Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteGrand Theft Auto VI is officially scheduled for November 19, 2026, on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Rockstar and Take-Two have not yet published a GTA VI multiplayer feature list, an online launch date, player-count limit, cross-play policy, or subscription requirement. The announced material currently frames the game as a single-player experience, so detailed claims about GTA 6 Online remain unconfirmed.
This guide separates what you can buy and play at launch from the online questions that still need an official answer. It also explains how the existing Grand Theft Auto Online rules relate to—or do not automatically determine—GTA VI.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Grand Theft Auto 5 PS4 - PlayStation 4 ( GTA V Ps4) | $26.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Grand Theft Auto - PlayStation | $60.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Grand Theft Auto V - NL (PS3) | $43.81 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
12xPS2 Games: From Grand Theft Auto- Vice City to Spiderman | $10.48 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What Rockstar has officially confirmed
Rockstar’s current Grand Theft Auto VI product information identifies two launch platforms: PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. The listed release date is November 19, 2026. Take-Two Interactive’s 2026 pre-order announcement gives the US launch price as $79.99 and describes GTA VI as a single-player experience.
Rockstar support documentation covers PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S pre-orders, with physical and digital editions available. Those are the concrete purchase options described so far. The public material does not say that a separate online product will be sold, that multiplayer will be available on launch day, or that an online mode is included in every edition.
#1 Best Overall
| Question | Official position as of October 18, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Where can GTA VI be played at launch? | PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S are listed. |
| When is the game released? | November 19, 2026. |
| What launch price has been announced? | $79.99 in the United States, according to Take-Two Interactive’s 2026 pre-order announcement. |
| What experience is described? | A single-player experience; multiplayer details are not specified. |
| Are physical and digital editions documented? | Yes, for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S pre-orders. |
The price is a US launch figure, not a worldwide price or a promise that every edition will cost the same. Regional pricing, taxes, special editions and any later online product have not been established in the announced material.
Will GTA 6 have online multiplayer?
Rockstar has not published enough information to answer that with a confirmed yes. The company has not released a GTA VI Online feature page, mode list, server description or online launch schedule in the material currently available. Take-Two’s announcement calls the game single-player, but it does not state whether multiplayer will arrive later, launch alongside the story campaign, or be sold as a separate product.
That distinction matters because Grand Theft Auto Online for the previous game is an existing service with its own platform and membership rules. Its existence makes a future GTA VI online component plausible, but it does not establish the design, business model or release timing of a new service. Treat any social-media post or video that presents specific GTA VI modes as confirmed unless Rockstar itself publishes the information.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Which multiplayer features are still unconfirmed?
The following are the decision points players will need before spending money or choosing a platform. None has been formally announced for GTA VI.
| Feature or requirement | Current status | What an official announcement should clarify |
|---|---|---|
| Online modes | Not published | Whether there is a persistent open world, cooperative missions, competitive activities, private sessions or other modes. |
| Maximum players | Not published | The limit for public sessions, private sessions and individual activities. |
| Cross-play | Not published | Whether PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S players can join the same session. |
| Cross-progression | Not published | Whether characters, money, vehicles and progress follow an account between platforms or generations. |
| Online launch date | Not published | Whether multiplayer starts on November 19, 2026 or arrives in a later update. |
| Standalone pricing | Not published | Whether online access is bundled with the $79.99 game, sold separately or offered in another format. |
| Platform subscription | Not published | Whether console online multiplayer requires a paid PlayStation or Xbox membership. |
| GTA+ benefits or access | Not published | Whether the optional membership provides GTA VI benefits and whether it changes access to multiplayer. |
Rumored figures such as 64- or 96-player servers, role-playing systems and a specific 2027 online release are not supported by the announced primary material. They should not be used to choose a console or pre-order edition.
Rank #2
- Platform- Sony Playstation 1
What you need to play GTA VI at launch
A supported console
You will need a PlayStation 5 or an Xbox Series X|S because those are the only platforms Rockstar currently lists. The announcement does not include the older PlayStation 4 or Xbox One families. It also does not list a handheld edition.
A copy of the game
Rockstar’s support information describes both physical and digital pre-orders for the two supported console families. Take-Two’s announced US launch price is $79.99. Check the exact edition description before ordering, because the available material does not state whether every edition carries identical online entitlements.
A platform account and an internet connection for online play
Console multiplayer normally operates through the relevant PlayStation or Xbox account and requires an internet connection. Rockstar has not yet published GTA VI-specific account, connection, storage or bandwidth requirements, so do not treat general console practice as a confirmed GTA VI specification. The single-player campaign is the only experience explicitly described in the launch announcement.
A paid online membership may be required, but it is not confirmed
Do not buy a subscription solely because you assume the previous game’s policy carries over. Xbox currently says that online multiplayer for the existing Grand Theft Auto Online requires Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate. Xbox’s rule concerns the existing title; it is not evidence of the requirement for GTA VI. Rockstar has not stated the corresponding requirement for the new game, and no GTA VI subscription terms have been announced.
PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S: what can be compared now?
The two launch families are functionally equal in the information Rockstar has released: both are supported, both have physical and digital editions documented, and neither has a published GTA VI multiplayer advantage.
Rank #3
- GTA 5 SUR PS3 / TAKE TWO - ROCKSTAR GAME
| Decision factor | PlayStation 5 | Xbox Series X|S |
|---|---|---|
| GTA VI launch support | Officially listed | Officially listed |
| Release date | November 19, 2026 | November 19, 2026 |
| Physical and digital editions | Described in Rockstar support documentation | Described in Rockstar support documentation |
| Cross-play with the other console | Not announced | Not announced |
| GTA VI online subscription requirement | Not announced | Not announced |
| PC or cloud version | Not listed | Not listed |
Choose based on the console you already own, the controller and account ecosystem you use, and the friends you expect to play with. There is no confirmed cross-play policy that would let you safely assume friends on the other platform can join you.
When will GTA 6 Online release?
No online release date has been announced. November 19, 2026 is the date for GTA VI itself, not a published date for a separate GTA VI Online service. Rockstar could launch multiplayer concurrently, add it later, or describe a different structure; the current materials do not distinguish among those possibilities.
Until Rockstar publishes a date, avoid pre-ordering on the assumption that an online mode will be playable at midnight on launch day. A reliable announcement should identify the mode, supported platforms, access method and whether existing owners receive it automatically.
Will GTA 6 multiplayer be free?
There is no confirmed answer. The $79.99 figure covers the announced US launch price of GTA VI; it does not establish whether multiplayer is included, separately priced or supported by another purchase model. Rockstar has not announced a standalone online price, a free-to-play structure, a paid expansion, or recurring fees for GTA VI.
Before deciding what the game will cost over time, look for four pieces of information in the eventual announcement:
Recommended Free Tools
- Whether the base game includes online access.
- Whether a standalone online download can be purchased.
- Whether paid platform membership is needed for console multiplayer.
- Whether optional purchases or memberships affect gameplay access.
Do you need PlayStation Plus, Xbox Game Pass or GTA+?
PlayStation online membership
Rockstar has not announced the PlayStation subscription requirement for GTA VI. Do not infer one from another game or from a retailer listing. Wait for Rockstar or the platform holder to specify whether a particular PlayStation membership tier is needed.
Xbox Game Pass
Xbox states that the existing Grand Theft Auto Online requires Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate for console online multiplayer. That is current context for the older service, not a GTA VI policy. The GTA VI requirement could match it, differ from it or be announced with another access model.
GTA+
Rockstar describes GTA+ as optional and currently ties its benefits to GTA Online on PC Enhanced, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. No announcement says that GTA+ will be required for GTA VI, unlock multiplayer, transfer benefits or provide a special launch entitlement. Treat it as unrelated to GTA VI until Rockstar publishes a specific integration.
Is GTA VI coming to PC or cloud streaming?
The current official platform list does not include PC or cloud streaming, and no PC system requirements have been published. That means there is no confirmed PC version to buy, no supported PC hardware specification to follow and no basis for recommending a cloud service for GTA VI.
A later PC announcement could add a version with different features, timing or requirements, but that would be new information rather than a continuation of the current launch listing. If you are planning a PC purchase, wait for an official platform announcement and minimum and recommended specifications.
How to prepare without overpaying or relying on rumors
- Confirm your hardware. Verify that you own a PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S. An older console is not listed as a launch platform.
- Check the edition details. Compare the physical and digital product pages for the console you use. Look for explicit wording about online access, downloadable content and account entitlements rather than assuming they are included.
- Budget for the announced price only. Use $79.99 as the announced US launch reference for GTA VI. Do not add an unannounced online fee or subscription to your budget until those terms are published.
- Check your friends’ platforms. Because cross-play is unannounced, plan on playing with people on the same platform family unless Rockstar confirms otherwise.
- Wait for the online FAQ. Before purchasing a subscription or GTA+, look for an official statement covering launch timing, platform membership, cross-progression and the relationship between the campaign and multiplayer.
- Update your console and account. Install the latest system software, enable account security and ensure you can sign in before launch. These are practical preparation steps, not published GTA VI requirements.
What a complete multiplayer announcement should contain
When Rockstar releases more information, the most useful announcement will answer the following in one place:
- Whether multiplayer launches on November 19, 2026 or on another date.
- Which modes are available at launch and whether more are planned.
- The maximum number of players in each session type.
- Whether PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S share servers.
- Whether progress transfers between consoles or future versions.
- Whether the $79.99 game includes online access.
- Which PlayStation or Xbox membership, if any, is required.
- Whether GTA+ offers optional benefits and what those benefits are.
- Whether PC and cloud versions are planned, with their release timing and requirements.
Until those points are answered, the safe expectation is a confirmed console single-player release with an announced date and price, alongside an unconfirmed multiplayer product whose features and access rules remain open.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →

