HP’s announced OmniBook 5 14-inch is a plausible MacBook Neo alternative if you want a larger OLED screen and Windows: Tom’s Hardware reports a $699.99 starting price, Intel Core 5 or Core 7 processors, and a 60 Wh battery. The trade-off is that the reported launch OLED is 300 nits, and HP’s promised battery life is a local-video claim—not an independent test. Apple’s MacBook Neo starts from a lower U.S. announcement price and has a brighter, higher-resolution display for its size.
What HP’s $699.99 OmniBook 5 14-inch includes
Tom’s Hardware reported on October 1, 2026 that HP’s new 14-inch OmniBook 5 would start at $699.99 and be released in October. The report does not establish a specific retail SKU or confirm live availability, so treat the figures below as reported launch specifications, not a review of a shipping configuration. Tom’s Hardware’s report
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Reported specification | HP OmniBook 5 14-inch |
|---|---|
| Processors | Intel Core 5 320 or Core 7 350, with integrated Intel Graphics |
| Memory | 8 GB or 16 GB soldered LPDDR5-6400 at launch; a 12 GB configuration was planned for November 2026 |
| Storage | 256 GB or 512 GB PCIe Gen 4 SSD at launch; 1 TB was planned for November 2026 |
| Display | 14-inch, 1920×1200 OLED; touch and non-touch variants, reported at 300 nits |
| Battery and charging | 60 Wh battery; 65 W USB-C GaN charger |
| Webcam and weight | 1080p IR webcam; 2.56 pounds |
| Colors | Four color options; names not stated in the report |
| Starting price and timing | $699.99 starting price; October 2026 release listed in the report |
HP’s OLED panel is the headline feature, but 300 nits is a modest brightness rating. A higher-end 2560×1600 touchscreen rated at 620 nits was planned for March 2027; that is a later option, not one of the reported launch panels. Tom’s Hardware also reports that HP claims up to 42 hours of battery life during local-video playback. That figure is a manufacturer claim under a particular use case, not an independently verified result. Tom’s Hardware’s report
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How it compares with Apple’s MacBook Neo
Apple announced the MacBook Neo on March 4, 2026 at $599 in the United States, or $499 for education. Those are announcement prices, not confirmation of current transaction prices. Apple describes an aluminum laptop in blush, indigo, silver, and citrus, with a 13-inch Liquid Retina display. Apple’s announcement
#1 Best Overall
- ENJOY UP TO 34 HOURS OF BATTERY LIFE - Unleash your creativity with exceptional on-the-go performance with HP's longest-lasting laptop; when the battery runs low, HP Fast Charge restores battery from 0 to 50% in approximately 30 minutes
- SNAPDRAGON X PLUS PROCESSOR - Achieve more everyday with responsive performance for seamless multitasking with AI tools that enhance productivity and connectivity while providing long battery life
- QUALCOMM ADRENO GPU - Elevate your mobile UI, games and advanced graphics applications with high performance graphics, fast responsiveness and superior mobile connectivity
- 512GB Solid State Drive (SSD) storage: With high-speed data transfer, the PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD offers fast speed and efficient storage. 16GB LPDDR5x Memory (RAM): Experience speedy and responsive performance with power efficiency. Designed to support higher data rates with less latency, plus faster file transfers and application load.
- 14" 2K OLED touchscreen with OLED: Everyday productivity is boosted by rich colors and crisp visuals on the OLED touch display with 1920x1200 resolution
| Feature | HP OmniBook 5 14-inch | Apple MacBook Neo |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $699.99, as reported by Tom’s Hardware in October 2026; current retail pricing not verified | $599 U.S. starting price at Apple’s March 2026 announcement; $499 education price at announcement |
| Operating system | Windows; the cited HP report does not specify an edition | macOS |
| Processor and memory | Intel Core 5 320 or Core 7 350; 8 GB or 16 GB soldered LPDDR5-6400 at launch, with 12 GB planned for November 2026 | Apple A18 Pro; 8 GB unified memory |
| Display | 14-inch 1920×1200 OLED, 300 nits in reported launch variants; touch or non-touch | 13-inch 2408×1506 Liquid Retina, 500 nits; display technology is not described as OLED in Apple’s cited specifications |
| Storage | 256 GB or 512 GB at launch; 1 TB planned for November 2026 | 256 GB or 512 GB SSD |
| Battery-life estimate | HP claims up to 42 hours of local-video playback, as reported by Tom’s Hardware | Apple estimates up to 16 hours of video streaming or 11 hours of wireless web, using preproduction systems and its stated test conditions |
| Ports | Not stated in the cited HP report | USB-C USB 3, USB-C USB 2, and headphone jack; only the USB 3 port supports external display output |
| Weight | 2.56 pounds, as reported by Tom’s Hardware | Not stated in the cited Apple specifications |
Apple’s battery estimates use preproduction test systems: 1080p video streaming for the video figure, or browsing 25 websites for the wireless-web figure, at a specified display-brightness setting. They are not directly comparable with HP’s local-video claim. Apple’s technical specifications
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which laptop makes more sense?
