Short answer: A GaN charger uses gallium-nitride power switches; a traditional charger generally uses silicon-based switches. GaN’s electrical characteristics can let engineers reduce switching losses or design a smaller power supply, but the GaN label does not by itself mean faster charging, lower temperatures, higher efficiency, better safety, or universal compatibility. Those outcomes depend on the complete circuit, rated wattage, charging protocol, ports, cable and the device being charged.
For a useful comparison, start with the charger’s output and supported protocol, then check how power is shared between ports, whether your cable and device support the required mode, the physical dimensions and the product’s safety documentation. Treat GaN as a design choice—not as a charging standard or a certification.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What GaN changes inside a charger
Gallium nitride (GaN) is a semiconductor material used in the switching devices of a power converter. Those switches rapidly turn electrical current on and off so the charger can convert mains electricity into the regulated output required by USB devices. A conventional wall charger commonly uses silicon MOSFETs for this job.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →The material choice affects the switch’s electrical behavior. A U.S. Department of Energy report describes GaN power switches with lower switching losses and lower reverse-recovery charge than silicon MOSFETs in a power-converter context. That helps explain why designers consider GaN when they are trying to reduce losses or fit a power supply into a smaller enclosure. The report is a 2015 discussion of electric-drive technology, not a matched test of current phone or laptop wall chargers, so it cannot be converted into a guaranteed consumer efficiency figure.
#1 Best Overall
- Faster & Cooler Choice: This UGREEN USB C Charger Block supports a max power transmission of 30W. Within 30 minutes, it can charge your iPhone 17 or Galaxy S26 to about 60%. Not only that, the Always-On Temperature Detection also ensures that it will not overheat during the fast charging process.
- Spend Less, Charge More: This USB C Charger has 3 interfaces, including 2 USB C and 1 USB A interface, which ensures its wide compatibility and can be used with different devices. You can charge three of your devices at the same time. Just enjoy the convenience of multiple interfaces.
- Real safety is safe inside and out: The charger features an upgraded GaN II chip, offering efficient heat dissipation and faster response to over-voltage, over-current, and short-circuit protection. Its housing is made of flame-retardant matte PC material, ensuring complete safety both inside and out for this compact charger.
- Compact and lightweight: This charger easily fits into your bag or pocket, making it perfect for travel, office, or daily carry. Its small size doesn’t just save space — it also keeps your desk tidy, reduces clutter, and lets you charge multiple devices anywhere without hassle.
- Multi-Protocol Charging: Supports PD, QC, and PPS fast-charging protocols. Tip: When using multiple ports simultaneously, single outputs up to 15W. For original Mag Safe accessories, use a single port.
A charger is more than its transistor. Its transformer or inductor, rectifiers, control circuitry, thermal design, firmware, ports and enclosure all affect the result. A well-designed silicon charger can outperform a poorly designed GaN model in a particular use, and two GaN chargers can behave very differently. The semiconductor is one design variable, not a complete performance specification.
For the underlying power-converter discussion, see the U.S. Department of Energy’s Electric Drive Technologies 2015 Annual Report.
GaN is not the same thing as USB Power Delivery
USB Power Delivery (USB PD) is a communications and power-negotiation specification. It defines how a source and a device identify supported voltage and current combinations and how they request an appropriate power level. GaN describes the semiconductor used in the source’s power-conversion circuitry. A charger can support USB PD with silicon switches, and a GaN charger can omit USB PD or support a different set of charging modes.
The USB Implementers Forum document library currently lists USB Power Delivery Specification Revision 3.2, Version 1.2, dated September 14, 2026. That document is a standards reference; its listing does not certify any particular retail charger. USB-IF also publishes separate compliance material for USB Type-C interoperability and USB PD testing. Read the actual model’s specifications and compliance claims rather than treating “GaN” as shorthand for “USB PD certified.”
Use the USB-IF USB Power Delivery document library for the specification and the USB-IF Power Delivery compliance updates for the separate testing context.
Does a GaN charger charge faster?
Not automatically. Charging speed is limited by the lowest capability in the chain:
- The charger must offer a wattage and charging mode the device can request.
- The device must be designed to accept that power; a phone that accepts 25 W cannot draw 65 W merely because the charger is labeled GaN.
- The cable must be suitable for the voltage, current and USB-C mode being used.
- The device’s battery-management system may reduce power as the battery fills or when its temperature rises.
- With multiple devices connected, the charger may divide its available output.
GaN can make it easier for a designer to build a compact high-power supply, but it does not change the device’s charging protocol or battery limits. There is no cited apples-to-apples consumer wall-charger test establishing a universal GaN charging-time advantage. Compare the output profiles and protocol support shown for the specific models instead of inferring speed from the material name.
Rank #2
- The Only Charger You Need: Say goodbye to your old power bricks. Anker 715 Charger (Nano II 65W) has the power you need to fast charge your phone, tablet, and USB-C notebook from a single tiny charger.
- High-Speed Charging: Charge a 2020 MacBook Air in less than 2 hours, a MacBook Pro 13ʺ at full speed, an iPhone 13 up to 3× faster than with an original 5W charger, and charge the latest Samsung phones at full speed with Samsung Super Fast Charging.
- Downsized Design: At 58% smaller than an original 61W USB-C charger, and with a foldable plug, Anker Nano II takes up less space while giving you just as much power.
- Powered by GaN II Technology: With a 100% increase in operating frequency, an innovative stacked design, and an upgraded circuit board structure, GaN II technology makes our latest charger smaller without sacrificing a drop of power.
- What You Get: Anker 715 Charger (Nano II 65W) / Anker Nano II 65W, welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service (cable not included).
Efficiency, heat and safety: what is—and is not—established
Efficiency
Lower switching losses are a device-level advantage described in the Department of Energy report, but the cited material contains no directly comparable efficiency percentage for modern consumer GaN and silicon wall chargers. Conversion efficiency depends on load level, input voltage, switching frequency, magnetic components, control strategy and standby design. A manufacturer’s “high efficiency” statement should therefore be checked against a test method and the load conditions, if supplied.
Operating temperature
Less switching loss can reduce one source of heat, yet enclosure size, airflow, component selection and the charger’s actual load also determine temperature. The available sources do not provide a controlled temperature comparison between consumer GaN and silicon chargers. Do not promise that every GaN charger runs cooler.
Safety and certification
Safety comes from the complete design, insulation, creepage and clearance, protection circuits, thermal limits, manufacturing quality and applicable product testing. GaN is not a safety mark. Look for model-specific declarations, required regional markings and a stated safety standard. USB-IF compliance addresses USB interoperability and protocol behavior; it is separate from the semiconductor choice.
Why GaN chargers are often smaller
High-frequency switching and lower losses can give a designer more room to reduce the size of magnetic components or the overall enclosure. That is why compact GaN chargers are common in travel and laptop-power categories. Size is a plausible design benefit, not a universal physical rule: a GaN model with extra ports, more thermal margin or a rugged enclosure may be larger than a lower-power silicon model.
Anker describes its 715 Charger (Nano II 65W) as a GaN II product and states: “By swapping out silicon for gallium nitride (GaN), we’ve reduced the size of our chargers without compromising power.” That is a manufacturer claim about its design, not independent comparative testing. The product page is useful for the model’s listed specifications, but it does not establish that every GaN charger is smaller or that the model is more efficient than a particular silicon competitor.
When portability matters, compare the actual dimensions and weight printed in each model’s documentation. Do not select by the GaN label alone.
A concrete example: Anker 715 Charger (Nano II 65W)
The Anker product page illustrates what a meaningful specification sheet looks like:
Rank #3
- Ultra-Compact Design: Experience exceptional power in a remarkably compact charger that is 51% smaller than the original 67W MacBook charger—ideal to bring anywhere you go.
- Fast Charging for 3 Devices: With 2 USB-C ports and 1 USB-A port, effortlessly charge your phone, tablet, and notebook all at once from a single charger. Connect a single device to charge up to 67W.
- 65W Max Two-Port Charging: Whether you use both USB-C ports or a combination of USB-C and USB-A ports, enjoy fast and efficient charging with a maximum output of 65W.
- Comprehensive Safeguards: The upgraded ActiveShield 2.0 system provides secure charging with built-in protections for added peace of mind.
- What You Get: Anker Prime 67W GaN Wall Charger (3 Ports), welcome guide, our worry-free 24-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Specification | What the cited product page establishes |
|---|---|
| Semiconductor/design label | Marketed as a GaN II charger |
| Maximum output | 65 W |
| Ports | One USB-C port |
| Output profiles | Profiles are listed by the manufacturer; select the profile that matches the device’s supported mode |
| Compatibility examples | Examples are provided on the manufacturer page; confirm your own device’s requirements |
| Safety standard named | IEC 62368-1 conformity is stated |
| Independent GaN-versus-silicon result | Not stated on the cited page |
| Numeric dimensions in the supplied material | Not stated; check the current product documentation |
See the Anker 715 Charger (Nano II 65W) product page for the manufacturer’s current listing. Its 65 W maximum describes what the charger can supply under its specified conditions; it does not mean every connected device will draw 65 W.
How to compare a GaN charger with a traditional charger
Use the following sequence for two specific models. It prevents the semiconductor label from hiding a mismatch in power, ports or standards.
- Write down the device requirement. Check the phone, tablet, laptop or accessory manual for its maximum input power, connector type and supported charging modes. If the device lists several modes, note the one it uses with USB-C.
- Match the charger’s rated output. Compare the model’s maximum wattage and its individual output profiles with the device requirement. A higher number is useful only if the device can request it; a lower number may charge slowly or fail to maintain operation on a laptop.
- Verify protocol support. Confirm that the charger explicitly supports the relevant USB PD or other required mode. “GaN” does not establish protocol support.
- Check the cable. Use a cable rated for the power and operating mode you intend to use. A cable supplied with a low-power accessory may limit a high-power charger, even when both ends fit physically.
- Map the ports. Record the number and type of ports and whether the charger has one shared power budget. A single-port charger avoids cross-device allocation, while a multiport model may reduce the power available to each port when another device is connected.
- Read simultaneous-use figures. Look for a table in the manual or on the product page showing each port alone and in combination. Do not compare only the headline total wattage.
- Measure portability. Compare published dimensions and weight, not assumptions about GaN. Include the plug design and whether a detachable cable or travel adapter adds bulk.
- Review safety and compliance information. Check the model-specific safety standard, regional markings, protection features and any USB-IF claims. A generic statement about GaN is not evidence of certification.
- Compare price and included accessories at the time of purchase. Prices, bundles and availability change. Include the cost of a suitable cable if one is not supplied.
Understanding multiport power allocation
A multiport charger’s headline wattage is usually a total budget, not a promise that every port can deliver that amount simultaneously. Internal controls may assign a high-power profile to one port when it is used alone and a different combination when two or more ports are active. Connecting a second device can therefore change the first device’s available mode.
Before buying, find three entries in the model’s documentation:
- Maximum output with only the primary port connected.
- Maximum output for each port when all ports are used.
- The exact combinations allowed, including whether a laptop port keeps priority or whether power is shared dynamically.
If the documentation gives only a total wattage and no simultaneous-use table, treat the allocation as unknown and ask the manufacturer before relying on the charger for a laptop plus other devices.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
When a GaN charger is a sensible choice
Frequent travel
A compact, appropriately rated model can reduce bag volume when it replaces several single-device adapters. The benefit comes from the model’s physical design and port arrangement; confirm that its shared output covers the devices you actually carry.
USB-C laptop users
Look for the laptop’s required wattage and supported USB-C charging mode first. A small 65 W GaN charger may suit a laptop designed for 65 W, while a higher-power workstation may need a charger with a larger rating. A GaN label cannot compensate for insufficient output.
Rank #4
- the Only Charger You Need: Say goodbye to your old chargers. Anker 735 Charger (Nano II 65W) has the power you need to fast charge your phone, tablet, and USB-C notebook from a single charger.
- High-Speed Charging: Connect a single device to get a 65W max charge—that’s enough to power up a 2020 MacBook Pro 13″ at full speed. And when you connect three devices, power will be distributed efficiently between ports to ensure you get the best charge.
- Compact Design: Power up to 3 devices with a charger that’s roughly the size of an AirPods Pro case.
- Powered by GaN II Technology: With a 100% increase in operating frequency, an innovative stacked design, and an upgraded circuit board structure, GaN II technology makes our latest charger smaller without sacrificing a drop of power.
- What You Get: Anker 735 Charger (Nano II 65W) / PowerPort III 3-Port 65W Pod, welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
One high-power device
A single-port charger can make its output behavior easier to predict. The Anker 715 example has one USB-C port and a 65 W maximum, but you should still confirm the laptop or tablet’s requested profile and use a suitable cable.
Several lower-power devices
A multiport GaN model can be convenient, provided its simultaneous-use table meets your combined demand. Count the power needed by each device rather than assuming the sum of the port labels is always available.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsWhen a traditional silicon charger may be the better decision
- You already own a compliant charger that meets your devices’ requirements. Replacing it solely because a newer model says GaN may provide little practical benefit.
- Size is not important. A larger silicon charger can be perfectly suitable when it has the required output, protocol and safety documentation.
- The silicon model has clearer allocation or compliance information. Transparent specifications are more useful than a material label.
- The price difference is not justified by your use. If you rarely travel and charge one modest-power device, compactness may not repay a premium.
Common mistakes and how to avoid them
Assuming “GaN” means “fast charge”
Fast charging requires a matching protocol, output profile, cable and device. Read all four specifications.
Buying by total wattage alone
A 100 W multiport unit may provide far less to a particular port once other devices are connected. Find the per-port and simultaneous-use table.
Using an unsuitable cable
Connector shape does not reveal a cable’s power capability. Replace an unknown or low-rated cable when operating a high-power USB-C setup.
Confusing a standards document with certification
The USB-IF specification explains the protocol; it does not certify every product that mentions USB PD. Look for product-specific compliance information.
Recommended Free Tools
Expecting a temperature or efficiency miracle
GaN’s lower switching-loss potential is real in the cited power-converter context, but no supplied source establishes a universal consumer-wall-charger percentage, temperature reduction or charging-time improvement.
Best Value
- AirPods-Size 160W Power: Delivering 1.35W/cm³ of power density, this sleek 3-port usb c charger provides a total output of 160W while being as compact as an AirPods Pro 3 case, making it easy to carry yet powerful enough to handle your devices.
- 140W Single-Port Output: Enjoy a consistent 140W single-port output without derating, keeping laptops charging at maximum speed even during long work sessions or heavy loads. Charge a 16-inch MacBook Pro from 0 to 50% in just 25 minutes, without worrying which port to use.
- One Equals Three: With smart power distribution powered by PowerIQ 5.0, power a 16" MacBook Pro, iPhone 16 Pro Max, and 11" iPad Pro in the same time as three original chargers (140W + 35W + 35W). Carry one instead of three and stay fully productive on the go.
- Smarter Charging Control: With AnkerSense View, monitor power in real time on screen, switch modes instantly, and unlock custom modes through the app via Bluetooth.
- What You Get: Anker Prime Charger (160W, 3 Ports, Smart Display, With no-cable), welcome guide, 24-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Ignoring regional and model differences
Plug type, input-voltage range, included accessories and markings can vary by region or revision. Check the exact model sold where you live.
Troubleshooting a charger that does not perform as expected
The device charges slowly
- Confirm the charger’s output profile and protocol against the device manual.
- Try a cable known to support the required power and mode.
- Disconnect other devices and retest; shared allocation may have reduced the available output.
- Check whether the device limits power because its battery is nearly full or its temperature is elevated.
- Test the charger with another compatible device to separate a charger issue from a device or cable issue.
The laptop reports that it is still discharging
Compare the laptop’s required input wattage with the charger’s actual per-port output under the current connection pattern. A charger can be labeled 65 W or 100 W overall yet provide less to that port when another device is attached.
The charger becomes unusually hot or shuts down
Unplug it, allow it to cool and inspect the outlet, cable and connectors. Recheck the model’s rated input and output conditions and avoid covering ventilation openings. Persistent overheating, a damaged enclosure, odor or repeated shutdowns is a reason to stop using the unit and contact the manufacturer; do not infer that GaN makes a faulty charger safe.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteUSB-C devices connect but do not negotiate power
Check that the cable is fully seated and that both the charger and device support the same charging mode. Try each port separately, because ports can have different capabilities. Consult the model documentation for the exact port behavior.
What the available evidence can support
The evidence supports three bounded conclusions. First, GaN and silicon are alternative semiconductor choices for power switching, and GaN’s switching characteristics can help engineers reduce losses or build a smaller converter. Second, USB PD and USB-C compliance are separate standards matters that must be assessed from the product documentation. Third, the practical buying decision should be based on rated output, protocol, cables, port allocation, dimensions and safety information.
It does not support a universal claim that GaN chargers are faster, cooler, safer or more efficient by a fixed percentage. The Department of Energy source is older and concerns electric-drive power-converter technology; the compact-size statement from Anker is a manufacturer claim; and the cited material contains no matched independent consumer wall-charger comparison.
Decision checklist
- What maximum wattage does each device actually accept?
- Which charging protocol and output profiles do the device and charger share?
- Is the cable rated for that power and mode?
- How many ports are needed, and what happens when they are used together?
- Are the charger’s real dimensions and weight suitable for your bag or outlet?
- Does the exact model provide safety and compliance information for your region?
- Is the compactness or port convenience worth the price compared with a charger you already own?
If the answers line up, a GaN model can be an excellent compact replacement. If they do not, choosing a silicon charger with clearer or better-matched specifications is the safer and more useful decision.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

