China Construction Bank (CCB) is best compared with other large Chinese banks across several measures, not by size alone. Its 2025 annual report shows RMB 45.63 trillion in assets and RMB 338.91 billion in net profit attributable to equity shareholders. ICBC reported higher 2025 operating income and attributable profit, while Agricultural Bank of China (ABC) reported more assets than CCB. Those figures answer different questions; none alone establishes which bank is stronger overall.
Which banks count as CCB’s peers?
For a like-for-like comparison, “other large Chinese banks” can mean the other three state-owned commercial-bank megabanks: Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (ICBC), Agricultural Bank of China (ABC), and Bank of China (BOC). This article uses that narrow peer set. A broader comparison that includes large joint-stock commercial banks would require additional banks and comparable reporting data.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The available 2025 figures are not complete for all four banks. BOC posted its 2025 Annual Results Announcement on 30 March 2026, but the announcement page available here does not expose its financial tables. Its figures therefore cannot be ranked against CCB’s here.
How to compare banks without mixing unlike numbers
- Use the same reporting year and basis. The figures below are for 2025 and come from the banks’ annual reports or official results pages. Check whether a number is consolidated and how the bank defines it.
- Separate stocks from flows. Assets, loans, and deposits are balances at a date—typically 31 December. Income and profit accumulate over a reporting period.
- Match definitions. For profit, compare attributable profit with attributable profit, not with a differently defined net-income measure. For ratios, confirm that the calculation method and reporting basis align.
- Keep the question in view. Assets describe scale; profit describes earnings; returns and efficiency help put earnings in context; capital and problem-loan measures provide information about resilience.
2025 scorecard: what the available figures show
| Dimension | China Construction Bank | ICBC | Agricultural Bank of China | Bank of China |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Assets | RMB 45,631,818 million at 31 December 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | RMB 48,784,674 million in 2025 | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Customer loans | Net loans and advances: RMB 26,926,790 million in 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | RMB 27,134,834 million in 2025 | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Customer deposits | RMB 30,835,574 million in 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | RMB 32,649,947 million in 2025 | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Operating income | RMB 740,871 million in 2025 | RMB 801,395 million in 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Net profit attributable to equity holders | RMB 338,906 million in 2025, attributable to equity shareholders | RMB 368,562 million in 2025, attributable to equity holders of the parent | Net profit: RMB 292,003 million in 2025; the cited figure is not specified as attributable profit | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Returns, margin, and cost efficiency | ROAA 0.79%; ROAE 10.04%; net interest margin 1.34%; cost-to-income 29.44% in 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Capital | Common equity Tier 1 14.63%; Tier 1 15.47%; total capital ratio 19.69% in 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | Capital adequacy ratio 17.93% in 2025 | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
| Asset quality and provisions | NPL ratio 1.31%; allowance-to-NPL ratio 233.15%; loan provision ratio 3.06% in 2025 | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | not stated in the cited 2025 figures | not stated in the 30 March 2026 results page |
Sources: CCB Annual Report 2025; ICBC Annual Report 2025; ABC Annual Report 2025; BOC 2025 Annual Results Announcement. “Not stated” means the cited figures or page do not provide a comparable value; it does not mean the bank did not report one elsewhere.
#1 Best Overall
What the scorecard says about scale
ABC reported RMB 48.78 trillion in total assets at year-end 2025, compared with CCB’s RMB 45.63 trillion. ABC also reported higher customer loans and deposits than CCB, though the loan labels are not identical: CCB’s cited figure is net loans and advances, while ABC’s is customer loans. Treat those as indications of scale, not perfectly interchangeable measures.
Scale can help describe a bank’s footprint and capacity for intermediation, but it does not reveal the quality or risk of those assets, the cost of funding, or the return earned on capital. ABC also reported 23,128 domestic branch outlets, 13 overseas branches, and four overseas representative offices at end-2025; that is a useful network fact, not a four-bank ranking.
Rank #2
What earnings and profitability add
ICBC reported higher 2025 operating income than CCB—RMB 801.40 billion versus RMB 740.87 billion—and higher net profit attributable to equity holders of the parent—RMB 368.56 billion versus CCB’s RMB 338.91 billion attributable to equity shareholders. Both banks describe their financial data as consolidated and prepared under IFRS, with amounts in RMB unless otherwise specified. These comparisons establish higher reported values on those two measures for ICBC; they do not establish better efficiency, risk, returns, valuation, or overall quality.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsCCB’s own ratios help explain how to move beyond headline profit: its 2025 return on average assets was 0.79%, return on average equity 10.04%, net interest margin 1.34%, and cost-to-income ratio 29.44%. These are bank-reported measures. To rank them against peers, use the corresponding peer figures and confirm that definitions and calculation bases match.
Rank #3
- Wedding Guest Book and Money Ledger: Combines guest sign-in and money record functions for weddings and events.
- Double Happiness Design Style: Features traditional wedding symbols suitable for Chinese-themed celebrations.
- Wedding Keepsake Book: Can be kept as a memory record after the wedding or engagement ceremony.
- Engagement and Reception Use: Suitable for weddings, engagements, receptions, and related celebrations.
- Product dimensions: 11.81*7.87*0.79 Inches ( 30*20*2 cm) Package Content: 1 x Chinese Wedding Guest Book Money Ledger
CCB also reported that operating income rose 1.69% in 2025 even as net interest income fell 2.90%; net fee and commission income rose 5.13%. This illustrates why a single total-income or profit figure can conceal different revenue trends.
How to read capital and asset-quality ratios
CCB reported a 14.63% common equity Tier 1 ratio, 15.47% Tier 1 ratio, and 19.69% total capital ratio for 2025. ABC reported a 17.93% capital adequacy ratio. These are not equivalent measures: a total capital ratio should not be directly compared with a CET1 or Tier 1 ratio, and even similarly named ratios need a matched reporting date and rule basis.
CCB notes that its 2025 and 2024 capital data use the relevant Rules on Capital Management of Commercial Banks, while prior-period data use earlier provisional capital rules. That change makes unadjusted time-series comparisons potentially misleading.
For asset quality, CCB reported a 1.31% non-performing loan ratio, 233.15% allowance-to-NPL ratio, and 3.06% loan provision ratio in 2025. The NPL ratio concerns reported problem loans; the allowance-to-NPL ratio compares reserves with non-performing loans; the loan provision ratio relates provisions to loans. Read these together and check definitions and portfolio mix rather than treating any single ratio as a complete measure of credit risk.
Best Value
- Enough forms for 1 year for churches of approximately 150 members
- 5 3/16" x 9"
- Includes forms for church receipts, member contributions, and disbursements
How to reach a decision for your purpose
If you are comparing financial scale
Start with year-end total assets, then compare customer loans and deposits on aligned definitions. On available 2025 figures, ABC reported more assets than CCB. The evidence here is not sufficient to rank all four banks across those measures.
If you are comparing earnings
Compare operating income and profit attributable to equity holders for the same full year. ICBC reported higher values than CCB on both of those 2025 measures. For a more complete earnings comparison, also examine returns, margins, and expenses.
If you are assessing resilience
Compare CET1, Tier 1, and total capital ratios separately, then examine NPLs and reserve coverage using matched definitions. The available figures are too incomplete for a full four-bank ranking on capital or asset quality.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →If you are choosing a bank as a customer
These financial statements do not establish which bank offers the right account, service, branch access, fees, digital features, or support for an individual. Compare the specific products and services available to you in your location rather than treating the largest balance sheet or profit as a customer recommendation.
Where to verify the full comparison
Use each bank’s complete annual report for detailed line items, accounting definitions, risk disclosures, and ratio notes. CCB’s report presents consolidated IFRS information in RMB unless otherwise stated. ICBC’s report likewise describes consolidated IFRS figures in RMB unless specified. ABC’s report provides its own definitions and business disclosures. BOC’s results announcement is available at the official page linked above; its figures are not included in this scorecard because the page cited here does not expose the underlying table.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

