Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Cashfree

Freecharge vs Razorpay vs Cashfree: Which Payment Aggregator Is Best for a Small Business in 2026?

By Freedom251 Team · · 11 min read

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For most eligible new Indian small businesses, Cashfree is the strongest choice on the currently published terms: it advertises 0% MDR on up to ₹20 lakh of monthly GMV through 31 March 2027, with T+1 as the default settlement cycle, optional settlement described as arriving within 15 minutes, zero setup fee, zero annual maintenance charge and more than 180 payment modes. Razorpay is the better alternative when you value a broad, familiar integration toolkit: its published introductory offer is 0% platform fees for 90 days, capped at ₹5 lakh of cumulative volume, and it supports cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons and invoices. Freecharge cannot be ranked fairly beside them from the available public evidence because a comparable current merchant gateway rate card, settlement schedule and API documentation are not established.

That verdict applies to an India-based business choosing a gateway in 2026. Your actual cost can still change with payment method, GST, refunds, chargebacks, instant-settlement charges, eligibility checks and an account-specific quotation. A shop that only needs QR or payment links may not need a full API gateway at all.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What the three options currently publish

The headline offers look similar until you examine what each percentage applies to, how long it lasts and what is capped. Cashfree publishes an MDR promotion; Razorpay publishes a platform-fee promotion. Those are not automatically interchangeable terms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Provider Published introductory or standard terms Settlement information Payment and integration information What remains to verify
Cashfree 0% MDR for eligible new merchants up to ₹20 lakh monthly GMV through 31 March 2027; zero setup fee and zero AMC are stated. T+1 default settlement; instant settlement described as occurring within 15 minutes. 180+ payment modes are stated. Eligibility, what the 0% promotion excludes, GST, refunds, chargebacks, method-level pricing and any instant-settlement fee.
Razorpay 0% platform fees for new merchants for the first 90 days, limited to ₹5 lakh cumulative volume. A comparable current settlement promise is not stated in the supplied provider evidence. Debit and credit cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons and invoices are listed. Post-promotion MDR, settlement timing, GST, refunds, chargebacks, method-level pricing and any account-specific quote.
Freecharge Public material confirms an Indian digital-payments service, but no comparable current merchant gateway rate card is established. No comparable current settlement schedule is established. No comparable current API documentation is established. Merchant acceptance, gateway capabilities, pricing, settlement, plugins, support and onboarding requirements must be confirmed directly.

Use the table as a starting point, not as a promise that every merchant receives identical terms. Promotions can depend on being a new merchant, completing verification and meeting the provider’s definition of eligible volume.

#1 Best Overall
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Get set up quickly with no long-term commitments. Download the Square Point of Sale app for free, create an account, and start taking payments anywhere.
  • Run your business all in one place with the free Square Point of Sale app. Track your sales, manage inventory, accept tips, send receipts digitally, and more.
  • Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.

How the promotional pricing changes your real cost

Cashfree’s ₹20 lakh monthly limit

Cashfree’s published offer covers eligible new merchants up to ₹20 lakh of GMV in a month and runs through 31 March 2027. “0% MDR” means the promotional MDR rate is zero within the stated conditions; it does not establish that every possible charge is zero. Ask for a written schedule covering GST, refunds, chargebacks, failed transactions, international or special card categories, and any products outside the gateway offer.

For example, a business processing ₹8 lakh in a qualifying month is below the published ₹20 lakh monthly ceiling. The business should still confirm that its account, payment methods and transaction mix qualify and whether taxes or non-MDR charges are added. A month above ₹20 lakh requires a written explanation of how transactions over the ceiling are priced; do not assume that the entire month’s volume remains free.

Razorpay’s 90-day, ₹5 lakh cap

Razorpay states 0% platform fees for new merchants during the first 90 days, up to ₹5 lakh of cumulative volume. The cap is cumulative rather than a recurring monthly allowance. A merchant that reaches ₹5 lakh on day 20 has used the published allowance even though 70 days remain. Confirm the rate that starts after the allowance and whether the offer is measured on successful payments, gross processed value or another definition.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The word “platform” matters. The published statement does not, by itself, prove that MDR, GST, refund handling or every payment method has a zero charge. Request a line-item quotation before comparing it with Cashfree’s MDR wording.

