You need at least 50 subscribers to livestream from the YouTube mobile app. That threshold does not apply to every method: YouTube’s general requirements for streaming from a computer do not state a subscriber minimum. Whichever method you use, your channel must be verified, have no live-streaming restrictions in the previous 90 days, and meet YouTube’s age requirement of 16 or older.
Does YouTube require 50 subscribers to go live?
Only YouTube’s mobile-app guidance sets a 50-subscriber minimum. YouTube documents computer webcam and encoder streaming separately, and its general and computer setup guidance does not list a subscriber minimum for those methods. So, if you have fewer than 50 subscribers, the mobile app may not be available to you, but the mobile threshold alone does not establish that you are barred from streaming by webcam or encoder.
Requirements for livestreaming
Requirements YouTube gives for all methods
- Your channel must be verified.
- Your channel must not have had a live-streaming restriction in the previous 90 days.
- You must be at least 16 years old. YouTube Help states: “You must be at least 16 years old to live stream.”
Additional requirements for the mobile app
- Your channel must have at least 50 subscribers.
- You need a supported device running Android 8.0 or later, or iOS 8 or later.
- Mobile livestreaming must be enabled for your channel. First-time activation may take up to 24 hours before you can start your first stream.
What happens below 1,000 subscribers?
Meeting the 50-subscriber mobile minimum does not guarantee an unrestricted mobile audience. YouTube may limit the number of viewers for mobile livestreams from channels with fewer than 1,000 subscribers, and it may set the livestream archive to private by default. After a channel reaches 1,000 subscribers, YouTube says removing the audience limitation may take several weeks.
Choose a livestreaming method
| Method | Subscriber minimum stated by YouTube | What you need to know |
|---|---|---|
| Mobile app | At least 50 | Also requires a verified channel with no live-streaming restrictions in the previous 90 days, a supported mobile operating system, and mobile livestreaming enabled. First activation may take up to 24 hours. |
| Computer webcam | Not stated in YouTube’s general or computer setup guidance | Requires a computer with a webcam. YouTube says expensive equipment is not necessary. |
| Encoder or console | Not stated in YouTube’s general setup guidance | YouTube lists these as additional ways to stream. An encoder can be used with equipment such as cameras and microphones. |
What to do if you cannot start a stream
- You have fewer than 50 subscribers: The mobile app’s stated threshold is 50. Consider a computer webcam or encoder method instead; YouTube’s general guidance does not state a subscriber minimum for those methods.
- You just enabled mobile livestreaming: Initial activation may take up to 24 hours. Wait for activation before trying again.
- Your channel is not verified or has a recent restriction: YouTube lists verification and no live-streaming restrictions in the previous 90 days among its requirements. Check your channel’s status and resolve any restriction before retrying.
- Your mobile stream has a limited audience or private archive: These may apply to mobile livestreams from channels below 1,000 subscribers. If you have reached 1,000, the audience limit may take several weeks to be removed.
Or let it run in the cloud
If you already meet YouTube’s eligibility rules and want a prerecorded video to keep looping as a 24/7 YouTube stream, StreamNeo is a cloud service for that job: upload a recording or build a playlist, add your YouTube stream key, and go live. Nothing has to stay on at home; it streams your upload as made, up to 4K 60fps, at one price per slot, and automatically recovers if YouTube drops the stream. The first day is free with no card. Monthly service is $9.99 per month. It plays uploaded videos rather than broadcasting a camera feed. Start your free day on StreamNeo.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallQuick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.




