What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Nintendo’s Grand Theft Auto history is not limited to the Switch trilogy: it includes a Game Boy Advance release and a Nintendo DS game designed around that handheld’s touchscreen. The Switch later joined PlayStation, Xbox and PC as a home for Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition, a collection of three earlier games. The clearest differences are in Nintendo’s handheld catalog and the Switch’s announced controls—not in a proven performance ranking. Rockstar’s launch announcement names 4K support at up to 60 FPS for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X, but the available official information does not establish how the platforms compare in typical play.
At a glance: Nintendo’s GTA catalog versus PlayStation and Xbox
Nintendo has had two distinct kinds of Grand Theft Auto releases. Its older handhelds received versions associated with their own hardware: Grand Theft Auto for Game Boy Advance, listed by Nintendo for October 2004, and Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars, released for Nintendo DS on 20 March 2009. The Switch’s entry is different: it offers a three-game collection that also launched for PlayStation 5 and 4, Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One, and PC.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
That makes the useful comparison less “Which console runs GTA best?” and more “Which GTA games and ways to play are documented for each platform?” Nintendo’s catalog includes portable-specific entries and Switch-specific control options. Rockstar announced 4K resolution support at up to 60 FPS for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X. Those are announced capabilities, not the results of a controlled comparison with Switch.
| Platform or generation | GTA release established by the official listings | What distinguishes it in this comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Game Boy Advance | Grand Theft Auto; Nintendo lists October 2004 | A Nintendo handheld entry predating the Switch trilogy. |
| Nintendo DS | Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars; Nintendo lists 20 March 2009 | Designed for DS and described by Nintendo with touchscreen controls; the game was also released on other platforms. |
| Nintendo Switch | Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition; three games | Portable, tabletop and TV play modes, plus announced gyro aiming and touchscreen camera/menu controls. |
| PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X | The same Definitive Edition collection | Rockstar announced 4K resolution support at up to 60 FPS for these consoles. |
| PlayStation 4, Xbox Series S and Xbox One | The same Definitive Edition collection | Included in Rockstar’s cross-platform release announcement; that announcement does not give a comparable technical specification for each of these systems. |
Sources: Nintendo’s Game Boy Advance listing, Nintendo’s DS listing, Nintendo’s Switch listing and Rockstar’s Definitive Edition announcement.
#1 Best Overall
- The next evolution of Nintendo Switch
- One system, three play modes: TV, Tabletop, and Handheld
- Larger, vivid, 7.9” LCD touch screen with support for HDR and up to 120 fps
- Dock that supports 4K when connected to a compatible TV*
- GameChat** lets you voice chat, share your game screen, and connect via video chat as you play
Which GTA games are on Nintendo consoles?
Game Boy Advance: Grand Theft Auto
Nintendo’s UK product listing records Grand Theft Auto for Game Boy Advance in October 2004 and describes it as a new interpretation of Rockstar’s crime game. This is an important part of the platform history: Nintendo had a GTA release on a handheld years before the Switch collection. The listing establishes the platform and month, but it does not support a detailed technical comparison with versions for other systems.
Nintendo DS: Chinatown Wars
Nintendo lists Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars for DS with a release date of 20 March 2009. Its description says it was built from the ground up for Nintendo DS and points to touchscreen controls. That makes the DS edition a more clearly handheld-oriented chapter in Nintendo’s catalog than the later Switch trilogy.
“Built from the ground up for Nintendo DS” describes the DS edition’s design, not permanent exclusivity for the game. Rockstar’s official Chinatown Wars page also lists PSP, iOS, Android and Kindle releases. Nintendo’s DS listing uses the phrase “Nintendo DS exclusive” in its release-context copy, but Rockstar’s platform list makes it inaccurate to describe the game as a DS-only release across its full history.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsRank #2
- 6.2” LCD screen
- Three play modes: TV, tabletop, and handheld
- Local co-op, online, and local wireless multiplayer
- Detachable Joy-Con controllers
- Nintendo Switch is the home of Mario & friends
Switch: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition
The Switch collection brings together Grand Theft Auto III, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Nintendo’s UK listing gives 11 November 2021 as the digital release date and 11 February 2022 as the game-card release date. Those dates are the ones shown for the UK listing; they should not be treated as a universal release schedule for every region.
This is the central Nintendo-versus-PlayStation-and-Xbox comparison for the modern collection: the three games are not a Switch-exclusive set. Rockstar announced the Definitive Edition for Switch, PlayStation 5 and 4, Xbox Series X|S and One, and PC. The Nintendo-specific distinction in that announcement is how players can interact with the Switch version, rather than a separate collection of games.
What is different about playing the Switch version?
The Switch gives the trilogy portable, tabletop and TV play options. Nintendo’s product listing identifies those modes, while Rockstar’s launch announcement names gyro aiming and touchscreen camera and menu controls for Switch. These features provide ways to use the console’s built-in controls and screen; the announcement does not establish that they make the games easier or better for every player.
Rank #3
- Play your way with the Nintendo Switch gaming system. Whether you’re at home or on the go, solo or with friends, the Nintendo Switch system is designed to fit your life. Dock your Nintendo Switch to enjoy HD gaming on your TV. Heading out? Just undock your console and keep playing in handheld mode
- This model includes battery life of approximately 4.5 - 9 hours.
