Anthropic CEO Dario Amodei received $18 million in reported total compensation for 2025, according to Reuters’ review of the company’s IPO filing. Most of the package came from stock and options, not salary. The figure places him between several high-profile technology CEOs in Reuters’ comparison—but it does not show how wealthy he is, because the filing did not disclose the founders’ ownership stakes.
What does the $18 million figure include?
Reuters reported that Anthropic’s IPO filing listed $18 million in total compensation for Amodei in 2025. Stock and options made up most of the package; it was not an $18 million annual salary. Reuters’ account of the filing also described additional restricted stock units for the Amodei siblings, with some awards tied to continued employment and others to the IPO. The reviewed S-1 did not disclose the founders’ ownership stakes. Reuters report republished by AOL
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How does Amodei compare with other tech CEOs?
Reuters compared reported 2025 compensation figures for selected executives. The numbers are not necessarily calculated on the same accounting basis, so the comparison is useful as context, not as a precise ranking of equivalent pay.
| Executive | Reported 2025 compensation | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| Dario Amodei, Anthropic | $18 million | Mostly stock and options, according to Reuters’ account of Anthropic’s filing. |
| Sundar Pichai, Alphabet | $10.9 million | Company disclosure included $8.8 million for personal security. Reuters separately reported $213.9 million as “compensation actually paid,” a distinct measure. |
| Andy Jassy, Amazon | $2.1 million | Company disclosure mainly reflected travel and security costs. Reuters separately reported $13.2 million as “actually paid.” |
| Clayton Magouyrk, Oracle co-CEO | $627.5 million | Company disclosure, as reported by Reuters. |
| Jensen Huang, Nvidia | $36.3 million | Reported in an Associated Press survey article, not the same Reuters comparison. AP said Huang was excluded from its survey because Nvidia filed its proxy after April 30. |
On Reuters’ selected comparison, Amodei’s reported total was higher than Pichai’s and Jassy’s, but lower than Magouyrk’s and Huang’s. “Middle of the pack” describes that limited comparison—not a comprehensive ranking of technology executives or their wealth. For context, Reuters cited AFL-CIO’s $22.8 million average annual compensation for S&P 500 CEOs in 2025, up 21% and excluding Elon Musk’s extraordinary restricted-stock plan. The Associated Press and Equilar reported a separate $17.7 million median among 337 executives at S&P 500 companies; it is a broad survey benchmark, not a direct technology-CEO ranking. Reuters’ comparison and cited AFL-CIO figure Associated Press and Equilar survey
#1 Best Overall
Why do reported pay figures differ from “actually paid” amounts?
Executive-pay disclosures can use different accounting measures. The Reuters figures for Pichai and Jassy include reported compensation, while “compensation actually paid” is a separate measure that can reflect changes in the value of unvested shares. That is why Pichai’s $213.9 million and Jassy’s $13.2 million should not be treated as interchangeable with their reported compensation figures—or used to make a simple apples-to-apples ranking against Amodei’s $18 million.
Does $18 million show how wealthy Amodei is?
No. Annual compensation is not the same as personal wealth. A founder’s equity holdings may be worth far more than annual pay, but the S-1 reviewed by Reuters did not disclose Dario or Daniela Amodei’s ownership stakes, so the information reported there cannot establish their total wealth. Reuters quoted Equilar research director Courtney Yu saying founder CEOs often rely on the equity they already own rather than taking large annual compensation. Yu also said Amodei’s $18 million seemed low for a company valued at $2 trillion, while noting that his full ownership stake could change the picture. The $2 trillion figure was an expectation in the IPO prospectus reported by Reuters, not a completed IPO valuation. Reuters report republished by AOL
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How does the 2026 salary increase fit in?
Reuters reported that Dario and Daniela Amodei’s annual salaries were each raised to $1.4 million in July 2026. That later salary figure is separate from Dario’s reported $18 million total compensation for 2025; it does not replace or restate that earlier package. Daniela Amodei’s reported 2025 total compensation was $16.4 million. Reuters also reported that the Amodei siblings and other co-founders pledged in the IPO filing to dedicate 80% of their personal Anthropic equity to charitable causes. Reuters report republished by AOL
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