Consider the OmniBook 5 if
- You prefer Windows or need Windows software and want a 14-inch screen.
- You value OLED and want a touchscreen option among the reported launch variants.
- You need more than 8 GB of memory and can find the relevant 16 GB configuration; memory is soldered, so it is not an upgrade to plan for later.
Consider the MacBook Neo if
- You want to spend less based on the original U.S. announcement prices, while checking what each laptop actually costs when you buy.
- You prefer macOS or Apple’s ecosystem and can work with 8 GB of unified memory.
- You prioritize a smaller display with a higher stated brightness rating: Apple lists 500 nits for the Neo versus 300 nits for HP’s reported launch OLED panels.
These are specification-based distinctions, not a performance verdict. The available figures do not establish comparative speed, real-world battery endurance, display quality in use, or value at current checkout prices. Before choosing, compare the exact configuration and price available to you; in particular, don’t mistake HP’s later planned display, memory, or storage options for launch configurations.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- [Powerful Performance] 15th Gen Core 5 120U 1.40GHz Processor (upto 5 GHz, 12MB Cache, 10-Cores, 12-Threads, 2 Performance-cores); Intel Graphics Integrated Graphics
- [High Speed and Multitasking] 16GB OnBoard RAM; 802.11ax Wifi, Bluetooth 5.4, Webcam, Backlit KB Standard Keyboard, Active Pen
- [Superior Display] 14.0" IPS WUXGA (1920x1200) 60Hz Touchscreen Display; 65W PSU, Type-C Power-In, 4-Cell 68 Whr Battery; Glacier Silver Color
- [Enormous Storage] 512GB PCIe NVMe SSD; HDMI, 2 USB 3.2 Type-C, Headphone/Microphone Combo Jack
- Windows 11 Pro-64, 1 Year Manufacturer warranty from MichaelElectronics2 (Professionally upgraded by MichaelElectronics2)
Rank #3
- Professional Upgrade Notice – The original seal was carefully opened to perform certified RAM/SSD upgrades. The upgraded RAM/SSD components are covered by a 3-year warranty from MichaelElectronics2. All other hardware remains covered by the original 1-year manufacturer warranty through MichaelElectronics2
- [Premium Display] 14.0" IPS WUXGA (1920x1200) 60Hz Touchscreen Display; 802.11ax Wifi, Bluetooth 5.4, Webcam, Standard Keyboard, Active Pen
- [Powerful Performance] 15th Gen Core 5 120U 1.40GHz Processor (upto 5 GHz, 12MB Cache, 10-Cores, 12-Threads, 2 Performance-cores); Intel Graphics Integrated Graphics
- [High Speed and Multitasking] 16GB OnBoard RAM; 65W PSU, Type-C Power-In, 4-Cell 68 Whr Battery; Glacier Silver Color
- [Enormous Storage] Customization 512GB/1TB/2TB PCIe SSD; HDMI, 2 USB 3.2 Type-C, Headphone/Microphone Combo Jack
Rank #2
- 【 Intel Core 7 150U Processor】It is a high-end notebook CPU based on the Raptor Lake-U Refresh (RPL-U) series (Alder Lake architecture), which was introduced in January 2024. The CPU offers 2 performance cores (P-cores, Golden Cove architecture) and 8 efficiency cores (E-cores, Gracemont architecture). The P-cores support hyperthreading (therefore 12 threads together) and clock from 1.8 to 5.4 GHz. The E-cores clock from 1.2 - 4 GHz and should offer comparable performance to old Skylake cores.
- 【14.0 " (1920x1200) touch Display】Intuitive touchscreen technology lets you control your PC right from the screen. Transform your content with 1920 x 1200 resolution and 178-degree wide-viewing angles. Make taking notes, sketching, and editing easier by rotating the screen to tablet or tent mode. Multitouch-enabled, IPS (in-plane switching), edge-to-edge glass.
- 【Other features】Intel Graphics,Microsoft Copilot,Tuned stereo speakers,HP Audio Boost,HP 5MP IR Camera with HDR Switch, Backlit Keyboard, Windows 11 Home OS.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

