Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › GST

How GST Applies to UPI Merchant Fees and Payment Services in India

By Freedom251 Team · · 4 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No, GST is not charged on the value of a UPI payment just because it exceeds ₹2,000. The tax question concerns a fee for a payment service, such as Merchant Discount Rate (MDR), rather than the money transferred. As of 7 October 2026, a new selective UPI merchant-fee framework has been announced for 15 October 2026, but the official announcement does not state the GST rate or tax classification for that MDR.

Is GST charged on UPI payments above ₹2,000?

No. The Ministry of Finance’s 18 April 2025 clarification distinguished the payment amount from charges for payment services: GST is levied on charges such as MDR, not on a UPI transfer’s value merely because it crosses ₹2,000. At that time, the Ministry said UPI P2M MDR was zero, so no GST applied to those transactions on account of MDR. That was the position described in 2025, not the latest announced policy. Ministry of Finance clarification, 18 April 2025.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Does GST apply to UPI MDR?

The Ministry’s 2025 statement establishes the general distinction: GST applies to payment-related charges such as MDR. It does not establish the specific GST rate or tax classification of the MDR announced in 2026. The Ministry’s FAQ of 15 September 2026 sets out fee terms and an effective date, but does not state how GST applies to that new fee. Do not assume a tax percentage from the MDR percentage or from a general banking-services rate; check the supplier’s invoice and any later official tax direction.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What UPI merchant fee has been announced, and when does it start?

As of 7 October 2026, the Ministry of Finance’s 15 September FAQ describes a selective P2M MDR framework scheduled to take effect on 15 October 2026. It is an announced future framework at this article’s date, not a fee already in effect. The FAQ’s stated terms are:

#1 Best Overall
SumUp Terminal SumUp Touch POS Terminal – Accepts Contactless, Chip & PIN, Apple & Google Pay + Instant Printing, Long Battery, No Monthly Fees
  • Effortless payments and printing: Accept card payments and print payment receipts on the spot with the built-in 40 mm thermal printer.
  • Faster sales processing: Use pre-set menus and catalogs to make transactions faster and smoother for you and your customers.
  • Reliable and portable: Featuring a 6.5" HD touchscreen made from Corning Gorilla Glass and a powerful battery that lasts all day.
  • Seamless connectivity: Stay connected with free mobile data and WiFi, ensuring uninterrupted transactions.
  • Real-time payment tracking: Monitor payments and issue refunds right from your device, so you're always in control.
Transaction or merchant category Announced MDR terms
Eligible P2M transactions above ₹2,000 0.4%; capped at ₹300 per transaction for transactions of ₹75,000 and above.
Specified categories, including railways, telecom, insurance and fuel Flat ₹5 MDR above ₹2,000. The FAQ also describes separate terms for capital-market transactions and certain industry-program categories.
P2PM micro-merchants described by the FAQ Zero MDR for merchants receiving up to ₹1 lakh per month through UPI QR directly into their accounts, subject to account categorisation.
Credit-linked UPI RuPay credit cards linked to UPI and presanctioned credit lines are described as subject to separate credit-product rules, rather than the direct account-to-account UPI MDR framework.

The FAQ’s examples for the general eligible P2M rate are ₹12 MDR on ₹3,000, ₹200 on ₹50,000 and ₹300 on ₹1,00,000. These are MDR examples only; they do not calculate GST. The source for all announced rates, examples, categories and the 15 October effective date is the Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance FAQ, 15 September 2026.

Who pays the UPI merchant fee?

The Ministry FAQ says consumers will not be charged and merchants onboarded under the announced framework cannot pass MDR to buyers. It also describes the P2PM zero-MDR category using a monthly-receipts limit of up to ₹1 lakh through UPI QR directly into the merchant’s account. Eligibility depends on account categorisation, the FAQ says, not on GST registration. This is not a blanket zero-fee rule for every small business or every service a payment provider may sell.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Are payment gateway charges different from UPI MDR?

Yes. MDR is a merchant transaction fee; a gateway may supply technology to route or facilitate online payments, while a payment aggregator may receive, pool and transfer funds to merchants. GST treatment depends on the service actually supplied and the applicable rule—not simply on whether a charge is connected with a digital payment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

CBIC Circular 55 clarifies a limited exemption under entry 34 of Notification 12/2017-CTR for RBI-regulated payment aggregators performing qualifying settlement of amounts up to ₹2,000 in a single transaction through credit, debit, charge or other payment-card services. It says the exemption is limited to settlement involving handling of money and does not cover payment gateway services. The circular addresses payment-card services; it is not a UPI-specific ruling and should not be read as a blanket exemption for every aggregator fee or as a ruling that all gateway charges have one tax treatment. See CBIC Circular 55.

How should a merchant check a UPI fee or GST line?

  1. Identify what the charge is for. Separate the UPI payment amount from MDR, gateway technology, payment aggregation, processing or another contracted service.
  2. Check the applicable transaction category and date. For the announced MDR framework, note the transaction rail and funding source, amount threshold, merchant account category and whether the 15 October 2026 effective date has arrived.
  3. Read the provider agreement and invoice. Look at the named supplier, description of service, fee, tax line and the period covered. A zero-MDR statement does not prove that a separately contracted technology or processing service is free or exempt.
  4. Ask the supplier to clarify an unclear tax line. The 2026 FAQ does not supply the GST rate or classification for its announced MDR. For a particular bill, request the basis from the provider or consult a tax professional rather than inferring a rate from the MDR figure.

The relevant fee and tax depend on the specific service and invoice. To describe the announced MDR accurately, verify after 15 October 2026 whether the schedule took effect as stated and whether a later Ministry, CBIC, RBI or NPCI direction clarifies its tax treatment.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

GSTIndiaMDRPayment GatewaysUPI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.