and fingerprint reader help create a secure, comfortable, and professional experience for meetings, studying, and daily work.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

AppleHPHP OmniBook 5LaptopsMacBook NeoWindows PCs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.