Verdict: The Echo SRM-222ES is a 21.2 cm³ petrol two-stroke trimmer/brushcutter family with 0.7 kW output and ES-start. It is sold in loop-handle L and U-handle configurations, and the published weight, cutting-head part number, price and warranty depend on the market and exact variant. Public information does not establish cutting performance, runtime, durability or a comparative ranking, so this is a specification-led buying guide rather than a hands-on test.
What the SRM-222ES is
The SRM-222ES is a small-displacement petrol machine intended for line trimming and, where the configuration and local equipment allow it, brushcutter work with a metal blade. ECHO regional listings identify a 21.2 cm³ two-stroke engine, 0.7 kW output and ES-start. The same model family appears with an L loop handle and a U handle. Those letters are not cosmetic: they describe different control layouts and working positions, so the right choice depends on how you intend to cut.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The available evidence supports the engine and equipment specifications, not a measured performance claim. There is no independently accessible test result here for cutting speed, vibration, noise, fuel consumption, starting effort, runtime or long-term reliability. Treat the machine as a set of published specifications and verify the exact variant at a local dealer before paying.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →L handle versus U handle
SRM-222ES/L loop handle
The L version uses a loop-style front handle around the shaft. ECHO’s UK listing gives a 4.7 kg dry weight, a 400 mL tank and nylon head X047-000560. ECHO Australia lists the L version at 4.5 kg dry, with the same 21.2 cm³ engine, 0.7 kW (1.0 PS) output and a 0.40 L tank, but identifies nylon head X047-000561. The differing head numbers show why a buyer should match the model plate and local parts catalogue rather than ordering by the family name alone.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
A loop handle is generally the more compact arrangement for edging, spot trimming and work where you frequently change direction. That is a description of the control format, not a claim that it cuts faster or is easier for every operator. Harness instructions, permitted attachments and safe operating positions still come from the manual for your market.
SRM-222ES/U U handle
The U version uses a bicycle-style handlebar. The US ECHO listing gives 4.8 kg dry weight, a 0.40 L tank, nylon head X047-000561 and a three-cutter metal blade, part P021-014310. A U handle provides separated hand positions and is commonly selected when the operator wants a broader sweeping stance for brushcutter work. The published listing alone does not prove a performance advantage, and it does not establish whether every market supplies the same blade, guard or harness.
Choose the handle and attachment combination that your local manual explicitly supports. Do not assume that a U-handle kit, blade or guard from another market fits an L model simply because both carry the SRM-222ES name.
Published specifications by market
| Configuration and source | Displacement | Output | Published dry weight | Fuel tank | Cutting equipment listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SRM-222ES/U, ECHO US | 21.2 cm³ | 0.7 kW / 1.0 PS | 4.8 kg | 0.40 L | Nylon head X047-000561; three-cutter metal blade P021-014310 |
| SRM-222ES/L, ECHO UK | 21.2 cc | 0.7 kW | 4.7 kg | 400 mL | Nylon head X047-000560 |
| SRM-222ES/L, ECHO Australia | 21.2 cm³ | 0.7 kW / 1.0 PS | 4.5 kg | 0.40 L | Nylon head X047-000561 |
| CHOICE reviewed listing | Not shown in the public excerpt | Not shown in the public excerpt | 5.6 kg | Not stated | 41 cm cutting diameter; 2 mm line; bump feed |
These figures should not be merged into one universal specification. The three ECHO pages identify different configurations and markets, while the CHOICE number is a market listing whose measurement basis is not explained in the public excerpt. In particular, a dry machine weight may exclude fuel and may not include the same guard, head, blade, harness or other equipment as an assembled retail unit.
Why the weights and head numbers differ
The regional pages report 4.8 kg for the US U model, 4.7 kg for the UK L model and 4.5 kg for the Australian L model. Those are not a controlled cross-market weigh-in. Handle hardware, guards, cutting heads, harness components and the definition of “dry” can change the number. CHOICE lists 5.6 kg for its reviewed product, but the public listing does not state whether that is dry, assembled or measured with a particular attachment.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Use the weight figures to understand the range, not to declare one market model lighter in real use. Ask the seller what is included and whether the figure is bare-machine dry weight or ready-to-operate weight. This matters more than a few hundred grams when comparing a loop handle with a U handle and a blade-equipped package.
