Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › AI workstations

How to Plan Power, Cooling, and Rack Space for a Four-GPU AI Workstation

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Start with the exact GPU edition and the exact OEM chassis. Four NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q Workstation Edition cards represent 1,200 W of GPU board power (4 × 300 W). Four standard RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Workstation Edition cards represent 2,400 W (4 × 600 W). Those are GPU-only specification subtotals, not measurements of a complete workstation at the wall, and they are not sufficient by themselves to select a power supply, branch circuit, or UPS.

The practical planning sequence is to lock the card variant, obtain the quoted system’s maximum input and PSU details, validate sustained cooling under the intended workload, and then verify card spacing, service clearances, rails, rack depth, and rack-unit height against the OEM’s drawing. NVIDIA documents a class of latest-generation OEM workstations that can carry four Max-Q cards and 384 GB of aggregate GPU memory, but that statement does not make every four-GPU model or configuration available.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What the four-GPU numbers actually tell you

GPU board power is the only quantified electrical figure established for these configurations. NVIDIA’s 2025 specifications list 300 W total board power for the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q Workstation Edition and 600 W for the standard RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Workstation Edition. Multiplying by four gives the planning subtotals below.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Configuration Per-card board power Four-card GPU subtotal Cooling description Card memory What is established
RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q Workstation Edition 300 W 1,200 W Active-cooled 96 GB GDDR7 ECC NVIDIA presents this edition as scalable to four GPUs in an OEM workstation class.
RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Workstation Edition 600 W 2,400 W Double-flow-through Not stated in the supplied specifications The 600 W figure is a per-card specification; a four-card system is not documented here as a universal OEM configuration.

The 1,200 W and 2,400 W totals are arithmetic from NVIDIA’s per-card figures. They exclude the CPU, memory, storage, motherboard, fans, voltage-conversion losses, pumps if present, USB devices, and any other load. A workstation can therefore require a higher-rated power system than either subtotal, while its measured draw may vary with workload and power limits.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Step 1: freeze the GPU variant before doing any sizing

Put the exact edition on the quote

Do not write merely “four RTX PRO 6000 cards” in a purchase request. Specify “RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q Workstation Edition” or “RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Workstation Edition,” including the intended quantity. The two editions have different board-power targets and different thermal implementations. Substituting one after the electrical or mechanical design is complete can invalidate the calculation.

For the Max-Q option, NVIDIA lists a 300 W total board-power target, active cooling, a dual-slot form factor, and dimensions of 4.4 inches high by 10.5 inches long. NVIDIA also lists 96 GB of GDDR7 ECC memory per card. Four such cards provide 384 GB of aggregate GPU memory when all four are installed; this is an aggregate capacity, not a single shared memory pool.

The standard Workstation Edition is specified at 600 W per card and uses a double-flow-through cooling solution. Its physical and airflow requirements must come from the exact product documentation and OEM design; do not copy the Max-Q dimensions or assume the same spacing works.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Confirm that the platform supports four cards

NVIDIA’s 2025 solution brief describes latest-generation OEM RTX PRO AI workstations supporting up to four Max-Q GPUs. That is a category-level capability statement. It does not confirm that every vendor, chassis, processor choice, riser arrangement, or shipping configuration supports four cards simultaneously. Require the system supplier to identify the exact model, part numbers, slot population rules, and supported power configuration in writing.

Step 2: turn board power into a system electrical specification

Use the GPU subtotal only as the first line of the worksheet

Record the GPU calculation separately from the complete-system requirement:

GPU board-power subtotal = number of cards × rated board power per card

For four Max-Q cards, the worksheet line is 4 × 300 W = 1,200 W. For four standard Workstation Edition cards, it is 4 × 600 W = 2,400 W. Label both lines “GPU board power only.” Do not relabel them as wall draw, PSU capacity, heat output, or circuit demand.

Request the figures that the card datasheet does not provide

Ask the OEM for a configuration-specific electrical sheet covering the exact CPU, memory population, storage devices, network adapters, fans, and GPU count. At minimum, obtain:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Maximum system input power and the conditions used to define it.
  • Installed PSU wattage, number of PSU modules, efficiency assumptions, and whether the system is single-feed or dual-feed.
  • Redundancy behavior: the load that can be sustained after one PSU module or one input feed is unavailable.
  • Input voltage and frequency range, inlet connector type, cable and receptacle requirements, and the manufacturer’s recommended facility supply.
  • GPU auxiliary-power connector count, connector type, cable routing, and bend-clearance requirements.
  • Power limits or firmware settings that affect sustained GPU consumption.

Only after these values are documented should facilities size the receptacles, branch circuits, distribution units, and UPS. A PSU nameplate is a component rating, not a promise that the workstation continuously draws that amount; conversely, a 1,200 W GPU subtotal is not evidence that a 1,200 W PSU is adequate.

Plan for operating modes, not one optimistic reading

Request separate values for idle, representative inference or training, and maximum supported load if the OEM publishes them. Ask whether the maximum is a short-duration peak or a sustained limit. Record the measurement point—AC input, DC output, or another point—because figures taken at different points are not directly interchangeable. If the supplier does not publish a value, mark it “not stated” and obtain an engineering estimate rather than filling the gap with the GPU subtotal.

Step 3: design cooling around the complete system

Why card-level cooling labels are not enough

“Active-cooled” for Max-Q and “double-flow-through” for the standard Workstation Edition describe the card’s thermal approach. They do not prove that a particular chassis can remove heat from four cards continuously. The motherboard layout, neighboring-slot spacing, inlet temperature, fan curve, CPU cooler, power supplies, and airflow impedance all affect sustained operation.

Almost all electrical input eventually becomes heat in the room, but no measured heat-output value for a particular four-GPU workstation is established here. Treat room cooling and rack heat-load calculations as system-level engineering tasks, not as a direct reuse of the GPU subtotal.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Questions for the system supplier

  • What sustained GPU workload and power limit were used for the thermal validation?
  • What inlet-temperature range is supported, and at what altitude or installation conditions?
  • What clearance is required at the front, rear, top, and sides for unrestricted airflow and service?
  • Which direction does air travel through the GPU, CPU, and PSU sections, and can hot exhaust recirculate into the intakes?
  • What airflow rate or fan operating range is expected at four-card load?
  • Can all four GPUs operate at their intended power limit continuously without thermal throttling?
  • What alarms, shutdown thresholds, or firmware responses occur if inlet temperature or fan speed exceeds limits?

Get the answers for the quoted configuration, not for an empty chassis or a two-GPU model. If the OEM offers multiple CPU coolers, drive cages, or riser layouts, the thermal result may change with each selection.

Translate workstation heat into room and rack planning

Give the facilities team the OEM’s maximum AC input and thermal design information together. They can then determine whether the room’s HVAC capacity, rack cooling method, and hot-aisle or cold-aisle arrangement are suitable. Keep the exhaust path clear of the intake path, and leave the service clearances specified in the installation drawing. Do not infer a rack’s cooling capability from its external dimensions or from the fact that it accepts the chassis mechanically.

Step 4: verify enclosure, slot spacing, and rack fit

Check the GPU envelope and the actual slot map

NVIDIA lists the Max-Q card as 4.4 inches high, 10.5 inches long, and dual-slot. Four dual-slot cards consume eight slot positions in a simple count, but the physical design may require additional spacing for airflow, risers, connectors, or service access. Confirm the OEM’s supported slot map and whether all four cards can be installed with the selected CPU, memory, storage, and network options.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

For either edition, request a mechanical drawing showing:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Card length, height, thickness, and any protruding heatsink or bracket.
  • Center-to-center spacing between GPUs and the clearance above each card.
  • Riser orientation, cable paths, and retention hardware.
  • Power-connector location and the minimum bend radius for each cable.
  • Front-to-back airflow openings and any blanking panels that must remain installed.
  • Tool access for replacing a card, fan, PSU, drive, or riser without removing unrelated hardware.

Match the chassis to the rack, not just the rack opening

An OEM tower may fit on a shelf but still be unsuitable for a dense rack because of weight, airflow direction, service access, or the absence of a secure mounting method. A rack-mounted system requires confirmation of rack-unit height, rail compatibility, minimum and maximum rack depth, rear-cable clearance, and the load rating of the rails and rack. NVIDIA’s card dimensions do not establish any of those complete-workstation measurements.

Ask for the chassis depth measured with the required front and rear components installed. Check whether the rear exhaust, power cords, network cables, and rail release mechanisms extend beyond the nominal depth. Verify that the rack door and rear door leave the airflow openings unobstructed. For a tower installation, document how the unit will be positioned, restrained, grounded, and serviced, and ensure its intake and exhaust are not blocked by the enclosure or nearby equipment.

Step 5: compare the two card paths on consistent axes

The sourced specifications support the following comparison. Performance, purchase price, and a particular vendor’s availability require separate, current system-specific documentation and are intentionally not inferred here.

Planning axis Max-Q Workstation Edition Standard Workstation Edition
Per-card board power 300 W 600 W
Four-card GPU subtotal 1,200 W 2,400 W
Cooling description Active-cooled Double-flow-through
Published dimensions in the supplied specification 4.4 in high; 10.5 in long; dual-slot Not stated in the supplied specification
Published memory per card 96 GB GDDR7 ECC Not stated in the supplied specification
Four-card OEM capability statement NVIDIA describes up to four cards and 384 GB aggregate GPU memory in a latest-generation OEM workstation class Not established by the supplied OEM capability statement
System PSU, wall draw, circuit, UPS, rack height, and rack depth Configuration-specific; obtain from the OEM Configuration-specific; obtain from the OEM

Choose the path only after the OEM confirms that the selected chassis, PSU, cooling system, and facility interface support the intended four-card configuration. The lower Max-Q board-power subtotal may simplify electrical and thermal planning, but it does not eliminate the need for system validation. The standard edition’s 2,400 W GPU subtotal demands especially careful review of PSU capacity, input voltage, circuit loading, and heat rejection.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Worked planning examples without inventing system measurements

Example A: four Max-Q cards

  1. Record four cards at 300 W each.
  2. Calculate the GPU-only subtotal: 4 × 300 W = 1,200 W.
  3. Add separate OEM-provided maximums for the CPU, memory, storage, motherboard, fans, and conversion losses.
  4. Use the resulting system figure—not 1,200 W alone—to select PSU capacity and facility power.
  5. Use the OEM’s thermal validation and inlet-temperature limits to size rack and room cooling.

The only numerical conclusion supported before the OEM data arrives is the 1,200 W GPU board-power subtotal.

Example B: four standard Workstation Edition cards

  1. Record four cards at 600 W each.
  2. Calculate the GPU-only subtotal: 4 × 600 W = 2,400 W.
  3. Obtain the exact chassis and PSU design, including connector allocation and redundancy behavior.
  4. Confirm that the electrical distribution can support the system’s documented maximum input at the installation voltage.
  5. Require sustained four-card thermal validation before approving the rack location.

Here too, 2,400 W is not a wall-power measurement or a complete workstation requirement.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Procurement and installation checklist

Attach this checklist to the quote review and site survey:

  • Exact GPU edition, quantity, and part number are written into the configuration.
  • Per-card board power and the calculated GPU subtotal are labeled as GPU-only values.
  • OEM maximum input, PSU model and count, efficiency, redundancy mode, and input requirements are documented.
  • CPU, memory, storage, networking, fan, and riser selections match the thermal and electrical documents.
  • Sustained four-GPU thermal validation, inlet-temperature range, airflow direction, and clearances are supplied.
  • GPU dimensions, spacing, risers, power-cable bend clearance, and service access are shown on the mechanical drawing.
  • Rack-unit height, chassis depth, rail kit, rack load, door clearances, and rear-cable space are verified.
  • Facilities has approved receptacles, branch circuits, distribution, grounding, and UPS capacity for the OEM’s documented input.
  • The installation plan preserves intake and exhaust paths and identifies what happens after a fan, PSU, or feed failure.
  • Any value the supplier does not publish is marked “not stated” rather than estimated from the card specification.

Common planning mistakes and how to correct them

Calling the GPU subtotal the workstation’s wall draw

Problem: A four-card subtotal is copied into a facilities request as the complete load.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Correction: Keep GPU board power in its own worksheet section and obtain maximum AC input for the exact system.

Mixing editions in one calculation

Problem: A 300 W Max-Q power figure is combined with the standard card’s cooling or mechanical assumptions.

Correction: Build a separate bill of materials and thermal review for each edition; never substitute specifications across editions.

Assuming an eight-slot count guarantees fit

Problem: Four dual-slot cards are expected to fit because the arithmetic says eight slots.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Correction: Validate spacing, risers, connector bend radius, airflow, and service access on the OEM drawing.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Using a rack’s nominal depth as the chassis depth

Problem: Rear cabling, rails, or doors obstruct exhaust after installation.

Correction: Check the fully configured chassis depth and all front and rear clearances in the installation documentation.

Assuming a four-GPU capability statement applies to every model

Problem: A category-level statement is treated as proof that any current OEM configuration supports four cards.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Correction: Require the supplier to identify the exact model and confirm the four-card, PSU, cooling, and rack configuration in writing.

What to put in the final purchase specification

A useful request for quotation should name the GPU edition and count, the intended workload, the CPU and memory configuration, storage and network options, installation voltage, rack or tower placement, and the required operating environment. Require the supplier to return a configuration-specific maximum input, PSU and redundancy description, thermal limits, airflow and clearance diagram, card spacing, chassis dimensions, rails, and service procedures.

That documentation turns the 1,200 W or 2,400 W GPU arithmetic into an actionable design. Until it is supplied, the responsible answer to “How much power does a four-GPU workstation need?” is that the GPU board subtotal is known, while the complete electrical, cooling, UPS, and rack requirements remain specific to the quoted system.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AI workstationsdata-center coolingGPU serversNVIDIA RTX PRO 6000Power planningrack planningworkstation hardware

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.