There is no universal winner. Choose Crunchyroll when it carries more of your priority shows or when your household needs one, four, or six simultaneous streams. Choose HIDIVE when its catalog has the titles you want and its lower listed US price, seasonal simulcasts, dubs, classics, or offline rules fit you better. Check your must-watch list in your region before paying: licensing, language tracks, prices, and availability can change.
Quick verdict
Your preferred shows should decide this matchup, not a claim that one service has the biggest or best catalog. No complete, same-date, same-region catalog comparison establishes a universal winner. Search both services for the exact series, season, subtitle languages, and dub you need before subscribing.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Pok#mon: The Movies 1-3 Collection (Blu-ray) | $14.96 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Sailor Moon Three-Film Collection (Blu-ray) | $19.19 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Elfen Lied Complete Collection [Blu-Ray] | $25.49 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Digimon the Movies 4-6 Collection [Blu-ray] | $23.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Digimon The Movies 1-3 Collection [Blu-ray] | $24.59 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- Pick Crunchyroll if it has more of your priority series, if you need more than two people watching at once, or if a higher plan’s extras such as Game Vault or store-related benefits matter to you.
- Pick HIDIVE if its library contains your desired titles, its $7.99 monthly or $79.99 annual US price is attractive, and two simultaneous devices are enough.
- Use both temporarily only when your must-watch list is split between the services and the extra monthly cost is worthwhile for a particular season or series.
The figures below are the prices and benefits displayed on US pages accessed in October 2026. Taxes, regional catalogs, supported devices, and plan benefits can differ elsewhere or change later.
US plans and prices compared
| Service and plan | Listed US price | Simultaneous streams | Offline viewing | Other listed benefits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crunchyroll Fan | $9.99 per month, plus applicable taxes | 1 | Yes | Ad-free access and new episodes shortly after Japan; benefits can vary by tier and region. |
| Crunchyroll Mega Fan | $13.99 per month, plus applicable taxes | 4 | Yes | Higher stream allowance plus tier-specific extras listed on the Premium page. |
| Crunchyroll Ultimate Fan | $17.99 per month, plus applicable taxes | 6 | Yes | Highest listed stream allowance, Game Vault and store-related benefits among the named extras; verify current eligibility and regional terms. |
| HIDIVE monthly | $7.99 per month | Up to 2 devices | Yes | Entire HIDIVE library, seasonal series, simulcasts, dubs, and the advertised seven-day trial. |
| HIDIVE annual | $79.99 per year | Up to 2 devices | Yes | Same categories of access listed on the welcome page; billed annually. |
Sources: Crunchyroll Premium and HIDIVE welcome and plan page. Confirm the checkout total, tax, currency, renewal terms, and current benefits before submitting payment.
#1 Best Overall
What the price difference means
At the displayed rates, HIDIVE’s annual plan costs $79.99 instead of twelve months at $7.99, which would total $95.88 before tax. That is a mathematical difference of $15.89, or about 16.6%, if the monthly rate remains unchanged for a full year. The annual commitment makes sense only if you expect to use HIDIVE long enough and its catalog continues to justify it.
Crunchyroll’s cited US page lists monthly prices for Fan, Mega Fan, and Ultimate Fan; it does not establish an annual price in the information used here. Do not infer an annual total or compare one without checking the current offer.
Cost scenarios for common households
For a one-month test, HIDIVE is $2 less than Crunchyroll Fan at the listed rates, before tax. Over twelve months, twelve Crunchyroll Fan payments would total $119.88; Mega Fan would total $167.88; Ultimate Fan would total $215.88. Those are simple multiplication of the displayed monthly prices, not promises about future billing.
Recommended Free Tools
HIDIVE’s annual option works out to about $6.67 per month when spread across twelve months, but it requires paying the $79.99 upfront. Comparing that effective monthly figure with a month-to-month plan is useful only if you expect to stay subscribed for the whole year. If you mainly follow one seasonal slate, a single monthly subscription may cost less overall than an annual plan you stop using.
A second service adds its full recurring charge; there is no evidence here of a bundle discount. Before subscribing to both, write down the exact months in which each service has must-watch episodes and set a cancellation reminder for the first service you no longer need.
Catalog fit matters more than library size
Anime rights are licensed title by title and territory by territory. A service can advertise a broad library yet lack the one season, language track, or regional right you need. The available evidence does not establish a complete, same-day count for either catalog, so a larger-library claim would be unsupported.
Rank #2
How to check a must-watch list
- Write down every priority series, including the exact season, film, or special.
- Search the official catalog for each title while signed out if possible. Record whether the result is available in your country, rather than relying on a search-engine snippet.
- Open the title page and inspect subtitle and audio choices. A series may stream on a service while its English dub, simulcast episode, or earlier season is absent.
- Check the episode release schedule for a current season. A title page or calendar is more reliable than an old article or social post.
- Repeat the check immediately before subscribing. Rights can change during a season.