Head part numbers also vary: X047-000561 appears on the US U and Australian L pages, while the UK L page lists X047-000560. Before buying a replacement head, read the identification plate, confirm the handle variant and check the current parts catalogue for your country. A head that looks similar may have a different fitting, line-loading method or guard requirement.
Cutting head, line and blade information
The CHOICE listing describes a 41 cm cutting diameter, 2 mm line and bump feed for its reviewed listing. Those are useful clues about that particular market configuration, but they are not universal SRM-222ES specifications. Verify the line diameter and maximum head size in the manual supplied with your machine before fitting a spool. Using an incorrect diameter can affect fit, balance and safe operation.
The US U listing identifies a three-cutter metal blade, P021-014310. The retrieved UK and Australian L listings show nylon-head numbers but do not establish that the same blade is supplied or approved there. A metal blade requires the correct guard, retaining hardware, harness setup and operating instructions. Never substitute a blade or guard based only on a photograph or on another region’s parts list.
For routine grass trimming, a nylon head may be the relevant configuration. For denser vegetation, a blade may be appropriate only when the exact model, guard and manual permit it. The available specifications do not support claims about the diameter of material the machine can cut, the area covered per tank or the rate at which line is consumed.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Price, warranty and availability
ECHO Australia lists the SRM-222ES at A$399 and states a five-year residential and two-year commercial warranty for its Australian market. CHOICE’s public listing also shows A$399 and a five-year warranty, but its detailed terms and test information are member-only. The Australian price and warranty should therefore be read as local listing information, not a worldwide offer.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →An ECHO UK listing was indexed at £289 and marked “Sold out.” That is a volatile stock and price snapshot, not a current universal UK price. Retailer pricing, inventory, taxes, included attachments and warranty eligibility can change by date and seller. Commercial users should pay particular attention to the shorter commercial coverage stated on the Australian page; residential and commercial use are not interchangeable for warranty purposes.
Before ordering, get written confirmation of the delivered package: handle style, guard, harness, nylon head, any blade, tools, fuel-system requirements, warranty duration for your intended use and the location of authorised service. Keep the invoice because warranty conditions normally depend on proof of purchase and compliance with the specified maintenance and operating rules.
What the public CHOICE listing does—and does not—tell you
CHOICE labels the product a petrol two-stroke line trimmer and publishes a market listing with A$399 price, five-year warranty, 5.6 kg weight, 41 cm cutting diameter, 2 mm line and bump feed. The expert rating, test year and detailed test results are hidden behind membership in the accessible record. It is therefore not possible to quote a public CHOICE score, explain a pass or fail, or use the listing as evidence of cutting performance.
Use the CHOICE numbers as a description of that reviewed listing only. Set them beside the regional ECHO specifications only after checking measurement basis and included equipment. A 5.6 kg listing weight cannot be fairly ranked against a 4.5 kg or 4.8 kg dry figure without knowing how each was measured.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How to choose the right configuration
- Identify the work. For edging and close trimming, consider whether the loop-handle controls suit the spaces you maintain. For sweeping brushcutter work, consider whether the U-handle stance and a permitted blade package are more appropriate.
- Confirm the market model. Ask the seller to state L or U, the model suffix on the plate and the equipment included in the carton.
- Check the attachment list. Match the nylon-head part number, blade number, guard and harness to the local manual. Do not rely on a generic SRM-222ES search result.
- Compare like-for-like weight. Find out whether each quoted number is dry, fuelled, head-only or fully assembled. Record the included head, guard and harness.
- Verify support. Confirm local parts supply, servicing, warranty length for residential or commercial use and the return policy before purchase.
- Read the current manual. Use the edition that matches your exact market and variant, particularly for fuel preparation, attachment installation and protective equipment.