Costs that can outlive a headline offer

  • Post-promotion pricing: obtain the recurring MDR or platform rate after the introductory period or cap.
  • GST and taxes: ask whether displayed rates are before tax and how tax appears on invoices.
  • Refunds: confirm whether the original processing fee is returned, retained or charged again when a refund is issued.
  • Chargebacks and disputes: ask about dispute fees, evidence deadlines and deductions from future settlements.
  • Settlement options: determine whether instant settlement has a per-transaction, percentage or subscription charge.
  • Payment-method differences: rates can vary by card type, wallet, EMI, international card or other method even when a promotional headline is broad.
  • Contract terms: check minimums, reserves, rolling holds, termination charges and whether a promotional rate can be withdrawn for policy or risk reasons.

Settlement speed and working capital

Cashfree: T+1 by default, faster option described

Cashfree states T+1 default settlement. In practical terms, a payment accepted on one business day is normally settled on the next applicable settlement day, subject to banking calendars, verification and risk controls. Cashfree also describes instant settlement within 15 minutes. The public statement does not establish the fee, minimum balance, eligible transaction types or operating hours for that faster option, so obtain those details before relying on it for payroll or inventory.

Rank #2
Sale
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
  • Accept contactless payments, chip cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay from anywhere, with improved connectivity, extended battery life, and enhanced security. Pay one low rate for every tap or dip.
  • No long-term commitments or contracts, no monthly fees- and with offline payments, keep taking payments for up to 24 hours.
  • Safely and securely accepts payments anywhere. Plus, get data security, 24/7 fraud prevention, and payment-dispute management at no extra cost.
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.

Razorpay: request a written schedule

The available Razorpay pricing evidence describes payment methods and the introductory fee but does not provide a comparable current settlement cycle. Ask whether settlement is T+1, T+2 or another schedule for your account, whether weekends and bank holidays change the count, and whether a reserve or temporary hold applies to a new merchant. If daily cash flow is critical, make settlement timing a procurement requirement rather than assuming the promotional pricing page answers it.

Freecharge: settlement is unresolved

No comparable current Freecharge merchant settlement schedule is established. Treat any verbal timing as provisional until it appears in merchant documentation or a contract that identifies the settlement clock, cut-off time, bank holidays, reserves and reconciliation process.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do you need a full API gateway?

The right product depends on how customers pay and how orders are recorded. A full gateway integration is useful when your website or app must create payment orders, receive automated success or failure notifications, reconcile transactions and issue refunds at scale. It also introduces software work, testing, security obligations and ongoing maintenance.

QR-only or counter payments

A physical shop, consultant or home business that accepts payments in person may only need a compliant QR acceptance setup and a way to match each payment to an invoice or order. Before choosing a provider, confirm whether the QR is static or dynamically generated, whether staff can identify the payer and order, how refunds are initiated and what settlement report is available. Do not pay for an API project when a simple acceptance product meets the requirement.

Payment links for orders taken by phone or chat

Payment links are appropriate when the seller already creates an order manually and needs the customer to pay remotely. Razorpay explicitly lists payment links, while the supplied Cashfree evidence confirms broad payment coverage but does not specify which link workflow is included. Verify link expiry, partial payments, multiple-use links, refunds, reminders, branded pages and reconciliation fields.

Rank #3
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
  • With Square Terminal, you can ring up sales, accept payments, and print receipts, all with one device. Use it at the counter or ring up customers anywhere in your store.
  • Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate with no hidden fees and no long-term contracts.
  • Process chip cards in just two seconds.
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.

Hosted checkout or payment page

A hosted checkout can reduce the amount of payment data your own site handles. Confirm the redirect and webhook behavior, supported browsers, mobile experience, failure recovery and whether customers can retry without creating duplicate orders. Razorpay lists payment pages and buttons; ask Cashfree for the exact hosted-checkout product and technical limits that apply to your account.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

API integration for a website or app

Choose an API when payment status must update inventory, subscriptions, bookings or digital delivery automatically. Your developer should verify sandbox access, authentication, idempotency, webhook signatures, retry behavior, refund APIs, settlement reports, error codes, SDK language support and version-change policy. A provider’s long feature list is less important than predictable failure handling and documentation your team can maintain.

Payment-method coverage: match the catalogue to your customers

Razorpay’s published list includes debit and credit cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons and invoices. Cashfree states more than 180 payment modes, which indicates breadth but does not tell you which modes are enabled for your business, geography, risk category or integration. Ask for a current mode list and test the methods your customers actually use.

  • Domestic retail: prioritize reliable UPI and cards, clear QR or link flows and fast reconciliation.
  • Higher-ticket purchases: ask about credit-card limits, EMI or pay-later availability, authorization rates and refund timelines.
  • Business invoices: confirm invoice links, partial payments, downloadable reports and customer-level references.
  • Mobile-first sales: test the checkout on low-bandwidth Android devices and verify that a failed redirect does not leave the order marked paid.
  • International demand: establish whether international cards or currencies are supported; do not infer that from a domestic method list.