HIDIVE’s documented catalog turnover
HIDIVE’s September 30, 2026 notice gives a useful example of that volatility. It listed Reincarnated as a Sword Season 2, I’m Dating a Dark Summoner, Nia Liston: The Merciless Maiden, and TETSURYO! Meet with Tetsudou Musume as October simulcast additions. The same notice listed SHIROBAKO leaving on October 8 and Kase-san and Morning Glories leaving on October 21. Those are dated US examples, not a promise that the titles remain available after the stated dates. Read the current notice at HIDIVE’s October 2026 coming-and-going announcement.
Crunchyroll’s plan page describes access to its library and new episodes, but current plan details do not provide a title-by-title availability list. Use the same direct search process rather than assuming every prominent seasonal show is present.
Simulcasts and seasonal anime
Crunchyroll
Crunchyroll’s Premium page says subscribers receive new episodes shortly after they air in Japan. That positioning is useful if you follow several high-profile seasonal series and want a near-simultaneous release. It still does not guarantee that every Japanese broadcast title is licensed in your territory, so verify each show and the expected release day.
HIDIVE
HIDIVE’s plan page explicitly promotes new series from Japan’s latest broadcast season and simulcasts. Its monthly notices identify individual additions and departures, giving subscribers a way to track the changing lineup. A simulcast label means the service is offering the series during its Japanese broadcast window; it does not by itself establish a particular subtitle or dub schedule.
Choosing for a particular season
Make a two-column list of that season’s shows and mark the service that carries each one. If nearly all of your choices sit on one service, the decision is straightforward. If the list is divided, compare the number of episodes you will actually watch with the second subscription’s cost; a service you open for one episode each week may not justify a year-long commitment.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Dubs, subtitles, and language checks
Both services promote anime with multiple language options, but the headline plan descriptions do not provide a complete, current dub inventory. HIDIVE’s page foregrounds dubs, and its October notice includes English-dub releases. Crunchyroll’s plan page describes its library and new episodes but does not establish a complete dub list in the current plan details.
Rank #3
For a specific show, open the episode or series details and look for the audio-language selector and subtitle menu. Check whether the dub covers every season, whether episodes arrive later than the subtitled simulcast, and whether your country’s catalog has the same tracks as the US catalog. Do not treat a service-wide “dubs” label as proof that your chosen title has the language you want.
Household streaming and account sharing
| Need | Best fit from the listed limits | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| One person watching on one device | Crunchyroll Fan or HIDIVE | Both cover a single viewer; HIDIVE has the lower listed monthly price, while the catalog decides the practical value. |
| Two people watching at once | HIDIVE or Crunchyroll Mega Fan | HIDIVE lists up to two devices; Crunchyroll Mega Fan lists four streams but costs more. |
| Three or four simultaneous viewers | Crunchyroll Mega Fan | Its listed allowance is four streams; HIDIVE’s listed limit is two devices. |
| Five or six simultaneous viewers | Crunchyroll Ultimate Fan | Its listed allowance is six streams, the highest of the compared plans. |
“Simultaneous streams” is a plan allowance, not permission to ignore a service’s account or household terms. Review the current subscriber agreement, and do not assume that a higher number means unlimited locations or profiles.
Choosing a tier without overpaying
Start with the maximum number of people who will genuinely watch at the same time, not the number of people who might use the account eventually. A single viewer does not gain a practical stream benefit from Mega Fan or Ultimate Fan unless one of their other listed extras matters. Conversely, a household with three active viewers cannot solve interruptions by choosing HIDIVE’s two-device allowance. Upgrade only when the simultaneous-use requirement is real, and downgrade when the household pattern changes.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Offline viewing: what is actually documented
Both services list offline viewing as a benefit. The practical rules are clearer for HIDIVE: its Help Center says downloads are stored in the app, require you to remain signed in, allow up to 20 downloaded titles at a time, and give you 48 hours to watch a downloaded title after you start it. Read the current instructions at HIDIVE’s offline-download guide.
Those rules mean a download is not a permanent copy. Start a downloaded episode before the 48-hour window matters, keep the app signed in, and leave room under the 20-title limit. Device compatibility and storage requirements can still affect whether a download works.
Crunchyroll’s listed plans include offline viewing, but the cited plan information does not specify a universal download count or viewing window. Check the current app requirements and title eligibility before a flight or other trip instead of assuming every episode can be saved.
Rank #4
Travel checklist
- Download while connected to a reliable network and confirm the episode appears in the app’s offline section.
- Sign in on the device you will carry; HIDIVE specifically requires an active sign-in for stored downloads.
- Test one downloaded episode before leaving home, including subtitle and audio switching.
- For HIDIVE, remember the 20-title ceiling and the 48-hour period that begins after you start watching a downloaded title.
- Recheck regional rights if you cross a border. A title available at home may not be licensed in the destination country.
Free trials and cancellation timing
Crunchyroll’s trial terms
Crunchyroll Help describes a standard seven-day free trial for eligible Premium plans. The trial starts after successful sign-up and acceptance of a payment method, so it is not an anonymous preview. Eligibility and the exact offer can vary by account and region. Review the billing date and cancel through the account-management path before renewal if you decide not to continue. Details are at Crunchyroll’s free-trial help article.