Starting, operating and stopping: follow the exact manual
The operator-manual listing covers fuel preparation, engine starting and stopping, nylon-line trimming, metal-blade trimming, shoulder-harness use, maintenance and storage. Its warning says to read and follow the safe-operation rules and that failure to do so could result in serious injury. The excerpts available for this review do not establish a fuel ratio, choke sequence, idle adjustment or maintenance interval, so those details should not be filled in from memory or from another model.
- Prepare the machine. Inspect the shaft, handle, guard, cutting head or blade, fasteners and controls. Use only attachments and guards approved for your exact model.
- Prepare fuel as specified. Follow the current manual for the correct petrol and two-stroke-oil preparation, storage life and refuelling procedure. Never infer a ratio from a different ECHO engine.
- Put on required protection. The manual for your market determines the required eye, hearing, hand, leg and foot protection and whether a shoulder harness is required for the selected attachment.
- Start in the prescribed position. Keep people, animals and loose objects away from the cutting area, and use the manual’s starting and stopping sequence.
- Operate within the attachment’s limits. Nylon line and metal blades have different guards, hazards and techniques. Keep both hands on the controls and maintain the stance shown for your handle configuration.
- Stop and inspect. Shut the engine down using the specified control before clearing material, changing attachments or carrying out adjustments. Wait for moving parts to stop.
Maintenance and storage responsibilities
The manual’s maintenance and storage sections are part of owning a two-stroke machine, not optional extras. Keep the air-filter, cooling, fuel and cutting-system procedures tied to the exact manual because intervals and approved parts can vary. Inspect the nylon head for cracks and wear; inspect a blade, guard and retaining hardware before every use when a blade is fitted. Replace damaged components rather than attempting an improvised repair.
For storage, follow the manual’s instructions for fuel, cleaning and location. Petrol equipment should be kept away from ignition sources and inaccessible to children. If the machine will sit unused, use the storage procedure specified for that engine rather than assuming that draining or leaving fuel in the tank is always correct.
Emissions figure and what it means
ECHO Australia lists CO₂ at 1262 g/kW·h and explains that the figure comes from a representative engine tested over a fixed laboratory cycle. ECHO’s SRM-222ES/U product specification states: “This CO² measurement results from testing a (parent) engine representative of the engine type (engine family) over a fixed test cycle under laboratory conditions and does not imply or express any guarantee of the performance of a particular engine.”
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThat qualification is important. The number is not a measurement of one owner’s emissions during a day of trimming, nor does it predict fuel use or runtime for your work pattern. Weather, load, attachment, maintenance and operating practice can all change real-world fuel consumption.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Evidence limits and questions to resolve before purchase
No hands-on test was performed for this review, and no independently accessible source here establishes comparative cutting performance, vibration, noise, durability, starting reliability or runtime. The CHOICE expert rating and detailed results are not visible without membership. Those limits do not make the specifications unusable; they define what you still need to verify locally.
- Which handle variant and exact model code are being offered?
- What is included in the box, and is the quoted weight dry or assembled?
- Which nylon-head part number fits that market model?
- Is a metal blade approved and supplied, and which guard and harness are required?
- What line diameter and head size does the current manual permit?
- What residential and commercial warranty terms apply in your country?
- Where are authorised parts and service available, and is the item actually in stock?
Who should buy the SRM-222ES?
The SRM-222ES makes the most sense for a buyer who specifically wants a petrol two-stroke machine, has access to the correct fuel and service support, and can match the L or U handle to the intended work. Its 21.2 cm³ engine, 0.7 kW output, 0.40 L-class tank and available nylon-head options define a compact product family, while the US listing also documents a three-cutter blade option.
It is not possible to recommend it on the basis of verified cutting superiority, runtime or durability because those results are not publicly established in the available material. The responsible purchase decision is therefore configuration-led: confirm the local package, attachment compatibility, measurement basis for weight, warranty terms and manual before comparing it with another trimmer.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteBottom line
Buy the SRM-222ES only after confirming the exact regional variant and included equipment. Expect a 21.2 cm³, 0.7 kW petrol two-stroke platform, but do not assume that the L and U versions share the same weight, head part number, blade package or warranty. The published specifications are clear enough to identify the machine; they are not a substitute for an independent performance test or for the current manual that governs safe use.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