- The battery life will depend on the games you play. For instance, the battery will last approximately 5.5 hours for The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (games sold separately)
- Model number HAC 001( 01)
- Portable play: Play on the Switch screen rather than a television.
- Tabletop play: Set up the console for tabletop use, as supported by the Switch product listing.
- TV play: Play using the television mode listed for the collection.
- Gyro aiming: Rockstar announced this as a Switch feature. The announcement does not specify how it performs relative to other control methods.
- Touchscreen controls: Rockstar identified touchscreen camera and menu controls. The feature statement is specific to Switch and does not imply that the DS version uses the same interface.
These are concrete interface differences, not benchmark results. The sources do not establish the Switch version’s typical resolution, frame rate, frame pacing, loading times, visual quality or stability. A platform feature announcement cannot answer those questions on its own.
What do PlayStation and Xbox offer for the Definitive Edition?
PlayStation and Xbox share the modern trilogy with Switch, but Rockstar’s announcement specifies one technical capability for two particular systems: 4K resolution support at up to 60 FPS on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X. The qualification matters. It does not describe a measured average during gameplay, guarantee that every scene runs at that combination, or state an equivalent figure for PlayStation 4, Xbox Series S or Xbox One.
The announcement establishes that the collection was released for PlayStation 5 and 4, Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One, as well as Switch and PC. It does not supply matched tests across those platforms. Therefore, it supports a comparison of availability and named features, but not a verdict that one console has better image quality, smoother performance or shorter load times.
Rank #4
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- 6.2” LCD screen.
- Three play modes: TV, tabletop, and handheld
- Local co-op, online, and local wireless multiplayer
- Detachable Joy-Con controllers
| Question | What the official information establishes | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Are the three trilogy games available on Switch, PlayStation and Xbox? | Rockstar announced the Definitive Edition collection for Switch, PS5/PS4 and Xbox Series X|S/Xbox One. | It does not establish that every platform has identical behavior or presentation. |
| Is there an announced resolution and frame-rate target? | Rockstar announced 4K resolution support at up to 60 FPS for PS5 and Xbox Series X. | This is not a measured, platform-by-platform gameplay benchmark and does not provide the same figure for every console. |
| Does the Switch have announced input features? | Rockstar named gyro aiming and touchscreen camera/menu controls for Switch. | The announcement does not quantify their accuracy, responsiveness or advantage over other inputs. |
| Which platform has better stability, loading or visual quality? | Not stated in the cited product listing and launch announcement. | A fair answer requires evidence from controlled comparisons that is not established here. |
Choosing a platform based on the evidence
Choose Switch if portability or its controls matter most
The Switch is the option in this comparison with documented portable, tabletop and TV modes for the collection, alongside announced gyro aiming and touchscreen camera/menu controls. It also provides access to the two earlier Nintendo handheld entries in their original platform context, if you are considering the history of the series on Nintendo systems rather than just the modern trilogy. The cited listings do not establish current availability of GBA or DS cartridges, so check a specific seller and the condition of any used copy before buying.
Consider PS5 or Xbox Series X for the announced 4K/60 capability
If the named technical capability is your deciding factor, Rockstar’s launch announcement explicitly associates 4K resolution support at up to 60 FPS with PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X. Treat that wording as a product capability statement. It is not a substitute for independent testing, and it does not rank those consoles against each other or against Switch in actual gameplay.
Compare current editions and prices separately
The platform announcement answers where the collection launched, not which edition is currently stocked, what it costs, or whether a particular regional listing is still available. Check the store for your region before making a purchase decision. For Switch physical buyers, there is an extra practical point: Nintendo says the game-card version requires an internet download. A game card therefore does not mean that the full product can be installed without downloading data.
Best Value
- One player can use a Joy-Con in each hand
- Two players can each take one
- Multiple Joy-Con can be employed by numerous people for a variety of gameplay options (additional Joy-Con sold separately)
- Slip a set of Joy-Con into a Joy-Con grip accessory, mirroring a more traditional controller. Or, select an optional Nintendo Switch Pro Controller.
How to read the release dates and platform claims
The dates cited here come from Nintendo UK product listings: October 2004 for the GBA game, 20 March 2009 for the DS game, and the Switch trilogy’s digital and game-card dates of 11 November 2021 and 11 February 2022. They are useful for tracing Nintendo’s release history, but dates on a UK listing should not be silently generalized to other markets. The Switch listing also distinguishes digital and game-card releases, so those dates refer to different formats.
Likewise, Rockstar’s platform announcement is useful for establishing release platforms and announced features, not for proving how the finished versions compare under the same conditions. A performance ranking would need comparable measurements such as resolution and frame rate during equivalent scenes, as well as loading and stability tests. Without that evidence, the responsible comparison is limited to the catalog, play modes and announced specifications described above.
Bottom line
Nintendo’s GTA story spans more than the Switch: the GBA had a 2004 entry, DS received the touchscreen-oriented Chinatown Wars in 2009, and Switch joined PlayStation and Xbox for the three-game Definitive Edition in 2021. Switch’s documented distinction is portable play and announced touch and gyro inputs; Rockstar’s stated 4K-at-up-to-60-FPS support applies to PS5 and Xbox Series X. Those facts help match a platform to play style, but they do not prove an overall performance winner.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