HIDIVE’s advertised trial
HIDIVE’s US welcome page advertises a seven-day trial with its subscription offer. Read the sign-up screen for the current eligibility, payment-method, renewal, and cancellation language; a promotional trial can change even when the headline duration remains the same.
A safe trial routine
- Before starting, confirm that your priority titles, seasons, and language tracks are present.
- Note the trial end or first-billing date in your calendar.
- Test playback on the devices you actually use, including subtitles, audio switching, and downloads if relevant.
- If you cancel, save the confirmation and verify the account no longer shows a pending renewal.
How to decide in 10 minutes
- Rank your titles. Mark three to five series you will definitely watch and separate “nice to have” shows.
- Check both catalogs. Verify the exact season and regional availability on official title pages.
- Check language and timing. Confirm subtitles, English or other dubs, and simulcast release expectations.
- Count viewers. One viewer can use Crunchyroll Fan or HIDIVE; households needing three or more concurrent streams must look at Crunchyroll’s higher listed tiers.
- Price the period you need. For a single season, compare one month’s cost. For a year, consider HIDIVE’s annual commitment only if you expect to use it throughout the year.
- Test your devices. Use the trial, where eligible, to verify playback, downloads, and sign-in behavior.
- Recheck before renewal. A catalog departure or a finished seasonal show can change the value calculation.
When subscribing to both makes sense
A dual subscription is rational when your priority list is genuinely split and you will watch enough on each service to justify the combined monthly bill. It can also be useful for a short overlap while a seasonal slate is airing. Treat that as a temporary calculation: choose an end date, cancel the service whose must-watch titles finish first, and reassess the next season.
Do not subscribe to both merely because one service advertises simulcasts and the other advertises dubs. Those labels do not establish that both carry your specific shows, and paying twice does not solve a missing regional license.
Common mistakes and fixes
- Relying on an old recommendation list: search the live catalog because titles can leave on announced dates.
- Comparing sticker prices across regions: use the checkout currency and local tax for your account location.
- Assuming a dub is simultaneous: check the audio selector and release schedule for the individual series.
- Buying the cheapest plan for a large household: count simultaneous viewers first; Crunchyroll’s listed limits rise from one to four to six, while HIDIVE lists up to two devices.
- Downloading without checking expiry: HIDIVE’s documented 48-hour window begins after you start watching a downloaded title, and the app requires you to remain signed in.
- Ignoring trial renewal: record the billing date and keep cancellation confirmation.
- Assuming annual billing is always cheaper: compare the upfront commitment with the number of months you realistically expect to watch.
- Confusing a device limit with household permission: read each service’s current account terms instead of treating stream counts as unlimited sharing rights.
Bottom line for US readers
Start with the shows, then use price and household limits to break a tie. Crunchyroll’s listed US plans run from $9.99 to $17.99 per month and scale from one to six simultaneous streams. HIDIVE lists $7.99 monthly or $79.99 annually, up to two devices, seasonal simulcasts, dubs, offline viewing, and a seven-day trial. Those are meaningful differences, but neither set of benefits proves that a particular title is available in your region. Verify your watchlist, language tracks, device support, and renewal terms immediately before subscribing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is HIDIVE cheaper than Crunchyroll?
At the listed US rates, HIDIVE is $7.99 per month versus $9.99 for Crunchyroll Fan. HIDIVE also lists a $79.99 annual plan. Taxes, regional prices, and future offers can change the comparison.
Best Value
- English dubbed, Japanese language, English subtitles
Which service allows more simultaneous streams?
Crunchyroll lists one stream on Fan, four on Mega Fan, and six on Ultimate Fan. HIDIVE lists up to two devices at once. Choose based on your actual household viewing pattern and review account terms.
Do both services offer offline viewing?
Yes. HIDIVE documents a limit of 20 downloaded titles, requires you to remain signed in, and gives 48 hours to watch a downloaded title after you start it. Crunchyroll lists offline viewing, but the cited plan page does not state a universal download limit or viewing window.
Do Crunchyroll and HIDIVE have the same dubs?
No assumption is safe. Both promote dubs, but availability is title- and region-specific. Open the individual series page and verify the audio tracks, subtitle languages, and whether the dub covers every season.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchCan I use a free trial to test both services?
Crunchyroll Help describes a standard seven-day trial for eligible Premium plans, and HIDIVE’s US welcome page advertises a seven-day trial. Eligibility, payment requirements, renewal dates, and offers can vary, so record the billing date and cancel through the proper account page if needed.
Should I subscribe to both?
Only when your must-watch titles are split between the services and the combined cost is worthwhile for the months you will watch. Set a cancellation reminder and reassess after the season or series ends.
The Bottom Line
Choose by exact titles first. Crunchyroll offers more stream tiers; HIDIVE offers a lower listed US price and a $79.99 annual option. Verify regional availability, language tracks, downloads, and renewal terms before subscribing.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems

