Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › AIF

How to check an Indian AIF’s fees, lock-in period and redemption terms

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

To assess an Indian Alternative Investment Fund (AIF), read the scheme’s current Private Placement Memorandum (PPM), your signed contribution or subscription agreement, and every later amendment or side letter together. Build a written record of each fee, the scheme’s tenure, your personal lock-in, and the precise redemption or distribution process. A fund’s category and stated tenure do not, by themselves, tell you when you can exit or how quickly money will be paid.

This guide applies to Indian AIF schemes generally. It is not a suitability recommendation or a review of any particular fund. Confirm the documents and regulatory material in force when you invest or request an exit.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What you should know before opening the documents

  • Category I and Category II AIF schemes are close-ended and must have a minimum three-year tenure. Category III schemes may be open-ended or close-ended.
  • For a close-ended scheme, SEBI’s current Master Circular calculates tenure from the date of First Close, not automatically from the date you signed.
  • Tenure is the life of the scheme. Your lock-in and exit rights are separate contract terms that must be found in the PPM and your investor documents.
  • There is no single fee rate or universal redemption timetable for all AIFs. Amounts, bases, payment dates, hurdles, gates and notice periods are scheme-specific.
  • Fees can be attributed to the manager or sponsor and can also be charged to the AIF or an investee company, including charges attributed to associates. Identify who ultimately bears each cost.

SEBI’s Investor Charter tells investors to read the PPM, contribution agreement, sales literature, newsletters and other fund documents and to consider the risks and fees described in them. The AIF Master Circular also says that the contribution or subscription agreement should align with, and not go beyond, the PPM.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Collect the complete, current document set

Do not rely on a presentation, a fee summary or a conversation with a distributor as the controlling record. Ask for the version that applied when you committed and the latest version now in force.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  1. Current PPM: record its date, version number and the scheme name exactly as registered.
  2. Signed contribution or subscription agreement: include every schedule, annexure and election form.
  3. Amendments and consent notices: gather revised PPM pages, addenda, circulars and notices that changed economics, term or strategy.
  4. Side letters: include any investor-specific fee break, reporting right, transfer permission, excuse right or liquidity arrangement.
  5. Periodic communications: retain capital-account statements, fee statements, valuation notices, distribution notices and newsletters because they may show how a disclosed term is being applied.

Save each file with its date and keep an index. A document that was current at subscription may not be the document that governs a later redemption request.

Step 1: identify the scheme and its regulatory shape

Confirm the AIF category

Write down whether the scheme is Category I, Category II or Category III. The category affects the basic close-ended or open-ended framework, but it does not replace the scheme’s own exit clauses.

Category Regulatory structure described in SEBI materials What you still must verify
Category I Close-ended; minimum scheme tenure of three years First Close date, extensions, investor lock-in, transfer provisions and any permitted redemption or distribution route
Category II Close-ended; minimum scheme tenure of three years First Close date, extensions, investor lock-in, transfer provisions and any permitted redemption or distribution route
Category III May be open-ended or close-ended Whether this specific scheme accepts ongoing subscriptions and redemptions, and the applicable dealing calendar and restrictions

The three-year figure is a minimum scheme-tenure rule for Category I and II schemes, not a promise that an individual investor can withdraw after three years.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Locate First Close and the end-date provisions

For a close-ended scheme, find the definition of “First Close” and the notice or certificate establishing its date. Then record the stated end date, any extension mechanism, and the circumstances in which the manager may liquidate, wind up or continue holding assets. Calculate the stated tenure from First Close as required by the Master Circular, rather than from your personal commitment date.

SEBI guidance allows an investor, before First Close, to withdraw or reduce a commitment. That early-stage right should not be treated as a continuing redemption right after the scheme has closed. Check the PPM and your signed agreement for the actual procedure and deadline.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Step 2: make a complete fee map

Start with a page-by-page inventory. A headline “management fee” rarely captures every amount that affects your net return. Record the recipient, calculation base, accrual period and payment event for every disclosed charge.

Review column What to record
Fee name The document’s exact label, such as management, administration, acquisition, monitoring, custody, audit, transaction or performance-related fee
Recipient Manager, sponsor, trustee, administrator, another service provider, the AIF, an investee company or an associate
Rate or amount Percentage, fixed amount, per-investor amount, minimum, maximum or formula; write “not stated” if the document does not provide a figure
Calculation base Committed capital, drawn or invested capital, net asset value, cost, realised proceeds, distributions or another defined base
Accrual and payment timing When the amount starts accruing and when it is invoiced, deducted, settled or netted from a distribution
Performance conditions Any hurdle, preferred return, catch-up, carried-interest formula, crystallisation date or loss-recovery condition
Offsets and limits Caps, step-downs, rebates, transaction-fee offsets or exclusions stated in the PPM or agreement
Document reference Document title, version/date, page and clause number

Separate manager, fund and investee-company charges

SEBI’s Investor Charter calls for periodic disclosure of fees ascribed to the manager or sponsor and fees charged to the AIF or an investee company. Put these in separate rows. A cost paid by an investee company can still reduce the value of the investment even when it is not deducted from your capital account directly. If an associate receives a fee, record the relationship and the disclosure explaining it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Distinguish recurring, one-time and conditional amounts

Mark each entry as recurring, one-time or conditional. A fee charged on committed capital can continue during an investment period even if little capital has been drawn; a fee based on net asset value can change as valuations change; and a performance-related amount may arise only after a hurdle or realisation condition is met. Do not compare percentages until you have confirmed that their bases and periods are equivalent.

For an illustrative check, you can write the document’s formula in a spreadsheet such as charge = stated rate × stated base × applicable period. Use only the base, day-count convention, start date and payment rule written in the documents. This is a verification method, not a standard AIF formula.

Step 3: separate tenure, lock-in and liquidity

Tenure is the scheme’s life

Tenure answers how long the scheme is designed to operate. For Category I and II close-ended schemes, the minimum is three years, measured from First Close under SEBI’s Master Circular. The PPM may provide a longer initial term, extension periods or a winding-up process. Record each of those dates and who can approve an extension.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Lock-in is your restriction on exit

Search the PPM and agreement for “lock-in,” “transfer,” “withdrawal,” “redemption,” “exit,” “default,” “excuse” and “investor transfer.” Record:

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • the date the lock-in begins and ends;
  • whether it applies to all units or only a commitment or class;
  • whether a transfer to another investor is permitted during the lock-in;
  • manager, trustee or committee consent requirements;
  • minimum transfer size, eligibility and documentation conditions;
  • exit charges, indemnities or costs; and
  • what happens if an investor fails to fund a drawdown or breaches the agreement.

A scheme can reach the end of its stated tenure while an investor still faces a distribution process, transfer restriction or unresolved asset realisation. Conversely, an open-ended scheme can accept redemption requests but restrict them through notice periods, gates or suspension clauses.

Redemption and distribution are different events

“Redemption” means the scheme buys back or cancels your interest under the applicable process. A “distribution” is a payment of cash or assets resulting from an investment realisation, winding-up or another distribution event. A close-ended scheme may have no routine redemption facility yet make distributions as assets are realised. An open-ended scheme may offer periodic redemption but delay payment until valuation and settlement steps are complete.

Read the redemption mechanics line by line

For a scheme that offers redemption or another exit route, make a separate checklist:

  • Request window: the dates or dealing days on which a request can be submitted.
  • Notice period: the number of days or months between a valid request and the valuation or payment date.
  • Form and cut-off: the required form, delivery method, time zone and deadline.
  • Minimums: minimum redemption amount, remaining balance or frequency limits.
  • Gates and pro rata treatment: whether the manager can cap total redemptions and carry the balance forward.
  • Suspension powers: events such as market disruption, valuation uncertainty, regulatory action or insufficient liquidity.
  • Valuation date and price: the applicable net asset value, valuation policy, adjustment factors and any anti-dilution mechanism.
  • Exit charges: redemption fee, early-exit charge, transfer cost or other deduction.
  • Settlement timing: the target payment period, conditions precedent and the account to which payment is sent.
  • In-kind distributions: whether assets rather than cash may be delivered and how selection, valuation, custody and expenses work.
  • Tax and withholding: which deductions may be made before payment and what statements you receive.

The official materials reviewed do not establish one universal redemption timetable for every AIF. Treat any timetable in a presentation as subordinate to the operative clauses in the PPM and agreement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Step 4: reconcile the PPM, agreement and amendments

Read the same topic across documents rather than finishing one document before checking another. Create a comparison row for fees, term, lock-in, redemption, valuation, distributions, transfers and amendment rights.

Topic PPM says Signed agreement says Latest amendment or side letter says Action
Management and other fees Clause and page Clause and page Effective date and consent Resolve any rate, base or recipient mismatch in writing
Scheme tenure First Close reference and end date Investor acknowledgement Extension or revised term Confirm the date that governs this scheme
Investor lock-in Start, end and exceptions Investor-specific terms Any waiver or variation Obtain written confirmation of your applicable term
Redemption or transfer Windows, notice, gates and valuation Procedural requirements Temporary or permanent changes Ask how a request would be processed today
Distributions Cash or in-kind provisions Payment instructions Changed process or costs Confirm expected steps without treating them as guaranteed dates

The Master Circular’s alignment requirement means a contribution or subscription agreement should not introduce terms that go beyond the PPM. If you find a contradiction, pause any new commitment or exit instruction until the manager supplies a written explanation and corrected or controlling document.

Understand changes that require investor consent

SEBI’s Investor Charter identifies material PPM changes, including changes to the fund term, investment strategy and increases in fees and charges, as matters for which investor consent is identified. Keep the notice, voting record and effective date with your documents. A general disclosure does not automatically alter your individual contract; check the consent mechanism and the wording of your agreement.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to compare two AIF schemes without hiding the differences

Use the same evidence fields for each scheme, but do not treat different categories or strategies as equivalent investments. A lower stated fee can accompany a broader cost base, a longer holding period or fewer exit options.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Comparison axis Questions to answer for each scheme
Total disclosed charges What is charged to the investor, AIF, investee company and associates, and who receives it?
Calculation basis Is each amount based on commitments, drawn capital, NAV, cost, proceeds or another definition?
Payment timing When does each charge accrue, get invoiced, get deducted or become payable?
Structure and tenure Is the scheme open-ended or close-ended, what is its category, and when does tenure begin and end?
Personal lock-in When can this investor transfer, redeem, withdraw or otherwise exit?
Liquidity mechanics What notice, dealing windows, gates, suspensions, valuation rules and payment timing apply?
Amendment and consent Which changes require notice, consent, a vote or a revised agreement?

Mark every field as confirmed, unclear or not stated. “Not stated” is more useful than filling a gap with an assumption.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Keep an auditable one-page summary

After reviewing the documents, prepare a one-page term sheet for your own records. Include:

  • scheme name, category, open-ended or close-ended status and First Close date;
  • PPM version/date and the date of your signed agreement;
  • each fee, recipient, rate or amount, base, timing and document page;
  • scheme tenure, extensions and liquidation provisions;
  • your lock-in start and end dates and any transfer route;
  • redemption request windows, notice, valuation, gates, suspensions, charges and payment process;
  • cash-versus-in-kind distribution provisions;
  • all amendments, consent notices and unresolved questions; and
  • the name and date of every written response from the manager.

When a fee statement or distribution notice arrives, reconcile it to this sheet. Update the sheet when a new PPM, amendment or side letter becomes effective, retaining the older version for an audit trail.

What to do when terms are unclear or inconsistent

  1. Quote the exact clauses. Send the manager the document name, version, page and wording that conflict.
  2. Ask a focused question. For example: “Which fee base applies after the investment period?” or “Is my redemption request subject to the gate described in clause X?”
  3. Request the controlling document. Ask for a signed amendment, corrected page or written interpretation identifying its effective date.
  4. Check investor consent. For a material fee, term or strategy change, ask how and when consent was obtained.
  5. Do not rely on an oral assurance. Keep the answer in an email or formal notice attached to your records.
  6. Escalate specialist issues. A securities lawyer or SEBI-registered investment adviser can review a disputed contract or a complex individual situation.

Complaints and regulatory reference points

The SEBI Investor Charter states that an AIF should have a dispute-resolution procedure and identifies the SEBI SCORES platform for investor complaints. It also gives a 30-day response timeline for investor complaints. Keep your contract, statements, correspondence and the chronology of your complaint before escalating.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The regulatory reference points for this guide are SEBI’s Investor Charter circular dated December 10, 2021; the First Close circular dated November 17, 2022; the AIF Master Circular issued June 3, 2026 and updated June 16, 2026; and the AIF Regulations listing marked last amended July 14, 2026. Regulatory text and scheme documents can change, so verify the current versions before acting.

The decision rule

You have a reliable answer only when the current PPM, your signed agreement and subsequent amendments tell the same story. A fee is not understood until its recipient, base and payment timing are clear. A lock-in is not understood until its dates and exceptions are clear. A redemption right is not understood until you know the request window, notice, valuation, restrictions, charges and payment mechanics. If any of those fields remains unclear, obtain written clarification before committing more capital or assuming that an exit is available.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

AIFAlternative Investment Fundsfeesinvestor guidelock-in periodRedemptionSEBI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.