Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › cooperative board games

Games Like Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts for Fans of Magical Co-op Adventures

By Freedom251 Team · · 8 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you are searching for a game like Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts, first separate the format from the theme: Defenders of Hogwarts is a physical MinaLima tabletop game, not an officially identified video game. It supports 2–5 players, takes approximately 90 minutes, and is recommended for ages 13 and up. Its published comparison profile is a deck-builder played on a map with a one-vs-many structure, so it is not a fully cooperative game in which every player fights the system together.

The best replacement depends on what you actually want to preserve. Choose Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle for the closest licensed, fully cooperative deck-building experience; consider Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising for another cooperative Wizarding World tabletop format; choose The Big Book of Madness for cooperative wizard-school play without the Harry Potter license; and look at Harry Potter: Magic Awakened only if you want a digital collectible-card roleplay game rather than a tabletop substitute.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What kind of game is Defenders of Hogwarts?

The phrase “Harry Potter Defenders RPG game” can send people in the wrong direction. The game identified by that name is a physical board game associated with MinaLima. It is designed for a group around a table, not as a standalone computer or console role-playing game. The published profile gives it a 2–5-player range, an approximate 90-minute session, and a 13+ recommendation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Mechanically, the important distinction is its structure. Defenders of Hogwarts combines deck-building with a map and uses a one-vs-many model. That creates a different social experience from a fully cooperative game: the table is not simply a team of equal allies working against an automated deck or scenario. One side has an opposing role, while the other players coordinate against it. If your group specifically wants everyone on the same team, a game can share the Wizarding World setting and still be the wrong match.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Use the comparison below to decide whether you are looking for the same theme, the same deck-building activity, the same group size, or the same competitive tension. Those are separate priorities, and no single alternative matches all of them.

At-a-glance comparison

Game Format and setting Cooperation structure Players Typical duration Deck-building or card focus
Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts Physical MinaLima board game; licensed Wizarding World setting One-vs-many rather than fully cooperative 2–5 Approximately 90 minutes Deck-builder played with a map
Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle Physical licensed Wizarding World tabletop game Fully cooperative 2–4 30–60 minutes in the comparison profile Cooperative deck-building campaign across seven years
Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising Physical licensed Wizarding World tabletop game Cooperative Not stated in the available product sheet Not stated in the available product sheet Card-and-dice format
The Big Book of Madness Physical, non-licensed wizard-school game Cooperative Not stated in the available recommendation Not stated in the available recommendation Cooperative deck-building
Harry Potter: Magic Awakened Digital free-to-play collectible-card roleplay game in the Wizarding World Not a tabletop cooperative replacement Digital format; tabletop player count does not apply Not stated Collectible-card roleplay play

“Not stated” means the available published material did not establish a value, not that the game lacks a particular mode or specification. Check the current edition or platform listing before buying, especially for player count, session length, regional availability, and online requirements.

1. Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle — the closest fully cooperative match

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle is the clearest choice when the defining requirement is cooperation. Its rules describe players taking the heroic role of Harry Potter, Ron Weasley, Hermione Granger, or Neville Longbottom and defeating a series of evil threats together. That wording matters because it establishes a genuinely shared objective rather than a one-vs-many contest.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The comparison profile lists 2–4 players and 30–60 minutes. Compared with Defenders of Hogwarts, that is a smaller maximum group and a shorter expected session. A four-person group that wants to finish in roughly an hour will therefore find the published profile a better fit than a five-person group planning a 90-minute game.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Its other major distinction is progression. Hogwarts Battle is described as a cooperative deck-building campaign across seven years. The campaign framing gives repeated sessions a built-in arc: players are not merely replaying one isolated map, but moving through a longer school-year structure. That makes it a strong recommendation for groups that enjoy gradually developing decks and returning to the same game over multiple sessions.

Choose Hogwarts Battle if…

  • Every participant must be allied against the game.
  • You want an explicitly licensed Harry Potter setting.
  • Your group prefers a 30–60-minute comparison profile.
  • You want campaign progression rather than a single approximately 90-minute match.
  • You are comfortable with a four-player maximum in the published comparison.

Choose something else if…

  • You specifically want one player to have an opposing role.
  • Your group has five players and does not want to split into separate sessions.
  • You prefer a map-centered one-vs-many structure over cooperative campaign deck-building.

2. Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising — another cooperative Wizarding World tabletop route

Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising is identified in a product sheet from The Op as another cooperative Wizarding World tabletop game. It is useful for readers who want to stay within the licensed setting but try a different design from either Defenders of Hogwarts or Hogwarts Battle.

The available description emphasizes a card-and-dice format and a different story period. That makes it a better lead for players who want dice to be part of the core activity, rather than choosing solely on the basis of deck-building. It remains cooperative, so it fits groups that want a common objective instead of an opposing human role.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Published player count and duration are not established in the supplied product information. Treat those as edition-specific questions: confirm the current box, rulebook, or retailer listing before planning a session. The same check is sensible for stock and release edition, because product availability can change by region and over time.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Choose Death Eaters Rising if…

  • You want a licensed Wizarding World tabletop game with cooperative play.
  • A card-and-dice format sounds more appealing than a campaign deck-builder.
  • You want a different story period from the school-year campaign associated with Hogwarts Battle.

3. The Big Book of Madness — cooperative wizard school without the license

The Big Book of Madness is the strongest non-licensed alternative in this set. A reader discussion recommends it as “a cooperative deck-building game about wizards in training.” That is community evidence rather than a formal review or a publisher specification, but it directly matches the mechanical request: players cooperate while building decks in a magical-school setting.

The trade-off is identity. It does not use the Harry Potter license, named characters, or the Wizarding World brand. If recognizable characters and official setting details are the reason your group chose Defenders of Hogwarts, this is a thematic substitute rather than a licensed one. If the important part is learning magic together, improving decks, and solving a shared problem, the recommendation becomes more relevant.

The cited recommendation does not establish a player count, session length, current edition, or retail availability. Verify those details before purchasing, and treat marketplace listings as changeable rather than permanent specifications.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose The Big Book of Madness if…

  • You want cooperative deck-building centered on wizard training.
  • You are happy with an original setting instead of Harry Potter licensing.
  • You are comparing mechanics and table mood more than characters or continuity.

4. Harry Potter: Magic Awakened — a digital option, not a board-game replacement

Harry Potter: Magic Awakened belongs in the conversation only when “game like Defenders of Hogwarts” means a digital magical adventure. NetEase and Warner Bros. describe it as a free-to-play collectible-card roleplay game set in the Wizarding World.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

That format changes the buying decision completely. You would be playing on a supported digital platform rather than placing a physical board on a table, and the collectible-card roleplay structure is not the same as a cooperative tabletop deck-builder. It therefore cannot reproduce the face-to-face group experience, map handling, or one-vs-many table dynamic of Defenders of Hogwarts.

Choose Magic Awakened if…

  • You want a digital Wizarding World experience.
  • You prefer collectible-card roleplay systems to physical components.
  • You do not require a tabletop game or a fully cooperative board-game structure.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to choose the right match

Start with the cooperation rule

Ask whether one participant should oppose the others. Defenders of Hogwarts is profiled as one-vs-many; that structure can create negotiation, bluffing, and direct social tension. Hogwarts Battle, Death Eaters Rising, and The Big Book of Madness are presented as cooperative alternatives, where the group shares the central objective. If disagreement about this point would spoil game night, settle it before comparing themes or artwork.

Match the group size

Defenders of Hogwarts is listed for 2–5 players. Hogwarts Battle is listed for 2–4. The other descriptions do not provide a reliable player count. A five-player household should not assume that a cooperative alternative supports the same table size; confirm the current rules first.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Match the time you have

The published comparison gives Defenders of Hogwarts approximately 90 minutes and Hogwarts Battle 30–60 minutes. Those figures are planning guides, not guarantees for every group. Teaching, pauses, and campaign decisions can extend a session. No duration is established for Death Eaters Rising, The Big Book of Madness, or Magic Awakened in the available descriptions, so do not infer one from the title or format.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Decide how much deck-building matters

Defenders of Hogwarts and Hogwarts Battle both have explicit deck-building profiles, but their structures differ: Defenders combines deck-building with a map and one-vs-many play, while Hogwarts Battle uses cooperative deck-building in a seven-year campaign. The Big Book of Madness is also described as cooperative deck-building. Death Eaters Rising is identified instead through cards and dice, and Magic Awakened through collectible-card roleplay.

Separate license from atmosphere

A licensed game gives you the official Wizarding World setting. Hogwarts Battle and Death Eaters Rising preserve that identity, while The Big Book of Madness offers wizard-school flavor without the license. Magic Awakened also uses the Wizarding World setting but changes the experience to digital roleplay. Decide whether your group needs named Harry Potter characters or simply wants a magical-school premise.

Practical decision paths

Your priority Best starting point Why Important limitation to verify
Fully cooperative licensed tabletop play Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle Explicit cooperative rules, 2–4 players, and a 30–60-minute comparison profile It does not match Defenders of Hogwarts’ five-player maximum or one-vs-many structure
Licensed cooperation with cards and dice Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising Cooperative Wizarding World tabletop format with a different story period Current player count, duration, edition, and stock are not established here
Wizard-school cooperation without licensing The Big Book of Madness Community-described cooperative deck-building about wizards in training Recommendation evidence does not establish current availability or specifications
Digital collectible-card roleplay Harry Potter: Magic Awakened Free-to-play digital Wizarding World card RPG It is not a physical cooperative board-game substitute
One-vs-many table tension Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts Its published profile is a map-based deck-builder for 2–5 players It is not fully cooperative

What to verify before buying

  • Edition: Confirm that the listing describes the edition you will receive, particularly for older licensed products.
  • Player count: Use the stated range rather than assuming that every Wizarding World game accommodates the same group size.
  • Session length: Treat 90 minutes and 30–60 minutes as published comparison figures, then allow time to teach new players.
  • Cooperation: Look for explicit cooperative wording if your group does not want a human opposing role.
  • Format: Check whether you are buying a physical tabletop game or downloading a digital title.
  • Availability: Verify current stock and regional release details; these are not permanent specifications.

Bottom line

For most fans who mean “a Harry Potter board game where everyone works together,” Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle is the clearest first choice: it is explicitly cooperative, licensed, listed for 2–4 players, and profiled at 30–60 minutes with a seven-year deck-building campaign. Death Eaters Rising is the next licensed tabletop avenue if cards and dice appeal to you. The Big Book of Madness is the mechanical alternative when wizard-school cooperation matters more than the Harry Potter name. Choose Magic Awakened only when you want a digital collectible-card roleplay experience. Keep Defenders of Hogwarts itself in the running if what you want is its distinctive combination of a map, deck-building, a 2–5-player table, and one-vs-many tension.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

cooperative board gamesDeck-building gamesHarry Potter gamestabletop gamesThe Big Book of MadnessWizarding World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.