Provider-by-provider fit

When Cashfree is the best starting point

Cashfree is the leading candidate for an eligible new merchant whose priorities are the largest published promotional ceiling, a stated default T+1 cycle and access to a wide set of payment modes. The combination is especially attractive for a business that expects monthly GMV well above Razorpay’s ₹5 lakh introductory cap but below Cashfree’s published ₹20 lakh ceiling during the offer period.

Its advantages are conditional. Confirm eligibility, the definition of GMV, the end of the offer on 31 March 2027, the post-offer rate and the cost of instant settlement. Build a fallback cash-flow plan in case a reserve, bank delay or risk review postpones a payout.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
acer SD Card Reader USB C, Dual Slots USB Type C to Micro SD Card Adapter | Memory Card Reader for MicroSD, SDHC, SDXC, Compatible with Laptop, PC, iPhone16/15, MacBook Pro/Air, iPad Pro, Android
  • 【Ultra-Fast Data Transfer】Experience blazing-fast 5Gbps data transfer with this USB 3.0 SD Card Reader, ensuring quick and efficient file transfers for photos, videos, and other media. Backward-compatible with USB 2.0 for added flexibility. Easily review and transfer data from security cameras, wildlife monitors, or car cameras, gopro without hassle(📌Note:only reads and transfers data from the SD and TF card, not directly connect to the camera)
  • 【Simultaneous Dual-Card】Save time and boost productivity with dual card slots that allow simultaneous reading and writing on both microSD and SD cards. USB-A and USB-C dual header design makes the micro SD Card Reader perfect for photographers, video editors who need quick and efficient file management(📌Note:Thick cases may prevent full insertion)
  • 【Compact & Travel-Friendly】Designed for convenience, the slim and lightweight card reader for camera memory card fits perfectly in your camera bag or laptop sleeve. Protective covers at both ends shield the ports from dust and liquid, while the attached cord keeps everything secure and easily accessible. A reliable companion for on-the-go professionals and creatives(📌Note: "SD"card and "Micro SD" card not included.)
  • 【Plug-and-Play】The SD Card Reader for PC does not require driver or software installation, just connect to your device and start transferring files instantly. Compatible with Windows 11/10/8/7, macOS, and most Android devices. Crafted from heat-resistant aluminum materials, this SD Card Reader for PC delivers reliable performance and enhanced durability, even during long working(📌Note: SD Slot does not support CF express Type A/B/C Cards; SIM, XQD, MS Cards and Memory Stick)
  • 【Wide Device Compatibility】The USB C SD Card Reader works seamlessly with PCs, computers, laptops, cameras, smartphones and tablets featuring USB-C or USB-A ports, including MacBook Air/Pro, XPS, iPhone 15/16, iPad Pro, Samsung Galaxy S23, Microsoft Surface, Acer Aspire, and Predator series. Perfect for quickly accessing files directly on your device without additional apps or internet connections(📌Note:Not compatible with “Lightning” port devices)

When Razorpay is the better fit

Razorpay suits a business that wants the specific combination of cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons and invoices listed on its pricing page, or whose developer already works comfortably with its integration model. The 90-day period can be useful for a new launch with modest initial volume, but the ₹5 lakh cumulative cap arrives quickly for a growing store.

Before committing, obtain the recurring rate after 90 days or ₹5 lakh, a settlement schedule and the treatment of refunds and disputes. Compare that written offer with Cashfree’s terms rather than comparing “0%” labels alone.

Why Freecharge needs direct verification

Freecharge is publicly documented as an Indian digital-payments service, but the available evidence does not establish a current merchant gateway rate card, API documentation or settlement terms comparable with the other two providers. That is not proof that no merchant product exists; it means a small business cannot make a defensible cost, integration or cash-flow decision from the information currently available.

If Freecharge is important to your customer base, ask its merchant team for a dated rate card, product documentation, supported payment methods, onboarding and KYC requirements, settlement timetable, dispute rules, refund behavior, reports, plugins, service-level commitments and account-closure terms. Rank it only after those documents answer the same questions used for Cashfree and Razorpay.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Decision guide for common small-business situations

Your priority Most defensible first choice Reason and condition
Lowest published cost for a qualifying new merchant with substantial monthly volume Cashfree 0% MDR is published up to ₹20 lakh monthly GMV through 31 March 2027; verify eligibility and non-MDR charges.
Broad listed checkout and invoicing tools during an initial launch Razorpay Its page lists cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, links, pages, buttons and invoices; confirm post-promotion pricing.
Fast default cash conversion Cashfree, subject to verification T+1 default is stated and instant settlement within 15 minutes is described; verify fees and eligibility.
Only QR collection is required Compare a simple acceptance product from each verified provider A full API may add unnecessary implementation cost; confirm QR, reports and refunds first.
Only payment links are required Razorpay is the documented starting point Payment links are explicitly listed; verify the equivalent Cashfree workflow and all fees.
Considering Freecharge because customers already use it Do not rank yet Request current merchant documentation before comparing it on price, settlement or integration.

Due-diligence checklist before onboarding

Send the same written questions to every provider so that a low headline rate does not hide a more expensive operating model.

Best Value
SumUp Solo Credit Card Payment Card Reader with Charging Station. Full Touch-Screen Interface with Free SIM Card and Mobile Data (SumUp Solo)
  • An intuitive interface to easily accept payments and manage your sales.
  • Strong, reliable Wi-Fi connection. Free SIM card and mobile data so you can process payments anywhere.
  • Great battery capability with an additional charging station.
  • A truly portable device. Stay in control of your business, wherever you go.
  • Support when you need it. Get in touch with our US-based support through phone, email and chat.
  1. State your business type, monthly GMV range, average order value, expected payment methods and whether you need QR, links, hosted checkout or APIs.
  2. Request the full rate card, including the recurring rate after every promotion, method-level rates, GST, refunds, chargebacks, failed payments and instant settlement.
  3. Ask the provider to define the volume metric: GMV, successful transactions, settled value, monthly value or cumulative value.
  4. Confirm eligibility conditions, KYC documents, prohibited categories, reserves, rolling holds and circumstances that can suspend payouts.
  5. Get the settlement clock in writing, including cut-off times, weekends, bank holidays, first-payout timing and reconciliation-file availability.
  6. List every payment method your customers need and test each one in a sandbox or controlled low-value transaction.
  7. Have a developer review API authentication, idempotency, webhook signing, retries, refunds, reports, SDKs and version-support commitments.
  8. Ask support how disputes are notified, how evidence is uploaded, what deadlines apply and who owns an urgent failed-settlement case.
  9. Calculate a twelve-month total cost using your expected monthly volume, including the first promotional period and the post-promotion rate.
  10. Read termination, data-export, refund and account-closure clauses before routing all customer payments through one provider.

A practical rollout plan

Step 1: Choose the minimum product

Write down whether you need QR, links, hosted checkout, an API or a combination. Eliminate features that do not solve a real workflow problem.

Step 2: Compare normalized scenarios

Prepare at least three volume cases: a launch month below ₹5 lakh, a steady month between ₹5 lakh and ₹20 lakh, and a month above ₹20 lakh. For each case, enter the provider’s written recurring rates, taxes, refunds, disputes and settlement charges. This exposes the point at which a promotion ends.

Step 3: Verify onboarding and settlement

Complete KYC early, connect the settlement bank account and make a low-value live transaction. Record the time from authorization to settlement and match the payout to the transaction report. Do not infer production behavior solely from a successful sandbox payment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Step 4: Test failure paths

Test an abandoned checkout, a declined payment, a delayed webhook, a duplicate callback, a customer-initiated refund and a disputed transaction. Your order system should remain correct if the customer closes the browser or retries payment.

Step 5: Keep a fallback

Document a second collection method and export reconciliation data regularly. If a risk review or technical outage interrupts the primary gateway, staff should know how to issue a verified link or accept an alternate method without creating duplicate orders.

Bottom-line selection

Start with Cashfree if you are an eligible new merchant and the published 0% MDR ceiling, T+1 default settlement and more than 180 modes fit your forecast. Start with Razorpay if its listed checkout, link and invoicing tools fit your workflow better and you accept that the 0% platform-fee offer ends after 90 days or ₹5 lakh cumulative volume. Keep Freecharge in a verification queue until it supplies current merchant pricing, settlement and API documentation. In every case, make the final decision from a written, account-specific quote and a tested payment flow—not from the promotional headline alone.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.
$9.88
SaleBestseller No. 2
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.; Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
$47.20
Bestseller No. 3
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
Process chip cards in just two seconds.; Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.
$298.99
Bestseller No. 5
SumUp Solo Credit Card Payment Card Reader with Charging Station. Full Touch-Screen Interface with Free SIM Card and Mobile Data (SumUp Solo)
SumUp Solo Credit Card Payment Card Reader with Charging Station. Full Touch-Screen Interface with Free SIM Card and Mobile Data (SumUp Solo)
An intuitive interface to easily accept payments and manage your sales.; Great battery capability with an additional charging station.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

CashfreeFreechargeIndiaPayment Gatewayspayment linksRazorpaysmall businessUPI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.